DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: the amendment filed on 06/22/2026. This action is made final.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-13, 16-17, 19-23 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 12 and 13 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 13, 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 2020/0366963 A1; hereinafter Liao) further in view of Gordon (US 2019/0057415 A1; hereinafter Gordon) further in view of Paglia et al. (US 2018/0027298 A1; hereinafter Paglia).
As to claims 1, 12, 13, Liao teaches:
(Claim 1) A video processing method (see Fig. 1a and ¶ 0044), comprising:
(Claim 12) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing thereon instructions that, when executed on a terminal device, cause the terminal device to implement a video processing method (see ¶ 0110-0114) comprising:
(Claim 13) An electronic device, comprising: a processor, a memory, the memory being stored with a computer program which is executable on the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program (see Fig. 6-7 and ¶ 0097-0107), implements a video processing method comprising:
switching to a playback page of a preset first video in a video collection corresponding to a video collection entrance, in response to a trigger operation on the video collection entrance (see Fig. 1d and ¶ 0055, 0068; In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the entrance presentation data at least include profile pictures of the video-updated users, wherein the profile picture of each video-updated user is the video access entrance; With the front-page client interface as the current user interface, FIG. 1d is a schematic diagram of entrance presentation and video access entrance on the terminal interface; as shown in FIG. 1d, 121 is a presentation bar presented above the current terminal interface, and 122 is a video access entrance in the presentation bar, which may be the profile picture of the user who has a video updated. The client user 123 may select any video access entrance to access the corresponding video interface. ¶ 0057; displaying, responsive to a client user’s preset operation on any video access entrance in the entrance presentation bar, a video play page {~playback page} corresponding to the preset operation), wherein the video collection is a collection of multiple videos comprising the preset first video (see ¶ 0063; the user can access other videos of the followed user by triggering a video refresh operation on the follow page client interface; therefore, each user interface is corresponding to the video collection. ¶ 0071; when a certain profile picture clicked by the user serves as both a short video access entrance and a live broadcast access entrance, then the user accesses the live room of the followed user in priority to display the live broadcast interface); and
playing back the preset first video in the playback page (See ¶ 0057; displaying, responsive to a client user's preset operation on any video access entrance in the entrance presentation bar, a video play page corresponding to the preset operation. ¶ 0058; the current terminal interface will jump to the video interface corresponding to the access entrance, wherein the video interface may be a live broadcast or an updated recorded short video. ¶ 0071; when a certain profile picture clicked by the user serves as both a short video access entrance and a live broadcast access entrance, then the user accesses the live room of the followed user in priority to display the live broadcast interface).
wherein the video collection entrance is set in a user's homepage (see ¶ 0055;With the front-page client interface as the current user interface, FIG. 1d is a schematic diagram of entrance presentation and video access entrance on the terminal interface; as shown in FIG. 1d, 121 is a presentation bar presented above the current terminal interface, and 122 is a video access entrance in the presentation bar, which may be the profile picture of the user who has a video updated);
the switching to the playback page of the preset first video in the video collection corresponding to the video collection entrance, in response to the trigger operation on the video collection entrance comprises: (¶ 0057, 0055, 0068; displaying, responsive to a client user’s preset operation on any video access entrance in the entrance presentation bar, a video play page {~playback page} corresponding to the preset operation);
switching from the user's homepage to the playback page of the preset first video in the video collection corresponding to the video collection entrance, in response to the trigger operation on the video collection entrance in the user's homepage (Fig. 1d and ¶ 0055-0057; With the front-page client interface as the current user interface, FIG. 1d is a schematic diagram of entrance presentation and video access entrance on the terminal interface; as shown in FIG. 1d, 121 is a presentation bar presented above the current terminal interface, and 122 is a video access entrance in the presentation bar, which may be the profile picture of the user who has a video updated).
