Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on January 30, 2026 amends claims 1, 4, 5, 10, 11, 14, and 15. Claims 1, 4-8, 10-11 and 14-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and corresponding arguments filed on January 30, 2026 regarding the newly presented claim limitations in the independent claims have been fully considered and are moot and unpersuasive. While the Applicant has amended the independent claims in an attempt to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, the amendment does not overcome the teachings of previously cited reference, Kim, as explained in detail in the rejections that follow.
The amended independent claims recite the last two clauses in the alternative. While the Applicant argues that the limitations in the first of these two clauses of each of the independent claims are not taught by Kim, the Applicant has not shown how the last clause in each of these claims is not taught by Kim. In the Remarks at page 14, the Applicant acknowledges the following:
“That is, Kim discloses that, after completing the H/F mode, the robot cleaner 100 begins a return (or docking) operation to the docking station 200. As the carpet area increases traveling load, the robot cleaner 100 may advantageously avoid the carpet area as much as possible to minimize power consumption. After completion of the H/F mode, the boundary line L2 corresponding to the boundary and the cleaned H/F area are marked on the map, and the control unit 145 may search for a path that allows the robot cleaner 100 to avoid the carpet area. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 7(b), if the robot cleaner 100 completes the H/F mode and ends cleaning at a location E, the control unit 145 controls the robot cleaner 100 to travel along the path represented by the thick solid line to return to the docking station 200 while avoiding the carpet area, stepped area, and obstacles.”
Examiner directs Applicant to Kim, at Fig. 7(b), as shown below, which depicts robot cleaner 100 leaving the carpet area in a direction perpendicular to the closest edge of the carpet area to go to its docking station 200.
Thus, Applicant’s statements support a teaching, by Kim, of the last clause of amended claim 1: “or determining, according to the map of the second surface medium region and the current position of the automatic cleaning apparatus, the edge of the second surface medium region closest to the automatic cleaning apparatus and controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus to leave the second surface medium region in the direction perpendicular to the closest edge of the second surface medium region.”
Thus, it appears that the Applicant failed to recognize that Kim at [0111] in conjunction with Fig. 7(b) teaches the last clause of each of the amended independent claims 1 and 10-11. Furthermore, Examiner directs Applicant to Kim, at [0157], which discloses that the control unit 145 assumes the boundary line or stepped area line and controls the robot cleaner 100 so as to travel in a direction perpendicular to the assumed boundary line or stepped area line. Also, see Kim at [0159] which discloses:
“If the cleaning of the entire cleaning area is completed ('YES' in operation 565), the control unit 145 begins a return (traveling) operation to the charging station 200. Thereby, the control unit 145 controls the robot cleaner 100 so as to return to the charging station 200 by traveling to avoid the carpet area and the stepped area line L3 using the produced map or by traveling in a direction perpendicular to the boundary line L2 and the stepped area line L3 marked on the map (570).”
Therefore, based on the foregoing reasons, Kim teaches the last clause of each of amended independent claims 1 and 10-11. Therefore, the Examiner maintains the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-8, 10-11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yee et al. (US 2019/0018420) in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0125363).
Regarding claim 1, Yee teaches a method for controlling an automatic cleaning apparatus performed by the automatic cleaning apparatus comprising a surface medium sensor, comprising: (see Yee at the Abstract which discloses a robotic cleaning device to determine a plan to clean an environment based on types of surfaces in the environment and that in some examples, a type of a surface of the environment can be detected by the robotic cleaning device based on optical polarization of light; see Yee at [0004] which discloses that the surface type sensors described previously (i.e., in the prior art) include an optical detector, ultrasound detector, or a mechanical detector; see Yee at [0075] in conjunction with Fig. 13, which further discloses a surface type detection system 1300.)
determining, when the automatic cleaning apparatus performs cleaning in a first surface medium region, whether the automatic cleaning apparatus is located in a second surface medium region in response to the surface medium sensor triggering a surface medium change signal; (see Yee at [0003] which discloses that other cleaning robots determine to alter direction in response to a reflected signal indicating an edge of a floor surface, as described in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 14/511,947; further, see Yee at [0004] which discloses that other cleaning robots determine a floor type based on output from a surface type sensor, as described in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 10/798,227; see Yee at [0075] in conjunction with Fig. 13 which discloses that the surface type detection system 1300 can be located at a number of locations on a robotic cleaning device, and that for example, the surface type detection system 1300 can be located at a front portion of the robotic cleaning device, such that a type of a surface is detected before the robotic cleaning device cleans the surface; see Yee at [0076] which further discloses that the surface type detection system 1300 can be located at the rear of the robotic cleaning device and that by being located at the rear, the surface type detection system 1300 can prevent the robotic cleaning device from backing onto a particular surface.)
