Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “bottom bracket” in claim 1, line 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "at least one first connection point" in line 12; “a second connection point” lines 12-13; “at least another one first connection point” in line 17 and “a second connection point” lines 17-18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. “[A]t least two first connection points” in line 4 and “at least two second connection points” in line 5 were first set forth in claim 1. The subsequent first and second connection points list above make claim 1 indefinite. It cannot be determined if these subsequent first and second connection points are the same connection points originally set forth in claim 1 or separate, new first and second connection points.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a coupling member" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. “[A]t least two coupling members was originally introduced in line 6. It cannot be determined if the “coupling member” in line 18 is one of the original coupling members introduced in line 6, or if the coupling member in line 18 is a new, separate coupling member.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4 is basically identical to previous claim 3. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 11-12, 14, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rocky Mountain Bicycles WO 03/018392 (RMB). RMB discloses a suspension arrangement (10) for a vehicle with at least two wheels, the vehicle having a vehicle frame (20,30) comprising a rear frame part (30) and a front frame part (20), the suspension arrangement (10) comprising: at least two first connection points (34,38) at the rear frame part (30), at least two second connection points (32,40) at the front frame part (20), at least two coupling members (26,28) each connected at a first connection point (34, 38) and a corresponding second connection point (32, 40), wherein at least the second connection points (32, 40) are pivoting connection points, wherein the at least two second connection points (32,40) at the front frame part (20) are situated in the front frame part (20) above the bottom bracket (22) of the vehicle frame (20) or above instant center of the suspension arrangement (10), wherein at least one first connection point (38) is situated above a second connection point (40) to which said first connection point (32) is connected to with a coupling member (26), said coupling member (26) being closest to the front of the vehicle frame (20) or higher on the vehicle frame (20) than another coupling member (28), and wherein at least another one first connection point (34) is connected to a second connection point (32) with a coupling member (28), the suspension arrangement (10) further comprising a damper unit (24) operationally connected pivotably in relation to the front frame part (20) and the rear frame part (30) wherein the damper unit (24) is connected to the front frame part (20) and to a connection point (42), which connection point (42) is on the rear frame part (30) side of the coupling member (26) closest to the front of the vehicle frame (20).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 14, RMB discloses wherein the at least one first connection point (34,38) is situated above or vertically at the same level with a second connection point (32, 40) to which said first connection point is connected to with a coupling member (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, RMB discloses wherein the second connection points are situated above the height of a stretched segment of the drive chain, jackshaft or idler (See Fig 1).
Regarding claim 6 and 16-18, RMB discloses wherein at least one of the second connection points (32) comprises a connecting member through the front frame part (20).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 20, RMB discloses the first connection points (34, 38) and the second connection points (32, 40) are located so that the instant center of the suspension arrangement (10) has a curved profile wherein the curve stays above the bottom bracket (22) of the vehicle frame (20, 30). As shown in Figure 1, when the rear frame rotates in relation to the front frame, the rear frame will move in a curved manner.
Regarding claim 11, RMB discloses a bicycle comprising the suspension arrangement (10).
Regarding claim 12, RMB discloses wherein the connecting member is an axle (See Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rocky Mountain Bicycles WO 03/018392 (RMB) in further view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA1955). RMB discloses the suspension arrangement as set forth in claim 1 above, but does not disclose wherein at SAG 25-55% the average of the anti-squat range of the suspension arrangement is in the range of 80-110% or the average ratio of wheel travel to shock travel of the suspension arrangement is in the range of 2.45-2.65 millimeters of rear wheel travel for 1 millimeter shock travel. In Re Aller states “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filling to experiment with the workable ranges of the suspension arrangement disclosed in RMB to achieve the ranges claimed above. Adjusting the spring force of the damper of the suspension arrangement would produce the ranges claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 13, 15 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613