DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsuka (WO Publication 2020-066323, U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0328292 will be used as an English translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Otsuka discloses an all-solid battery comprising: a positive electrode 30, a solid electrolyte layer 50, and a negative electrode 40, wherein the negative electrode can comprise lithium titanium oxide and solid electrolyte, and wherein the solid electrolyte comprises a sulfide solid electrolyte (Paragraphs 0036, 0121, 0123). As to claims 3 and 4, Otsuka teaches that the positive electrode can comprise lithium cobalt oxide and a solid electrolyte (Paragraphs 0067, 0073). Regarding claim 6, Otsuka teaches that the sulfide solid electrolyte can be an argyrodite type solid electrolyte (Paragraph 0085).
Otsuka fails to teach that a negative electrode discharge utilization rate is 134 mAh/g or less.
Otsuka teaches that the battery is charged until a battery voltage or 3.1 V is reached with a current value of 0.2 C and constant-voltage charging is performed until a current value reaches 0.02 C with a voltage of 3.1 V followed by discharging until a battery voltage reaches 1.2 V with a current value of 0.2C (Paragraph 0159).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the discharge utilization rate of the battery of Otsuka could be 134 mAh/g or less because the battery comprises the same compositions and layout for the positive electrode, solid electrolyte, and negative electrode as that of the present invention, and thus must have the same properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed on 3/17/2026, overcome the 35 USC 112 rejection that was presented in the last Office Action. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/17/2026, regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a newly found prior art reference.
Applicant argues that Mishima teaches away from the use of a sulfide solid electrolyte and thus cannot be combined with Li. The new reference, Otsuka, is now being used to teach an all-solid battery that comprises the same active materials along with an argyrodite sulfide solid electrolyte. Thus, Otsuka teaches all of the components of the battery, and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the battery would have the same properties as that of the present invention due to the similarities in materials.
Conclusion
BRITTANY L. RAYMOND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1722
/BRITTANY L RAYMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722