DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/09/2023, 07/22/2024 and 12/23/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the last line including
“(FIG. 1)” should be deleted. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, it appears to have a typographical error; the word “castors” should be replaced by - - casters - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda et al.
Maeda et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0188004 A1) discloses (see annotated Figure 1):
Regarding claim 1, a protecting cover arrangement (Figure 1, element 101) for a projector (Figure 1, element 100) having a projecting structure (Figure 1, element 110) extending from a projector top (Figure 1, element A), the arrangement comprising: a first portion having a top wall (Figure 1, element 104), a first side wall (Figure 1, element 103) extending from the top wall (Figure 1, element 104), a second side wall (Figure 1, element 102) extending from the top wall (Figure 1, element 104), and at a distance from the first side wall (Figure 1, element 103), a front wall (i.e. front surface; element 106) and a back wall (Figure 1, element 107) together defining first cover space for receiving the projector (Figure 1, element 100), wherein a space portion (Figure 1, element B) arranged in an upper part of the first cover space (i.e. elements included in region B illustrated in Figure 1) is configured to receive the projecting structure (Figure 1, element 110) extending from the projector top (Figure 1, element A), wherein the arrangement comprises an opening (Figure 1, element 113) through the front wall (i.e. front surface; element 106) from the space portion (Figure 1, element B) configured to receive the projecting structure (Figure 1, element 110) extending from the projector top (Figure 1, element A).
Regarding claim 2, a second portion comprising a lower top wall (Figure 1, element C) extending from the front wall (i.e. front surface; element 106) of the first portion at a distance from the top wall (Figure 1, element 104) of the first portion, the second portion defining a second cover space (Figure 1, element D) below the lower top wall (Figure 1, element C) that connects with the first cover space (i.e. elements included in region B illustrated in Figure 1), wherein the first cover space (i.e. elements included in region B illustrated in Figure 1) and the second cover space (Figure 1, element D) form an integrated cover space having the space portion formed in the upper part on the first cover space (i.e. elements included in region B illustrated in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, the opening (Figure 1, element 113) is arranged on the front wall (i.e. front surface; element 106) of the first portion between the top wall (Figure 1, element 104) of the first portion and the lower top wall (Figure 1, element C) of the second portion.
Regarding claim 4, a first enclosure arranged extending from the first side wall (Figure 1, element 103) towards the space portion (Figure 1, element B) and extending from the top wall (Figure 1, element 104) a distance in the first cover space (i.e. elements included in region B illustrated in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, the first enclosure is formed from a portion of the top wall (Figure 3B, element 104), a portion of the first side wall (Figure 3A, element 103), a first support wall (Figure 3B, element 102), a first partition wall (Figure 3B, element 102a), a first enclosure front (Figure 3B, element 101) and a first enclosure back wall (Figure 3B, element 107).
Regarding claim 11, an operation panel (Figure 3B, elements 166 and 167) arranged to an upper part of the arrangement (Figure 3B, element 104).
Regarding claim 12, the operation panel (Figure 3B, elements 166 and 167) is arranged on the top wall (element 104 illustrated in Figures 2 and 3B) aligned with the space portion (Figure 2, element 110) and onto an opposite side of the top wall (Figure 1, element 104) in relation to the space portion (Figure 2, element 110).
Regarding claim 14, at least one fan (Figure 1, element 172) configured to one or more of bring air into the cover space (page 3, paragraph 0047, lines 3-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0188004 A1).
Claim 4 contain the alternative language “a second enclosure arranged extending from the second side wall towards the space portion and extending from the top wall a distance in the first cover space, wherein the space portion is formed between the first enclosure and the second enclosure” and is rejected by satisfying the first alternative condition “a first enclosure arranged extending from the first side wall towards the space portion and extending from the top wall a distance in the first cover space” (see rejection of claim 4 in view of Maeda et al.). Once one alternative condition has been met, the entire claim is rejected. Since the first alternative condition, which is “a first enclosure arranged extending from the first side wall towards the space portion and extending from the top wall a distance in the first cover space”, is already satisfied, the entire alternative claim limitation is also rejected. As a result, any further claims directed to the second condition, which is “a second enclosure arranged extending from the second side wall towards the space portion and extending from the top wall a distance in the first cover space, wherein the space portion is formed between the first enclosure and the second enclosure”, similarly stand rejected. Therefore, claims 6-8, 10 and 13 are rejected due to the first alternative limitation, “a first enclosure arranged extending from the first side wall towards the space portion and extending from the top wall a distance in the first cover space”, being satisfied.
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. in view of Morohoshi.
