DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 4, 2026 has been entered. Claims 84-89, 91-94, 96-100 have been amended, claims 1-83, 90, 95, and 101 have been cancelled, and claims 102-108 have been added. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome objections to the claims, drawings and claims, and the 112(b), 112(d), and double patenting rejections over US 12,351,656 (cited in previous action) previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed October 15, 2025. Applicants cancellation of claims 90, 95, and 101 have rendered the corresponding rejections/objections moot. As such, these rejections and objections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed March 4, 2026 were fully considered but they were not persuasive. Maintained/modified rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendment are addressed below.
Claims 84-89, 91-94, 96-100, and 102-108 are pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
With respect to the claims, which are directed to a pharmaceutical composition and recites the phrase “dermal filler composition”. The Examiner notes that it is well settled that “intended use” of a composition or product, e.g., “dermal filler”, will not further limit claims drawn to a composition, so long as the prior art discloses the same composition comprising the same ingredients in an effective amount, as the instantly claimed (See MPEP 2111.02 (II)).
The claims recite ”….wherein the in-vitro hyaluronidase degradation rate is slower than unmodified hyaluronic acid.”. Wherein the prior art teaches the derivative as claimed thereby anticipating the claim, this description is an inherent property of the compound. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer (See MPEP 2112 (I)).
Modified/New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 84-89, 91-94, 96-100, and 102-106 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gravett (WO 2019/046834, published March 7, 2019, international filing date September 1, 2018, IDS filed June 2, 2023).
Regarding claims 84-89, 91-94, 96-100, and 102-106: Gravett teaches a composition comprising a derivative of a polymeric polyhydric alcohol, e.g., hyaluronic acid (HA), wherein derivatives of a polymeric polyhydric alcohol may comprise the derivatives as disclosed above for polyhydric polymers (pg. 6, para. 0019). Gravett teaches that the polymers of the disclosure have hyaluronidase degradation rate that is the same as or less than that of hyaluronic acid that is not derivatized (pg. 62, para. 0188). For example, HA-(OCH2CH2SO2CH2CH2-X-R1-Y)n; (Y-R2-X-CH2CH2SO2CH2CH2O)m-HA-(OCH2CH 2S02CH2CH2-X-R1-Y)n; (CH 2=CH-SO2CH2CH2O )m-HA-(OCH2CH 2SO2CH2CH2-X-R1-Y)n; or (CH2=CH-SO2CH2CH2O)m-HA, where HA is hyaluronic acid or other polyhydric polymer, X is S or NH, R1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 aliphatic or aromatic moiety, R2 is a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 aliphatic or aromatic moiety, and where applicable, wherein R1 and R2 are different from each other, Y is one or more of H, a carboxylic acid group or a salt or ester thereof, a hydroxyl group, a sulfonic acid group or a salt thereof, or an amine group; wherein n and m are each integers, and n ≥ 1 and m ≥ 1 A composition may further comprise an excipient (pgs. 6-7, para. 0019). Gravett teaches the reactions to produce the derivatives can involve different thiol containing compounds (pg. 24, para. 0083). Gravett teaches the preparation of a divinyl sulfone (DVS) modified HA wherein the hydroxyl substitution is about 25 % (i.e. DVS13, pg. 87-88, paras. 0272). Gravett teaches the production of a DVS modified HA with octanethiol, 2-mercaptobenzoic acid, or thiophenol (i.e. R1 is C8 aliphatic, benzene-COOH, benzene-OH, pg. 89, para. 0275, pg. 95, para. 0285, pg. 97, para. 0288). The substitution of the benzoic acid moiety was 10 % (pg. 95, para. 0285). Gravett teaches the HA can modified twice with 33% hydroxy substitution (i.e. R1 and R2 groups, pgs. 103, para. 0297-0298). Gravett teaches crosslinking of the modified HA derivatives (pg. 104, para. 0299, drawings, figure 2). Although Gravett does not explicitly teach an example wherein the R1 and R2 groups are different, wherein Gravett establishes the derivatives can contain the claimed R groups (i.e. aromatic, aliphatic), can be reacted twice, and states that the R1 and R2 are different to each other in other embodiments, a person of ordinary skill in the art can at once envisage the claimed arrangement based on the disclosure of Gravett (See MPEP 2131.02 (III)). Gravett teaches the derivatized polyhydric polymers and compositions can be used as dermal fillers (pg. 62, paras. 0188-0189). Gravett teaches the formulations can comprise saline (pg. 110, table 1). Gravett teaches In another aspect, the derivatized polyhydric polymers and compositions used as dermal fillers are in the form of particles of a crosslinked hydrogel (pgs. 62-63, para. 0189).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 84-89, 91-94, 96-100, and 102-108 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gravett (WO 2019/046834, published March 7, 2019, international filing date September 1, 2018, IDS filed June 2, 2023) as applied to claims 84-89, 91-94, 96-100, and 102-106 above.
