DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 6, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (US 2020/0265992) hereafter Jiang.
Regarding claim 1, Jiang, discloses an electrical connecting apparatus 3 for connecting an electrical and/or electronic component 8 to a conductor substrate (see paragraph [0003], the electrical connecting apparatus 3 comprising: an electrically conductive contact-making element 1 and an electrical conductor 2, one end of the electrical conductor 2 being electrically conductively connected to the contact-making element 1, wherein the contact-making element 100 is of fork-like design with at least one first tine 5 and at least one second tine 6, the first tine being spaced apart from the second tine by an intermediate space (see fig. 2), the end of the electrical conductor being arranged in the intermediate space between the first tine and the second tine 5, 6 and being electrically conductively connected to the first tine and/or the second tine 5/6, wherein a structure S (see annotated fig.) is formed on a side of the first tine facing the second tine and/or on a side of the second tine
facing the first tine, the structure being in electrical contact with the end of the electrical conductor¸ wherein the structure S is barb-like with teeth T (see annotated fig.), the teeth projecting from each tine toward the intermediate space between the tines and being in electrical contact with the end of the conductor arranged in the intermediate space (see figs. 3A-3C), wherein the end of the electrical conductor is soldered or welded to the electrically conductive contact-making element (see paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 2, Jiang, discloses the electrical conductor 2 is configured as a strand that comprises a plurality of individual conductors 4.
Regarding claim 3, Jiang, discloses the electrical conductor 2 configured as a strand is fanned out at the end such that the individual conductors are arranged at least partially one above the other in the intermediate space between the tines (see fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 6, Jiang, discloses, the tines 5, 6 are spaced apart from one another by a distance, being smaller than a diameter of the electrical conductor in the region before the end of the electrical conductor (see fig 1A, 1B).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang, discloses, a foot 3 for attaching the electrically conductive contact-making element to the conductor substrate (see paragraph [0003]) is formed on the electrically conductive contact-making element (see paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 9, Jiang, discloses the tines of the electrically conductive connecting element are pressed together such that the end of the electrical conductor is clamped between the tines (see figs. 3B, 3C).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang, discloses an assembly comprising an electrical connecting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the assembly further comprises: at least one electrical and/or electronic component and at least one conductor substrate, wherein the conductor is designed for electrically contacting the electrical and/or electronic component and the contact-making element is electrically conductively connected to the conductor substrate as, discussed above. (see fig. 2, paragraph [0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Dechelette Helen.
Regarding claim 11, Jiang discloses the teeth is projecting from each tine toward the intermediate space between the tines and being in electrical contact with the end of the conductor arranged in the intermediate space as discussed above.
However, Jiang does not disclose the structure comprises successive teeth.
Dechelette Helen, discloses the structure 1 comprises successive teeth 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure comprises successive teeth as taught by Dechelette Helen in order have ease of insertion and have better mechanical and electrical contact there in between.
Regarding claim 12, Jiang, discloses an electrical connecting device 3 for connecting an electrical and/or electronic component (8to a conductor substrate (see paragraph [0003], the electrical connecting device 3 comprising an electrically conductive contact-making 1 and an electrical conductor 2, one end of the electrical conductor 2 being electrically conductively connected to the contact- making element 1,wherein the contact-making element 1 is of fork-like design with at least one first tine 5 and at least one second tine 6, the first tine 5 being spaced apart from the second tine 6 by an intermediate space (see fig. 2), the end of the electrical conductor 2 being arranged in the intermediate space between the first tine 5 and the second tine 6 and being electrically conductively connected to the first tine and/or the second tine , wherein a structure 1 is formed only on a side of the second tine 6 facing the first tine 5, wherein the structure 1 is barb-like with teeth T, the teeth projecting from the second tine 6 toward the intermediate space between the tines and being in electrical contact with the end of the conductor 2 arranged in the intermediate space as discussed above.
However, Jiang does not disclose the structure comprises successive teeth.
Dechelette Helen, discloses the structure 1 comprises successive teeth 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure comprises successive teeth as taught by Dechelette Helen in order have ease of insertion and have better mechanical and electrical contact there in between.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that, “Nothing in the structure of Jiang is sharp, pointed, hooked, or jagged. To the contrary, Jiang teaches two smooth-edged structures 5, 6. With respect to the term teeth, a tooth is commonly understood (from a biological perspective) to have sharp edges or pointed tips that are configured for cutting and tearing. A tooth is also commonly understood to project from a support, for example, a jawbone. Teeth also can be used to hold things, such as food. Although the claimed invention does not relate to animals, in the overall context of claim 1, as amended, a barb-like structure with teeth includes an element that projects and that has sharp edges to hold. As noted, the structure in Jiang does not have sharp edges and while sub-regions 5, 6 from a cross-sectional perspective appear to have small protrusions those protrusions do not project to hold the wires 4. Overall, Jiang does not teach a barb-like structure at least because there are no sharp edges”. The applicant this argument is not supported by the claim language, there is claim does not define the barb-like structure has sharp edges to hold. . Applicant appears to be impermissibly reading features from the specification into the claim. See MPEP 2111.01 II.
New Claims 11 and 12 are rejected, as discussed above.
Moreover, recently amended all claims and new claims are also rejectable on the prior art of Dechelette Helen.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831