DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species A in the reply filed on 2/17/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-9 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/17/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the tip extending in a helical fashion along the axis (claim 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “conversion element” in claims 2-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the term “at least partly surrounding at least partly the conversion element” is indefinite as it is unclear whether or not a typographical error has occurred in the claim, or if another statement is intended to be included after the second instance of “at least partly”. As best understood by the Examiner the claim is interpreted as a typographical error, and the second instance should be deleted. Clarification is required. Claims 3-4 are rejected based on their dependency on claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the term “wherein the tip extends in a helical fashion along the axis” is indefinite as it is unclear what specifically the term intends to describe. Specifically, the feature is not shown in the instant drawing and additionally not described with sufficient detail in the original specification to provide guidance and/or specificity to said structure. For example, it is unclear if the term intends to mean that the tip has a helical shape (like a corkscrew) and/or if there is helical threading or grooves thereon, or some other interpretation which meets the term “helical fashion”. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Den Houdt (US 6910887 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Van Den Houdt discloses an endodontic tool (Fig. 1) for activating a disinfectant liquid sprayed in a cavity of a tooth (capable of being used as such if so desired), comprising: a body (1), elongated along an axis (see Fig. 1) and including a handgrip (e.g. outer surface of 1), for allowing an operator to hold the tool (capable of being used as such); a tip (20), connected to the body and configured to be immersed in the liquid (configured to be immersed in liquid in tooth if so desired); an actuator (7) associated with the body and configured to transmit a vibration to the tip (see abstract); a heater (26), associated with the body and configured to heat the disinfectant liquid in the tooth (via 24/25, configured to be used as such as the tip is heated and heat is transferred to surrounding fluid), characterized in that the heater is designed to heat the tip and wherein the tip is designed to heat the disinfectant liquid (configured to be used as such as resistance of current on wire creates heat, which is transferred to tip). Van Den Houdt further discloses wherein the tip is capable of rotating relative to the body about the axis (tip is capable of being rotated in body via portion that extends inside body (33) prior to portions 35/36 being engaged; per claim 10); and wherein the tip is configured to rotate with an oscillating rotary motion, alternating a direction of rotation (as described above, portion(33) of tip that extends into body is manually rotatable, prior to portions 35/36 being engaged, allowing oscillating manual rotary motion to be imparted onto the tip, at least to some degree; per claim 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Den Houdt in view of Martin (US 6270343 B1).
Regarding claims 2-4, Van Den Houdt discloses wherein the tip comprises a conversion element (24/25) configured to convert energy into heat; and an outer surface at least partly surrounding the conversion element (see Fig. 3a); wherein the heater is configured to transmit energy to the conversion element and wherein the conversion element is configured to convert the energy received from the heater into heat (see abstract and col 4, line 61- col 5, line 9); and wherein the conversion element is a metal filament (24/25), and wherein the heater is associated with the metal filament for transmitting heat by conduction (e.g. surface of tip heats surrounding substances via conduction). Van Den Houdt, however does not a plastic coating at least partly surrounding the conversion element or wherein the metal filament and tip extend along the axis of the tool as required.
Martin, however, teaches a similar endodontic tool comprising a plastic coating (22) on a heated tip. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Van Den Houdt to include Martin’s plastic coating, as such modification would prevent material from sticking to the tip while allowing heat transmission to occur (see col 5, lines 10-18). The Examiner notes that should the device of Van Den Houdt be modified with the teachings of Martin, the tip would be coated with the plastic coating (as taught by Martin) with the plastic coating at least partly surrounding the conversion element as the tip surrounds the conversion element therein.
Additionally, Van Den Houdt/Martin, as combined above, does not explicitly teach that the metal filament is elongate along the axis of the body as required. However, the Examiner notes that such modification would merely involve a change in shape of the tip (contra angled vs straight), which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the tip (and filament) of the device of Van Den Houdt/Martin, as combined above, such that the filament (and tip) extend elongated along the axis of the handle of the tool, as such modification would merely involve a change of shape of known component of the device, which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Den Houdt in view of McSpadden (US 4353698), as best understood by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 12, as best understood by the Examiner, Van Den Houdt does not teach wherein the tip extends in a helical fashion along the axis as required.
McSpadden, however, teaches a similar heated endodontic tool having a tip (14) which extends in a helical fashion along an axis (see Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Van Den Houdt to include McSpadden’s helical shaped tip, as such modification would allow for improved condensation and/or agitation of a material in the tooth while allowing for ease of removal of the device therefrom (see McSpadden, abstract).
Additionally, Van Den Houdt/McSpadden, as combined above, does not explicitly teach that the helical tip extends along the axis of the body as required. However, the Examiner notes that such modification would merely involve a change in shape of the tip (contra angled vs straight), which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the tip of the device of Van Den Houdt/McSpadden, as combined above, such that the helical tip extends along the axis of the handle of the tool, as such modification would merely involve a change of shape of known component of the device, which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
Conclusion
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772