DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to Application No. 18/264,997 filed on 08/10/2023. Claims 1 – 10 and 12 – 21 are currently pending and are addressed below. Claim 11 has been cancelled.
Examiner notes that the fundamentals of the rejection are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Any reference to specific figures, column, line and paragraphs should not be considered limiting in any way; the entire cited reference, as well as any secondary teaching reference(s), are considered to provide relevant disclosure relating to the claimed invention. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) for Application No. CN202110184806.0, filed on 02/10/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements provided comply with the provisions of MPEP § 609. They have been placed in the application file, and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12-16, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200019181 KIM et al. (KIM’181 hereafter).
Regarding Claim 1, KIM’181 discloses A cleaning robot escape method, performed by a cleaning robot comprising a surface medium sensor (see at least KIM’181 [¶0059-0060], “The sensing unit 140 may acquire at least one of internal information about the AI device 100, ambient environment information about the AI device 100, and user information by using various sensors. Examples of the sensors included in the sensing unit 140 may include a proximity sensor, an illuminance sensor, an acceleration sensor, a magnetic sensor, a gyro sensor, an inertial sensor, an RGB sensor, an IR sensor, a fingerprint recognition sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, an optical sensor, a microphone, a lidar, and a radar.”, i.e., the surface medium is part of ambient environment information), and comprising:
recording a cleaned path and generating a region map in response to determining that the cleaning robot cleans within a first surface medium region (see at least KIM’181 [¶0103, 0223-0224], “The self-driving vehicle 100b may acquire state information about the self-driving vehicle 100b by using sensor information acquired from various kinds of sensors, may detect (recognize) surrounding environment and objects, may generate map data, may determine the route and the travel plan, or may determine the operation.”, “Referring to FIGS. 9a to 9e, a cleaning map 900 created by simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) is shown. A cleaning path 910 of a robot cleaner identifier 901 for identifying the robot cleaner 100 on the cleaning map 900 is shown on the cleaning map 900.”);
detecting whether the cleaned path of the cleaning robot is a wall-following path in a case that a second surface medium region is detected in response to a surface medium change signal triggered by the surface medium sensor when the cleaning robot encounters an obstacle and turns a direction (see at least KIM’181 [¶0098, 0225-0229] The map data may include object identification information about various objects arranged in the space in which the robot 100a moves. For example, the map data may include object identification information about fixed objects such as walls and doors and movable objects such as pollen and desks. The object identification information may include a name, a type, a distance, and a position.”, “FIG. 9a shows recognition of the stuck situation by an obstacle 903 while the robot cleaner 100 travels along the cleaning path 910.”, “The processor 180 may determine the rotation angle (a degrees) of the robot cleaner 100 when the stuck situation is recognized. The processor 180 may determine an angle between a first traveling direction 911 before the stuck situation is recognized and a second traveling direction 913 when the stuck situation is recognized as the rotation angle.”); and
controlling the cleaning robot to enter a special escape mode in response to determining that the cleaned path of the cleaning robot is the wall-following path (see at least KIM’181 [¶0230-0238], “The processor 180 may rotate the robot cleaner 100 by the determined rotation angle (a degrees). Referring to FIG. 9b, the robot cleaner identifier 901 rotates by the determined rotation angle (a degrees) in a direction before the stuck situation is recognized.[] Thereafter, the processor 180 may control the driving unit 160 to reverse the robot cleaner 100 by the certain distance. Referring to FIG. 9c, the robot cleaner identifier 901 reverses by the certain distance.[] After the robot cleaner 100 reverses by the certain distance, the processor 180 may insert a virtual wall 930 on the cleaning map 900, as shown in FIG. 9d. The processor 180 may insert the virtual wall 930 at the front position of the robot cleaner 100 on the cleaning map 900, after reversing the robot cleaner 100 by the certain distance.[] the processor 180 may drive the robot cleaner 100 along the new traveling path after reflecting the virtual wall 930 on the cleaning map 900. as shown in FIG. 9e, the robot cleaner identifier 901 may travel in the opposite direction of the virtual wall 930.”).
