DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim amendments submitted on February 4th, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-11, and 14 are currently pending and under consideration. Claims 1, 6, 10, and 11 have been amended. Claims 2, 5, 12, and 13 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 4th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the amended claim language overcomes the rejection presented in the Final Rejection mailed November 4th, 2025, examiner agrees, however in light of the teachings of Sorensen et al. (U.S. Publication 2013/0150782), the newly amended claim limitation are seen to be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and are rejected by the disclosure of Larsson (U.S. Publication 2007/0078444) in view of the teachings of Sorensen (see claim rejections 35 USC 103 below) and Linder in view of Sorensen (see below rejection of claim 10).
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: line 9 “ventilation nvalve” should read –ventilation valve--; line 12 “ventilation nline” should read –ventilation line--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10, and 11 recite the limitation "the ventilation value". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination this is being treated as a typo and being interpreted to be referring to the ventilation valve previously disclosed by the device as there is no previous disclosure by applicant in regard to a “ventilation value” and it has not been defined by the claim or specification what a “ventilation value” would be interpreted as.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson (U.S. Publication 2007/0078444) in view of Sorensen et al. (U.S. Publication 2013/0150782).
Regarding claim 1, Larsson discloses a medical suction device (Fig. 2) with a medical suction pump 1 for generating a suction pressure (¶0019 suction source), which is connected at
a suction side (side of lumen 3) to a drainage container 2 communicating with a suction line 3 comprising a proximal end adapted to be arranged in a human body (Abstract, human body cavity),
a ventilation side (side of lumen 5) comprising a ventilation line 5 the proximal end of which communicates with the distal end of the suction line (proximal end in communication with proximal end of line 3 which is in communication with distal end of line 3) and the distal end of which is provided with a controllable (¶0027 controller opens and closes valve) ventilation valve 7,
a patient pressure sensor 6 assigned to the ventilation side, and
a control unit 9 controllably connected to the ventilation valve and the patient pressure sensor (¶0022 controller in communication with all of these elements, suction pump, first pressure sensor, second pressure sensor), characterized-in-that the control unit being adapted to set the ventilation valve for regulating a pressure on the ventilation side (¶0027 controller is a knob for changing the suction power, knob would set the predetermined constant pressure, pressure changes detected by first pressure sensor cause controller to open valve and then when clot has been removed controller automatically decreases suction power to normal drainage power and closes the valve thus the ventilation valve is set to regulate the predetermined constant pressure on the ventilation side) and to selectively supply a medium to a target area (¶0027 controller selectively opens valve 7 which supplies air flow through tubing to target area of clot rather than pulling suction from patient end), wherein the control unit is adapted to set the ventilation valve to regulate a predetermined constant pressure on the ventilation side as a set value (¶0027 controller is a knob for changing the suction power, knob would set the predetermined constant pressure, pressure changes detected by first pressure sensor cause controller to open valve and then when clot has been removed controller automatically decreases suction power to normal drainage power and closes the valve thus the ventilation valve is set to regulate the predetermined constant pressure on the ventilation side), wherein the control unit is further adapted to set the ventilation valve to regulate a predetermined constant pressure on the ventilation side as a set value in coordination with the control of suction pressure by operating the suction pump (¶0024 suction power of suction pump is increased to increase the pressure difference between the pressure in the drainage lumen and the atmosphere in order to suck the clot in direction of container) and the medical suction device comprising a catheter (¶0019 catheter means comprises drainage lumen 3, and auxiliary lumen 5 comprising:
a suction lumen (suction lumen 3 travels along body of catheter and then splits from catheter toward 2 as seen in Fig. 2), a proximal end of which provides a proximal end of the suction line (proximal end of catheter 4 provides proximal end of suction line to the patient), and
a ventilation lumen (auxiliary lumen 5 travels along body of catheter and then splits from catheter toward valve 7 as seen in Fig. 2), the proximal end of which provides the proximal end of the ventilation line (proximal end of catheter 4 provides proximal end of auxiliary line 5 to the patient) wherein the proximal end of the ventilation line and the proximal end of the suction line are short-circuited to each other within the catheter (Fig. 2 shows short circuiting of dividing wall between 5 and 3 such that ventilation line is open to suction line at proximal end).
Larsson does not expressly disclose the regulation being such that at the proximal end of the ventilation line, there is provided a constant suction pressure, the level of which is to be kept constant by controlling the ventilation valve with the control unit.