Liao further discloses the preset first video is a priority video determined based on a playback sequence of videos in the video collection (¶ 0071; when a certain profile picture clicked by the user serves as both a short video access entrance and a live broadcast access entrance, then the user accesses the live room of the followed user in priority to display the live broadcast interface {~live broadcast is a priority}), and the playback sequence is determined based on a sequence in which each video in the video collection is added to the video collection (see ¶ 0048; shown in FIG. 1b, the interface zone indicated by 101 on the front-page client interface is the short video interface content (i.e., information stream content) pushed by the server, wherein an information stream refers to an information element existent in a certain manner (usually arranged in a time order)), Liao does not expressly teach that a plurality of video collection entrances are displayed for selecting and different video collection entrances are corresponding to different video collections.
However, Gordon is relied upon for teaching the deficient limitations. Specifically, Gordon teaches a plurality of video collection entrances are displayed for selecting and different video collection entrances are corresponding to different video collections (see Fig. 3A and ¶ 0042; The content item collection tray 306 can include representations 310 of one or more content item collections; In the example of FIG. 3A, the content item collection tray 306 includes representations 310a, 310b, 310c, 310d of corresponding content item collections. The representations 310a, 310b, 310c, 310d can appear in an order that reflects a ranking of respective content item collections. In the example of FIG. 3A, the content item collections 310 are user-based content item collections and are each associated with a particular user; For example, the content item collection 310a is associated with User A; the content item collection 310b is associated with User B; the content item collection 310c is associated with User C; and the content item collection 310d is associated with User D. The representations 310a, 310b, 310c, 310d are avatars of, respectively, User A, User B, User C, and User D. The ranking of content item collections can be performed by the content item collection provision module 102, as discussed herein. If the user selects a representation 310 of a content item collection, content items of the content item collection can be provided in a separate screen (or page) of the user interface 304. ¶ 0043; content items included in content item collections can be media content items, such as videos). Gordon also teaches the preset first video is a priority video determined based on a playback sequence of videos in the video collection (see ¶ 0043, 0046; A representation of a first video in each content item collection can be provided in the user interface 354; the representations 356a-j can appear in an order reflecting a ranking of respective content item collections in which the first videos are included. For example, the representations can appear in the order of ranking from top to bottom and left to right. For instance, the representation 356a can be associated with the first video of a highest ranked content item collection, the representation 356b can be associated with the first video of a second highest ranked content item collection, the representation 356c can be associated with the first video of a third highest ranked content item collection, and so forth. The ranking of content item collections can be performed by the content item collection provision module 102, as discussed herein. If a user selects a representation 356 of a first video of a content item collection, playback of the first video can start, for example, in a separate screen (or page) of the user interface 354. Other videos in the content item collection can be provided as related videos of the first video. In some embodiments, the other videos can automatically play after the playback of the first video completes).
The references each discloses a method for displaying video collection and video playback; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the video playing page as disclosed in Liao to include the feature of displaying the video collection access entrances as suggested by Gordon in order to allow the user to access the list of the video collection as claimed. One would be motivated to make such a combination is to provide the user with the access path to relevant video of the followed account easily and convenient; thus, enhance user experience with the video playback user interface (Gordon: see ¶ 0042-0043).
Gordon discloses the other videos in the collection can automatically play after the playback of the first video completes (see ¶ 0043); therefore, Gordon teaches playing back, after a playback of the first video is completed, a next video of the preset first video in the video collection based on the playback sequence. However, Liao and Gordon do not expressly teach: the playing back a next video of the preset first video in the video collection based on the playback sequence, until all playbacks of the videos in the video collection are completed.
Paglia is relied upon for teaching the deficient limitations. Specifically, Paglia teaches the playback sequence is determined based on a sequence in which each video in the video collection is added to the video collection (see ¶ 0012, 0034; adding a video to the collection of videos. ¶ 0081-0083; include/add the stream of content to be added at the end of a queue of content items to playback); playing back, after a playback of the first video is completed, a next video of the preset first video in the video collection based on the playback sequence, until all playbacks of the videos in the video collection are completed (see ¶ 0082; the video can be moved to be next in the queue such that the video is presented after a video that is currently being presented finishes. ¶ 0071; presentation of the stream of content can loop continuously. For example, in some embodiments, an end time of the stream of content can be specified (e.g., the end point of the last content item in the collection of content item corresponding to the stream of content, and./or any other suitable end point), and presentation of the stream of content can loop back to a start point (e.g., a beginning of a first content item in the collection of content items corresponding to the stream of content) upon reaching the end point. Therefore, in some embodiments, a particular user device may request to view a stream of content that has already been presented in its entirety one or more times).