Regarding Claim 2, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining whether the cleaned first surface medium region is behind the cleaning robot based on the generated region map in response to determining that the cleaned path of the cleaning robot is not the wall-following path (see at least KIM’181 [¶0223-0224, Figs. 9a – 10], “Referring to FIGS. 9a to 9e, a cleaning map 900 created by simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) is shown.”, “A cleaning path 910 of a robot cleaner identifier 901 for identifying the robot cleaner 100 on the cleaning map 900 is shown on the cleaning map 900.”); and
entering the special escape mode in response to determining that the cleaned first surface medium region is not behind the cleaning robot (see at least KIM’181 [¶0223-0224, Figs. 9a – 10]).
Regarding Claim 3, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 1, wherein the special escape mode comprises:
controlling the cleaning robot to retreat based on one of the wall-following path, the cleaned path or the cleaned first surface medium region (see at least KIM’181 [¶0196], “The processor 180 of the robot cleaner 100 controls the driving unit 160 such that the robot cleaner travels along a cleaning path (S801)., [0212] Thereafter, the processor 180 controls the driving unit 160 such that the robot cleaner reverses by a certain distance (S809).”);
making the cleaning robot rotate in place after a retreat distance of the cleaning robot reaches at least half a length of a body of the cleaning robot (see at least KIM’181 [¶210-212], “The processor 180 may control operation of a left wheel motor for controlling the left wheel 61a and a right wheel motor for controlling the right wheel 61b such that the robot cleaner 100 rotates by the determined rotation angle.”, “The processor 180 may control the driving unit 160 such that the robot cleaner reversely rotates by the determined rotation angle, in order to reverse in a direction before recognizing the stuck situation.”, “Thereafter, the processor 180 controls the driving unit 160 such that the robot cleaner reverses by a certain distance (S809).”); and
controlling the cleaning robot to continue to retreat until the surface medium sensor detects no surface medium change signal in a case that the second surface medium region is detected in response to the surface medium change signal triggered by the surface medium sensor. (see at least KIM’181 [¶005, 105, 219], “such a robot cleaner detects distances to obstacles such as furniture or office supplies, walls, etc. in an area to be cleaned, maps the area to be cleaned according to the distances, and controls driving of left and right wheels to perform obstacle avoidance operation.”, “the self-driving vehicle 100b may recognize the environment or objects for an area covered by a field of view or an area over a certain distance by receiving the sensor information from external devices, or may receive directly recognized information from the external devices.”, “the changed cleaning path may be a path excluding a path included in an area, in which the stuck situation is recognized, from a predetermined cleaning path.”).
Regarding Claim 5, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 1, wherein the wall-following path is a path parallel to a surface of a wall in a case that the cleaning robot cleans along the wall (see at least KIM’181 [¶0223-0224, Figs. 9a – 10], “Referring to FIGS. 9a to 9e, a cleaning map 900 created by simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) is shown.”, “A cleaning path 910 of a robot cleaner identifier 901 for identifying the robot cleaner 100 on the cleaning map 900 is shown on the cleaning map 900.”).
Regarding Claim 6, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 3, wherein an in-place rotation angle of the cleaning robot is 15-90 degrees (see at least KIM’181 [¶0210], “The processor 180 may control operation of a left wheel motor for controlling the left wheel 61a and a right wheel motor for controlling the right wheel 61b such that the robot cleaner 100 rotates by the determined rotation angle.”).
Regarding Claim 8, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 1, wherein the method is used for the cleaning robot to be in a mode of only cleaning the first surface medium region (see at least KIM’181 [¶0103, 0223-0224], “The self-driving vehicle 100b may acquire state information about the self-driving vehicle 100b by using sensor information acquired from various kinds of sensors, may detect (recognize) surrounding environment and objects, may generate map data, may determine the route and the travel plan, or may determine the operation.”, “Referring to FIGS. 9a to 9e, a cleaning map 900 created by simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) is shown. A cleaning path 910 of a robot cleaner identifier 901 for identifying the robot cleaner 100 on the cleaning map 900 is shown on the cleaning map 900.”).