However, in the same field of endeavor of medical suction devices, Sorensen teaches a system comprising a control unit (¶0055 control system mounted in console 40) adapted to set a ventilation valve to regulate a predetermined constant aspiration pressure (¶0055 predetermined pressure thresholds set by the users, ¶0049 selectively moved by a predetermined amount so as to move first and second openings into at least partial alignment, thereby partially opening aspiration exhaust line, restores the aspiration pressure within aspiration line to a predetermined acceptable amount) as a set value (predetermined acceptable amount/threshold) in coordination with the control of suction pressure by operating the suction pump such that a constant suction pressure is provided (¶0045 unidirectional rotation of the pump to generate flow/vacuum while permitting a mechanism for dynamically controlling aspiration pressure), the level of which being kept constant by controlling the ventilation valve with the control unit (¶0049 quickly and effectively restores the aspiration pressure within aspiration line to a predetermined acceptable amount) for the purpose of allowing for dynamic control of aspiration pressure to the patient (¶0045 permitting a mechanism for dynamically controlling aspiration pressure to handpiece) and allowing real-time modulation of aspiration pressure (¶0048 vent valve and control system cooperate to permit real-time modulation of aspiration within the aspiration line) permitting a higher maximum aspiration level to be utilized ¶0048.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified valve and the control unit of Larsson to have been the selectively movable such that partially opening and closing were possible and controlled such that a predetermined level of suction pressure detected by the sensor is kept constant by controlling the ventilation valve by the controller as taught by Sorensen for the purpose of allowing for dynamic control of aspiration pressure to the patient (¶0045 permitting a mechanism for dynamically controlling aspiration pressure to handpiece) and allowing real-time modulation of aspiration pressure (¶0048 vent valve and control system cooperate to permit real-time modulation of aspiration within the aspiration line) permitting a higher maximum aspiration level to be utilized ¶0048. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification of Larsson as Sorensen particularly points out in ¶0012 that the use of a vent valve configured for simple “on/off” is not advantageous as it does not allow for consistent variable flow characteristics.
Regarding claim 3, Larsson in view of Sorensen suggest the medical suction device according to claim 1. Larsson further discloses the control unit controllably communicates with the suction pump and a suction pressure sensor assigned to the suction side, and the control unit is adapted to increase the suction pressure in the event of clogging of the suction line and to regulate the pressure on the ventilation side with the predetermined constant pressure as a set value as a controlled variable (¶0027 pressure changes caused by clots causes controller to automatically open the valve and increase the suction power/pressure, returns to normal drainage power and closes valve after second pressure sensor indicates clot has been removed thus regulating the pressure on the ventilation side with the predetermined constant pressure as a set value as a controlled variable).
Regarding claim 4, Larsson in view of Sorensen suggest the medical suction device according to claim 1. Larsson in view of Sorensen do not expressly suggest the valve being formed by a proportional valve. However, Sorensen, in a separate embodiment teaches using a proportional valve (¶0082 proportional valve) to selectively control the aspiration pressure (¶0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the selective movable valve of Larsson in view of Sorensen that performs the function of allowing for selective/partial open and closed configurations for the proportional valve of the different embodiment of Sorensen since these elements perform the same function of allowing selective control over aspiration through partial open and close states. Simply substituting one selective valve means for another would yield the predictable result of allowing a(n) suction amount to be variably selected through manipulation of the state of the valve. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 11, Larsson discloses a method (¶0027) for controlling a medical suction pump 1 for generating a suction pressure (¶0019 suction source) on a suction side (side of 3) comprising:
a suction line 3 which has a proximal end adapted to be arranged in a human body (Abstract, human body cavity), and the distal end of which communicates with the suction pump 1 via a drainage container 2, wherein
on a ventilation side (side of line 5) a ventilation line 5 is provided, the proximal end of which communicates with the proximal end of the suction line (proximal end in communication with proximal end of line 3 which is in communication with distal end of line 3), wherein in the method the pressure on the ventilation side is regulated (regulated by controller 9 through valve 7).
wherein the regulation occurs with a predetermined constant pressure on the ventilation side as a set value (¶0027 controller is a knob for changing the suction power, knob would set the predetermined constant pressure, pressure changes detected by first pressure sensor cause controller to open valve and then when clot has been removed controller automatically decreases suction power to normal drainage power and closes the valve thus the ventilation valve is set to regulate the predetermined constant pressure on the ventilation side), wherein the control unit is further adapted to set the ventilation valve to regulate a predetermined constant pressure on the ventilation side as a set value in coordination with the control of suction pressure by operating the suction pump (¶0024 suction power of suction pump is increased to increase the pressure difference between the pressure in the drainage lumen and the atmosphere in order to suck the clot in direction of container).
