DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments below filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive | moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
The Applicant asserts on pages 7-8 of the Response:
“Applicant respectfully traverses the Office Action's interpretation of the Ohishi teaching of assigning color values R,G,B to pixels to indicate their time of arrival. The Office Action alleges that such assigning can be interpreted as an accumulation image. Office Action Pg. 3. Applicant respectfully submits that Ohishi does not contemplate anything like an accumulation image. Instead the Ohishi first and second time displays are displayed in parallel. See e.g. Ohishi Figs. 8,9 and Paras. [0106], [0111]. There may be some color coding based on arrival time, but Ohishi does not contemplate using that in any sort of accumulation image.
Thus Applicant respectfully submits that neither Garg et al. nor Ohishi teach or suggest the combination of a first image frame, last image frame, and intermediate image frames into an accumulation image. The Specification at Para. [0003] defines an accumulation image as multiple image frames acquired over time and combined by some statistical operator to form a single image. The Office Action at Page 3 alleges that Ohishi teaches a designation of an R, G, or B value to a pixel corresponding to a first arrival time. The Ohishi teaching is not an accumulation image.
Tsui et al. utterly fail to contemplate any accumulation image at all, and thus cannot remedy the deficiencies of Garg et al. and Ohishi.
Secondly, none of Garg et al., Tsui et al., or Ohishi teach or suggest the selection of image frames based on parametric maps that are themselves based on a statistical distribution. Tsui et al. teaches Nakagami parameter maps, but teaches using these only to reduce the need for wall filters, not for any image frame selection. Nor do Garg et al., Tsui et al. or Ohishi teach or suggest the selection of those frames based on a determining of a parametric map value compares to a threshold or maximum value. Ohishi at most determines a pixel intensity, which is part of the image and not part of the parametric map.
Thus the automatically selecting limitations and the image accumulation limitations in the processor function of Claim 1 are not disclosed or suggested by the Garg et al., Tsui et al. and Ohishi reference combination. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be led by any reading of these references to do so because none of the references pertain to the generation of an accumulation image.”
In response the examiner respectfully asserts that as cited below Garg et al. discloses producing a sequence of parametric images. As cited below Tsui discloses calculating a plurality of parametric values based, at least in part, on statistical distributions wherein the parametric values comprise a Nakagami index. As seen in Figs. 5, 8, and 11 of Tsui, Tsui is also teaching a sequence of parametric images. As cited below Ohishi discloses automatically selecting a first frame and a last frame based on a threshold value and a maximum value. Figs. 8 and 9 show two images side by side, each having a time scale between T1 and T2 with a color scale in-between T1 and T2, this is also shown in Fig. 12 as T11-T12 and T21-T22. As cited below the first time in the time scale is determined based on a threshold to determine inflow time and the second time in the time scale is based on a maximum value of concentration. A two dimensional mapping image using R, G, B values to show the first arrival time phase of the contrast agent assigned to each pixel is formed and therefore the images including and between the first and last frame in the time scale are used to form the first arrival time phase map. The specification of the current application discloses in [009] “FIG. 1B is an example of a time-of-arrival (ToA) accumulation image”. Therefore the two dimensional mapping image using R, G, B values to show the time of arrival can be interpreted as an accumulation image.
As seen in the Tsui reference in Figs. 5, 8, and 11 the Nakagami parameter changes over time which is due to microbubble replenishment as recited in the abstract. Therefore when Ohishi is combined with Garg and Tsui one with ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to apply the Nakagami parametric images of Tsui for the selection of a first image based on a threshold and selection of a second image based on a maximum and using color coding to map the blood flow in a single image as taught by Ohishi. Therefore the examiner finds the arguments not persuasive.
The arguments to claim 10 are also found to be not persuasive for the reasons recited above.
The Applicant asserts on pages 9-10 of the Response:
“It is alleged that Tsui et al. teach a parametric value that is a combination of SNR and the Nakagami index. Applicant respectfully traverses.
Although Tsui et al. mention SNR in the same paper as mentioning the Nakagami index, Tsui et al. never contemplate combining the values into a single parametric value. The Tsui et al. reference to SNR is only to show the TICs and TNCs for various SNR levels introduced into the system. See e.g. Tsui et al. page 366. There is never a mention of combining SNR with Nakagami index to generate a parametric value.”