Regarding Claim 9, KIM’181 discloses A cleaning robot escape device arranged on a cleaning robot comprising a surface medium sensor, comprising:
at least one hardware processor (see at least KIM’181 [¶0050, FIG. 1], “the AI device 100 may include a communication unit 110, an input unit 120, a learning processor 130, a sensing unit 140, an output unit 150, a memory 170, and a processor 180.”); and
a memory configured to store an executable instruction of the at least one hardware processor (see at least KIM’181 [¶0071], “The processor 180 may control at least part of the components of AI device 100 so as to drive an application program stored in memory 170. Furthermore, the processor 180 may operate two or more of the components included in the AI device 100 in combination so as to drive the application program.”) that, when executed, direct the at least one hardware processor to:
record a cleaned path and generate a region map in response to determining that the cleaning robot cleans within a first surface medium region (see at least KIM’181 [¶0103, 0223-0224], “The self-driving vehicle 100b may acquire state information about the self-driving vehicle 100b by using sensor information acquired from various kinds of sensors, may detect (recognize) surrounding environment and objects, may generate map data, may determine the route and the travel plan, or may determine the operation.”, “Referring to FIGS. 9a to 9e, a cleaning map 900 created by simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) is shown. A cleaning path 910 of a robot cleaner identifier 901 for identifying the robot cleaner 100 on the cleaning map 900 is shown on the cleaning map 900.”);
detect whether the cleaned path of the cleaning robot is a wall-following path in a case that a second surface medium region is detected in response to a surface medium change signal triggered by the surface medium sensor when the cleaning robot encounters an obstacle and turns a direction (see at least KIM’181 [¶0098, 0225-0229] The map data may include object identification information about various objects arranged in the space in which the robot 100a moves. For example, the map data may include object identification information about fixed objects such as walls and doors and movable objects such as pollen and desks. The object identification information may include a name, a type, a distance, and a position.”, “FIG. 9a shows recognition of the stuck situation by an obstacle 903 while the robot cleaner 100 travels along the cleaning path 910.”, “The processor 180 may determine the rotation angle (a degrees) of the robot cleaner 100 when the stuck situation is recognized. The processor 180 may determine an angle between a first traveling direction 911 before the stuck situation is recognized and a second traveling direction 913 when the stuck situation is recognized as the rotation angle.”);
and control the cleaning robot to enter a special escape mode in response to determining that the cleaned path of the cleaning robot is the wall-following path (see at least KIM’181 [¶0230-0238], “The processor 180 may rotate the robot cleaner 100 by the determined rotation angle (a degrees). Referring to FIG. 9b, the robot cleaner identifier 901 rotates by the determined rotation angle (a degrees) in a direction before the stuck situation is recognized.[] Thereafter, the processor 180 may control the driving unit 160 to reverse the robot cleaner 100 by the certain distance. Referring to FIG. 9c, the robot cleaner identifier 901 reverses by the certain distance.[] After the robot cleaner 100 reverses by the certain distance, the processor 180 may insert a virtual wall 930 on the cleaning map 900, as shown in FIG. 9d. The processor 180 may insert the virtual wall 930 at the front position of the robot cleaner 100 on the cleaning map 900, after reversing the robot cleaner 100 by the certain distance.[] the processor 180 may drive the robot cleaner 100 along the new traveling path after reflecting the virtual wall 930 on the cleaning map 900.[] as shown in FIG. 9e, the robot cleaner identifier 901 may travel in the opposite direction of the virtual wall 930.”).
Regarding Claim 10, KIM’181 discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon (see at least KIM’181 [¶0071], “The processor 180 may control at least part of the components of AI device 100 so as to drive an application program stored in memory 170. Furthermore, the processor 180 may operate two or more of the components included in the AI device 100 in combination so as to drive the application program.”), wherein the computer program implements a cleaning robot escape method in association with a cleaning robot comprising a surface medium sensor (see at least KIM’181 [¶0059-0060], “The sensing unit 140 may acquire at least one of internal information about the AI device 100, ambient environment information about the AI device 100, and user information by using various sensors. Examples of the sensors included in the sensing unit 140 may include a proximity sensor, an illuminance sensor, an acceleration sensor, a magnetic sensor, a gyro sensor, an inertial sensor, an RGB sensor, an IR sensor, a fingerprint recognition sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, an optical sensor, a microphone, a lidar, and a radar.”, i.e., the surface medium is part of ambient environment information), the cleaning robot escape method comprising:
recording a cleaned path and generating a region map in response to determining that the cleaning robot cleans within a first surface medium region (see at least KIM’181 [¶0103, 0223-0224], “The self-driving vehicle 100b may acquire state information about the self-driving vehicle 100b by using sensor information acquired from various kinds of sensors, may detect (recognize) surrounding environment and objects, may generate map data, may determine the route and the travel plan, or may determine the operation.”, “Referring to FIGS. 9a to 9e, a cleaning map 900 created by simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) is shown. A cleaning path 910 of a robot cleaner identifier 901 for identifying the robot cleaner 100 on the cleaning map 900 is shown on the cleaning map 900.”);
detecting whether the cleaned path of the cleaning robot is a wall-following path in a case that a second surface medium region is detected in response to a surface medium change signal triggered by the surface medium sensor when the cleaning robot encounters an obstacle and turns a direction (see at least KIM’181 [¶0098, 0225-0229] The map data may include object identification information about various objects arranged in the space in which the robot 100a moves. For example, the map data may include object identification information about fixed objects such as walls and doors and movable objects such as pollen and desks. The object identification information may include a name, a type, a distance, and a position.”, “FIG. 9a shows recognition of the stuck situation by an obstacle 903 while the robot cleaner 100 travels along the cleaning path 910.”, “The processor 180 may determine the rotation angle (a degrees) of the robot cleaner 100 when the stuck situation is recognized. The processor 180 may determine an angle between a first traveling direction 911 before the stuck situation is recognized and a second traveling direction 913 when the stuck situation is recognized as the rotation angle.”); and
controlling the cleaning robot to enter a special escape mode in response to determining that the cleaned path of the cleaning robot is the wall-following path (see at least KIM’181 [¶0230-0238], “The processor 180 may rotate the robot cleaner 100 by the determined rotation angle (a degrees). Referring to FIG. 9b, the robot cleaner identifier 901 rotates by the determined rotation angle (a degrees) in a direction before the stuck situation is recognized.[] Thereafter, the processor 180 may control the driving unit 160 to reverse the robot cleaner 100 by the certain distance. Referring to FIG. 9c, the robot cleaner identifier 901 reverses by the certain distance.[] After the robot cleaner 100 reverses by the certain distance, the processor 180 may insert a virtual wall 930 on the cleaning map 900, as shown in FIG. 9d. The processor 180 may insert the virtual wall 930 at the front position of the robot cleaner 100 on the cleaning map 900, after reversing the robot cleaner 100 by the certain distance.[] the processor 180 may drive the robot cleaner 100 along the new traveling path after reflecting the virtual wall 930 on the cleaning map 900.[] as shown in FIG. 9e, the robot cleaner identifier 901 may travel in the opposite direction of the virtual wall 930.”).
Regarding Claim 12, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 2, wherein the special escape mode comprises:
controlling the cleaning robot to retreat based on one of the wall-following path, the cleaned path or the cleaned first surface medium region (see at least KIM’181 [¶0196], “The processor 180 of the robot cleaner 100 controls the driving unit 160 such that the robot cleaner travels along a cleaning path (S801)., [0212] Thereafter, the processor 180 controls the driving unit 160 such that the robot cleaner reverses by a certain distance (S809).”);
making the cleaning robot rotate in place after a retreat distance of the cleaning robot reaches at least half a length of a body of the cleaning robot (see at least KIM’181 [¶210-212], “The processor 180 may control operation of a left wheel motor for controlling the left wheel 61a and a right wheel motor for controlling the right wheel 61b such that the robot cleaner 100 rotates by the determined rotation angle.”, “The processor 180 may control the driving unit 160 such that the robot cleaner reversely rotates by the determined rotation angle, in order to reverse in a direction before recognizing the stuck situation.”, “Thereafter, the processor 180 controls the driving unit 160 such that the robot cleaner reverses by a certain distance (S809).”); and
controlling the cleaning robot to continue to retreat until the surface medium sensor detects no surface medium change signal in a case that the second surface medium region is detected in response to the surface medium change signal triggered by the surface medium sensor. (see at least KIM’181 [¶005, 105, 219], “such a robot cleaner detects distances to obstacles such as furniture or office supplies, walls, etc. in an area to be cleaned, maps the area to be cleaned according to the distances, and controls driving of left and right wheels to perform obstacle avoidance operation.”, “the self-driving vehicle 100b may recognize the environment or objects for an area covered by a field of view or an area over a certain distance by receiving the sensor information from external devices, or may receive directly recognized information from the external devices.”, “the changed cleaning path may be a path excluding a path included in an area, in which the stuck situation is recognized, from a predetermined cleaning path.”).
