DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) and/or PCT Rule 112.13(m) for the following informalities:
Reference character “1” has been used to designate both a motor and a brake control device (see pgh. 0006).
Reference character “14” has been used to designate both a rotation shaft and a state detecting unit (see pgh. 0006).
Reference character “22” has been used to designate both a brake hub and a closing switch (see pgh. 0006).
Reference characters “20” and “112” have both been used to designate an armature (see pgh. 0006).
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b) and/or PCT Rule 8.1(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “state detection unit”, “abnormality detecting unit”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an abnormality” at the end of the claim, previously recited earlier in the claim. It is unclear if multiple abnormalities are being recited.
Claims 2-11 and 14 recite various instances of “an abnormality”, previously recited in claim 1. It is unclear if multiple abnormalities are being recited.
Claim 7 recites, “an abnormality in the power source”, previously recited in claim 6. Previously recited in claim 1 was “an abnormality”. It is unclear if this is the same abnormality or different from that recited in claim 1. It is unclear if a further abnormality in the power source is being recited.
Claim 12 recites, “an abnormality in the power source” at the end of the claim, previously recited earlier in the claim. Previously recited in claim 1 was “an abnormality”. It is unclear if this is the same abnormality or different from that recited in claim 1. It is unclear if a further abnormality in the power source is being recited.
Claim 13 recites, “an abnormality in the power source”, previously recited in claim 12. Previously recited in claim 1 was “an abnormality”. It is unclear if this is the same abnormality or different from that recited in claim 1. It is unclear if a further abnormality in the power source is being recited.
Dependent claims not specifically mentioned are rejected due to dependency on a rejected base claim for failing to cure the deficiencies of the base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Omachi (JP 08-182365 A) (cited on the IDS 8/10/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Omachi discloses a brake control device (see figs. 1-3) configured to control a brake device (2) that is a non-excitation actuated type and is configured to actuate a brake in a non-excitation state in which no voltage is applied and to release the brake in an excitation state in which the voltage is applied (see pgh. 0031, exciting an exciting coil to open the brake), the brake control device comprising:
a power source (e.g. 7,19,20,21) configured to be controlled so as to output a voltage or not to output the voltage in response to a received power source control signal (see pgh. 0030);
a brake control unit (e.g. 6a) configured to output a brake control signal (e.g. S21);
an opening and closing unit (e.g. 12) connected in series to the brake device (as shown) and configured to open and close an electrical path between the power source and the brake device in response to the brake control signal which has been received (see pgh. 0031);
a state detecting unit (e.g. 16) configured to output a state detection signal indicating a potential state of an electrical path between the opening and closing unit and the brake device (see pgh. 0033 at least);
an abnormality detecting unit (e.g. portion of 6b that receives S3, S21, S11 at least) configured to detect whether or not an abnormality occurs, based on a combination of a content of the brake control signal and a content of the state detection signal (see pgh. 0034 at least); and
a power source control unit (portion of 6b that generates S4) configured to output, as the power source control signal for the power source, an output OFF signal (e.g. S4) for controlling the power source so as not to output the voltage, when the occurrence of an abnormality is detected by the abnormality detecting unit (see pgh. 0034-0036, transistor 19 turned off, etc.).
Regarding claim 2, Omachi discloses the power source control unit is configured to output, as the power source control signal for the power source, an output ON signal for controlling the power source so as to output the voltage when the occurrence of an abnormality is not detected by the abnormality detecting unit (pgh. 0030 at least, normal state).
Regarding claim 9, Omachi discloses the opening and closing unit includes at least one opening and closing switch (12) configured to open and close 1 or an electrical path between a negative electrode terminal of the power source and a negative electrode terminal of the brake device (fig. 1 as shown),
wherein the brake control unit is configured to execute a brake actuation process to output the brake control signal for controlling the opening and closing switch to open (signal S21 is not output) and a brake release process to output the brake control signal for controlling the opening and closing switch to close (signal S21 is output),
wherein the abnormality detecting unit is configured to detect whether or not an abnormality occurs, during the execution of the brake actuation process, based on the combination of the content of the brake control signal and the content of the state detection signal (fig. 3, S11 and S21 received, and comparing if Vce <= Vr), and
wherein the power source control unit is configured to output the output OFF signal when the abnormality detecting unit detects the occurrence of an abnormality during the execution of the brake actuation process (signal to tun off transistor 19 when Vce<=Vr is NO).
Regarding claim 10, Omachi discloses the brake control unit is configured to terminate the brake actuation process and execute the brake release process when the abnormality detecting unit does not detect the occurrence of an abnormality while the brake actuation process is executed during a transition from the brake actuation process to the brake release process (Vce<= Vr is YES, and then S11, S21 is YES thereafter).
Regarding claim 11, Omachi discloses the abnormality detecting unit is configured to output an alarm signal when the occurrence of an abnormality is detected during the execution of the brake actuation process (signal S5).
Regarding claim 15, Omachi discloses a motor drive device comprising: a brake device (pgh. 0024) that is a non-excitation actuated type and configured to actuate a brake on a motor in a non-excitation state in which no voltage is applied and to release the brake on the motor in an excitation state in which the voltage is applied; and the brake control device according to claim 1 that is configured to control the brake device (see pghs. 0021-0036 and citations above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 12-14 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if rewritten to overcome any 112(b) rejections, as appropriate.
Reasons for allowance, if applicable, will be the subject of a separate communication to the Applicant or patent owner, pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.104 and MPEP § 1302.14.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. The documents listed on the PTO-892 are US equivalent documents to those cited on the IDS.
Conclusion
/DAVID MORRIS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
1 Strikethrough limitation not required due to “configured to open and close (option A) or (option B)” language.