Amendment after Non-final office action filed on September 1, 2026, is acknowledged.
New claims 11-17 have been added.
Claims 1-17 are pending in this application.
Applicant elected Group 1 (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on May 1, 2026. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP 818.01(a)). The restriction was deemed to be proper and was made FINAL in the previous office action. Claims 7-10 remain withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-6 and 11-17 are examined on the merits in this office action.
This application contains claims 7-10, drawn to an invention nonelected without traverse in the paper of 5/1/2026. A complete reply to the final rejection must include cancellation of nonelected claims or other appropriate action (37 CFR 1.144). See MPEP § 821.01.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
Objection to the abstract is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the abstract.
Objection to the drawing is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s filing replacement sheet on 9/1/2026.
Objection to the specification is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the specification.
Rejection of claims 1 and 5-6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for reciting the term “preferably”, is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
Rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
Please note, the specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible error. Applicant's cooperation is required in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01.
Maintained Rejections
35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claims 1-6 and 11-17 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. This rejection is maintained and revised in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Claims 1-6 and 11-17 recite a product and a method of making the product. A claim can only recite one invention. The metes and bounds of the claims are unclear because it is unclear if the claims are drawn to a product or a method invention. Because the preamble recites “Amino acid-based biomolecular glass”, the claims are interpreted as being a product invention.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant did not respond to this rejection. Therefore, the rejection is deemed to be proper and is maintained herein.
35 U.S.C. 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 11-17 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Knight reference (US 2007/0087024, cited in the previous office action). This rejection is maintained and revised in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Knight reference teaches a matrix made from a glassy protein, that includes serine (see abstract, for example). Knight reference teaches the 8 residue peptide sequence SSNTDSNS (SEQ ID NO: 1) that meets the limitation of a peptide of no less than 2 of instant claims 1-3 and 13, and no more than 10 of instant claim 13. In regards to instant claims 5-6 and 11-17, because Knight reference teaches a glassy protein matrix material made up of amino acids/peptides, the glassy protein matrix material would inherently have all of the activity and functionality as instant amino acid-based biomolecular glass. The MPEP 2112 states: “Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the Examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show an unobvious difference “[t]he PTO can require an Applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his[or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same…[footnote omitted].” The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (quoting In re Best, 562 FR.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)).” Since Knight reference teaches All of the active components, the Knight reference anticipates instant claims 1-3, 5-6 and 11-17.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that “The term “glass” in the present application is in a broad sense and refers to a glassy substance possessing properties similar to those of inorganic glass. The subject matter of claim 1 has been amended to “amino acid-based biomolecular glass” to emphasize the organic nature of the claimed glass. Knight (US 2007/0087024) describes a glassy protein containing at least 5 mol% serine and discloses the examples that the glass transition temperature of dried serine protein is 88C…” Applicant further argues that “Knight contains no disclosure or suggestion regarding the “transparency” of the glass…Furthermore, the amino acid-based biomolecular glass of the present application exhibits a transparency of 30% or more, while the prior art does not disclose, teach, or suggest such a biomolecular glass or preparation method thereof…”
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Knight reference explicitly teaches a matrix made from a glassy protein, that includes serine and teaches the 8 residue peptide sequence SSNTDSNS (SEQ ID NO: 1). A peptide is an organic material, therefore, it would be a biomolecular glass, meeting the limitation of “Amino acid-based biomolecular glass”. Furthermore, the glassy protein matrix made up of SSNTDSNS, for example, would inherently have ALL of the functionality and activity of instant amino acid-based biomolecular glass. Additionally, the MPEP 2112.01 II states that “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id”.
Therefore, the rejection is deemed to be proper and is maintained herein.
35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11-17 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight reference (US 2007/0087024, cited in the previous office action) in view of Xu reference (CN 107673599, filed with IDS, Google patent English translation used and enclosed in the previous office action). This rejection is maintained and revised in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Knight reference teaches a matrix made from a glassy protein, that includes serine (see abstract, for example). Knight reference teaches the 8 residue peptide sequence SSNTDSNS (SEQ ID NO: 1) that meets the limitation of a peptide of no less than 2 of instant claims 1-3 and 13, and no more than 10 of instant claim 13. In regards to instant claims 5-6 and 11-17, because Knight reference teaches a glassy protein matrix material made up of amino acids/peptides, the glassy protein matrix material would inherently have all of the activity and functionality as instant amino acid-based biomolecular glass. The MPEP 2112 states: “Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the Examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show an unobvious difference “[t]he PTO can require an Applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his[or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same…[footnote omitted].” The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (quoting In re Best, 562 FR.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)).” Since Knight reference teaches All of the active components, the Knight reference anticipates instant claims 1-3, 5-6 and 11-17.
