DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murakami (JP 2017179201 A, hereinafter referring to the attached ESPACENET translation).
Regarding claim 1, Murakami teaches an energy ray-curable composition containing a metal oxide dispersion ([0001]), comprising a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate, a polymerization initiator, and a chemically modified metal oxide ([0006]). The chemically modified metal oxide is indicated as being chemically bonded to the modifying group ([0006]). Furthermore, the chemically modified metal oxide is not indicated as requiring additional, non-bonded organic groups. Therefore, the organic components within the chemically modified metal oxide are 100% chemically adsorbed thereon, which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of “more than 70% by mass.”
Regarding claim 2, Murakami teaches that the metal oxide is modified by a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate ([0006]), which reads on “methacryloyl group” from the claimed list.
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Murakami teaches that the particle size of the chemically modified metal oxide ranges from 10 to 100 nm ([0006]), which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of “100 nm or less.”
Regarding claims 4 and 9-10, Murakami teaches an inventive example comprising 35 parts of chemically modified metal oxide, 65 parts of polyfunctional methacrylate, 3 parts of a polymerization initiator, and 3 parts of a leveling agent ([0072], [0079]). This composition therefore contains 35 parts of modified metal oxide out of 106 total parts of resin composition, equal to about 33 wt%, which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of “1% by mass or more and 60% by mass or less.”
Regarding claim 5, Murakami teaches the formation of a cured film using the inventive composition ([0091]), therefore, the formulation of Murakami reads on the claimed “coating material.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (JP 2017179201 A, hereinafter referring to the attached ESPACENET translation) in view of Hamakubo (WO 2019116967 A1, hereinafter referring to US 2021/0181410 A1 as the English language equivalent).
Regarding claim 6, Murakami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Murakami differs from claim 6 because it is silent with regard to an optical fiber comprising the claimed components and the resin composition, as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, Hamakubo teaches a resin composition containing a methacrylate resin, a polymerization initiator, and an inorganic metal oxide (Abstract), and an optical fiber comprising a core and cladding, a primary resin layer in contact with the glass fiber, and a secondary resin layer comprising a cured product of the resin composition ([0015]). It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known in the art as suitable for the same purpose (See MPEP 2144.07), Murakami and Hamakubo have formulations which are substantially similar to one another, and Murakami specifies that the inventive composition is suitable for the formation of cured films ([0091]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the resin composition of Murakami as the secondary coating within Hamakubo. In so doing, the optical fiber of Murakami as modified by Hamakubo meets all of the claimed compositional limitations of the claimed optical fiber.
Regarding claim 7, Hamakubo teaches that the inventive secondary layer is applied as a cured coating ([0012] and [0015]), which reads on the claimed application step. Hamakubo further specifies that the curing step involves ultraviolet irradiation ([0012]).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA CALEB BLEDSOE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762