The references each discloses a method for displaying video collection and video playback; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the video playing page as disclosed in Liao/Gordon to include the feature that allow a user to create a collection of videos as suggested by Paglia to provide the user the control to arrange the video content in the list as claimed. One would be motivated to make such a combination is to provide a method that allows the user to arrange video items in the video collection; thus, enhance user experience with the video playback (Paglia: see ¶ 0026).
As to claims 5 and 19, Liao/Gordon/Paglia teach the limitations of claim 1 and 13, respectively as set forth above. Liao further teaches: switching to a video collection creation page, in response to a trigger operation on a video collection creation entrance (Liao: see Fig. 2b and ¶ 0049; switch back to front page by selecting the Front Page control).
Paglia is relied upon for teaching the limitations:
receiving a video collection title and a selected video identification in the video collection creation page (Paglia: see ¶ 0026, 0028; the first user or content creator can create the collection of videos by selecting one or more videos to include in the collection, arranging the videos in a particular order, and indicating a time at which the collection of videos are to begin being streamed. Fig. 1 and 0031-0033; a user interface for allowing a user to create a collection of content items; the content items include any suitable content items such as videos, live-streamed content); and
creating a first video collection based on the video collection title and the selected video identification, in response to a trigger operation for a video collection creation (Paglia: see ¶ 0026, 0044; the first user or content creator can create the collection of videos by selecting one or more videos to include in the collection, arranging the videos in a particular order, and indicating a time at which the collection of videos is to begin being streamed). Combining Liao/Gordon/Paglia would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claims 6 and 20, the rejections of claim 5 and 19, respectively, are incorporated. Liao/Gordon/Paglia further teach: after the creating the first video collection: switching from the video collection creation page to a playback page of a preset second video in the first video collection, in response to the completion of the creation of the first video collection (Paglia: see Fig. 1 and ¶ 0035; begin streaming input 108 can be used to begin presentation of the collection of content items in an order specified by group of content items; in some embodiments, presentation of the collection of content items can begin with a first content item in group of content items 104 in response to determining that a creator of the collection of content items has selected begin streaming input 108); and
displaying a list of the first video collection in the playback page of the preset second video, while playing back the preset second video in the playback page of the preset second video (Paglia: see Figs. 2A-2B and ¶ 0037; Fig. 2A illustrates a user interface for selecting a stream of content {~collection of content item} to begin viewing. ¶ 0044; video content 252 can be video included in a collection of content items corresponding to the stream of content. video content 252 can be presented in any suitable manner, such as in a video player window (not shown) within user interface 250). Thus, combining Liao/Gordon/Paglia would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claims 7 and 21, the rejections of claim 6 and 20, respectively, are incorporated. Liao/Gordon/Paglia further teach: after the displaying the list of the first video collection in the playback page of the preset second video: adjusting an order of videos in the list of the first video collection, in response to an order adjustment operation (Paglia: see Fig. 2B and ¶ 0028; the mechanisms can receive inputs from viewers of the stream of content that indicate votes for different videos, and can cause the collection of videos to be modified based on their votes. As a more particular example, in some embodiments, the votes can indicate that viewers want a particular video to be added to the collection of videos. As another more particular example, in some embodiments, the votes can indicate that viewers want a particular video to be presented next in the stream of content. As yet another more particular example, in some embodiments, the results of the voting interface can be transmitted to the content creator for use in modifying or updating the stream of content. ¶ 0034; a creator of the collection of content items can modify the collection of content items at any suitable time and/or in any suitable manner. For example, in some embodiments, the creator can add one or more content items to the collection of content items by selecting an indication of the content item (e.g., from a page presenting results of a query for particular content items, and/or from any other suitable page)). Thus, combining Liao/Gordon/Paglia would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claims 8 and 22, the rejections of claim 6 and 20, respectively, are incorporated. Liao/Gordon/Paglia further teach: after the displaying the list of the first video collection in the playback page of the preset second video: deleting any video of the list of the first video collection from the first video collection and the list of the first video collection, in response to a deletion operation on the any video (Paglia: see ¶ 0034; a creator of the collection of