DETAILED ACTION
The previous objection of the claims is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1-7 and 9-16 are pending.
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
A cork derived product formed by a bonded mass of granulated and/or microgranulated cork particles and activated carbon particles mixed with the cork particles;
wherein the cork derived product is selected among a container or a surface for use in contact with food, cosmetic, or perfume products, a container stopper or as a part thereof;
the cork derived product includes a binder bondinq together the cork particles and the activated carbon particles while allowing gas to permeate through the cork derived product; and
the cork derived product includes the activated carbon particles in a proportion between 10% and 40% of the dry weight of the product enhancing the organoleptic preservation of the food, cosmetic, or perfume products in contact therewith by the activated carbon particles reducing the generation or the release of compounds responsible for cork taint from the cork derived product while maintaining transpirability of the cork derived product and giving the cork derived product a darkened color.
Claim Interpretation
The term “nanoparticles” is interpreted as particles of any shape with dimensions in the range comprised between 1×10-9 m and 1×10-7 m. (See instant specification page 3 line 26-29)
The term “microparticles” is interpreted as particles of any shape with dimensions in the range comprised between 1×10-7 m and 1×10-4 m. (See instant specification page 3 line 26-29)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ormerod (GB 1592964) in view of Rolf (US 20090194925).
Regarding claim 1, Ormerod disclose in example 1, 28 pounds of granulated cork and 4 ¼ pounds of activated charcoal and 4 pounds of animal glue are mixed together to form a product, equivalent to 13% of activated carbon particles of the dry weight product and thereby lying within the claimed range of 10% and 40% of dry weight of the product.
Ormerod teach the product is an insole, not a container or a surface for use in contact with food, cosmetic, or perfume products, a container stopper or as a part as recited in the instant claim.
Rolf teach a cutting board composed of a high density cork material (claim 1), thereby reading on a surface for use in contact with food products as recited in the instant claim. Rolf offers the motivation that cork materials are known to be manufactured into articles such as shoes and cutting boards [0023]. Ormerod is also concerned with a cork material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a cutting board since Rolf and Ormerod since both are related to cork products.
Ormerod is silent on if the binder bonding together the cork particles and the activated carbon particles while allowing gas to permeate through the cork derived product and if the activated carbon enhances the organoleptic preservation of the food, cosmetic, or perfume products and the darkened color of the cork derived product as recited in the instant claim.
However, Ormerod in view of Rolf teach a substantially identical cork product. In view of the substantially identical cork product of Ormerod in view of Rolf, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered allowing the gas to permeate through the cork derived product and organoleptic preservation and darkened color of the cork product of Ormerod in view of Rolf to be expected (MPEP 2112.01).
Regarding claim 2, Ormerod is silent on the particle size of activated carbon used in Example 1.
However, Ormerod teaches the activated carbon has a size such that 90% passes a 200 British standard sieve, equivalent to a particle size of 0.076 mm or less or 76 microns or less and thereby lying within the claimed range of microparticles as recited in the claim interpretation above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the range taught by Ormerod.
Regarding claim 3, Ormerod disclose in Example 1 the granulated cork has a size of 12-18 mesh, equivalent to 1 to 1.68 mm and thereby lying within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5 and 6, Ormerod is silent on the darkened color as recited in the instant claim.
However, Ormerod in view of Rolf teach a substantially identical cork product. In view of the substantially identical cork product of Ormerod in view of Rolf, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the darkened color of the cork product of Ormerod in view of Rolf to be expected (MPEP 2112.01).
Regarding claim 7, Ormerod disclose the Example 1 product includes granulated cork having a particle size distribution of 12-18 mesh, thereby reading on the product including a part with a different particle size distribution of cork particles in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, Ormerod in view of Rolf teach the cork derived product is a stopper for a bottle as discussed in the rejection for claim 1 above, thereby meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 10, Ormerod disclose the product is an insole not a cutting board.
