DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 11/07/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: The list of fillers in claim 13 includes instances where the types of fillers are repeated. At the top of page 4, the claim repeats silica, clays, calcium carbonate, zinc oxide, magnesia, calcium carbonate (a third time), talc, mica, wollastonite, and graphite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirai, M., US-20160096959A1.
Regarding claims 1-2, 5 and 12-13, Hirai teaches a curable silicone composition comprising a hydroxyl organopolysiloxane (A), and organohydrogenpolysiloxane (B), reaction product of an amino group-containing organoalkoxysilane and an acid anhydride (C), an epoxy group containing organoalkoxysilane (D), colloidal silica (filler) (E), bismuth catalyst (F), and water as solvent (G), see abstract.
In the examples, component A-1 ¶[0098] and A-2 ¶[0099] are emulsions of hydroxyl terminated polysiloxanes, structures shown in ¶[0098] and ¶[0099] respectively.
Component B is an emulsion of hydrogen functional organopolysiloxane, structure shown in ¶[0100], which has hydrogen bonded to the silicon atom with 50 repeat units. Component D is glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane, which is an adhesion promoter, ¶[0074,0106] and reads on claim 12. Component E is colloidal silica ¶0106], which reads on the silica filler of claim 13. The catalyst (F) is bismuth trioctoate, which reads on claims 2 and 5.
Table 1 on page 6 shows the compositions of examples 1-4, where only the bismuth catalyst is used in examples 1-4 and the tin catalyst (H) is used in the comparative example.
Water is interpreted as a solvent because applicant does not specify the solvent must be non-aqueous in the as-filed specification and states that the solvent is selected as desired for a particular purpose or intended application, ¶[0031]. Furthermore, under the BRI of a solvent, it does not have to be one that dissolves the materials, but need only be a substance capable of dissolving another substance, as defined in Hawley’s Condensed Dictionary.
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sumida, H., US-4252933.
Regarding claims 1-3, 6-7, 12, Sumida teaches a self-bonding polysiloxane coating composition comprising a hydroxyl end-blocked polydiorganosiloxane polymer, and a polysiloxane having epoxy functional groups mixed with an amino-functional silicone compound, there may also be a hydride-containing polysiloxane and a metal salt of a carboxylic acid, abstract. In table 2, Col.8, the composition #41 is shown as comprising hydroxyl end blocked PDMS, a methylhydrogen polysiloxane where the hydrogen is bonded to the silicon atom and there are 20 repeat units, an epoxy functional polysiloxane (reads on claim 12), aminopropyltrimethoxysilane adhesion promoter (reads on claims 7 and 12), and trichloroethylene solvent. The catalyst in table 2 is dibutyltin dioctoate, but Sumida teaches in example 10, Col. 10 lines 63-66, that the composition 41 is replicated and the tin is replaced with the catalysts of Table 4, shown in Col. 11. The composition 103 shows that zinc octoate is the catalyst, which is a different name for zinc 2-ethylhexanoate, and reads on claims 2, 3, and 6.
Regarding claim 11, Sumida teaches the organic solvent can be hexane, heptane, petroleum hydrocarbon, toluene, xylene, isopropyl alcohol, or butyl alcohol, Col. 5 lines 17-21.
Regarding claim 13, Sumida teaches the compositions can further comprise fillers such as fumed or precipitated silica, Col. 5 lines 25-26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumida, H., US-4252933.
Regarding claim 8, Sumida teaches the invention according to claim 1 as explained above. Sumida exemplifies 3 parts of zinc octoate added to composition 103 in table 4, which when compared to the amount of aminopropyltrimethoxysilane listed in table 2, the ratio is 3:10.
Sumida does not explicitly teach the claimed ratio in an example. But Sumida teaches that the catalyst is used in an amount of 0.6-6 wt.% based on the amount of components A-C. The total of the components A-C in table 2 is 217 parts and 6 wt.% of this is 13.02 parts. Therefore, at its highest recommended amount the zinc octoate can be a ratio of 13.02:10 parts amino silane in composition 103, which is equal to 1.3:1 and satisfies claim 8. It would be obvious to the skilled artisan to use up to 6 wt.% catalyst based on the total of ingredients A-C because it is the suggested amount by Sumida.
Regarding claims 9-10, Sumida teaches the invention according to claim 1 as explained above. Sumida exemplifies 3 parts of zinc octoate and 10 parts amino silane in compositions 41 and 103 (tables 2 and 4), which means the ratio of metal carboxylate to amino silane is 3:10 or 0.3:1. Sumida does not explicitly teach the claimed ratios.
Sumida discloses that the amount of component (B), which is the total of the epoxy siloxane and the amino silane, to component (A), which is the hydroxy polysiloxane, is especially preferably 0.1-1 part (B) to 1 part (A), Col. 4 lines 30-31. The minimum 0.1(B): 1(A) ratio becomes 10(B):100 (A) because composition 103 uses 100 parts (A). Adjusting composition 103 to have this minimum 10(B) : 100(A) ratio, and keeping the other ingredients the same, the ratio of metal carboxylate to amino silane is 3.3:1, which reads on claims 9-10. See the table below for the ingredients and their respective parts, examiner has kept the ratio of epoxy siloxane and amino silane the exemplified 100:10 ratio and note the zinc octoate catalyst is still within the recommended 0.6-6 wt.% range.
Composition 103
Minimum Preferred (B)
Component
parts
percent
parts
percent
(A) SiOH
100
45.45%
100
83.33%
(C) hydride
7
3.18%
7
5.83%
(B1) epoxy siloxane
100
45.45%
9.1
7.58%
(B2) amino silane
10
4.55%
0.91
0.76%
zinc octoate
3
1.36%
3
2.50%
Total
220
100.00%
120.01
100.00%
zinc octoate/amino silane
0.30
3.30
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumida, H., US-4252933 in view of Ryang, H., US-4472565A.
Regarding claim 4, Sumida teaches the invention according to claim 1 as explained above. Sumida teaches that the metal salt of a carboxylic acid causes dehydrogenation condensation reaction between the hydroxyl end-blocked polyorganosiloxane and the polyorganohydrogensiloxane Col. 1 lines 65-68. Sumida does not teach using a titanium carboxylate catalyst.
Ryang discloses a condensation curing composition comprising a silicone polyimide copolymer with hydride radicals and a silanol terminated polydiorganosiloxane, which react in the presence of a catalyst, abstract. It is further disclosed that the catalysts suitable for the condensation reaction include titanium compounds such as titanium naphthenate which is a titanium carboxylate, and is listed with other metal carboxylates such as zinc 2-ethylhexanoate, Col. 6 lines 62-68, Col. 7 lines 5-8. The titanium carboxylate catalyst is listed as functionally equivalent to zinc 2-ethylhexanoate, which is the catalyst exemplified by Sumida, under the name zinc octoate.
Sumida and Ryang are analogous to the claimed invention because both are directed to catalysts having utility in the dehydration-condensation of SiH and SiOH-bearing compounds. It is prima facie obvious to substitute one material for another to obtain predictable results when the materials provide the same use and function, in this case as a condensation reaction catalyst.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the invention of Sumida but substituting the zinc octoate catalyst for the claimed titanium carboxylate catalyst with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a condensation curing composition because it is a simple substitution of functionally equivalent catalysts.
Conclusion
/V.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1766
/MARC S ZIMMER/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1765