Regarding Claim 13, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 2, wherein the wall- following path is a path parallel to a surface of a wall in a case that the cleaning robot cleans along the wall (see at least KIM’181 [¶0223-0224, Figs. 9a – 10], “Referring to FIGS. 9a to 9e, a cleaning map 900 created by simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) is shown.”, “A cleaning path 910 of a robot cleaner identifier 901 for identifying the robot cleaner 100 on the cleaning map 900 is shown on the cleaning map 900.”).
Regarding Claim 14, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 3, wherein the wall- following path is a path parallel to a surface of a wall in a case that the cleaning robot cleans along the wall (see at least KIM’181 [¶0223-0224, Figs. 9a – 10], “Referring to FIGS. 9a to 9e, a cleaning map 900 created by simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) is shown.”, “A cleaning path 910 of a robot cleaner identifier 901 for identifying the robot cleaner 100 on the cleaning map 900 is shown on the cleaning map 900.”).
Regarding Claim 15, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 4, wherein the wall- following path is a path parallel to a surface of a wall in a case that the cleaning robot cleans along the wall (see at least KIM’181 [¶0223-0224, Figs. 9a – 10], “Referring to FIGS. 9a to 9e, a cleaning map 900 created by simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) is shown.”, “A cleaning path 910 of a robot cleaner identifier 901 for identifying the robot cleaner 100 on the cleaning map 900 is shown on the cleaning map 900.”).
Regarding Claim 16, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 4, wherein an in-place rotation angle of the cleaning robot is 15-90 degrees (see at least KIM’181 [¶0210], “The processor 180 may control operation of a left wheel motor for controlling the left wheel 61a and a right wheel motor for controlling the right wheel 61b such that the robot cleaner 100 rotates by the determined rotation angle.”).
Regarding Claim 20, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 2, wherein the method is used for the cleaning robot to be in a mode of only cleaning the first surface medium region(see at least KIM’181 [¶0103, 0223-0224], “The self-driving vehicle 100b may acquire state information about the self-driving vehicle 100b by using sensor information acquired from various kinds of sensors, may detect (recognize) surrounding environment and objects, may generate map data, may determine the route and the travel plan, or may determine the operation.”, “Referring to FIGS. 9a to 9e, a cleaning map 900 created by simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) is shown. A cleaning path 910 of a robot cleaner identifier 901 for identifying the robot cleaner 100 on the cleaning map 900 is shown on the cleaning map 900.”).
Regarding Claim 21, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 3, wherein the method is used for the cleaning robot to be in a mode of only cleaning the first surface medium region(see at least KIM’181 [¶0103, 0223-0224], “The self-driving vehicle 100b may acquire state information about the self-driving vehicle 100b by using sensor information acquired from various kinds of sensors, may detect (recognize) surrounding environment and objects, may generate map data, may determine the route and the travel plan, or may determine the operation.”, “Referring to FIGS. 9a to 9e, a cleaning map 900 created by simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) is shown. A cleaning path 910 of a robot cleaner identifier 901 for identifying the robot cleaner 100 on the cleaning map 900 is shown on the cleaning map 900.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200019181 KIM et al. (KIM’181 hereafter) in view of US 20150032259 KIM et al. (KIM’259 hereafter).
Regarding Claim 4, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein when the surface medium sensor detects no surface medium change signal, the method further comprises: controlling the cleaning robot to exit the special escape mode.
However, KIM’259 is directed towards a cleaning robot and method for controlling the same and discloses wherein when the surface medium sensor detects no surface medium change signal, the method further comprises: controlling the cleaning robot to exit the special escape mode (see at least KIM’259 [¶0161-0162], “in the state wherein the main body is rotated in the first direction by a predetermined angle, if no obstacle has been detected in the forward direction, additional rotation may be omitted and forward movement may be performed.”, “If an obstacle is detected in the forward direction, but it is determined that the main body is not in a stuck state, the cleaning robot may rotate the main body to perform bypass traveling. In this case, the cleaning robot may rotate in a direction in which an obstacle is not detected.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered the teachings of KIM’259 to modify KIM’181, with a reasonable expectation of success, to implement the technique of controlling the cleaning robot to exit the special escape mode when the surface medium sensor detects no surface medium change signal, for the purpose of providing a wider and more useful range of actions for the robot that improve efficiency, functionality and user experience.