Regarding claims 84-89, 91-94, 96-100, and 102-106: As discussed above Gravett teaches the composition of claims 84-89, 91-94, 96-100, and 102-106 that can be used as dermal fillers. Even if assuming for the sake of argument, that Gravett does not specifically teach the claimed derivatives in a dermal filler composition, the claims would still have been rendered obvious over Gravett.
As discussed above, Gravett teaches the derivatized polyhydric polymers and compositions can be used as dermal fillers (pg. 62, paras. 0188-0189). Gravett teaches the formulations can comprise saline (pg. 110, table 1). Gravett teaches In another aspect, the derivatized polyhydric polymers and compositions used as dermal fillers are in the form of particles of a crosslinked hydrogel (pgs. 62-63, para. 0189).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to utilize the compositions of Gravett as dermal fillers as Gravett explicitly states that this a known purpose for this class of compounds.
Regarding claims 107-108: As discussed above Gravett teaches/renders obvious the dermal fillers of claims 89 and 96.
Gravett does not explicitly demonstrate a derivative wherein the cross-linking agent is 1,4-butanediol diglycidyl ether.
However, Gravett teaches 1,4-butanediol diglycidyl ether (BDDE) is a suitable alternative for divinyl sulfone as a crosslinking agent.
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the composition such that divinyl sulfone is replaced with BDDE as taught by Gravett. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as Gravett teaches BDDE as a suitable alternative crosslinking agent, and it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose (See MPEP 2144.06 (II)).
Modified/New Double Patenting
Claims 84-89, 91-94, 96-100, and 102-108 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. US 11,440,976 (cited in previous action) in view of Gravett (WO 2019/046834, published March 7, 2019, international filing date September 1, 2018, IDS filed June 2, 2023). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 84-89, 91-94, 96-100, and 102-106: Patented claim 1 teaches the following derivatives:
. Patent claims 6-8 teach wherein in the process of preparing the polymers, 0.25-50% of the hydroxyl groups are modified. Thus, the claimed derivatives necessarily possess this feature. Patented claim 12 teaches wherein the polymer is crosslinked. Patented claim 12 teaches compositions comprising the hyaluronic acid polymer derivative and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. Thus, the hyaluronic derivatives instantly claimed are anticipated by the patent. Although the patented claims do not teach wherein the in-vitro hyaluronidase degradation rate is slower than unmodified hyaluronic acid, wherein the prior art teaches the derivative as claimed thereby anticipating the claim, this description is an inherent property of the derivative, absent evidence to the contrary. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer (See MPEP 2112 (I)).
The patented claims do not teach wherein the composition is a dermal filler. They do not teach the formulations can comprise saline. They do not teach wherein the composition is in the form of particles.
