DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 and 25-28 are pending.
Claims 3-5, 7, 9-11, 14-16 have been amended.
Claims 17-24 have been cancelled.
Response to Amendment
In response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/04/2025, the objections of claims 3-5, 7, 9-11, and 14-16 are maintained because the applicant has not made appropriate correction to claims 3-5, 7, 9-11, and 14-16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/04/2025 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, (pages 7-10), Zhang does not disclose using one signal to indicate beam information of a plurality of control resource sets.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner submits that Zhang discloses using one signal to indicate beam information of a plurality of control resource sets.
Zhang discloses using one signal to indicate beam information of a plurality of control resource sets ([0038, 0053, 0055]).
It is disclosed in paragraphs ([0038, 0053, 0055]) in Zhang as follows:
[0038] For example, in FIG. 3, the BS 302 performs directional LBT procedure in the spatial region 0, and acquires the channel for a COT. The UE 301 is configured with three CORESESTs, for example, CORESET 0, CORESET 1, and CORESET 2. The TCI state 0 which indicates beam 303-0, TCI state 1 which indicates beam 303-1, and TCI state 2 which indicates beam 303-2, are assigned to the three CORESESTs respectively. The UE 301 detects a GC-PDCCH in CORESET 0, in which a field indicates the COT duration, the until the COT duration is up, the UE 301 will only monitor PDCCH candidates in CORESET 0, and not monitor PDCCH candidates in CORESETs 1 and 2. The COT duration may also be indicated by other PDCCH, for example, the UE-specific PDCCH, or any other PDCCH.
[0053] FIG. 5 illustrates a method performed by a UE for wireless communication according to some embodiments of the subject disclosure. In step 501, the UE (e.g., UE 101 as shown in FIG. 1) determines one or more control resource sets (CORESETs) from a plurality of control resource sets in response to first Downlink Control Information (DCI) being received in at least one of the one or more control resource sets, for example, the first DCI is the GC-PDCCH or the UE-specific PDCCH. In step 502, the UE detects second DCI only in the determined one or more control resource sets within a time duration, the second DCI may be any PDCCH.
[0055] In one embodiment, each CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs has a corresponding parameter for indicating beam information. For example, in FIG. 4A, CORESET 0 has a corresponding TCI state 0, which indicates the beam 403-0, CORESET 1 has a corresponding TCI state 1, which indicates the beam 403-1, and CORESET 2 has a corresponding TCI state 2, which indicates the beam 403-2. In particular, when two CORESETs are determined, the two CORESETs may have the same TCI state.
For the above reasons, Zhang discloses DCI is the GC-PDCCH, GC-PDCCH indicates beam information of a plurality of control resource sets. Also see paragraphs ([0031-0032]).
Claim Objections
Claims 3-5, 7, 9-11, and 14-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3-5, 7, 9-11, and 14-16 recite the acronym “ID” without initially defining what it stands for. Please define “ID” (i.e. identifier / identification).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 12-14, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230047505 A1), hereinafter Zhang.
With respect to claim 1, Zhang teaches A method for beam indication, performed by a terminal, the method comprising:
determining a first signaling, wherein the first signaling is configured to indicate beam information of a plurality of control resource sets (figures 3, 5, [0038, 0053, 0055], UE determines a first signaling / DCI, DCI is the GC-PDCCH, GC-PDCCH indicates beam information of a plurality of control resource sets; see paragraphs [0031-0032]).
With respect to claim 2, Zhang teaches wherein the first signaling is configured to indicate beam information corresponding respectively to a first number of control resource sets ([0055]).
With respect to claim 3, Zhang teaches wherein the first signaling is configured to indicate a first number of target transmission configuration indication state IDs and control resource set IDs corresponding to respective target transmission configuration indication state IDs in the first number of target transmission configuration indication state IDs ([0053, 0055]), wherein each target transmission configuration indication state ID corresponds to one transmission configuration indication state, wherein the transmission configuration indication state ID is used to identify a TCI state ([0053, 0055]).
With respect to claim 8, Zhang teaches wherein the first signaling comprises a downlink control information (DCI) signaling ([0053, 0055]).
With respect to claim 12, Zhang teaches A method for beam indication, performed by a network device, the method comprising:
sending a first signaling, wherein the first signaling is configured to indicate beam information of a plurality of control resource sets (figures 3, 5, [0038, 0053, 0055], BS sends a first signaling / DCI, DCI is the GC-PDCCH, GC-PDCCH indicates beam information of a plurality of control resource sets; see paragraphs [0031-0032]).
With respect to claim 13, this claim recites the method of claim 2, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 14, this claim recites the method of claim 3, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 25, Zhang teaches A device for beam indication, comprising:
a processor (figure 6, [0058], processor); and
a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (figure 6, [0058], memory);
wherein the processor is configured to (figure 6, [0058],):
determine a first signaling, wherein the first signaling is configured to indicate beam information of a plurality of control resource sets (figures 3, 5, [0038, 0053, 0055], UE determines a first signaling / DCI, DCI is the GC-PDCCH, GC-PDCCH indicates beam information of a plurality of control resource sets; see paragraphs [0031-0032]).
With respect to claim 26, this claim recites the method of claim 12, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 27, this claim recites the method of claim 1, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 28, this claim recites the method of claim 12, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of MIAO (Pub. No.: US 20220103207 A1), hereinafter MIAO.
With respect to claim 6, Zhang teaches the first signal as set above.
Zhang does not explicitly teach the first signaling comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE).
However, MIAO teaches the signaling comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE) ([0006], see claim 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of MIAO, the signaling comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE), into the teachings of Zhang, in order to achieve an efficient service delivery through the reduced end-to-end latency and load on the transport network (MIAO, [0113]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7, 9-11, and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469