and controlling, in response to determining that the automatic cleaning apparatus is located in the second surface medium region, the automatic cleaning apparatus to leave the second surface medium region (see Yee at [0121] which discloses that a plan for the robotic cleaning device to clean the environment can be identified, that identifying the plan can include accessing a memory location that includes the plan, that the plan can be stored in the memory location by the robotic cleaning device after either the robotic cleaning device determines the plan or after a remote server determines the plan, and that the plan can be determined based on the environmental map (e.g., based on the type of the surface); see Yee at [0124] which discloses that the robotic cleaning device can execute at least a portion of the plan for a second trip of the robotic cleaning device, that the robotic cleaning device can execute the plan until the plan changes based on a change in a circumstance of the robotic cleaning device and that a type of surface can be detected that causes the plan to change.)
Yee does not expressly disclose in a direction perpendicular to an edge of the second surface medium region according to a map of the second surface medium region and a current position of the automatic cleaning apparatus, wherein controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus to leave the second surface medium region in the direction perpendicular to the edge of the second surface medium region comprises: determining, according to the map of the second surface medium region and the current position of the automatic cleaning apparatus, the edge of the second surface medium region perpendicular to a traveling direction along which the automatic cleaning apparatus enters the second surface medium region, and controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus to retreat in a direction opposite the traveling direction to leave the second surface medium region; or determining, according to the map of the second surface medium region and the current position of the automatic cleaning apparatus, the edge of the second surface medium region closest to the automatic cleaning apparatus and controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus to leave the second surface medium region in the direction perpendicular to the closest edge of the second surface medium region which in a related art Kim teaches (see Kim at [0109] and at Figs. 7ab which illustratively discloses a map with respect to the entire cleaning area and boundary between the H/F area and the carpet area; see Kim at [0012] which discloses that it is another aspect of the present disclosure to provide a robot cleaner and a control method thereof, in which the robot cleaner is controlled based on detected information relating to the material or state of a floor (stepped area, carpet fringes, etc.) so as not to be rotated near the stepped area and the boundary of a carpet and an H/F where the robot cleaner may get stuck during traveling, but to move perpendicular to the stepped area or the boundary, which prevents the robot cleaner from failing to complete a cleaning or docking operation due to the presence of the stepped area or the boundary; furthermore, see Kim at [0163] which discloses that that in accordance with another embodiment of the present disclosure, the robot cleaner is controlled based on detected information relating to the material or state of a floor (stepped area, carpet fringes, etc.) so as not to turn near the stepped area and the boundary of a carpet and an H/F where the robot cleaner may get stuck during traveling, but to move perpendicular to the stepped area or the boundary. Furthermore, see Kim at [0111] in conjunction with Fig. 7(b) which discloses that the robot cleaner 100 may advantageously avoid the carpet area as much as possible, which minimizes power consumption; see Kim at [0157] which discloses that the control unit 145 assumes the boundary line or stepped area line and controls the robot cleaner 100 so as to travel in a direction perpendicular to the assumed boundary line or stepped area line. Also, see Kim at [0159] which discloses that if the cleaning of the entire cleaning area is completed ('YES' in operation 565), the control unit 145 begins a return (traveling) operation to the charging station 200 and thereby, the control unit 145 controls the robot cleaner 100 so as to return to the charging station 200 by traveling to avoid the carpet area and the stepped area line L3 using the produced map or by traveling in a direction perpendicular to the boundary line L2 and the stepped area line L3 marked on the map (570).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yee to leave a surface medium region in a direction perpendicular to an edge of the second surface medium region according to a map of the second surface medium region and a current position of the automatic cleaning apparatus, wherein controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus to leave the second surface medium region in the direction perpendicular to the edge of the second surface medium region comprises: determining, according to the map of the second surface medium region and the current position of the automatic cleaning apparatus, the edge of the second surface medium region perpendicular to a traveling direction along which the automatic cleaning apparatus enters the second surface medium region, and controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus to retreat in a direction opposite the traveling direction to leave the second surface medium region; or determining, according to the map of the second surface medium region and the current position of the automatic cleaning apparatus, the edge of the second surface medium region closest to the automatic cleaning apparatus and controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus to leave the second surface medium region in the direction perpendicular to the closest edge of the second surface medium region, as taught by Kim.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification so as not to turn near the stepped area and the boundary of a carpet and an H/F where the robot cleaner may get stuck during traveling as well as to avoid the carpet area as much as possible, by way of traveling in a direction perpendicular to the boundary line to minimize power consumption, as suggested by Kim at [0006] and at [0111].
