CTNF 18/264,827 CTNF 97658 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit under 35 U.S.C. 365(c) with PCT/JP2022/017057 which in turn claims foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) with JP2021-067921. The certified copy of foreign priority has been filed with the Office on August 9, 2023. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 9, 2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takahashi US 20210257805 . Regarding Claim 1, Takahashi teaches A semiconductor laser module (Figs. 3-10) comprising: a laser emission unit (Fig. 7, 31, 28) including a laser diode element to emit a laser beam (Fig. 3, 31 Paragraph 0056 “the respective laser diodes 31”), and a first electrode and a second electrode to supply current to the laser diode element; (Fig. 7, 28 Paragraph 0072 “The connector 28 is formed of a pair of rod-shaped conductors, and each of the conductors is fixed to a connector holder 28h. Each of the connector holders 28h is adhered and fixed to the frame body 26 of the housing body 21. One conductor of the connector 28 is connected to the laser diode 31 closest to the one conductor by a gold wire (not shown), and each of the laser diodes 31 is daisy-chain connected by a gold wire (not shown). The other conductor of the connector 28 is connected to the laser diode 31 closest to the other conductor by a gold wire (not shown).” See annotated Fig. 7 below) a base member (Fig. 7, 24s) to support and fix the laser emission unit (Paragraph 0056 “The sub-passage 25 is formed to be inclined with respect to the element arrangement surface 24s so that an average of shortest distances between the respective laser diodes 31 and the sub-passage 25 is smaller than that in a case where the sub-passage 25 is formed in parallel to the element arrangement surface 24s.”); a fast-axis collimator (Fig. 7, 36) to collimate a fast-axis direction component of the laser beam emitted from the laser diode element; (Paragraph 0064 “The first collimator lens 36 is a lens that collimates light in a fast axis direction of light emitted from the laser diode 31.”) and a slow-axis collimator (Fig. 7, 37) to collimate a slow-axis direction component of the laser beam emitted from the laser diode element (Paragraph 0065 “The second collimator lens 37 is a lens that collimates light in a slow axis direction of the light emitted from the laser diode 31.”), wherein the base member protrudes in a direction of emission of the laser beam with respect to the laser emission unit, (Fig. 7 shows that the base member protrudes out in the direction of emission as shown by the dotted lines leaving the laser) the fast-axis collimator is fixed to the laser emission unit in an optical path (Fig. 7 shows the optical path as the dotted line leaving the laser) of the laser emission unit where the laser beam is emitted (Paragraph 0064 “The first collimator lens 36 is fixed on the laser mount 32 by a resin or the like so that a relative position to the laser diode 31 is fixed.” Fig. 7 shows the fast-axis collimator is in the optical path), and the slow-axis collimator is fixed to an edge face of the base member in a direction along the optical path, (Fig. 7 shows that the slow-axis collimator is fixed to the top edge face of the base member which is the edge face in the direction along the optical path) in the optical path of the laser beam. (Fig. 7 shows the slow-axis collimator is in the optical path of the laser beam since the dotted lines intersect with the collimator) PNG media_image1.png 874 848 media_image1.png Greyscale Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 2-3 are rejected as being unpatentable over 35 U.S.C. 103 over Takahashi in view of Morita et al. US 20190044303. Regarding Claim 2, Takahashi teaches the laser emission unit includes a heat sink (Fig. 7, 40 Paragraph 0076 “As shown in FIG. 5, the manifold 40 has a first main passage 41 and a second main passage 45 through which the cooling medium flows.”) a submount (Fig. 7, Paragraph 0061 “each of the laser diodes 31 is fixed on a laser mount 32 by soldering or the like”) the laser diode element disposed on the submount (Fig. 7 shows the laser diode element is disposed on the submount) Takahashi does not teach the first electrode disposed in a first region of the heat sink, an electrically insulating layer disposed on the first electrode, a submount being electrically conductive and thermally conductive, disposed in a second region of the heat sink, the second region being different from the first region, a feed structure being electrically conductive and thermally conductive, disposed on the laser diode element, and the second electrode disposed on and in contact with the electrically insulating layer and the feed structure. However, Morita teaches the first electrode disposed in a first region of the heat sink (Fig. 2A, 3 is the heat sink and 5 is the first electrode Paragraph 0029 “the heat sink 3” Paragraph 0029 “a second electrode plate 