DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed October 7, 2025. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 1-12 were previously pending; claim 2 was cancelled and claim 13 was added by amendment; and thus, claims 1 and 3-13 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 7, 2025 have been fully considered.
The Applicant's first point (page 6 of Remarks) amended claims 1, 6, and 9 to overcome the 112 rejections. The Examiner agrees with said amendment and thus the rejection is overcome.
The Applicant's second point (pages 6-8 of Remarks) argues that SCHILLER does not teach, “a cooling device that includes a first cooling channel module formed as a separate component arranged axially immediately adjacent to the rotor body on the side facing away from the stator,” as recited in claim 1 of the present application. Claim 1 of the present application only states broadly, “the side facing away from the stator,” no direction is included in the claim, thus it can be interpreted to be any direction facing away the stator, such as the one shown in Fig 1 of SCHILLER.
The Applicant also argues that SCHILLER does not teach, “the cooling channel module is multi- part and comprises at least one base plate, where the cooling channel element is arranged on the base plate and where the base plate with the cooling channel element is arranged on a housing wall arranged axially adjacent to the rotor body,” as recited in claim 1 of the present application. The Applicant goes on to argue that SCHILLER does not anticipate a suggestion of providing a separate component. The Examiner would like to point out to the Applicant that the Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB) heavily covers the claim interpretation of structures being separate or integral. For example, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwih v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Thus, the rejection is upheld.
The Applicant's third point (pages 8-10 of Remarks) argues that PURCHASE does not anticipate some features of claim 1. The Examiner would like to remind the Applicant that PURCHASE is not used in the rejection of claim 1.
The Applicant also argues that PURCHASE does not teach, “ that the cooling channel element has openings on its side facing the base plate and that the base plate comprises corresponding openings,” as recited in claim 3 of the present application. The Examiner disagrees with the Applicants reasoning. As stating in the Non-Final Rejection, mailed on April 7, 2025, PURCHASE teaches: wherein the cooling channel element (Fig 4; 156/158)is formed as a circumferentially non-closed ring or arc and comprises a coolant inflow (Fig 2B; 112a/118a) opening at an end and a coolant outflow (Fig 2B; 112b/118b)opening at the other end on its side facing the base plate(Fig 2B; 160/162), and that the base plate (Fig 2B; 160/162)comprises channel openings corresponding herewith(inlets 112a/118a and outlet 11b/118b communicates through both plate 160/162 and channel 156/158). Thus, the rejection is upheld.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated SCHILLER (US 6720688 B1).
Regarding claim 1, SCHILLER teaches:
An electric axial flux machine(Fig 1; 10), comprising
- a stator(Fig 1; 28),
- a rotor (Fig 1; 26)with a rotor shaft(Fig 1; 24) and with at least a first disk-shaped formed rotor body(Fig 1; 25a/b) (Fig 4 shows a disk shaped rotor)rotationally fixedly and non-displaceably arranged on the rotor shaft[abstract teaches the rotor 26a/b is fixed to shaft 24], and
- a cooling device(Fig 1; 13a-d) for cooling the axial flux machine [Col 3; ln 40-46],
wherein the cooling device includes a first cooling channel module (Fig 1; 13c) for accommodating a coolant(ambient air), and wherein the cooling channel module (Fig 1; 13c) is formed as a separate component capable of being arranged axially immediately adjacent to the rotor body(Fig 1; 26a/b) on the side facing away from the stator(cooling channel 13c is shown to be adjacent to rotor 26a/b side facing away from stator 28).
wherein the cooling channel module (Fig 1; 13c) is multi-part and comprises at least one a base plate(Fig 1; 13b), wherein the cooling channel element (Fig 1; 15)is arranged on the base plate (Fig 1; 13b)and wherein the base plate (Fig 1; 13b) with the cooling channel element (Fig 1; 15)is arranged at a housing wall (Fig 1; 14a/b)arranged axially adjacent to the rotor body(Fig 1 shows channel element 15 and base plate 13b axially arranged to rotors 26a/b).
Regarding claim 7, SCHILLER teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 1:
wherein the cooling channel module (Fig 1; 13c)is integrally formed(The cooling channel module 13c is formed in the end cap 14a/b; making cooling module integrated).