In response the examiner respectfully asserts that as shown in Fig. 9 (d), €, and (f) of Tsui Nakagami images are shown for an SNR of 5 dB. Fig. 9 (h) shows TNC plots showing the Nakagami parameter over time for three different SNRs therefore it can be interpreted Nakagami parameter is combined with the SNR to provide the TNC plots provided in Fig. 9 (h). Therefore the examiner finds the arguments not persuasive.
The Applicant asserts on page 10 of the Response:
“Dependent Claim 14 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garg et al. in view of Tsui et al. and Ohishi and further in view of Yao.
[…]
Yao is raised to show a parameter threshold value that is based on a tissue type. Office Action pg. 20. Thus it is alleged that the four-reference combination renders Claim 14 unpatentable. Applicant respectfully traverses.
Although Yao mentions different tissues, it does not contemplate any setting of a threshold value based on a tissue type, as required by Claim 14. Thus Yao in combination with Garg et al., Tsui et al., and Ohishi cannot render Claim 14 unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103. Claim 14 is allowable for this additional reason.”
In response the examiner respectfully asserts that paragraph [0066] of Yao discloses “the analyzing unit 152 sets the start time by calculating a threshold value”. Paragraph [0063] of Yao discloses that each curve of Fig. 5 represents the brightness transitions overtime for three different tissue regions. As seen in Fig. 5 each brightness curve has a different starting time and a different brightness level at the starting time therefore it would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art to use different threshold values for different tissue types. Therefore the examiner finds the arguments not persuasive.
In light of the responses above the remainder of the arguments are also found to be not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garg (US 20070055161) and further in view of Tsui NPL 2009 (“Microvascular Flow Estimation by Contrast-Assisted Ultrasound B-Scan and Statistical Parametric Images”) and Ohishi (US 20160022236).
Regarding claim 1, Garg discloses an apparatus for processing ultrasound images (Abstract – “A method and system are described for displaying an ultrasonic parametric image”, [0039] – “processing the pixels within a region of interest”), the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor ([0044] – “perfusion parameter processor 156”) configured to:
for individual ones of a plurality of temporally spaced image frames, calculate a plurality of parametric values based, at least in part, on statistical […parameters] of corresponding ones of a plurality of groups of pixels of a corresponding image frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames, wherein the plurality of groups of pixels are defined, at least in part, on a multi-pixel window translated across the image frame (Fig. 3 shows temporally spaced image frames, [0039] – “for each pixel within the region of interest a mean image intensity value is calculated for a pixel and its surrounding eight neighboring pixels. Pixel values are calculated in this manner for each pixel in the myocardium 98 in this example…A is the final curve intensity, B is proportional to the initial slope of the curve… Parameters may then be formed using the values A, B, and combinations thereof”), wherein the plurality of temporally spaced image frames comprise contrast enhanced ultrasound images ([0033] – “The signals from the contrast signal processor 38…large number of ultrasonic images”); and
generate a plurality of parametric maps comprising the plurality of parametric values, wherein individual ones of the plurality of parametric maps correspond to the individual ones of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames (As cited above the intensity is used to calculate parameters of the pixels, [0039] also discloses “the process is repeated for every pixel in the same location for each image in the sequence”, [0041] – “produce a sequence of parametric images”).
As cited above Garg teaches the plurality of parametric maps conversely Garg does not teach calculate a plurality of parametric values based, at least in part, on statistical distributions of corresponding ones of a plurality of groups of pixels of a corresponding image frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames, […] wherein the parametric values comprise a signal-to-noise ratio, a Nakagami index, or a combination thereof;
automatically select a first frame from the plurality of temporally spaced image frames based, at least in part, on determining a parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps comprising a parametric value equal to or above a threshold value,
automatically select a last frame from the plurality of temporally spaced image frames based, at least in part, on determining a second parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps comprising a maximum parametric value; and
combine the first frame, the last frame, and any image frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames spaced between the first frame and the last frame on a per-pixel basis to generate an accumulation image.