5” Fig. 2A shows the first electrode is on a first region of the heat sink. See annotated Fig. 2A below), an electrically insulating layer (Fig. 6b Paragraph 0029 “a second insulation plate 6b”) disposed on the first electrode, (Fig. 2A shows that the insulating layer is on the first electrode) a submount (Figs. 2A & 2B, 2, 22 Paragraph 0029 “a sub-mount substrate 2”) being electrically conductive and thermally conductive (Paragraph 0031 “The sub-mount substrate 2 is manufactured by using a material having excellent thermal conductivity and excellent electrical insulation, for example, a ceramic material such as an aluminum nitride (hereinafter will be referred as AlN) or a silicon carbide (hereinafter will be referred as SiC) is used. Paragraph 0033 “Further, on a lower surface of the sub-mount substrate 2, in the same way as that of on an upper surface, a layer 22, which is made by plating of Ti, Cu, Ni and Au from the lower layer of the substrate, is formed,”), disposed in a second region of the heat sink (See annotated Fig. 2A below), the second region being different from the first region, (Annotated Fig. 2A shows that the first and second regions are different from each other) a feed structure (Figs. 2A 2B, 7a, 21) being electrically conductive and thermally conductive (Paragraph 0038 “metallic wires 7a ”Paragraph 0031 “On an upper surface of the sub-mount substrate 2, an electrode layer 21 laminated by plating titanium (hereinafter will be referred as Ti), Cu, nickel (hereinafter will be referred as Ni) and gold (hereinafter will be referred as Au) from the lower layer and the conductive electrode layer 21 constitutes a feeding path of the semiconductor laser array 1.”), disposed on the laser diode element, (Fig. 2B shows the feed structure is on the laser diode) and the second electrode (Fig. 2A, 4 Paragraph 0037 “The first electrode plate 4”) disposed on and in contact with the electrically insulating layer and the feed structure. (Figs. 2A and 2B show that the second electrode is in contact with the electrically insulating layer and the feed structure) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser module as taught by Takahashi by configuring the electrodes and adding the feed structure and insulation layer as disclosed by Morita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce the influence of electric corrosion and improve the long-term reliability of the device. (Morita Paragraph 0052) Regarding Claim 3, Takahashi teaches the base member is a manifold, and the manifold and the heat sink include therein a channel for circulating cooling fluid. (Paragraph 0087 “the sub-passage 25 formed in the mount 24. In the manifold 40, the plurality of optical modules 20 are fixed, and the manifold 40 has the first main passage 41 which connects one end of the sub-passage 25, included in each of the optical modules 20, in parallel and through which the cooling medium supplied to each of the sub-passages 25 flows.”) Takahashi does not teach that the cooling fluid is water. However, Morita teaches the cooling fluid is water (Paragraph 0040 “In the heat sink 3, a cooling part 9 is formed, from two cooling water channels 90,”) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooling fluid as taught by Takahasi by having the cooling fluid be water as disclosed by Morita. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) MPEP 2144.07. The reference has demonstrated using water as a cooling fluid is suitable to be used to cool a device. Claim 4 is rejected as being unpatentable over 35 U.S.C. 103 over Takahashi in view of Ichihashi US 20190162975. Regarding Claim 4, Takahashi teaches a laser oscillator including a plurality of the semiconductor laser modules (Fig. 7 shows a plurality of semiconductor laser modules) to couple the laser beams emitted from the plurality of semiconductor laser modules and to emit a laser beam generated by coupling; (Fig. 7 shows all the laser beams being coupled together into one beam) an optical fiber (Fig. 7, 29) to transmit the laser beam generated by coupling and emitted from the laser oscillator; (Paragraph 0093 “Each of the optical modules 20 has the optical fiber 29 that guides the light, emitted from the plurality of the laser diodes 31, to the outside, and a surface that faces a surface where the optical fiber 29”) and a machining head to collect the laser beam generated by coupling and transmitted through the optical fiber, and to emit a laser beam collected (See annotated Fig. 1 below), PNG media_image2.png 585 867 media_image2.png Greyscale Takahashi does not teach the beam is emitted to a workpiece. However, Ichihashi teaches the laser beam is emitted to a workpiece. (Paragraph 0097 “The laser module disclosed here is applicable to a laser machining device requiring a high output and a high quality. The laser machining device includes such as a laser cutting device, or a laser welding machine.” There must be a workpiece for a laser cutting device to cut and there must be a workpiece for a laser welding machine to weld.) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser device as taught by Takahashi by having the laser beam go to a workpiece as disclosed by Ichihashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to be able to manipulate the workpiece. (Ichihashi Paragraph 0097) Claims 5 & 6 are rejected as being unpatentable over 35 U.S.C. 103 over Takahashi and Morita in view of Ichihashi. Regarding Claim 5, Takahashi teaches a laser oscillator including a plurality of the semiconductor laser modules (Fig. 7 shows a plurality of semiconductor laser modules) to couple the laser beams emitted from the plurality of semiconductor laser modules and to emit a laser beam generated by coupling; (Fig. 7 shows all the laser beams being coupled together into one beam) an optical fiber (Fig. 7, 29) to transmit the laser beam generated by coupling and emitted from the laser oscillator; (Paragraph 0093 “Each of the optical modules 20 has the optical fiber 29 that guides the light, emitted from the plurality of the laser diodes 31, to the outside, and a surface that faces a surface where the optical fiber 29”) and a machining head to collect the laser beam generated by coupling and transmitted through the optical fiber, and to emit a laser beam collected (See annotated Fig. 1 below), PNG media_image2.png 585 867 media_image2.png Greyscale Takahashi does not teach the beam is emitted to a workpiece. However, Ichihashi teaches the laser beam is emitted to a workpiece. (Paragraph 0097 “The laser module disclosed here is applicable to a laser machining device requiring a high output and a high quality. The laser machining device includes such as a laser cutting device, or a laser welding machine.” There must be a workpiece for a laser cutting device to cut and there must be a workpiece for a laser welding machine to weld.) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser device as taught by Takahashi by having the laser beam go to a workpiece as disclosed by Ichihashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to be able to manipulate the workpiece. (Ichihashi Paragraph 0097) Regarding Claim 6, Takahashi teaches a laser oscillator including a plurality of the semiconductor laser modules (Fig. 7 shows a plurality of semiconductor laser modules) to couple the laser beams emitted from the plurality of semiconductor laser modules and to emit a laser beam generated by coupling; (Fig. 7 shows all the laser beams being coupled together into one beam) an optical fiber (Fig. 7, 29) to transmit the laser beam generated by coupling and emitted from the laser oscillator; (Paragraph 0093 “Each of the optical modules 20 has the optical fiber 29 that guides the light, emitted from the plurality of the laser diodes 31, to the outside, and a surface that faces a surface where the optical fiber 29”) and a machining head to collect the laser beam generated by coupling and transmitted through the optical fiber, and to emit a laser beam collected (See annotated Fig. 1 below), PNG media_image2.png 585 867 media_image2.png Greyscale Takahashi does not teach the beam is emitted to a workpiece. However, Ichihashi teaches the laser beam is emitted to a workpiece. (Paragraph 0097 “The laser module disclosed here is applicable to a laser machining device requiring a high output and a high quality. The laser machining device includes such as a laser cutting device, or a laser welding machine.” There must be a workpiece for a laser cutting device to cut and there must be a workpiece for a laser welding machine to weld.) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser device as taught by Takahashi by having the laser beam go to a workpiece as disclosed by Ichihashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to be able to manipulate the workpiece. (Ichihashi Paragraph 0097) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen et al. US 20190252863 teaches many features found in Claim 1 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEPHEN SUTTON KOTTER whose telephone number is (571)270-1859. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, MinSun Harvey can be reached at 571-272-1835. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STEPHEN SUTTON KOTTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/264,827 Page 2 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/264,827 Page 3 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/264,827 Page 4 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/264,827 Page 5 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/264,827 Page 6 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/264,827 Page 7 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/264,827 Page 8 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/264,827 Page 9 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/264,827 Page 10 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/264,827 Page 11 Art Unit: 2828