Rolf teach a cutting board composed of a high density cork material (claim 1), thereby reading on the instant claim. Ormerod is also concerned with a cork material. Rolf offers the motivation that cork materials are known to be manufactured into articles such as shoes and cutting boards [0023]. Ormerod is also concerned with a cork material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a cutting board since Rolf and Ormerod since both are related to cork products.
Regarding claim 11, Ormerod teach in Example 1, 28 pounds of granulated cork and 4 ¼ pounds of activated charcoal and 4 pounds of animal glue are mixed together to form a mixture, equivalent to 13% of activated carbon particles of the dry weight product and thereby meeting the first and third limitations. The mixture is then placed into a mold, compressed, and cured to form the product, thereby meeting on the second limitation, wherein curing is a polymerization (see Example 1 and claim 8).
Ormerod teach the product is an insole, not a container or a surface for use in contact with food, cosmetic, or perfume products, a container stopper or as a part as recited in the instant claim.
Rolf teach a cutting board composed of a high density cork material (claim 1), thereby reading on a surface for use in contact with food products as recited in the instant claim. Rolf offers the motivation that cork materials are known to be manufactured into articles such as shoes and cutting boards [0023]. Ormerod is also concerned with a cork material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a cutting board since Rolf and Ormerod since both are related to cork products.
Regarding claim 12, Ormerod teach in Example 1 the activated carbon particles are mixed with the cork particles before mixing the binder precursor, thereby meeting the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 13, Ormerod teach in Example 1, the activated particles are mixed with the cork particles before mixing the binder precursor, not after.
However, the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. (In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed the process steps set forth in Example 1 of Ormerod in the order recited in claim 12.
Regarding claims 14-16, Ormerod is silent on the particle size of activated carbon used in Example 1.
However, Ormerod teaches the activated carbon has a size such that 90% passes a 200 British standard sieve, equivalent to a particle size of 0.076 mm or less or 76 microns or less and thereby lying within the claimed range of microparticles as recited in the claim interpretation above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the range taught by Ormerod.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ormerod (GB 1592964) in view of Rolf (US 20090194925) and in further view of Keel (US 3110615).
The cork derived product of claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 4, Ormerod is silent on the binder is an isocyanate or a polyisocyanate.
Keel teaches a urethane coating for cork surfaces. Keel teaches the excess isocyanate groups in the polyurethane coating provides sites for chemical bonding with free active hydrogen atoms in the cork [col 8, line 32-45], which results in improved resistance to abrasion. Ormerod is also concerned with preventing wear of the cork product [page 1, col 1, line 30-50]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the isocyanate binder of Keel with the cork derived product of Ormerod with reasonable expectation the abrasion resistance would improve.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed August 12, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, and 11-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ormerod (GB 1592964) in view of Rolf (US 20090194925).
Applicant states “Ormerod is not reasonably pertinent to the particular problem addressed by the inventor. That problem consists in preventing the generation or release of specific cork-taint compounds from the cork material itself while maintaining the gas permeability required for a stopper. Ormerod deals exclusively with the absorption of external odors and shows no interest in cork taint, food-contact applications, or the preservation of gas exchange.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees and directs attention to the new grounds of rejection above wherein Ormerod in view of Rolf teach the cork derived product. Furthermore, Rolf teaches cork material is known to be manufactured into articles such as shoes and cutting boards [0023]. Ormerod is concerned with a shoe insole. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a cutting board since Rolf and Ormerod since both are related to cork products and cork products are known to be manufactured into articles such as shoes and cutting boards.
Furthermore, while the examiner agrees that Ormerod is silent on the preventing the generation or release of specific cork-taint compounds while maintaining the gas permeability, Ormerod does not explicitly teach away from it either. Furthermore, Ormerod teaches a substantially identical activated carbon particles as recited in the instant claim and Ormerood in view of Rolf teach a substantially identical cork derived product as recited in the instant claim. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the organoleptic preservation of the cork product of Ormerod in view of Rolf to be expected (MPEP 2112.01).
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763