Claims 7, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200019181 KIM et al. (KIM’181 hereafter) in view of US 20080039974 Sandin et al. (Sandin hereafter).
Regarding Claim 7, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the surface medium change signal triggered by the surface medium sensor comprises:
controlling the surface medium sensor to vertically transmit a signal to a current surface, and receiving an actual echo signal reflected by the current surface; and
determining whether the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region, and in a case that the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region,
determining that a position of the surface medium sensor is already within the second surface medium region,
wherein the surface medium sensor is an ultrasonic sensor.
However, Sandin, directed towards robot confinement, discloses wherein the surface medium change signal triggered by the surface medium sensor comprises:
controlling the surface medium sensor to vertically transmit a signal to a current surface, and receiving an actual echo signal reflected by the current surface (See at least Sandin [¶0009], “In some examples, the robot includes a hard surface detector carried by the body and responsive to hard surfaces. The drive system is configured to redirect the robot in response to the detector detecting a hard surface. The hard surface detector includes a sensor housing defining emitter and receiver receptacles. An audio transmitter is carried in the emitter receptacle and transmits an audio emission. A receiver is carried in the receiver receptacle and is configured to receive an audio emission reflected off a ground surface. A controller of the robot compares a received reflected audio emission with a threshold energy to detect a hard surface.”); and
determining whether the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region, and in a case that the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region, determining that a position of the surface medium sensor is already within the second surface medium region (See at least Sandin [¶0159, Fig. 8], “Referring to FIG. 8E, the grass sensor 330, in some examples, includes an acoustic surface sensor 330E having a sensor housing 3310 defining emitter and receiver receptacles 3313 and 3314, respectively. An audio transmitter 3311 (e.g. a piezo-electric element, or moving coil and magnet assembly) is carried in the emitter receptacle 3313 and transmits an audio emission 3315 downwardly. A receiver 3312 (e.g. a piezo-electric element, or moving coil and magnet assembly) is carried in the emitter receptacle 3314 and is configured to receive a reflected audio emission 3316 off a ground surface 3340. A controller 3350 monitors a received reflected audio emission 3316 and compares a maximum receive energy with a threshold energy to classify the surface as hard or soft. The audio transmitter 3311 transmits multiple audio emissions 3315, each having successively larger wavelengths increased by half a fundamental frequency. In one example, the audio transmitter 3311 transmits a first audio emission 3315 at about 6.5 kHz (wavelength of about 52 mm) and a second audio emission 3315 at about 8.67 kHz. The step in transmission frequency between the first and second audio emissions 3315 changes the acoustic energy by a half of a wavelength of a fundamental frequency (e.g. by 26 mm). Small variations in a distance between the acoustic surface sensor 330E and a target surface 3340 may cause large variations in receive energy due primarily to constructive and destructive interference.”),
wherein the surface medium sensor is an ultrasonic sensor (See at least Sandin [¶0157, Fig. 8], “Referring to FIG. 8C, in some implementations, a not-grass detector 330C includes an ultrasound or acoustic emitter 333 and a microphone or ultrasonic transducer.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered the teachings of Sandin to modify KIM’181, with a reasonable expectation of success, to implement the technique of an ultrasonic surface medium sensor to detect changes in surface areas, for the purpose of providing a wider and more useful range of actions for the robot that improve efficiency, functionality and user experience.
Regarding Claim 17, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the surface medium change signal triggered by the surface medium sensor comprises:
controlling the surface medium sensor to vertically transmit a signal to a current surface, and receiving an actual echo signal reflected by the current surface; and
determining whether the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region, and in a case that the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region,
determining that a position of the surface medium sensor is already within the second surface medium region,
wherein the surface medium sensor is an ultrasonic sensor.