However Tsui discloses calculate a plurality of parametric values based, at least in part, on statistical distributions of corresponding ones of a plurality of groups of pixels of a corresponding image frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames, […] wherein the parametric values comprise a signal-to-noise ratio, a Nakagami index, or a combination thereof (pg. 364 left col. – “There are about 1225 envelope data points in the sliding window for estimating one pixel in the Nakagami image (i.e., a local Nakagami parameter mw)”, Fig. 9 shows Nakagami parametric images and the Nakagami index calculated over a period of time, pg. 366 Fig. 9 description – “B-mode images at microbubble replenishment times of (a) 0.05, (b) 0.1, and (c) 0.15 s for an SNR of 5 dB and a flow velocity of 8 mm/s. (d)–(f) Nakagami images corresponding to the B-mode images in (a)–(c). (g) TICs and (h) TNCs for different SNRs”);
Tsui is an analogous art considering it is in the field of parametric imaging.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Garg to incorporate the Nakagami images of Tsui to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because “parametric imaging method based on the Nakagami parameter of the Nakagami statistical distribution [15], [16] has a quite good potential for applying to measure the microbubble replenishment” (Tsui – pg. 361 right col.)
As cited above Garg teaches the plurality of parametric maps conversely Garg and Tsui do not teach automatically select a first frame from the plurality of temporally spaced image frames based, at least in part, on determining a parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps comprising a parametric value equal to or above a threshold value,
automatically select a last frame from the plurality of temporally spaced image frames based, at least in part, on determining a second parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps comprising a maximum parametric value; and
combine the first frame, the last frame, and any image frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames spaced between the first frame and the last frame on a per-pixel basis to generate an accumulation image.
However Ohishi discloses automatically select a first frame from the plurality of temporally spaced image frames based (Abstract – “The processing circuitry obtains first and second blood vessel image”, [0151] – “the initial time phases T11 and T21”), at least in part, on determining a parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps comprising a parametric value equal to or above a threshold value ([0151] – “the initial time phases T11 and T21 are set to inflow time phases of a contrast agent”, [0050] – “when a threshold value TH for detecting a rising up of the curve is set for values of the concentration change profile, it becomes possible to identify a time phase at a start of contrast agent inflow”, Fig. 2, each image is a parametric map of the intensity).
automatically select a last frame from the plurality of temporally spaced image frames (Abstract – “The processing circuitry obtains first and second blood vessel image”) based, at least in part, on determining a second parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps comprising a maximum parametric value ([0151] – “the ending time phases T12 and T22 are set to the maximum values of concentrations”, each image is a parametric map of the intensity); and
combine the first frame, the last frame, and any image frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames spaced between the first frame and the last frame on a per-pixel basis to generate an accumulation image ([0178] – “the color scale can be generated by designating the starting time phase T1 and the ending time phase T2 of the time phase period”, [0179] – “an R value, a G value, and a B value corresponding to the first arrival time phase of the contrast agent are assigned to each pixel”, Fig. 12, therefore image data from the starting time phase to the ending time phase is combined to generate an accumulation image showing the arrival time of each pixel).
Ohishi is an analogous art considering it is in the field of parametric imaging.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Garg to incorporate the selection of a first and last frame and generate an accumulation image of Ohishi to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because by only obtaining data from a particular time phase the processing power would be decreased, the processing speed would be increased, and it would allow one to easily focus on data from the time phase to see arrival times within the particular time phase.
Regarding claim 4, Garg, Tsui, and Ohishi disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 1.
As cited above Garg teaches the plurality of parametric maps conversely Garg does not teach wherein the last frame corresponds to the second parametric map.
However Ohishi discloses wherein the last frame corresponds to the second parametric map ([0151] – “the ending time phases T12 and T22 are set to the maximum values of concentrations”, each image is a parametric map of the intensity).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Garg to incorporate the selection of a second image of Ohishi to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because by only obtaining data from a particular time phase the processing power would be decreased, the processing speed would be increased, and it would allow one to easily focus on data from the time phase to see arrival times within the particular time phase.
Regarding claim 5, Garg, Tsui, and Ohishi disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 1.
Conversely Garg does not teach wherein the accumulation image comprises a time-of-arrival image.
