DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment filed 07/09/2026:
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8-10 are pending.
Claims 4, 5, and 7 are canceled.
Claims 11 and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wick (US5385769).
Regarding claim 1, Wick teaches a process to orient a high molecular weight polymer film (col 3 line 4-13 and Abstract: Elastomer film is extruded or coextruded against an engraved geometric micropattern roll which forms a geometric pattern of raised intersecting ridges or ribs on the film surface, and subsequently oriented in one or both directions to produce a heat-shrinkable, elastic film), formed from molten, dispersed or dissolved state (col 4 line 38-55), characterised in that as a start of this orientation process the film becomes embossed by a geometric embossing surface comprising geometrically-aligned pins or peak areas in a pattern of closely spaced depressions, valleys or recesses surrounded by intersecting and connected peak lines, ridges or ribs (col 7 line 31-53 and Abstract: Elastomer film is extruded or coextruded against an engraved geometric micropattern roll which forms a geometric pattern of raised intersecting ridges or ribs on the film surface), thereby becoming oriented within these embossments (col 7 line 45 to col 8 line 3),
whereafter the orientation process is continued in one or more steps by m.d. stretching, t.d. stretching, or combined m.d. and t.d. stretching (col 5 line 59-63), whereby the embossed and oriented dots or lines gradually grow and develop until essentially the entire film has become a continuous oriented film (col 7 line 45 to col 8 line 3),
wherein two films become embossed simultaneously, while one is arranged on top of the other (col 5 line 23-32 and line 52-58) and
wherein, as measured in a slack state immediately prior to the continued stretching, the distance between any adjacent short lines is shorter than 0.07366 mm (col 3 line 31-38; 350 geometric lines per inch results in a distance between lines of 1/350= 0.0029 inches = 0.07366 millimeters).
Regarding claim 2, Wick teaches the process according to claim 1, characterised in that the high molecular weight polymer mainly consists of polyolefin (col 3 line 4-13).
Regarding claim 3, Wick teaches the process according to claim 1, characterised by two such steps of embossment (col 5 line 6-9).
Regarding claim 6, Wick teaches the process according to claim 3, characterised in that there is formed a pattern of embossed lines, which cross each other (col 7 line 31-37).
Regarding claim 9, Wick teaches the process according to claim 1, characterised in that the embossment is carried out, first from one outer surface, and then from the other outer surface (col 5 line 6-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wick (US5385769), and further in view of Sheth (US4777073).
Regarding claim 8, Wick teaches the process according to claim 1. However, Wick teaches the process is carried out by conventional cast extrusion (col 4 line 57-62) and fails to teach the process is carried out on a lay-flat tubular film.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a process to orient polyolefin films, Sheth teaches oriented polyolefin films are formed by either cast extrusion or blow molding (col 3 line 26-32).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the process of Wick be carried out on a lay-flat tubular film, as taught by Sheth, to achieve the predictable result of forming polyolefin films that are subsequently oriented. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success, since both Wick and Sheth are directed to forming oriented polyolefin films. Wick teaches the films are formed by cast extrusion, and Sheth teaches the films are formed either by cast extrusion or blow molding such that one of ordinary skill would look to blow molding as an alternative to cast extrusion for forming the oriented polyolefin films. Further, Sheth teaches films formed by tubular extrusion have a known benefit of producing balanced films with increased film strength (col 3 line 50-52).
Regarding claim 10, Wick teaches the process according to claim 1. However, Wick teaches the process is carried out by conventional cast extrusion (col 4 line 57-62) and fails to teach the process is carried out on a lay-flat tubular film.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a process to orient polyolefin films, Sheth teaches oriented polyolefin films are formed by either cast extrusion or blow molding (col 3 line 26-32) and during draw-down the molten or semi-molten tubular film is blown in a ratio from 1:1 to 6:1 (col 4 line 8-14).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the film of Wick originally be a tubular film extruded from a circular die, and during draw-down the molten or semi-molten tubular film is blown in a ratio no less than 1.1:1, as taught by Sheth, to achieve the predictable result of forming polyolefin films that are subsequently oriented. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success, since both Wick and Sheth are directed to forming oriented polyolefin films. Wick teaches the films are formed by cast extrusion, and Sheth teaches the films are formed either by cast extrusion or blow molding such that one of ordinary skill would look to blow molding as an alternative to cast extrusion for forming the oriented polyolefin films. Further, Sheth teaches films formed by tubular extrusion have a known benefit of producing balanced films with increased film strength (col 3 line 50-52).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743