Larsson does not expressly disclose the regulation being such that at the proximal end of the ventilation line, there is provided a constant suction pressure, the level of which is to be kept constant by controlling the ventilation valve with the control unit.
However, in the same field of endeavor of medical suction devices, Sorensen teaches a system comprising a control unit (¶0055 control system mounted in console 40) adapted to set a ventilation valve to regulate a predetermined constant aspiration pressure (¶0055 predetermined pressure thresholds set by the users, ¶0049 selectively moved by a predetermined amount so as to move first and second openings into at least partial alignment, thereby partially opening aspiration exhaust line, restores the aspiration pressure within aspiration line to a predetermined acceptable amount) as a set value (predetermined acceptable amount/threshold) in coordination with the control of suction pressure by operating the suction pump such that a constant suction pressure is provided (¶0045 unidirectional rotation of the pump to generate flow/vacuum while permitting a mechanism for dynamically controlling aspiration pressure), the level of which being kept constant by controlling the ventilation valve with the control unit (¶0049 quickly and effectively restores the aspiration pressure within aspiration line to a predetermined acceptable amount) for the purpose of allowing for dynamic control of aspiration pressure to the patient (¶0045 permitting a mechanism for dynamically controlling aspiration pressure to handpiece) and allowing real-time modulation of aspiration pressure (¶0048 vent valve and control system cooperate to permit real-time modulation of aspiration within the aspiration line) permitting a higher maximum aspiration level to be utilized ¶0048.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified valve and the control unit of Larsson to have been the selectively movable such that partially opening and closing were possible and controlled such that a predetermined level of suction pressure detected by the sensor is kept constant by controlling the ventilation valve by the controller as taught by Sorensen for the purpose of allowing for dynamic control of aspiration pressure to the patient (¶0045 permitting a mechanism for dynamically controlling aspiration pressure to handpiece) and allowing real-time modulation of aspiration pressure (¶0048 vent valve and control system cooperate to permit real-time modulation of aspiration within the aspiration line) permitting a higher maximum aspiration level to be utilized ¶0048. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification of Larsson as Sorensen particularly points out in ¶0012 that the use of a vent valve configured for simple “on/off” is not advantageous as it does not allow for consistent variable flow characteristics.
Claim(s) 7-9, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson (U.S. Publication 2007/0078444) in view of Sorensen et al. (U.S. Publication 2013/0150782) and Ehlert (U.S. Publication 2014/0213992).
Regarding claims 7-9, Larsson in view of Sorensen suggest the medical suction device of claim 1. Larsson in view of Sorensen neither disclose nor suggest a measuring line laid parallel to the suction line and the ventilation line and communicating proximally with at least one of the suction line or the ventilation line
Ehlert discloses a medical suction device (Fig. 1) with a medical suction pump (¶0021 suction pump) for generating a suction pressure (¶0021 vacuum source), which is connected at
a suction side (side of line 23) to a drainage container 3 communicating with a suction line 2 comprising a proximal end adapted to be arranged in a human body 1,
a ventilation side (side of lumen 13 leading to 15) comprising a ventilation line (line 13 toward element 15) the proximal end of which communicates with the distal end of the suction line (proximal end at 5 in communication with distal end of 2 at container 3) and the distal end of which is provided with a controllable (¶0058 control device reads out the signals from the sensors and controls the valve 12) ventilation valve 12,
a patient pressure sensor 31, and
a control unit 7 controllably connected to the ventilation valve (¶0058 controls valve 12) and the patient pressure sensor (¶0065 control device periodically compares pressure values determined by pressure sensor 31), characterized-in-that the control unit being adapted to set the ventilation valve for regulating a pressure on the ventilation side (¶0059 opens the vent valve as soon as pressure is above atmospheric pressure) and to selectively supply a medium to a target area ( ¶0058 control of vent valve selectively supplies medium of gaseous constituents of container to target area of atmosphere).
