DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15 have been amended. New claim 28 is added. Claims 1-28 are pending and under examination on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statements
Applicants’ Information Disclosure Statement, filed on 01/27/2026, has been considered. Please refer to Applicant’s copy of the PTO-1449 submitted herewith.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment by Applicant’ representative Mr. Brian M. Duncan on 02/17/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Objection to Specification
Applicant’ amendments to specification overcome the objection. The objection is withdrawn.
Claim rejection under 35 U.S.C.§112(b)
Applicant’ argument is found persuasive. The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim rejection under 35 U.S.C.§103(a)
Applicant amended claim 1 by further limiting the hydrogenation step in a hydrogenation unit, “wherein in the hydrogenation unit a post-hydrogenation takes place”; and amended claim 2 by further limiting “the dissolved hydrogen is not chemically bound to the hydrogen carrier medium”.
In addition, Applicant argued that '904 Kusche et al. discloses that hydrogen is transported from a hydrogen source 8 via a hydrogen line 9 to a reactor 2, wherein the hydrogen is then immediately chemically bound to LOHC 15 via a hydrogenation reaction. At no point does '904 Kusche et al. disclose a physical mixture is formed that comprises LOHC 15 and hydrogen. '904 Kusche et al. therefore does not disclose a physical mixture that is hydrogenated in a post hydrogenation step as featured in the present invention. Applicant argued that '048 Kusche et al. discloses heating hydrogen-laden liquid carrier and catalytically dehydrogenated to release hydrogen gas. '048 Kusche et al. does not provide any disclosure as to a post-hydrogenation that takes place in a hydrogenation unit as claimed. '048 Kusche et al. merely teaches recovering usable hydrogen from a chemically bound liquid carrier via catalytic dehydrogenation and downstream gas purification, with handling of the spent carrier for reuse. There is no teaching or suggestion in '048 Kusche et al. as to a post-hydrogenation that takes place in the hydrogenation unit as claimed. Fang et al. discloses hydrogen absorption in solid or chemical storage systems. Fang et al. does not disclose physical dissolution in liquid LOHC media as featured in the present invention. Kimbara et al. discloses hydrogen dissolution in liquids under pressure. However, there is no teaching and no suggestion in Kimbara et al. as to a post-hydrogenation that takes place in a hydrogenation unit as claimed. Wasserscheid et al. discloses LOHC technology that is limited to chemical hydrogen binding and release. Wasserscheid et al. does not disclose hydrogen physically dissolved in LOHC medium as a produced mixture component, wherein a post-hydrogenation takes place in a hydrogenation unit as featured in the present invention. As such, the prior art references as a whole do not teach or suggest each of the features recited in the claimed combination. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner favorably consider claims 1 and 8 as now presented and all claims that respectively depend thereon.
Applicant’s amendment and arguments have been fully considered, but not sufficient to overcome the rejection. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, `904-Kusche [FIG. 2 and 0037-0050] discloses the hydrogenation reactor 2 and a method of using said reactor 2 for storing hydrogen gas, wherein the method comprising the steps of: producing a mixture by means of a catalytic reaction in a reactor, wherein the mixture comprises hydrogen carrier medium (LOHC) to which hydrogen can be chemically bound by a catalytic hydrogenation reaction (on each catalyst mount 11, a catalyst carrier with catalyst material 12 is arranged ) and from which hydrogen can be released again by a catalytic dehydrogenation reaction, and additionally hydrogen that is dissolved, i.e. physically stored, in the hydrogen carrier medium, hydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier medium with the dissolved hydrogen in a hydrogenation unit. `904-Kusche [0006, and 0033] discloses the hydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier material is reversible, with the result that the hydrogen gas can be released again later on by dehydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier material; and the LOHC source 6 (FIG. 1) can show a dehydrogenation reactor or be connected therewith, whereas the dehydrogenation reactor serves for discharging, i.e. at least partially dehydrogenating, LOHC. The released hydrogen gas may serve for the conversion into electricity in a fuel cell. Because the hydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier material is reversible, additionally hydrogen that is dissolved can also be physically stored in the hydrogen carrier medium, inherently.