However Ohishi discloses wherein the accumulation image comprises a time-of-arrival image ([0179] – “an R value, a G value, and a B value corresponding to the first arrival time phase of the contrast agent are assigned to each pixel”, Figs. 11-12, therefore image data from the starting time phase to the ending time phase is combined to generate an accumulation image showing the arrival time of each pixel).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Garg to incorporate the selection of a last frame and generate an accumulation image of Ohishi to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because by only obtaining data from a particular time phase the processing power would be decreased, the processing speed would be increased, and it would allow one to easily focus on data from the time phase to see arrival times within the particular time phase.
Regarding claim 6, Garg, Tsui, and Ohishi disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1 and 5.
Conversely Garg does not teach wherein at least one of a temporal gradient or a coding range of the time-of-arrival image is based, at least in part, on the plurality of parametric maps.
However Ohishi discloses wherein at least one of a temporal gradient or a coding range of the time-of-arrival image is based, at least in part, on the plurality of parametric maps ([0178]-[0179], Figs. 11-12, image data from the starting time phase to the ending time phase is combined to generate an accumulation image showing the arrival time of each pixel using a color scale).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Garg to incorporate the color scale of the time-of-arrival image of Ohishi to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it would allow one to visualize blood perfusion in one parametric image.
Regarding claim 7, Garg, Tsui, and Ohishi disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 1.
As cited above Garg teaches the plurality of parametric maps conversely Garg does not teach wherein the first frame corresponds to the parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps comprising the parametric value equal to or above the threshold value.
However Ohishi discloses wherein the first frame corresponds to the parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps comprising the parametric value equal to or above the threshold value ([0151] – “the initial time phases T11 and T21 are set to inflow time phases of a contrast agent”, [0050] – “when a threshold value TH for detecting a rising up of the curve is set for values of the concentration change profile, it becomes possible to identify a time phase at a start of contrast agent inflow”, Fig. 2, each image is a parametric map of the intensity).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Garg to incorporate the selection of a first image of Ohishi to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because by only obtaining data from a particular time phase the processing power would be decreased, the processing speed would be increased, and it would allow one to easily focus on data from the time phase.
Regarding claim 10, Garg discloses a method for generating an ultrasound […] image (Title) […] comprising:
performing a contrast enhanced ultrasound (CEUS) examination with an ultrasound imaging system to obtain a plurality of temporally spaced image frames showing CEUS images ([0027] – “The ultrasonic energy transmitted by the scanhead 12 can be relatively high energy (high mechanical index or MI) which destroys or disrupts contrast agent in the image field, or it can be relatively low energy which enables the return of echoes from the contrast agent without substantially disrupting it”, [0033] – “The signals from the contrast signal processor 38…large number of ultrasonic images”);
translating a multi-pixel window across individual image frames of a plurality of temporally spaced image frames (Fig. 3 shows temporally spaced image frames, [0039] – “for each pixel within the region of interest a mean image intensity value is calculated for a pixel and its surrounding eight neighboring pixels. Pixel values are calculated in this manner for each pixel in the myocardium”),
generating from the plurality of parametric values a plurality of parametric maps corresponding to the individual image frames of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames (As cited above the intensity is used to calculate parameters of the pixels, [0039] also discloses “[0039] – “the process is repeated for every pixel in the same location for each image in the sequence”, [0041] – “produce a sequence of parametric images”).
As cited above Garg teaches the plurality of parametric maps conversely Garg does not teach a method for generating an […] accumulation image,
for each translation of the multi-pixel window: determining a statistical distribution of pixels of the individual image frames included in the multi-pixel window to generate a plurality of statistical distributions; calculating a parametric value based, at least in part, on a corresponding one of the plurality of statistical distribution to generate a plurality of parametric values wherein the parametric values comprise a signal-to-noise ratio, a Nakagami index, or a combination thereof;
automatically selecting a first frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames based, at least in part, on a first parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps comprising a first parametric value over a threshold value;
automatically selecting a second frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames based, at least in part, on a second parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps comprising a maximum parametric value of the plurality of parametric values, wherein the first frame and the second frame define, at least in part, a subsequence of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames; and combining the subsequence to generate an accumulation image.