content items can modify the collection of content items at any suitable time and/or in any suitable manner. As another example, in some embodiments, the creator can delete one or more content items from the collection of content items. As a more particular example, in some embodiments, the creator can select a particular content item included in group 104 (e.g., video 106) and can then indicate that the selected content item is to be removed from group 104). Thus, combining Liao/Gordon/Paglia would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claims 9 and 23, the rejections of claim 1 and 13, respectively, are incorporated. Liao/Gordon/Paglia further teach: displaying a window comprising a list of video collections to which a target video is addible, in response to a trigger operation for adding the target video to a video collection (Paglia: see Fig. 2B and ¶ 0028; the mechanisms can receive inputs from viewers of the stream of content that indicate votes for different videos, and can cause the collection of videos to be modified based on their votes. As a more particular example, in some embodiments, the votes can indicate that viewers want a particular video to be added to the collection of videos. As another more particular example, in some embodiments, the votes can indicate that viewers want a particular video to be presented next in the stream of content. As yet another more particular example, in some embodiments, the results of the voting interface can be transmitted to the content creator for use in modifying or updating the stream of content); and
adding the target video to a selected video collection, if a selection operation is received on any video collection of the video collections to which the target video is addible (Paglia: see Fig. 2B and ¶ 0028, 0034; a creator of the collection of content items can modify the collection of content items at any suitable time and/or in any suitable manner. For example, in some embodiments, the creator can add one or more content items to the collection of content items by selecting an indication of the content item (e.g., from a page presenting results of a query for particular content items, and/or from any other suitable page)). Thus, combining Liao/Gordon/Paglia would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated. Liao/Gordon/Paglia further teach: wherein the window comprising the list of video collections to which the target video is addible also comprises a video collection creation entrance (Paglia: see Fig. 2B and ¶ 0028; the mechanisms can receive inputs from viewers of the stream of content that indicate votes for different videos, and can cause the collection of videos to be modified based on their votes. As a more particular example, in some embodiments, the votes can indicate that viewers want a particular video to be added to the collection of videos. As another more particular example, in some embodiments, the votes can indicate that viewers want a particular video to be presented next in the stream of content. As yet another more particular example, in some embodiments, the results of the voting interface can be transmitted to the content creator for use in modifying or updating the stream of content), and
after displaying the list of video collections to which the target video is addible (Paglia: see Fig. 2B and ¶ 0028, 0034), the video processing method further comprises: switching to a video collection creation page, if a trigger operation is received on the video collection creation entrance placed in the window comprising the list of video collections to which the target video is addible (Paglia: see Fig. 2B and ¶ 0028, 0034, 0037; multiple collections including 202, 204, 206. Examiner notes the "if” clause in the present claim is an optional limitation which does not have to be given patentable weight (see MPEP 2111.04)); and
creating a second video collection based on the target video in the video collection creation page (Paglia: see Fig. 2B and ¶ 0028, 0034, 0037; multiple collections including 202, 204, 206). Thus, combining Liao/Gordon/Paglia would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claims 2-3, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao/Gordon/Paglia further in view of Zheng et al. (US 2023/0137492 A1; hereinafter Zheng).
As to claims 2 and 16, Liao/Gordon/Paglia teaches the limitations of claim 1 and 13, respectively as set forth above. Zheng is relied upon for teaching the limitations:
displaying a collection list exhibition entrance to the video collection in a video title area in the playback page, wherein the video title area is used to display video content description information of the preset first video (see Figs. 2-5 and ¶ 0037; the electronic device presents the first target video in the landscape playback page, and displays an avatar 211 and a user name 212 of the current video author of the first target video in a first display area 21. When a user desires to view the target-video list of the current video author, the user clicks on the avatar 211 and/or the user name 212 of the current video author displayed in the landscape playback page); and
displaying a half-screen window in the playback page, and displaying a list of the video collection in the half-screen window, in response to a trigger operation on the collection list exhibition entrance (see Figs. 2-5 and ¶ 0038; in response to the first trigger operation, the target-video list of the current video author is displayed in a second display area of the landscape playback page, where the target-video list includes at least one video item of at least one target video published by the current video author).
