DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/09/2023, 1/27/2025, 8/06/2025, 08/14/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/4/2026.
Claim Status
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-12 are considered on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation "wherein the metal layer is directly grown on the two-dimensional material layer by a deposition process", and the claim also recites the metal layer is directly grown by an electrochemical deposition which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Alternatively, in claim 7 it is unclear is the later recited “directly grown by an electrochemical deposition” is referencing the previously defined “a deposition process” or means to define a new process. As such, the scope of claim 7 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the metal layer comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of: at least one metal selected from a group consisting of lithium (Li), sodium (Na), aluminum (Al), calcium (Ca), silver (Ag), gold (Au), sodium (Na), zinc (Zn), magnesium (Mg), and potassium (K); a sulfide including the metal; a halide; an oxide; an intermetallic compound; and an alloy”. It is unclear if the halide, oxide, intermetallic compound and alloy is required to contain at least one metal selected from a group consisting of lithium (Li), sodium (Na), aluminum (Al), calcium (Ca), silver (Ag), gold (Au), sodium (Na), zinc (Zn), magnesium (Mg), and potassium (K) or if the halide, oxide, intermetallic compound and alloy can be selected as any material, such as for example TiO2.
Claim 11 recites “wherein the metal layer comprises a lithium metal, a lithium sulfide, a lithium halide, a lithium alloy, or both” where is unclear which species are being references by “or both” given more than two species of the metal layer are recited. As such, the scope of claim 11 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 12 is rejected at least by virtue of its dependence on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbaraman et al. (US 20180358659 A1). Cited on the IDS filed 8/6/2025.
Regarding claim 1, Subbaraman teaches an anode current collector (abstract; [0008]; Fig. 1 anode 128) comprising: a current collector substrate ([0013] Fig. 1 anode current collector 110); a two-dimensional material layer formed on at least a portion of at least one surface of the current collector substrate ([0013]-[0014]; Fig. 1 first ad-layer 120) and having an atomic thickness ([0014]; first ad-layer may be single layer boron nitride or graphene oxide); and a metal layer formed on at least a portion of the two-dimensional material layer ([0015]; second ad-layer 125 of metal oxide derivative, a metal nitride derivative and/or a metal phosphide derivative formed on first ad-layer 120). In light of the instant specification which recites “the metal layer may include at least one selected from a group consisting of: at least one metal selected from a group consisting of lithium (Li), sodium (Na), aluminum (Al), calcium (Ca), silver (Ag), gold (Au), sodium (Na), zinc (Zn), magnesium (Mg), and potassium (K); a compound containing the metal (or metal element); and an alloy. For example, the compound containing the metal (or metal element) may be a sulfide, a halide, an oxide, and the like” (PGPUB [0054]; [0017]) the second ad-layer 125 of metal oxide derivative, a metal nitride derivative and/or a metal phosphide derivative formed on first ad-layer 120 disclosed by Subbaraman meets the limitation of the claimed “metal layer”.
The selection of the second ad-layer as a metal layer would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to achieve the expected result of acting as a protective and/or sealant layer over the first ad-layer.
Regarding claim 2, Subbaraman teaches the anode current collector of claim 1. Subbaraman further teaches wherein the current collector substrate comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of Ni, Cu, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Zn, Mo, W, Ag, Au, Ru, Pt, Ir, Li, Al, Sn, Bi, Sb, and an alloy thereof; calcined carbon; and stainless steel ([0013]; Fig. 1; anode current collector 110 of a material such as copper foil, nickel foil, and can include Li, LiMg allow particles on its surface).
Regarding claim 3, Subbaraman teaches the anode current collector of claim 1. Subbaraman further teaches wherein the current collector substrate comprises: a first component including Cu, Ni, Ti, stainless steel, or Al ([0013] anode current collector of a material such as copper foil, nickel foil; Fig. 1); and a second component (excluding a same element as in the first component) including at least one selected from a group consisting of Ni, Cu, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Zn, Mo, W, Ag, Au, Ru, Pt, Ir, Li, Al, Sn, Bi, Sb, and an alloy thereof ([0013] anode current collector can further include a Ni foam or lithium particles on its surface; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Subbaraman teaches the anode current collector of claim 1. Subbaraman further teaches wherein the current collector substrate is a foil having a thickness between 1-25 micrometers ([0013]). This range overlaps with the claimed range and in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 6, Subbaraman teaches the anode current collector of claim 1. Subbaraman further teaches wherein the two-dimensional material layer has a thickness less than 100µm and greater than 1nm ([0014] the thickness of the first ad-layer 120 may be less than 5 nanometers). This range overlaps with the claimed range and in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 8, Subbaraman teaches the anode current collector of claim 1. Subbaraman further teaches wherein the metal layer comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of: at least one metal selected from a group consisting of lithium (Li), sodium (Na), aluminum (Al), calcium (Ca), silver (Ag), gold (Au), sodium (Na), zinc (Zn), magnesium (Mg), and potassium (K); a sulfide including the metal; a halide; an oxide; an intermetallic compound; and an alloy ([0015] second ad-layer 125 of a metal oxide derivative, a metal nitride derivative… e.g., aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), lithium nitride (Li.sub.3N)…).
Regarding claim 9, Subbaraman teaches the anode current collector of claim 1. Subbaraman further teaches wherein the metal layer is free of a metal-containing dendrite structure (Abstract; [0015]), and the metal layer is a planar film (Fig. 1 illustrates the second ad-layer as a planar film). Subbaraman teaches that the first ad-layer is formed as a film ([0014]) and teaches that the second ad-layer is a layer disposed over the first ad-layer ([0015]) therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the second ad-layer as a planer film.