Regarding claim 11, SCHILLER teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 1:
wherein the axial flux machine(Fig 1; 10) is formed in H arrangement with a first disk-shaped formed rotor body(Fig 1; 26a) rotationally fixedly and non-displaceably arranged on the rotor shaft (Fig 1; 24)and with a second disk-shaped formed rotor body (Fig 1; 26b)rotationally fixedly and non-displaceably arranged on the rotor shaft(Fig 1; 24), wherein the cooling device includes a first cooling channel module (Fig 1; 13c)for accommodating a coolant, wherein the first cooling channel module (Fig 1; 13c)is formed as a separate component capable of being arranged axially immediately adjacent to the first rotor body(Fig 1; 26a) on the side facing away from the stator(cooling channel 13c is shown to be adjacent to rotor 26a side facing away from stator 28), and wherein the cooling device includes a second cooling channel module (Fig 1; 13c on the other axial side)for accommodating a coolant, wherein the second cooling channel module (Fig 1; 13c on the other axial side)is formed as a separate component capable of being arranged axially immediately adjacent to the second rotor body (Fig 1; 26b)on the side facing away from the stator(cooling channel 13c is shown to be adjacent to rotor 26a side facing away from stator 28).
Regarding claim 12, SCHILLER teaches:
An electrically drivable axle for a motor vehicle[Col 9; ln 33-51], the axle including an electric axial flux machine (Fig 1; 10),
the axial flux machine (Fig 1; 10)comprising a stator(Fig 1; 28), a rotor (Fig 1; 26a/b)having a rotor shaft (Fig 1; 24)and at least a first disk-shaped formed rotor body(Fig 1; 26a) rotationally fixedly and non-displaceably arranged on the rotor shaft(Fig 1; 24), and a cooling device (Fig 1; 13c)for cooling the axial flux machine(Fig 1; 10),
wherein the cooling device includes a first cooling channel module (Fig 1; 13c) for accommodating a coolant(ambient air), and wherein the cooling channel module (Fig 1; 13c) is formed as a separate component capable of being arranged axially immediately adjacent to the rotor body(Fig 1; 26a/b) on the side facing away from the stator(cooling channel 13c is shown to be adjacent to rotor 26a/b side facing away from stator 28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHILLER (US 6720688 B1).
In regards to claim 6, SCHILLER teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 1,
wherein the base plate(Fig 1; 15) and/or the cooling element(Fig 1; 14 a/b) is/are formed such that an axial air gap(Fig 1; A1) between rotor (Fig 1; 26a/b)and cooling channel module (Fig 1; 13c) is dimensioned less than or equal to 3 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SCHILLER because they disclosed the axial air gap (A1) except for the thickness of axial air gap. It would have been an obvious matter of changing axial air gap thickness in order to get the cooling module closer to the rotor, thus more efficiently cooling the motor. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 ISPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to claim 13, SCHILLER teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 1,
wherein the base plate(Fig 1; 15) and/or the cooling element(Fig 1; 14 a/b) is/are formed such that an axial air gap(Fig 1; A1) between rotor (Fig 1; 26a/b)and cooling channel module (Fig 1; 13c) measures at least 1 mm and at most 2 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SCHILLER because they disclosed the axial air gap (A1) except for the thickness of axial air gap. It would have been an obvious matter of changing axial air gap thickness in order to get the cooling module closer to the rotor, thus more efficiently cooling the motor. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 ISPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 3-5 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHILLER (US 6720688 B1)in view of PURCHASE (US 20210194302 A1).
In regards to claim 3, SCHILLER teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 1.
SCHILLER does not teach:
wherein the cooling channel element is formed as a circumferentially non-closed ring or arc and comprises a coolant inflow opening at an end and a coolant outflow opening at the other end on its side facing the base plate, and that the base plate comprises channel openings corresponding herewith.
PURCHASE teaches:
wherein the cooling channel element (Fig 4; 156/158)is formed as a circumferentially non-closed ring or arc and comprises a coolant inflow (Fig 2B; 112a/118a) opening at an end and a coolant outflow (Fig 2B; 112b/118b)opening at the other end on its side facing the base plate(Fig 2B; 160/162), and that the base plate (Fig 2B; 160/162)comprises channel openings corresponding herewith(inlets 112a/118a and outlet 11b/118b communicates through both plate 160/162 and channel 156/158).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SCHILLER by using the cooling device taught by PURCHASE in order to generate the flow of coolant, thus enabling a higher power density motor [0074 PURCHASE].