Maeda et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0188004 A1) teaches the salient features of the present invention except (regarding claim 9) a curved transition zone arranged to one or more of: the top wall, the lower top wall, and the first side wall, the second side wall on a corner area between the top wall and the first side wall, and (regarding claim 15) the curved transition zone is between the top wall and a first side wall.
Morohoshi (US Pub. No. 2013/0050657 A1) discloses:
Regarding claim 9, a curved transition zone (Figure 6, element 26) arranged to one or more of: the top wall (Figure 6, element 38), the lower top wall (Figure 6, element 26a), and the first side wall (Figure 6, element 48), the second side wall on a corner area (Figure 6, element 44) between the top wall (Figure 6, element 38) and the first side wall (Figure 6, element 48).
Regarding claim 15, the curved transition zone (Figure 6, element 26) is between the top wall (Figure 6, element 38) and a first side wall (Figure 6, element 48).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a curved transition zone arranged to one or more of: the top wall, the lower top wall, and the first side wall, the second side wall on a corner area between the top wall and the first side wall, and the curved transition zone is between the top wall and a first side wall as shown by Morohoshi in combination with Maeda et al.’s invention for the purpose of providing a housing that can be held securely by holding the curved portion by both hands (Morohoshi, page 3, paragraph 0055, lines 11-13).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Maeda et al. in view of Hautala et al.
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Maeda et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0188004 A1) teaches the salient features of the present invention except (regarding claim 16) a movable projector cabinet comprising a base, a plurality of castors, a first side wall extending from the base, a second sidewall extending from the base, and a front wall and back wall at a distance from the first side wall and together defining a cabinet space, wherein the movable projector cabinet comprises a protecting cover arrangement arranged on an upper part of the cabinet; (regarding claim 17) a projector support plate is arranged at a distance from the upper part of the cabinet defining a lower wall of the projector space; (regarding claim 18) a handle opening is arranged in each of the side walls and provides a channel for air from outside of the projector cabinet to the projector space; (regarding claim 19) a connection panel arranged in the projector cabinet; and (regarding claim 20) the protecting cover arrangement comprises a projector having a projecting structure.
Hautala et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0000227 A1) discloses:
Regarding claim 16, a movable projector cabinet (Figure 4, element 1) comprising a base (element 2 illustrated in Figures 1-4), a plurality of casters (element 3 illustrated in Figures 1-4), a first side wall (Figure 1, element 4) extending from the base (Figure 1, element 2), a second sidewall (Figure 1, element 5) extending from the base (Figure 1, element 2), and a front wall (Figure 4, element 8) and back wall (Figure 4, element 18) at a distance from the first side wall (Figure 1, element 4) and together defining a cabinet space (page 3, paragraph 0039, lines 1-4), wherein the movable projector cabinet (Figure 4, element 1) comprises a protecting cover (Figure 4, element 12) arrangement arranged on an upper part of the cabinet (Figure 4, element 13).
Regarding claim 17, a projector support plate (Figure 4, element 24) is arranged at a distance from the upper part of the cabinet (Figure 4, element 13) defining a lower wall of the projector space (Figure 4, element 40).
Regarding claim 18, a handle opening (Figure 1, element 17) is arranged in each of the side walls (Figure 1, elements 4 and 5) and provides a channel for air from outside of the projector cabinet (Figure 1, element 1) to the projector space (page 3, paragraph 0042, lines 17-19).
Regarding claim 19, a connection panel (Figure 3, element 14) arranged in the projector cabinet (Figure 3, element 1).
Regarding claim 20, the protecting cover arrangement (Figure 4, element 12) comprises a projector (Figure 4, element 10) having a projecting structure (Figure 4, element 9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the movable projector cabinet disclosed by Hautala et al. in combination with Maeda et al.’s invention for the purpose of providing a movable projector cabinet in which a projector can be set to inside the cabinet and operated from inside the cabinet so that the projector does not need to be moved from the cabinet for use (Hautala et al., page 1, paragraph 0008, lines 1-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0107554 A1) discloses a projection system including a projector configured to project image light and furniture on which the projector is mounted. The furniture includes a furniture main body, a setting section provided in the furniture main body and houses the projector, and an opening and closing member provided in an opening through which the image light passes, the opening and closing member switching a closed state in which the opening is closed and an open state in which the opening is opened. By aligning the opening and closing member with a position corresponding to a projection surface in the open state, a position of the projector is determined in a predetermined projection position with respect to the projection surface. The projector projects the image light onto the projection surface from the predetermined projection position to thereby form a rectangular projection image on the projection surface.
/MAGDA CRUZ/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2882
10/17/2025