The difference between the Knight reference and the instant claims is that the Knight reference does not teach additional raw materials such as clarifiers, fluxes, opacifiers and colorants.
However, Xu reference teaches non-lead glass, lead-free glass mainly comprises nitrate, clarifier silicon, dioxide, amino acid and nanometer zinc oxide…the amino acid accounts for 17-19 parts of overall component (see abstract and claim 1). Xu reference further teach other components such as decolorizing agent (see claim 5) and fluorescent brightening agent (see claim 7). Xu reference teaches:
(see p. 2, 1st full paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Knight and Xu to arrive at amino acid based glass having additional raw material such as colorants and clarifiers because both references teach peptide based glass. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine with a reasonable expectation of success, since Xu reference teaches that colored glaze add quality and glitter and translucent, bright and glittering changes to the glass, and that color and clarifiers can be added to enhance amino acid based glass. Therefore, the combined art is prima facie obvious over instant claims 1-6 and 11-17.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that “The term “glass” in the present application is in a broad sense and refers to a glassy substance possessing properties similar to those of inorganic glass. The subject matter of claim 1 has been amended to “amino acid-based biomolecular glass” to emphasize the organic nature of the claimed glass. Knight (US 2007/0087024) describes a glassy protein containing at least 5 mol% serine and discloses the examples that the glass transition temperature of dried serine protein is 88C…” Applicant further argues that “Knight contains no disclosure or suggestion regarding the “transparency” of the glass…Furthermore, the amino acid-based biomolecular glass of the present application exhibits a transparency of 30% or more, while the prior art does not disclose, teach, or suggest such a biomolecular glass or preparation method thereof…” Applicant argues that “Xu teaches non-lead glass and further teaches other components such as decolorizing agents and fluorescent brightening agent. Xu fails to overcome the above defects of Knight.”
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. As indicated in the response above, Knight reference explicitly teaches a matrix made from a glassy protein, that includes serine and teaches the 8 residue peptide sequence SSNTDSNS (SEQ ID NO: 1). A peptide is an organic material, therefore, it would be a biomolecular glass, meeting the limitation of “Amino acid-based biomolecular glass”. Furthermore, the glassy protein matrix made up of SSNTDSNS, for example, would inherently have ALL of the functionality and activity of instant amino acid-based biomolecular glass. Additionally, the MPEP 2112.01 II states that “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id”.
The Xu reference explicitly teaches other components that can be added to peptide glass materials. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine with a reasonable expectation of success, since Xu reference teaches that colored glaze add quality and glitter and translucent, bright and glittering changes to the glass, and that color and clarifiers can be added to enhance amino acid based glass. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the other components (auxiliary raw materials) added to the glass may add different aesthetic quality or component to the amino acid-based biomolecular glass..
Therefore, the rejection is deemed to be proper and is maintained herein.
New Objections
Claims 11-16 are objected to for the following: Claims 11-16 recite, “Amino acid-based biomolecular…” Claims 11-16 are missing the article “The”. For example, claim 11 should be amended to recite, “The amino acid-based biomolecular glass…”
New Rejections
DOUBLE PATENTING
Claims 1-6 and 11-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No19/480541 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because if one of ordinary skill in the art practiced the claimed invention of instant claims, one would necessarily achieve the claimed invention of copending claims and vice versa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant claims are drawn to:
.
Copending claims are drawn to:
.
Instant claims and copending claims recite a biomolecular glass , the biomolecular glass comprising natural amino acid or a peptide or an amino acid derivative or a peptide derivative. Instant claims and copending claims share a similar scope. Therefore, if one of ordinary skill in the art practiced the claimed invention of instant claims, one would necessarily achieve the claimed invention of copending claims, and vice versa.
CONCLUSION
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIE HA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654
11/10/2026