However, Sandin, directed towards robot confinement, discloses wherein the surface medium change signal triggered by the surface medium sensor comprises:
controlling the surface medium sensor to vertically transmit a signal to a current surface, and receiving an actual echo signal reflected by the current surface (See at least Sandin [¶0009], “In some examples, the robot includes a hard surface detector carried by the body and responsive to hard surfaces. The drive system is configured to redirect the robot in response to the detector detecting a hard surface. The hard surface detector includes a sensor housing defining emitter and receiver receptacles. An audio transmitter is carried in the emitter receptacle and transmits an audio emission. A receiver is carried in the receiver receptacle and is configured to receive an audio emission reflected off a ground surface. A controller of the robot compares a received reflected audio emission with a threshold energy to detect a hard surface.”); and
determining whether the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region, and in a case that the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region, determining that a position of the surface medium sensor is already within the second surface medium region (See at least Sandin [¶0159, Fig. 8], “Referring to FIG. 8E, the grass sensor 330, in some examples, includes an acoustic surface sensor 330E having a sensor housing 3310 defining emitter and receiver receptacles 3313 and 3314, respectively. An audio transmitter 3311 (e.g. a piezo-electric element, or moving coil and magnet assembly) is carried in the emitter receptacle 3313 and transmits an audio emission 3315 downwardly. A receiver 3312 (e.g. a piezo-electric element, or moving coil and magnet assembly) is carried in the emitter receptacle 3314 and is configured to receive a reflected audio emission 3316 off a ground surface 3340. A controller 3350 monitors a received reflected audio emission 3316 and compares a maximum receive energy with a threshold energy to classify the surface as hard or soft. The audio transmitter 3311 transmits multiple audio emissions 3315, each having successively larger wavelengths increased by half a fundamental frequency. In one example, the audio transmitter 3311 transmits a first audio emission 3315 at about 6.5 kHz (wavelength of about 52 mm) and a second audio emission 3315 at about 8.67 kHz. The step in transmission frequency between the first and second audio emissions 3315 changes the acoustic energy by a half of a wavelength of a fundamental frequency (e.g. by 26 mm). Small variations in a distance between the acoustic surface sensor 330E and a target surface 3340 may cause large variations in receive energy due primarily to constructive and destructive interference.”),
wherein the surface medium sensor is an ultrasonic sensor (See at least Sandin [¶0157, Fig. 8], “Referring to FIG. 8C, in some implementations, a not-grass detector 330C includes an ultrasound or acoustic emitter 333 and a microphone or ultrasonic transducer.”).
Regarding Claim 18, KIM’181 discloses The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the surface medium change signal triggered by the surface medium sensor comprises:
controlling the surface medium sensor to vertically transmit a signal to a current surface, and receiving an actual echo signal reflected by the current surface; and
determining whether the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region, and in a case that the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region,
determining that a position of the surface medium sensor is already within the second surface medium region,
wherein the surface medium sensor is an ultrasonic sensor.
However, Sandin, directed towards robot confinement, discloses wherein the surface medium change signal triggered by the surface medium sensor comprises:
controlling the surface medium sensor to vertically transmit a signal to a current surface, and receiving an actual echo signal reflected by the current surface (See at least Sandin [¶0009], “In some examples, the robot includes a hard surface detector carried by the body and responsive to hard surfaces. The drive system is configured to redirect the robot in response to the detector detecting a hard surface. The hard surface detector includes a sensor housing defining emitter and receiver receptacles. An audio transmitter is carried in the emitter receptacle and transmits an audio emission. A receiver is carried in the receiver receptacle and is configured to receive an audio emission reflected off a ground surface. A controller of the robot compares a received reflected audio emission with a threshold energy to detect a hard surface.”); and
determining whether the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region, and in a case that the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region, determining that a position of the surface medium sensor is already within the second surface medium region (See at least Sandin [¶0159, Fig. 8], “Referring to FIG. 8E, the grass sensor 330, in some examples, includes an acoustic surface sensor 330E having a sensor housing 3310 defining emitter and receiver receptacles 3313 and 3314, respectively. An audio transmitter 3311 (e.g. a piezo-electric element, or moving coil and magnet assembly) is carried in the emitter receptacle 3313 and transmits an audio emission 3315 downwardly. A receiver 3312 (e.g. a piezo-electric element, or moving coil and magnet assembly) is carried in the emitter receptacle 3314 and is configured to receive a reflected audio emission 3316 off a ground surface 3340. A controller 3350 monitors a received reflected audio emission 3316 and compares a maximum receive energy with a threshold energy to classify the surface as hard or soft. The audio transmitter 3311 transmits multiple audio emissions 3315, each having successively larger wavelengths increased by half a fundamental frequency. In one example, the audio transmitter 3311 transmits a first audio emission 3315 at about 6.5 kHz (wavelength of about 52 mm) and a second audio emission 3315 at about 8.67 kHz. The step in transmission frequency between the first and second audio emissions 3315 changes the acoustic energy by a half of a wavelength of a fundamental frequency (e.g. by 26 mm). Small variations in a distance between the acoustic surface sensor 330E and a target surface 3340 may cause large variations in receive energy due primarily to constructive and destructive interference.”),
wherein the surface medium sensor is an ultrasonic sensor (See at least Sandin [¶0157, Fig. 8], “Referring to FIG. 8C, in some implementations, a not-grass detector 330C includes an ultrasound or acoustic emitter 333 and a microphone or ultrasonic transducer.”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM’181 and KIM’259 in combination, in view of US 20080039974 Sandin et al. (Sandin hereafter).
