DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on the record are in compliance with the content requirements of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98 and have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature “the pinch valve body” having “a distal end sheathed over the catheter tube” and “spring-loaded plunger” must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “spring-loaded plunger 54” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“trigger mechanism configured to: trigger the needle withdrawal mechanism to fully proximally withdraw the needle into the needle enclosure, and disconnect the automatic needle withdrawal device from the catheter hub after the needle is fully proximally withdrawn into the needle enclosure; and before the needle is fully proximally withdrawn into the needle enclosure, prevent either: the needle being withdrawn inadvertently or prematurely; or the automatic needle withdrawal device being disconnected from the catheter hub inadvertently or prematurely.” in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “the leaf spring arm” lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
For the purpose of examination, this limitation will be interpreted to mean “the spring arm”.
Claim Rejections -35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 9, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiejima et al (U.S. Pat. 7,347,839, hereinafter “Hiejima”).
Regarding claim 1, Hiejima discloses an assembly, comprising:
a catheter hub 2 (see Fig. 11) defining a hub cavity extending axially between proximal and distal ends of the catheter hub (see Fig. 11 showing the hub cavity inside which is placed the catheter 1, valve body 3 and optionally connector 21);
a female luer connector (at portion 9; although Hiejima does not explicitly refer to this connector as a luer connector, a skilled artisan would recognize it to be a luer slip connector) extending from within the proximal end of the catheter hub;
a catheter tube 1 (see Fig. 16) extending from within the distal end of the catheter hub;
and a pinch valve body 3 (see Fig. 11) axially movable in the hub cavity (see movement depicted in Figs. 11 and 12) and defining a valve conduit (the interior of the valve through which a needle 4 can be placed) that fluidly connects the female luer connector and the catheter tube;
wherein the pinch valve body has a distal end sheathed over the catheter tube (see Fig. 11; the distal end is adjacent to an adhesive 8), and a proximal end comprising proximal and distal pinch valves (see annotated Fig. 11, below);
wherein the female luer connector has internal pinch surfaces (see annotated Fig. 11, below) configured so that axial movement of the pinch valve body in the hub cavity positively opens and closes the proximal and distal pinch valves in predetermined succession or order as either a needle is proximally withdrawn from the catheter tube, or a male luer connector is distally inserted into, or proximally withdrawn from, the female luer connector (as the needle is inserted, as shown in Fig. 11, the two pinch valves abut the pinch surfaces to cause the valves to open; and upon withdrawal of the needle, the valves close again, as shown in Fig. 12; this action is also illustrated in Figs. 15-16, where a male luer connector 21 is used instead of a needle).
Hiejima, Fig. 11, annotated.
Regarding claim 3, Hiejima discloses assembly of claim 1, wherein the proximal and distal pinch valves are closed initially (see Fig. 12), and a needle is pre-inserted in the catheter hub with a proximal portion in the valve conduit of the pinch valve body and a distal portion in the catheter tube (the configuration shown in Fig. 11, where the needle has been inserted).
Regarding claim 9, Hiejima discloses assembly of claim 8, wherein:
the catheter hub has an inwardly projecting tube portion at the distal end of the catheter hub (i.e., the portion that forms the pinch surface);
the catheter tube extends distally from within the inwardly projecting tube portion (see Fig. 11, showing the catheter tube extending out of the distal end of the portion that forms the pinch surface);
and the pinch valve body is axially movable on the inwardly projecting tube portion (see Figs. 11-12, showing the movement of the pinch valve body along the tube portion where the pinch surface is located).
Regarding claim 13, Hiejima discloses assembly of claim 12, wherein the manual needle withdrawal device comprises a flashback chamber 6 (see Fig. 12) configured to allow visualisation of an initial flow of blood upon insertion of a distal tip of the needle into a vein.