The references each discloses a method for displaying video collection and video playback; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the video playing page as disclosed in Liao/Gordon/Paglia to include the feature of displaying the video collection access control in the video playing page as suggested by Zheng in order to allow the user to access the list of the video collection as claimed. One would be motivated to make such a combination is to provide a method that allows the user to access other video items in the video collection in a convenient way since the video item of the target video published by the current video author is directly displayed in the playback page without leaving the page; the user can continue viewing the first target video when viewing the video of the current video author, thereby improving the viewing experience of the user (Zheng: see ¶ 0045).
As to claims 3 and 17, the rejections of claim 1 and 13, respectively, are incorporated. Liao/Gordon/Paglia/Zheng further teach: after the playing back the preset first video: displaying a list of a video collection to which the preset first video belongs in the playback page, in response to a trigger operation on a collection list exhibition entrance in the playback page of the preset first video (Zheng: see Figs. 2-5 and ¶ 0038; in response to the first trigger operation, the target-video list of the current video author is displayed in a second display area of the landscape playback page, where the target-video list includes at least one video item of at least one target video published by the current video author); and
switching from the preset first video to any video in the list, in response to a trigger operation on the any video (Zheng: see Fig. 7 and ¶ 0046-0049; After the target-video list of the current video author is displayed in the second display area of the landscape playback page, the method further includes: in response to receiving a click operation acting on a video item of a second target video, playing the second target video selected by the click operation in the landscape playback page). Thus, combining Liao/Gordon/Paglia/Zheng would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 06/22/26 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Applicants argued that Liao/Gordon fail to disclose or suggest at least the limitation “switching from a user homepage to a continuous playback page corresponding to the video collection. All videos in the video collection are continuously played on the continuous playback page corresponding to the video collection based on a playback sequence. Moreover, the playback sequence of the videos on the continuous playback page is determined based on a sequence in which each video in the video collection is added to the video collection”
In response, the examiner notes that the amended features are now rejected based on new combination of references Liao, Gordon, Paglia as rejected supra.
Specifically, Liao teaches the playback sequence is determined based on a sequence in which each video in the video collection is added to the video collection (Liao: see ¶ 0048; shown in FIG. 1b, the interface zone indicated by 101 on the front-page client interface is the short video interface content (i.e., information stream content) pushed by the server, wherein an information stream refers to an information element existent in a certain manner (usually arranged in a time order)).
Gordon discloses the other videos in the collection of videos can automatically play after the playback of the first video completes (Gordon: see ¶ 0043). Therefore, Gordon teaches playing back, after a playback of the first video is completed, a next video of the preset first video in the video collection based on the playback sequence.
Paglia teaches the playback sequence is determined based on a sequence in which each video in the video collection is added to the video collection (Paglia: see ¶ 0012, 0034; adding a video to the collection of videos. ¶ 0081-0083; include/add the stream of content to be added at the end of a queue of content items to playback); playing back, after a playback of the first video is completed, a next video of the preset first video in the video collection based on the playback sequence, until all playbacks of the videos in the video collection are completed (Paglia: see ¶ 0082; the video can be moved to be next in the queue such that the video is presented after a video that is currently being presented finishes. ¶ 0071; presentation of the stream of content can loop continuously. For example, in some embodiments, an end time of the stream of content can be specified (e.g., the end point of the last content item in the collection of content item corresponding to the stream of content, and./or any other suitable end point), and presentation of the stream of content can loop back to a start point (e.g., a beginning of a first content item in the collection of content items corresponding to the stream of content) upon reaching the end point. Therefore, in some embodiments, a particular user device may request to view a stream of content that has already been presented in its entirety one or more times).
For at least these reasons, the examiner maintains that combined teaching of Liao, Gordon, Paglia render obvious the disputed features.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)).
/TUYETLIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179