[claim 7] a measuring line 33 laid parallel to the suction and the ventilation lines and communicating proximally with the suction line (communicates at proximal end to 2’ which communicates to 2 through pleural cavity of patient), [claim 8] a controllable valve 32 controllably connected to the control unit 7 distally assigned to the measuring line, [claim 9] the patient pressure sensor 31 being assigned to the measuring line 33, a suction pressure sensor 22 assigned to the suction line (assigned to line 23 in communication with vacuum and thus in communication with suction line 2) and a further sensor 12 determining the pressure in the ventilation line (line 13 toward 15) assigned to the ventilation line, and wherein the patient pressure sensor 31, the suction pressure sensor 22, and the further sensor are controllably connected to the control unit (Fig. 1 lines from control unit 7 show connections to sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Larsson in view of Sorensen to have included the measuring line with controllable valve and patient pressure sensor as taught by Ehlert for the purpose of providing an ancillary line that does not have suction applied to it in order to measure the pressure value to which the patient is being subjected too at the site of suction rather than the pressure within the system. This would have the benefit of being able to further regulate the system based on the patient applied pressure so that the patient site does not receive too much pressure as well as indicated any malfunction if there is a large difference between patient site suction and the systems suction (¶0065 if these deviate markedly from each other, this indicates a malfunction, and the control device outputs a corresponding alarm signal).
Regarding claim 14, Larsson in view of Sorensen and Ehlert suggest the medical suction device according to claim 7. Ehlert further suggests wherein, upon clogging of the suction line, the measuring line serves as a fluid-carrying line (¶0065 flushing valve 32 opened to allow fluid to flow through line 33 such that air is sucked through the ancillary line 2’ into suction line 2 and removes any blockages/clogging from the lines) for the purpose of removing any blockages/clogging from the lines. As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further utilized the measuring line as a fluid-carrying line for the purpose of removing any blockages/clogging from the lines (¶0065 of Ehlert).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson (U.S. Publication 2007/0078444) in view of Sorensen et al. (U.S. Publication 2013/0150782) and Schon et al. (U.S. Publication 2003/0153898).
Regarding claim 6, Larsson in view of Sorensen and Ehlert suggest the medical suction device according to claim 1. Larsson further discloses a ventilation hose 5 connected to a ventilation interface of the suction pump (connected to element 2 which interfaces with the suction pump).
Larsson does not expressly disclose a connector with a catheter interface for connecting the suction lumen and the ventilation lumen of the catheter, a suction hose interface communicating with the suction lumen for connecting a suction hose communicating the drainage container, and a ventilation hose interface communicating with the ventilation lumen for connecting a ventilation hose connected to a ventilation interface of the suction pump.
However, Schon in the same field of endeavor of medical catheters, discloses a connector 18 with a catheter interface (portion in which proximal ends 28 and 30 terminate within hub 18) for connecting two lumens of a catheter and hose interfaces for connecting two separate hoses (20 and 22) to corresponding lumens (24 and 26) of the catheter 5 for the purpose of providing a bonding point in which tubes can be releasably attached to allow for a transition from a state in which the lumens are included in a unitary structure to a point at which the tubing splits into two separate lumens (¶0021) and providing a reinforced area for termination of the lumens (¶0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Larsson to have included a connector comprising a catheter interface and a suction and ventilation hose interface, as taught by Schon for the purpose of reinforcing the point at which the ventilation side and the suction side of Larsson split from a unitary construction to separate tubing (¶0065) as well as allowing for releasable attachment of the unitary portion from the split portion of the ventilation and suction flow pathway (¶0021).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linder et al. (U.S. Publication 2014/0100540) in view of Sorensen et al. (U.S. Publication 2013/0150782).
Regarding claim 10, Linder discloses a medical suction pump (Fig. 2) for generating a suction pressure (¶0066 suction pump, arrow of Fig. 3 shows suction of fluid through suction tube 3), with a pump housing 20 in which a negative pressure generating means is accommodated (Fig. 2 shows element 1 within housing),
the suction side of which is connected to a suction interface (see illustrative diagram of Fig. 2 below) to which a drainage container which can be detachably connected to the pump housing can be connected (¶0065 exchangeable collecting container), and
a controllable ventilation valve 7,
the ventilation side of which is connected to a ventilation interface (see illustrative diagram of Fig. 2 below) exposed on the outside of the pump housing (see Fig. 2), to which a ventilation hose 5 can be connected, a patient pressure sensor 6 , and with
a control unit which is controllably connected to the ventilation valve and the patient pressure sensor, and the control unit is adapted to set the ventilation valve for regulating a pressure on the ventilation side (¶0067 control device receives signals from pressure gauges and controls the valve 7).