Regarding claim 4, the modified Yee teaches the method for controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: controlling, before controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus to leave the second surface medium region in the direction perpendicular to the closest edge of the second surface medium region, the automatic cleaning apparatus to rotate by a first angle according to an included angle between the traveling direction of the automatic cleaning apparatus and the closest edge of the second surface medium region, the first angle being related to the included angle; and controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus to leave the second surface medium region in manner of forward traveling or reversely retreating, the forward traveling and the reversely retreating depending on a rotation direction of the automatic cleaning apparatus (see Kim at [0012] which discloses that it is another aspect of the present disclosure to provide a robot cleaner and a control method thereof, in which the robot cleaner is controlled based on detected information relating to the material or state of a floor (stepped area, carpet fringes, etc.) so as not to be rotated near the stepped area and the boundary of a carpet and an H/F where the robot cleaner may get stuck during traveling, but to move perpendicular to the stepped area or the boundary, which prevents the robot cleaner from failing to complete a cleaning or docking operation due to the presence of the stepped area or the boundary; also, see Kim at [0066] which discloses that elements 154, 156, 157 and 158 to move the robot cleaner 100 include left and right wheels 157 and 158 arranged at opposite lateral positions of the main body 102 to enable forward and rearward movement and rotation of the robot cleaner 100, wheel motors 156 to transmit power to the respective wheels 157 and 158, and a caster wheel 154 arranged at a front position of the main body 102 and adapted to be rotated to change an orientation angle of the robot cleaner 100 according to the state of the floor on which the robot cleaner 100 travels; see Kim at [0085] which discloses that the wheel drive unit 155 includes the wheel motors 156 to rotate and drive the left and right wheels 157 and 158 provided at the bottom of the main body 102 and that a rotation angle or traveling direction of the robot cleaner 100 is determined by differentiating RPM values of the respective wheel motors 156. Examiner notes that moving perpendicular to the stepped area or the boundary to prevent the robot cleaner from failing to complete a cleaning or docking operation due to the presence of the stepped area or the boundary corresponds to controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus to leave the second surface medium region in manner of forward traveling or reversely retreating. Examiner notes that a determination of a rotation angle based on differentiating RPM values of the respective wheel motors corresponds to rotating by a first angle according to an included angle. Examiner notes that the specification at [0165] discloses that in practical application, the first preset angle may be determined according to an included angle between the traveling direction of the automatic cleaning apparatus and the closest edge of the second surface medium region. Examiner has shown a teaching using a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language.)
Regarding claim 5, the modified Yee teaches the method for controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus according to claim 4, further comprising: controlling, after the automatic cleaning apparatus executes a retreating operation for preset time, the automatic cleaning apparatus to rotate by a second angle and leave the second surface medium region in a manner of forward traveling in response to the surface medium sensor being able to detect the second surface medium region (see Kim at [0012] which discloses that it is another aspect of the present disclosure to provide a robot cleaner and a control method thereof, in which the robot cleaner is controlled based on detected information relating to the material or state of a floor (stepped area, carpet fringes, etc.) so as not to be rotated near the stepped area and the boundary of a carpet and an H/F where the robot cleaner may get stuck during traveling, but to move perpendicular to the stepped area or the boundary, which prevents the robot cleaner from failing to complete a cleaning or docking operation due to the presence of the stepped area or the boundary; see Kim at [0066] which discloses that elements 154, 156, 157 and 158 to move the robot cleaner 100 include left and right wheels 157 and 158 arranged at opposite lateral positions of the main body 102 to enable forward and rearward movement and rotation of the robot cleaner 100, wheel motors 156 to transmit power to the respective wheels 157 and 158, and a caster wheel 154 arranged at a front position of the main body 102 and adapted to be rotated to change an orientation angle of the robot cleaner 100 according to the state of the floor on which the robot cleaner 100 travels. Also, see Kim at [0085] which discloses that the wheel drive unit 155 includes the wheel motors 156 to rotate and drive the left and right wheels 157 and 158 provided at the bottom of the main body 102 and that a rotation angle or traveling direction of the robot cleaner 100 is determined by differentiating RPM values of the respective wheel motors 156; see Kim at Fig. 9 in conjunction with [0117-0118] which discloses that FIG. 9 is a view explaining an operation in which the robot cleaner assumes the boundary line and moves perpendicular to the assumed boundary line in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure and that the control unit 145 controls the robot cleaner 100 having passed through the point P2 so as to travel in a direction perpendicular to the assumed boundary line; Examiner notes that Fig. 9a depicts robot cleaner moving in a forward direction. See Kim at claim 30 which further discloses returning the robot cleaner to a docking station after completing the cleaning operation based on the cleaning mode, wherein the robot cleaner travels in a direction perpendicular to the boundary and the stepped area using the map while returning to the docking station. Also, see Kim at Fig. 10 element 395 which discloses returning the robot cleaner to avoid a carpet area and stepped area (i.e., a doorsill or transition) or to travel perpendicular to boundary/stepped area line. Examiner notes that the robot cleaner may leave a second surface medium by crossing the boundary at a perpendicular direction.)