Regarding Claim 19, KIM’181 and KIM’259 in combination disclose The cleaning robot escape method according to claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the surface medium change signal triggered by the surface medium sensor comprises:
controlling the surface medium sensor to vertically transmit a signal to a current surface, and receiving an actual echo signal reflected by the current surface; and
determining whether the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region, and in a case that the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region,
determining that a position of the surface medium sensor is already within the second surface medium region,
wherein the surface medium sensor is an ultrasonic sensor.
However, Sandin, directed towards robot confinement, discloses wherein the surface medium change signal triggered by the surface medium sensor comprises:
controlling the surface medium sensor to vertically transmit a signal to a current surface, and receiving an actual echo signal reflected by the current surface (See at least Sandin [¶0009], “In some examples, the robot includes a hard surface detector carried by the body and responsive to hard surfaces. The drive system is configured to redirect the robot in response to the detector detecting a hard surface. The hard surface detector includes a sensor housing defining emitter and receiver receptacles. An audio transmitter is carried in the emitter receptacle and transmits an audio emission. A receiver is carried in the receiver receptacle and is configured to receive an audio emission reflected off a ground surface. A controller of the robot compares a received reflected audio emission with a threshold energy to detect a hard surface.”); and
determining whether the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region, and in a case that the actual echo signal is different from an echo signal of the first surface medium region, determining that a position of the surface medium sensor is already within the second surface medium region (See at least Sandin [¶0159, Fig. 8], “Referring to FIG. 8E, the grass sensor 330, in some examples, includes an acoustic surface sensor 330E having a sensor housing 3310 defining emitter and receiver receptacles 3313 and 3314, respectively. An audio transmitter 3311 (e.g. a piezo-electric element, or moving coil and magnet assembly) is carried in the emitter receptacle 3313 and transmits an audio emission 3315 downwardly. A receiver 3312 (e.g. a piezo-electric element, or moving coil and magnet assembly) is carried in the emitter receptacle 3314 and is configured to receive a reflected audio emission 3316 off a ground surface 3340. A controller 3350 monitors a received reflected audio emission 3316 and compares a maximum receive energy with a threshold energy to classify the surface as hard or soft. The audio transmitter 3311 transmits multiple audio emissions 3315, each having successively larger wavelengths increased by half a fundamental frequency. In one example, the audio transmitter 3311 transmits a first audio emission 3315 at about 6.5 kHz (wavelength of about 52 mm) and a second audio emission 3315 at about 8.67 kHz. The step in transmission frequency between the first and second audio emissions 3315 changes the acoustic energy by a half of a wavelength of a fundamental frequency (e.g. by 26 mm). Small variations in a distance between the acoustic surface sensor 330E and a target surface 3340 may cause large variations in receive energy due primarily to constructive and destructive interference.”),
wherein the surface medium sensor is an ultrasonic sensor (See at least Sandin [¶0157, Fig. 8], “Referring to FIG. 8C, in some implementations, a not-grass detector 330C includes an ultrasound or acoustic emitter 333 and a microphone or ultrasonic transducer.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered the teachings of Sandin to modify KIM’181 and KIM’259 in combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, to implement the technique of an ultrasonic surface medium sensor to detect changes in surface areas, for the purpose of providing a wider and more useful range of actions for the robot that improve efficiency, functionality and user experience.
Conclusion
Examiner encourages Applicant to fill out and submit form PTO-SB-439 to allow internet communications in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 (MPEP 502.03). Should the need arise to perfect applicant-proposed or examiner’s amendments, authorization for e-mail correspondence would have already been authorized and would save time.
/Neit J. Nieves Flores/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664