Regarding claim 10, Subbaraman teaches the anode current collector of claim 1. Subbaraman further teaches wherein the metal layer has a thickness of less than 1 micrometer and greater than 1 nanometer ([0015]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP §2144.05).
Claim(s) 5, 7, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbaraman et al. (US 20180358659 A1), as applied above, in view of Cui et al. (US 20200131638 A1). Cited on the IDS filed 8/9/2023.
Regarding claim 5, Subbaraman teaches the anode current collector of claim 1. Subbaraman teaches wherein the two-dimensional material is single or multi-layer boron nitride layers (e.g., crystalline boron nitride, polycrystalline boron nitride and/or amorphous boron nitride), single or multi-layer graphene oxide films (e.g., graphene oxide and/or reduced graphene oxide) ([0014]).
Subbaraman does not teach wherein the two-dimensional material comprises at least one of graphene, hexagonal boron nitride, and a transition metal compound.
However, Cui teaches an anode current collector with an interfacial layer disposed over the current collector where the interfacial layer includes a film of a layered material and a reinforcing material selectively disposed over certain regions of the film (abstract). Cui teaches interfacial layer 110 is formed as a hybrid or a composite of a film 112 of a 2D material having defect sites, and a coating 114 of a stitching or reinforcing material ([0026]). Cui teaches that suitable 2D materials include hexagonal boron nitride (h-BN), graphene, layered transition metal oxides and chalcogenides (e.g., MoS.sub.2), and other layered materials and suitable 2D materials can be single layered, or can include two or more stacked layers ([0027]). Cui teaches that these layers suppress lithium dendrite formation ([0034]).
Subbaraman teaches an anode current collector with single or multi-layer boron nitride layers (e.g., crystalline boron nitride, polycrystalline boron nitride and/or amorphous boron nitride), while Cui teaches an anode current collector with single or multi-layer hexagonal boron nitride (h-BN) or graphene.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute, for example the boron nitride ad-layer taught by Subbaraman with, for example, the hexagonal boron nitride film taught by Cui. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted, for example the boron nitride ad-layer taught by Subbaraman with, for example, the hexagonal boron nitride film taught by Cui to achieve the predictable result of preventing lithium dendrite formation ([0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Subbaraman teaches the anode current collector of claim 1. Regarding the limitations “ wherein the metal layer is directly grown on the two-dimensional material layer by a deposition process, and the metal layer is directly grown by an electrochemical deposition” Subbaraman teaches that the second ad-layer 125 (corresponding to the metal layer) is directly on the first ad-layer 120 (corresponding to the two-dimensional material layer) which appears to meet the limitations of directly growing the metal layer on the two-dimensional layer.
Further, Cui teaches 2D interfacial layers of boron nitride with a metal layer directly grown thereon ([0027]; [0031]; [0039]; Fig. 1A and 13; film 112 of a 2D material such as boron nitride with a coating 114 grown directly thereon by ALD and formed of a metal layer such as LiF). Cui teaches that these layers suppress lithium dendrite formation ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anode current collector taught by Subbaraman such that the metal layer is directly grown on the two-dimensional material layer by a deposition process as taught by Cui ([0027; [0039]; Fig. 1A and 13). Such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known formation method for forming a metal layer over a 2D interfacial layer and suppressing lithium dendrite formation ([0034]).
Furthermore, the claim 7 recitation "the metal layer is directly grown… by a deposition process" is directed to a method of manufacturing the claimed anode current collector. The examiner notes that the determination of patentability is determined by the recited structure of the apparatus and not by a method of making said structure. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is made does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113 and 2114. The prior art of Cui and Subbaraman are considered to teach, disclose or make obvious all of the structural limitations of claim 7 as recited above.
Regarding claim 11, Subbaraman teaches the anode current collector of claim 1.
Subbaraman does not teach wherein the metal layer comprises a lithium metal, a lithium sulfide, a lithium halide, a lithium alloy, or both.
However, Cui teaches that metal layers for sealing 2D interfacial layers can be formed of, for example LiF ([0025]-[0027]; [0031]; [0039]; Fig. 1A and 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anode current collector taught by Subbaraman such that the metal layer comprises lithium fluoride as taught by Cui. Such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known metal layer material over a 2D material layer for the expected result of sealing the 2D interfacial layer and suppressing lithium dendrite formation ([0034]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Subbaraman teaches the anode current collector of claim 11. The claim 12 recitations "wherein the lithium alloy comprises: lithium; and at least one selected from a group consisting of sodium (Na), aluminum (AI), calcium (Ca), silver (Ag), gold (Au), sodium (Na), zinc (Zn), magnesium (Mg), and potassium (K)" are directed to the species of the lithium alloy. However, modified Subbaraman discloses the other species of metal layer in the group set forth above in claim 11 (the metal layer comprises a lithium metal, a lithium sulfide, a lithium halide, a lithium alloy, or both). As such, the limitations of claim 12 are also anticipated as they are directed to the species of the lithium alloy in the group anticipated by modified Subbaraman as set forth in claim 11 above (See MPEP 2131.02 Genus-Species Situations). Claim 12 does not require that the metal layer be selected as a lithium alloy, it merely further limits what the lithium alloy of claim 11 may be comprised of.
Conclusion
/F.B.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728