Regarding claim 6, the modified Yee teaches the method for controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the second angle is 180 degrees (see Yee at claim 30, [0012] and at [0163], for example, which discloses that the robot cleaner moves or travels in a direction perpendicular to the stepped area or the boundary. Examiner notes that moving or traveling in a direction perpendicular to a boundary corresponds to moving or traveling in a direction wherein the robot cleaner is rotated by an angle of 180 degrees from its direction of travel.)
Regarding claim 7, the modified Yee teaches the method for controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: controlling, after determining that the automatic cleaning apparatus leaves the second surface medium region, the automatic cleaning apparatus to clean along the edge of the second surface medium region, and re-acquiring the map of the second surface medium region to update the map of the second surface medium region (see Kim at [0053] in conjunction with Fig. 8 which discloses that Fig. 8 is a view illustrating a map produced as a result of the robot cleaner performing an auto mode and a return traveling path using the produced map in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure; see Kim at [0109] which discloses that the robot cleaner 100 passes the boundary during cleaning. Examiner maps boundary to the edge of the second surface medium region. See Kim at [0110] which further discloses that once the H/F mode is completed, as illustrated in FIG. 7, part (a), the map with respect to the entire cleaning area is provided with the boundary line L2 corresponding to the boundary between the H/F area and the carpet area, the stepped area line L3 corresponding to the stepped area such as a doorsill, and the obstacle line L1 with respect to only the obstacle present in the H/F area. Examiner notes that producing a map as a result of the robot cleaner performing an auto mode and using the produced map to return from the traveling path corresponds to re-acquiring the map of the second surface medium region to update the map of the second surface medium region.)
Regarding claim 8, the modified Yee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the map of the second surface medium region is established by controlling the automatic cleaning apparatus to run to the edge of the second surface medium region and then scanning a boundary of the second surface medium region (see Kim at [0106] which discloses that if the robot cleaner 100 completes the carpet mode to clean only the carpet area, a map with respect to the entire cleaning area as illustrated in FIG. 6, part (a), is produced. Furthermore, Kim at [0106] discloses that when the robot cleaner 100, which begins to travel (clean) at a location S, passes the boundary between the H/F area and the carpet area, the control unit 145 recognizes the boundary between the H/F area and the carpet area by analyzing variation in RPM of the main brush motor 166 and that in this case, the control unit 145 marks boundary positions as square points on the map when the robot cleaner 100 passes the boundary.)
Claim 10 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program thereon, wherein the computer program implements a method for controlling an automatic cleaning apparatus when executed by a processor, wherein the method performs the steps recited in the method of claim 1. The cited portions of the cited references used in the rejection of claim 1 teach the steps performed by the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 10. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale as stated for claim 1 above.
Claims 11 and 14-18 are directed toward an electronic apparatus that performs the steps recited in the method of claims 1 and 4-8. The cited portions of the reference(s) used in the rejections of claims 1 and 4-8 teach the steps recited in the electronic apparatus of claims 11 and 14-18. Therefore, claims 11 and 14-18 are rejected under the same rationale used in the rejections of claims 1 and 4-8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROY RHEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664