Regarding claim 18. Hiejima discloses a method, comprising:
providing a needle 4 (see Fig. 11) inside a catheter tube 1 (see Fig. 11) at a distal end of a catheter hub 2 (see Fig. 11) having a female luer connector at a proximal end (at portion 9; although Hiejima does not explicitly refer to this connector as a luer connector, a skilled artisan would recognize it to be a luer slip connector), wherein the catheter tube and female luer connector are fluidly connected by a pinch valve body 3 (see Fig. 11) that is proximally movable inside a hub cavity of the catheter hub (see movement depicted in Figs. 11 and 12), and wherein the pinch valve body has a distal end sheathed over the catheter tube (see Fig. 11; the distal end is adjacent to an adhesive 8), and a proximal end comprising proximal and distal pinch valves (see annotated Fig. 11, above) configured to be closed in succession by internal pinch surfaces of the female catheter connector by proximal movement of the pinch valve body (as the needle is inserted, as shown in Fig. 11, the two pinch valves abut the pinch surfaces to cause the valves to open; and upon withdrawal of the needle, the valves close again, as shown in Fig. 12; this action is also illustrated in Figs. 15-16, where a male luer connector 21 is used instead of a needle);
proximally withdrawing the needle from the catheter tube to proximally move the pinch valve body and closing the proximal and distal pinch valves in succession upon full proximal withdrawal of the needle from the catheter hub (see the movement of the needle depicted in Figs. 11 and 12; as the needle is withdrawn, the first valve would expectedly close before the second valve closes, as force is off-loaded from the first valve).
Claim Rejections -35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiejima in view of Teoh (U.S. Pub. 2011/0319820 A1, hereinafter “Teoh”).
Regarding claim 12, Hiejima discloses assembly of claim 1, further comprising a manual needle withdrawal device 5 (needle hub, used to withdraw the needle) removably connected to the female luer connector of the catheter hub, wherein the manual needle withdrawal device has a low form factor (as shown in the various figures) and it is configured so that disconnection from the catheter hub manually distally withdraws the needle from the catheter hub, but does not appear to disclose that it automatically applies a safety clip to the distal tip of the needle when fully distally withdrawn from the catheter hub.
Teoh discloses a manual needle withdrawal device for a male-female connector, which is configured to automatically apply a safety clip 130 (see Fig. 1B) to the distal tip 116 (see Fig. 1B) of the needle when fully distally withdrawn from a catheter hub 106 (see Fig. 1B).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the device of Hiejima, so that its manual needle withdrawal device is configured to automatically apply a safety clip to the distal tip of the needle when fully distally withdrawn from the catheter hub, in order to protect the user from accidental needle sticks, with a reasonable expectation of success (see Teoh at para [0027]).
Regarding claim 14, Hiejima discloses assembly of claim 1, further comprising an automatic needle withdrawal device removably connected to the female luer connector of the catheter hub, wherein the automatic needle withdrawal device comprises:
a flashback chamber 6 (see Fig. 10) configured to allow visualisation of an initial flow of blood upon insertion of a distal tip of the needle into a vein, but does not appear to disclose:
a needle enclosure configured to enclose the needle when fully distally withdrawn from the catheter hub;
a needle withdrawal mechanism configured to be triggered to automatically distally withdraw the needle from the catheter hub and move the needle to the needle enclosure when fully distally withdrawn from the catheter hub;
and a trigger mechanism configured to: trigger the needle withdrawal mechanism to fully proximally withdraw the needle into the needle enclosure, and disconnect the automatic needle withdrawal device from the catheter hub after the needle is fully proximally withdrawn into the needle enclosure;
and before the needle is fully proximally withdrawn into the needle enclosure, prevent either: the needle being withdrawn inadvertently or prematurely;
or the automatic needle withdrawal device being disconnected from the catheter hub inadvertently or prematurely.