In regards to claim 4, SCHILLER teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 1.
SCHILLER does not teach:
wherein the cooling channel element is formed as a flattened ring element, which has an axial thickness, which is smaller dimensioned than its radial thickness.
PURCHASE teaches:
wherein the cooling channel element (Fig 4; 156/158) is formed as a flattened ring element, which has an axial thickness, which is smaller dimensioned than its radial thickness(Fig 4 shows that channel element 156/158 is significantly thicker radially than axially).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SCHILLER by using the cooling device taught by PURCHASE in order to generate the flow of coolant, thus enabling a higher power density motor [0074 PURCHASE].
In regards to claim 5, SCHILLER in view of PURCHASE teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 4.
SCHILLER does not teach:
wherein the cooling channel element has an axial thickness, which measures maximally half of the radial thickness.
PURCHASE teaches:
wherein the cooling channel element (Fig 4; 156/158) has an axial thickness, which measures maximally half of the radial thickness(Fig 4 shows that channel element 156/158axial thickness is substantially less than its radial thickness).
In regards to claim 8, SCHILLER teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 7.
SCHILLER does not teach:
wherein the cooling channel module comprises a reservoir for accommodating the coolant, wherein the cooling channel module comprises a coolant inflow opening at the beginning of the reservoir and a coolant outflow opening at the end of the reservoir, and that the cooling channel module is arranged in a recess of a housing wall (arranged axially adjacent to the rotor body of the axial flux machine, such that the coolant inflow opening and the coolant outflow opening within the recess correspond with openings of a coolant inflow channel and a coolant outflow channel formed in the recess.
PURCHASE teaches:
wherein the cooling channel module comprises a reservoir (Fig 4; 156/158)for accommodating the coolant[0075], wherein the cooling channel module comprises a coolant inflow opening (Fig 2B; 112a/118a)at the beginning of the reservoir and a coolant outflow opening (Fig 2B; 112b/118b)at the end of the reservoir, and that the cooling channel module is arranged in a recess of a housing wall (Fig 2B; 102/106[0074])arranged axially adjacent to the rotor body (Fig 4; 146)of the axial flux machine(Fig 4 shows 156/158 axial to rotor 146), such that the coolant inflow opening and the coolant outflow opening within the recess correspond with openings of a coolant inflow channel and a coolant outflow channel formed in the recess(112a/b communicate coolant from the reservoir to outside the housing meaning the inflow and outflow must correspond with each other [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SCHILLER by using the cooling device taught by PURCHASE in order to generate the flow of coolant, thus enabling a higher power density motor [0074 PURCHASE].
In regards to claim 9, SCHILLER in view of PURCHASE teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 8,
wherein a circumference or side of the cooling channel module (Fig 1; 13c) is configured to cooperate with corresponding positioning means of the housing or the recess, such that a unique positioning of the coolant module within the recess is ensured(grooves in housing define the location of channel module 13c).
In regards to claim 10, SCHILLER teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 1.
SCHILLER does not teach:
wherein the cooling channel module(Fig 4; 156/158) [0074-0078] is coupled to a liquid cooling circuit for cooling further components within a motor vehicle[0074], in particular coupled to a liquid cooling circuit for cooling an internal combustion engine within a motor vehicle.
PURCHASE teaches:
wherein the cooling channel module(Fig 4; 156/158) [0074-0078] is coupled to a liquid cooling circuit for cooling further components within a motor vehicle[0074], in particular coupled to a liquid cooling circuit for cooling an internal combustion engine within a motor vehicle([0002] teaches the intended use of said motor is the wheel hub of a hybrid vehicle, commonly known to possess a internal combustion engine)([0074] teaches that the liquid coolant can be used in other parts of the vehicle, like an internal combustion engine in said vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SCHILLER by using the cooling device that communicates to other parts of the motor taught by PURCHASE in order to generate the flow of coolant, thus enabling a higher power density motor [0074 PURCHASE].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834