However Tsui discloses for each translation of the multi-pixel window: determining a statistical distribution of pixels of the individual image frames included in the multi-pixel window to generate a plurality of statistical distributions; calculating a parametric value based, at least in part, on a corresponding one of the plurality of statistical distribution to generate a plurality of parametric values (pg. 364 left col. – “There are about 1225 envelope data points in the sliding window for estimating one pixel in the Nakagami image (i.e., a local Nakagami parameter mw)”, Fig. 9 shows Nakagami parametric images and the Nakagami index calculated over a period of time) wherein the parametric values comprise a signal-to-noise ratio, a Nakagami index, or a combination thereof (Fig. 9, pg. 366 Fig. 9 description – “B-mode images at microbubble replenishment times of (a) 0.05, (b) 0.1, and (c) 0.15 s for an SNR of 5 dB and a flow velocity of 8 mm/s. (d)–(f) Nakagami images corresponding to the B-mode images in (a)–(c). (g) TICs and (h) TNCs for different SNRs”);
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Garg to incorporate the Nakagami images of Tsui to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because “parametric imaging method based on the Nakagami parameter of the Nakagami statistical distribution [15], [16] has a quite good potential for applying to measure the microbubble replenishment” (Tsui – pg. 361 right col.)
As cited above Garg teaches the plurality of parametric maps conversely Garg and Tsui do not teach a method for generating an […] accumulation image,
automatically selecting a first frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames based, at least in part, on a first parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps comprising a first parametric value over a threshold value;
automatically selecting a second frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames based, at least in part, on a second parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps comprising a maximum parametric value of the plurality of parametric values, wherein the first frame and the second frame define, at least in part, a subsequence of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames; and combining the subsequence to generate an accumulation image.
However Ohishi discloses a method for generating an […] accumulation image ([0025] – “a medical image processing method”, [0178]-[0179]),
automatically selecting a first frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames based, at least in part, on a first parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps comprising a first parametric value over a threshold value (Abstract – “The processing circuitry obtains first and second blood vessel image”, [0151] – “the initial time phases T11 and T21 are set to inflow time phases of a contrast agent”, [0050] – “when a threshold value TH for detecting a rising up of the curve is set for values of the concentration change profile, it becomes possible to identify a time phase at a start of contrast agent inflow”, Fig. 2, each image is a parametric map of the intensity);
automatically selecting a second frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames based, at least in part, on a second parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps comprising a maximum parametric value of the plurality of parametric values (Abstract – “The processing circuitry obtains first and second blood vessel image”, [0151] – “the ending time phases T12 and T22 are set to the maximum values of concentrations”, each image is a parametric map of the intensity), wherein the first frame and the second frame define, at least in part, a subsequence of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames (Fig. 12 shows a subsequence of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames between the first frame T11 and the second frame T12); and combining the subsequence to generate an accumulation image ([0178] – “the color scale can be generated by designating the starting time phase T1 and the ending time phase T2 of the time phase period”, [0179] – “an R value, a G value, and a B value corresponding to the first arrival time phase of the contrast agent are assigned to each pixel”, Fig. 12, therefore image data from the starting time phase to the ending time phase is combined to generate an accumulation image showing the arrival time of each pixel).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Garg to incorporate the selection of a first and last frame and generate an accumulation image of Ohishi to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because by only obtaining data from a particular time phase the processing power would be decreased, the processing speed would be increased, and it would allow one to easily focus on data from the time phase to see arrival times within the particular time phase.
Regarding claim 11, Garg, Tsui, and Ohishi disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 10.
Conversely Garg does not teach wherein the parametric value comprises the combination of the signal-to-noise ratio and the Nakagami index.