However, Gravett teaches a composition comprising a derivative of a polymeric polyhydric alcohol, e.g., hyaluronic acid (HA), wherein derivatives of a polymeric polyhydric alcohol may comprise the derivatives as disclosed above for polyhydric polymers (pg. 6, para. 0019). Gravett teaches that the polymers of the disclosure have hyaluronidase degradation rate that is the same as or less than that of hyaluronic acid that is not derivatized (pg. 62, para. 0188). For example, HA-(OCH2CH2SO2CH2CH2-X-R1-Y)n; (Y-R2-X-CH2CH2SO2CH2CH2O)m-HA-(OCH2CH 2S02CH2CH2-X-R1-Y)n; (CH 2=CH-SO2CH2CH2O )m-HA-(OCH2CH 2SO2CH2CH2-X-R1-Y)n; or (CH2=CH-SO2CH2CH2O)m-HA, where HA is hyaluronic acid or other polyhydric polymer, X is S or NH, R1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 aliphatic or aromatic moiety, R2 is a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 aliphatic or aromatic moiety, and where applicable, wherein R1 and R2 are different from each other, Y is one or more of H, a carboxylic acid group or a salt or ester thereof, a hydroxyl group, a sulfonic acid group or a salt thereof, or an amine group; wherein n and m are each integers, and n ≥ 1 and m ≥ 1 A composition may further comprise an excipient (pgs. 6-7, para. 0019). Gravett teaches the reactions to produce the derivatives can involve different thiol containing compounds (pg. 24, para. 0083). Gravett teaches the preparation of a divinyl sulfone (DVS) modified HA wherein the hydroxyl substitution is about 25 % (i.e. DVS13, pg. 87-88, paras. 0272). Gravett teaches the production of a DVS modified HA with octanethiol, 2-mercaptobenzoic acid, or thiophenol (i.e. R1 is C8 aliphatic, benzene-COOH, benzene-OH, pg. 89, para. 0275, pg. 95, para. 0285, pg. 97, para. 0288). The substitution of the benzoic acid moiety was 10 % (pg. 95, para. 0285). Gravett teaches the HA can modified twice with 33% hydroxy substitution (i.e. R1 and R2 groups, pgs. 103, para. 0297-0298). Gravett teaches the derivatized polyhydric polymers and compositions can be used as dermal fillers (pg. 62, paras. 0188-0189). Gravett teaches the formulations can comprise saline (pg. 110, table 1). Gravett teaches In another aspect, the derivatized polyhydric polymers and compositions used as dermal fillers are in the form of particles of a crosslinked hydrogel (pgs. 62-63, para. 0189).
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to apply the composition of the patented claims as a dermal filler and formulate with saline in the form of particles as taught by Gravett. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as compositions comprising these types of hyaluronic acid derivatives are known in the art to be suitable for this purpose.
Regarding claims 107-108: As discussed above the prior art and Gravett teaches/renders obvious the dermal fillers of claims 89 and 96.
The patented claims do not teach wherein the cross-linking agent is 1,4-butanediol diglycidyl ether.
However, Gravett teaches 1,4-butanediol diglycidyl ether (BDDE) is a suitable alternative for divinyl sulfone as a crosslinking agent.
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the composition such that derivative crosslinked with BDDE as taught by Gravett. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as Gravett teaches BDDE as a suitable alternative crosslinking agent, and it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose (See MPEP 2144.06 (II)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed March 4, 2026 with respect to the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 14 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues the amended claims now recite the hyaluronic acid derivatives in a dermal filler composition when compared to current crosslinked unmodified hyaluronic acid based dermal fillers, which is not disclosed by Gravett (pg. 14, para. 2).
However, see modified 102 rejections above wherein Gravett teaches the compositions are useful as dermal fillers.
On page 14 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues the amended claims overcome the double patenting rejections and should be withdrawn (last para.).
However, see modified/new double patenting rejections above which account for the newly amended claims.
Applicant’s reply is considered to be a bona fide attempt at a response and is being accepted as a complete response. The 35 USC § 102 and double patenting rejections are maintained for reason of record and foregoing discussion.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/ANDREA OLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693