Illustrative diagram of Fig. 2 of Linder et al. (U.S. Publication 2014/0100540).
and the medical suction device comprising a catheter 4 comprising:
a suction lumen (suction lumen 3 travels along body of catheter and then splits from catheter toward 2 as seen in Fig. 3), a proximal end of which provides a proximal end of the suction line (proximal end of catheter 4 provides proximal end of suction line to the patient), and
a ventilation lumen (auxiliary lumen 5 travels along body of catheter and then splits from catheter toward valve 7 as seen in Fig. 3), the proximal end of which provides the proximal end of the ventilation line (proximal end of catheter 4 provides proximal end of auxiliary line 5 to the patient) wherein the proximal end of the ventilation line and the proximal end of the suction line are short-circuited to each other within the catheter (Fig. 3 shows short circuiting of dividing wall between 5 and 3 such that ventilation line is open to suction line at proximal end).
Linder does not expressly disclose the patient pressure sensor being provided between the ventilation valve and the ventilation interface, or the control unit being adapted to set the ventilation to regulate a predetermined constant pressure on the ventilation side as a set value, wherein the control unit is further adapted to set the ventilation valve to regulate a predetermined constant pressure on the ventilation side as a set value in coordination with the control of suction pressure by operating the suction pump such that at the proximal end of the ventilation line, there is provided a constant suction pressure, the level of which is to be kept constant by controlling the ventilation valve with the control unit.
Regarding the patent sensor location, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearranged the patient pressure sensor to be provided between the ventilation valve and the ventilation interface since this claimed position of the patient pressure sensor does not change the patient pressure sensor’s ability to sense the pressure in the ventilation line Since applicant has not given any criticality as to why the claimed position of the patient pressure sensor has any critical importance to the function of the claimed device, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was the position of a claimed element and altering the position of that claimed element would not have modified the operation of the device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device because it merely involved the rearrangement of parts. See MPEP 2144.
Regarding the control unit and valve, however, in the same field of endeavor of medical suction devices, Sorensen teaches a system comprising a control unit (¶0055 control system mounted in console 40) adapted to set a ventilation valve to regulate a predetermined constant aspiration pressure (¶0055 predetermined pressure thresholds set by the users, ¶0049 selectively moved by a predetermined amount so as to move first and second openings into at least partial alignment, thereby partially opening aspiration exhaust line, restores the aspiration pressure within aspiration line to a predetermined acceptable amount) as a set value (predetermined acceptable amount/threshold) in coordination with the control of suction pressure by operating the suction pump such that a constant suction pressure is provided (¶0045 unidirectional rotation of the pump to generate flow/vacuum while permitting a mechanism for dynamically controlling aspiration pressure), the level of which being kept constant by controlling the ventilation valve with the control unit (¶0049 quickly and effectively restores the aspiration pressure within aspiration line to a predetermined acceptable amount) for the purpose of allowing for dynamic control of aspiration pressure to the patient (¶0045 permitting a mechanism for dynamically controlling aspiration pressure to handpiece) and allowing real-time modulation of aspiration pressure (¶0048 vent valve and control system cooperate to permit real-time modulation of aspiration within the aspiration line) permitting a higher maximum aspiration level to be utilized ¶0048.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified valve and the control unit of Linder to have been the selectively movable such that partially opening and closing were possible and controlled such that a predetermined level of suction pressure detected by the sensor is kept constant by controlling the ventilation valve by the controller as taught by Sorensen for the purpose of allowing for dynamic control of aspiration pressure to the patient (¶0045 permitting a mechanism for dynamically controlling aspiration pressure to handpiece) and allowing real-time modulation of aspiration pressure (¶0048 vent valve and control system cooperate to permit real-time modulation of aspiration within the aspiration line) permitting a higher maximum aspiration level to be utilized ¶0048. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification of Larsson as Sorensen particularly points out in ¶0012 that the use of a vent valve configured for simple “on/off” is not advantageous as it does not allow for consistent variable flow characteristics.
Conclusion
/PETER DANIEL SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/PHILIP R WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781