However Tsui discloses wherein the parametric value comprises the combination of the signal-to-noise ratio and the Nakagami index (Fig. 9, pg. 366 Fig. 9 description – “B-mode images at microbubble replenishment times of (a) 0.05, (b) 0.1, and (c) 0.15 s for an SNR of 5 dB and a flow velocity of 8 mm/s. (d)–(f) Nakagami images corresponding to the B-mode images in (a)–(c). (g) TICs and (h) TNCs for different SNRs”);
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Garg to incorporate the Nakagami images combined with the signal-to-noise ratio of Tsui to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because “parametric imaging method based on the Nakagami parameter of the Nakagami statistical distribution [15], [16] has a quite good potential for applying to measure the microbubble replenishment” (Tsui – pg. 361 right col.) and “we can use the intrinsic noise level in the ROI before microbubbles injection as the threshold value to remove most of them without affecting the features and statistical properties of microbubble signals” (Tsui – pg. 366 left and right col.).
Regarding claim 12, Garg, Tsui, and Ohishi disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 10.
Garg further discloses wherein the multi-pixel window comprises a square (Fig. 9B, [0039] – “mean image intensity value is calculated for a pixel and its surrounding eight neighboring pixels”).
Regarding claim 20, Garg, Tsui, and Ohishi disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 10.
Garg further discloses wherein the multi-pixel window is only translated across a region of interest in the individual image frames of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames, wherein the region of interest is smaller than the individual image frames ([0038] – “the area of interest may be further defined by a mask 96, as shown in FIG. 8 b, in which the area within the border trace is masked. All pixels under the mask are to be processed in this example, while pixels outside of the mask are not processed parametrically”).
Claims 8-9 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garg (US 20070055161), Tsui NPL 2009 (“Microvascular Flow Estimation by Contrast-Assisted Ultrasound B-Scan and Statistical Parametric Images”), and Ohishi (US 20160022236) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Berlin (US 20190154821).
Regarding claim 8, Garg, Tsui, and Ohishi disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 1.
Conversely Garg does not teach wherein at least one of the plurality of parametric maps corresponds to an image frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames acquired prior to arrival of a contrast agent, and the at least one processor is further configured to determine a maximum value of the plurality of parametric values of the at least one of the plurality of parametric maps; and
threshold remaining ones of the plurality of parametric maps corresponding to image frames of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames acquired after the image frame image frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames acquired prior to the arrival of the contrast agent.
However Berlin discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of parametric maps corresponds to an image frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames acquired prior to arrival of a contrast agent ([0009] – “imagery obtained prior to contrast agent arrival”), and the at least one processor is further configured to determine a maximum value of the plurality of parametric values of the at least one of the plurality of parametric maps ([0063] – “a composite image is formed by preserving the maximum intensity present in any of the pre-contrast-arrival image frames”); and
threshold remaining ones of the plurality of parametric maps corresponding to image frames of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames acquired after the image frame image frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames acquired prior to the arrival of the contrast agent ([0063] – “a composite image is formed by preserving the maximum intensity present in any of the pre-contrast-arrival image frames. In other words, if a pixel is ever brighter than the composite image, the composite image takes on the value of that pixel”).
Berlin is an analogous art considering it is in the field of contrast-enhanced ultrasound imaging.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Garg to incorporate the background removal of Berlin to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it provides “dramatically improved signal clarity required to reliably disambiguate contrast agent from other sources of signal intensity.” (Berlin – [0006]).
Regarding claim 9, Garg, Tsui, Ohishi, and Berlin disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1 and 8.
Garg further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to segment a feature from at least one image frame of the image frames of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames acquired after the image frame image frame of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames acquired prior to arrival of the contrast agent ([0034] – “The myocardium can be distinguished for analysis by segmentation”, [0038] – “border detection as shown in FIGS. 7 a-7 d. FIG. 7 a illustrates a contrast image sequence 90…The border outline 94 on the selected image is then used to automatically delineate the border on other images in the sequence 90”).
Conversely Garg does not teach segmenting based, at least in part, on corresponding thresholded ones of the remaining ones of the plurality of parametric maps.
However Berlin discloses segmenting based, at least in part, on corresponding thresholded ones of the remaining ones of the plurality of parametric maps ([0174] – “Ideally background has been removed from this residual image…The result of the closing is then segmented”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Garg to incorporate the segmentation of Berlin to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it provides “dramatically improved signal clarity required to reliably disambiguate contrast agent from other sources of signal intensity.” (Berlin – [0006]).