Teoh discloses a needle enclosure 130 (see Fig. 1B) configured to enclose the needle when fully distally withdrawn from the catheter hub;
a needle withdrawal mechanism configured to be triggered to automatically distally withdraw the needle from the catheter hub and move the needle to the needle enclosure when fully distally withdrawn from the catheter hub;
and a trigger mechanism configured to: trigger the needle withdrawal mechanism to fully proximally withdraw the needle into the needle enclosure, and disconnect the automatic needle withdrawal device from the catheter hub after the needle is fully proximally withdrawn into the needle enclosure (see para [0027] disclosing that the needle withdrawal mechanism is described in U.S. Pat. 6,117,108, which shows a needle guard having a pointed end 46 that mates with a groove 48 in the hub chamber, in order to keep the needle guard in place until the needle can be fully retracted from the catheter hub);
and before the needle is fully proximally withdrawn into the needle enclosure, prevent either: the needle being withdrawn inadvertently or prematurely, or the automatic needle withdrawal device being disconnected from the catheter hub inadvertently or prematurely (see U.S. Pat. 6,117,108, col. 6, lines 41-55).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the device of Hiejima in the manner described above with respect to claim 14, in order to prevent accidental contact with the needle, thus improving safety by preventing accidental needle sticks, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiejima, in view of Teoh, further in view of Shaw et al (U.S. Pat. 5,989,220 A, hereinafter “Shaw”).
Regarding claim 15, Hiejima discloses assembly of claim 14, but does not appear to disclose that the needle withdrawal mechanism comprises a spring-loaded plunger arranged inside the needle enclosure, wherein the spring-loaded plunger is configured to mount to a proximal end of the needle and is spring-biased to proximally withdraw the needle into the needle enclosure.
Further, Hiejima does not appear to disclose the limitations of claims 16 and 17:
wherein the trigger mechanism comprises a spring arm integrally formed on a distal end of the automatic needle withdrawal device, and wherein the leaf spring arm is configured to be activated automatically upon proximal withdrawal of the needle enclosure from the catheter hub to trigger automatic proximal withdrawal of the needle (claim 16); and
the trigger mechanism comprises a non-integrally formed spring-loaded reciprocating arm arranged between a distal end of the automatic needle withdrawal device and the proximal end of the catheter hub, wherein the spring-loaded reciprocating arm is configured to be activated automatically upon proximal withdrawal of the needle enclosure from the catheter hub to trigger automatic proximal withdrawal of the needle (claim 17).
Shaw discloses an assembly, comprising a needle withdrawal mechanism for withdrawing a needle from a catheter and a catheter hub, the needle withdrawal mechanism comprising a spring-loaded plunger 58’ (see Fig. 9) arranged inside a needle enclosure 14’ (see Fig. 9), wherein the spring-loaded plunger is configured to mount to a proximal end of the needle and is spring-biased to proximally withdraw the needle into the needle enclosure (see Figs. 8-0).
As to claims 16 and 17, Shaw also discloses:
the trigger mechanism comprises a spring arm 96 (see Fig. 9) integrally formed on a distal end of the automatic needle withdrawal device, and wherein the spring arm is configured to be activated automatically upon proximal withdrawal of the needle enclosure from the catheter hub to trigger automatic proximal withdrawal of the needle (see col. 7, lines 42-55); and
the trigger mechanism comprises a non-integrally formed spring-loaded reciprocating arm 96 (see Fig. 9; the reciprocating arm is non-integral with the catheter hub) arranged between a distal end of the automatic needle withdrawal device and the proximal end of the catheter hub, wherein the spring-loaded reciprocating arm is configured to be activated automatically upon proximal withdrawal of the needle enclosure from the catheter hub to trigger automatic proximal withdrawal of the needle (see col. 7, lines 42-55).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the device of Hiejima in the manner described above with respect to claims 16 and 17, in order to facilitate high-speed needle withdrawal from the catheter, with a reasonable expectation of success in preventing or reducing accidental needle sticks.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-8, 10, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited.
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 12/05/2025