Regarding claim 17, Garg, Tsui, and Ohishi disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 10.
Conversely Garg does not teach determining a maximum parametric value of the plurality of parametric values corresponding to a first parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps; and thresholding the plurality of parametric values corresponding to remaining ones of the plurality of parametric maps to remove parametric values of the plurality of parametric values below the maximum parametric value.
However Berlin discloses teach determining a maximum parametric value of the plurality of parametric values corresponding to a first parametric map of the plurality of parametric maps ([0063] – “a composite image is formed by preserving the maximum intensity present in any of the pre-contrast-arrival image frames”); and thresholding the plurality of parametric values corresponding to remaining ones of the plurality of parametric maps to remove parametric values of the plurality of parametric values below the maximum parametric value ([0063] – “a composite image is formed by preserving the maximum intensity present in any of the pre-contrast-arrival image frames. In other words, if a pixel is ever brighter than the composite image, the composite image takes on the value of that pixel”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Garg to incorporate the background removal of Berlin to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it provides “dramatically improved signal clarity required to reliably disambiguate contrast agent from other sources of signal intensity.” (Berlin – [0006]).
Regarding claim 18, Garg, Tsui, Ohishi, and Berlin disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 10 and 17.
Garg further discloses further comprising segmenting at least one of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames ([0034] – “The myocardium can be distinguished for analysis by segmentation”, [0038] – “border detection as shown in FIGS. 7 a-7 d. FIG. 7 a illustrates a contrast image sequence 90…The border outline 94 on the selected image is then used to automatically delineate the border on other images in the sequence 90”).
Conversely Garg does not teach segmenting […] image frames corresponding to at least one of the remaining ones of the plurality of parametric maps.
However Berlin discloses segmenting […] image frames corresponding to at least one of the remaining ones of the plurality of parametric maps ([0174] – “Ideally background has been removed from this residual image…The result of the closing is then segmented”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Garg to incorporate the segmentation of Berlin to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it provides “dramatically improved signal clarity required to reliably disambiguate contrast agent from other sources of signal intensity.” (Berlin – [0006]).
Regarding claim 19, Garg, Tsui, Ohishi, and Berlin disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 10, 17, and 18.
Conversely Garg does not teach wherein segmenting comprises assigning pixels of the at least one of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames to a feature, wherein the pixels correspond to parametric values equal to or greater than a threshold value.
However Berlin discloses wherein segmenting comprises assigning pixels of the at least one of the plurality of temporally spaced image frames to a feature, wherein the pixels correspond to parametric values equal to or greater than a threshold value (Fig. 11, [0084] – “masked by areas in which the background-reduced signal strength is greater than a threshold (in this case the threshold is set to 0). As an added illustrative filtering effect, the results are drawn here only in regions (e.g. region of tumor site 1110 and other regions 1120, 1130 and 1140) where background is anticipated to be small”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Garg to incorporate the segmentation of Berlin to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it provides “dramatically improved signal clarity required to reliably disambiguate contrast agent from other sources of signal intensity.” (Berlin – [0006]).
Claim 14 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garg (US 20070055161), Tsui NPL 2009 (“Microvascular Flow Estimation by Contrast-Assisted Ultrasound B-Scan and Statistical Parametric Images”), and Ohishi (US 20160022236) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Yao (US 20150257739).
Regarding claim 14, Garg, Tsui, and Ohishi disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 10.
Conversely Garg does not teach wherein the threshold value is based, at least in part, on a tissue type included in the plurality of temporally spaced image frames.
However Yao discloses wherein the threshold value is based, at least in part, on a tissue type included in the plurality of temporally spaced image frames (Fig. 5, [0063] discloses that each curve shows the brightness transition over time for regions 100, 101, and 102, [0054] discloses that region 100 is a tumor, region 101 is a portal vein, and region 102 is in a kidney, [0066] discloses a threshold value for determining a start time based on the brightness transition curve).
Yao is an analogous art considering it is in the field of contrast enhanced ultrasound imaging.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Garg to incorporate the threshold based on a tissue type of Yao to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because “there is a possibility that the contrast echo method may be applied to the evaluation of abnormalities of tumor blood vessels” (Yao – [0006]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.C.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797