In terms of the amended limitation “hydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier medium with the dissolved hydrogen in a hydrogenation unit, wherein in the hydrogenation unit a post-hydrogenation takes place”, `721-Fang (FIG. 5) discloses a system and a method for hydrogenating a liquid carrier (e.g., diesel oil). Diesel oil (1) and hydrogen (3) are supplied to a first reactor (5), where the diesel oil is catalytically hydrogenated in the first reactor (5). A mixture of (partially) hydrogenated diesel oil and hydrogen dissolved in the diesel oil is transported to a second reactor (55), in which the diesel oil is again catalytically hydrogenated using the dissolved hydrogen. In addition, `721-Fang (FIG. 3) discloses a system and a method for hydrogenating a liquid carrier (e.g., diesel oil). Diesel oil (1) and hydrogen (3) are supplied to a first reactor (5), where the diesel oil is catalytically hydrogenated in the first reactor (5). A mixture of (partially) hydrogenated diesel oil and hydrogen dissolved in the diesel oil is transported to a second reactor (52), in which the diesel oil is again catalytically hydrogenated using the dissolved hydrogen with additional H2 supply (32). Therefore, the combined references would have rendered claims 1-27 obvious. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103(revised)
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019309904 (“the `904 publication”) to Kusche et al., in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019292048 (“the `048 publication”) to Kusche et al., CN101993721B (“the `721 patent”) to Fang et al., U.S. Patent No. 6,802,875 (“the `875 patent”) to Kimbara et al., and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170341936 (“the `936 publication”) to Wasserscheid et al.
Applicant’s claim 1 is drawn to a method for the use of hydrogen as a resource, the method comprising the steps of: producing a mixture by means of a catalytic reaction in a reactor, wherein the mixture comprises hydrogen carrier medium to which hydrogen can be chemically bound by a catalytic hydrogenation reaction and from which hydrogen can be released again by a catalytic dehydrogenation reaction, and additionally hydrogen that is dissolved, i.e. physically stored, in the hydrogen carrier medium, hydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier medium with the dissolved hydrogen in a hydrogenation unit, wherein in the hydrogenation unit a post-hydrogenation takes place.
Applicant’s claim 8 is drawn to a system for the use of hydrogen as a resource, the system comprising: at least one reactor for producing a mixture by means of a catalytic reaction, wherein the mixture comprises hydrogen carrier medium to which hydrogen can be chemically bound by a catalytic hydrogenation reaction and from which hydrogen can be released again by a catalytic dehydrogenation reaction, and additionally hydrogen that is dissolved, i.e. physically stored, in the hydrogen carrier medium: a hydrogenation unit that is in fluid communication with the reactor for hydrogenating the hydrogen carrier medium with the dissolved hydrogen, wherein in the hydrogenation unit a post-hydrogenation takes place.
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art (MPEP §2141.01)
The `904 publication [Abstract and 0034] discloses a method for storing hydrogen gas and used the released hydrogen gas serving for the conversion into electricity in a fuel cell, which reads on the preamble “for the use of hydrogen as a resource” of claims 1 and 8.
The `904 publication [FIG. 2 and 0037-0050] discloses the hydrogenation reactor 2 and a method of using said reactor 2 for storing hydrogen gas, wherein the method comprising the steps of: producing a mixture by means of a catalytic reaction in a reactor, wherein the mixture comprises hydrogen carrier medium (LOHC) to which hydrogen can be chemically bound by a catalytic hydrogenation reaction (on each catalyst mount 11, a catalyst carrier with catalyst material 12 is arranged ) and from which hydrogen can be released again by a catalytic dehydrogenation reaction, and additionally hydrogen that is dissolved, i.e. physically stored, in the hydrogen carrier medium, hydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier medium with the dissolved hydrogen in a hydrogenation unit. The `904 publication [FIG. 2 and 0045] discloses the hydrogenation reactor 2 has a hydrogen gas supply opening 17, via which hydrogen gas is supplied from the hydrogen source 8 via the hydrogen line 9 to the hydrogenation reactor 2. The `904 publication [0006, and 0033] discloses the hydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier material is reversible, with the result that the hydrogen gas can be released again later on by dehydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier material; and the LOHC source 6 (FIG. 1) can show a dehydrogenation reactor or be connected therewith, whereas the dehydrogenation reactor serves for discharging, i.e. at least partially dehydrogenating, LOHC. The released hydrogen gas may serve for the conversion into electricity in a fuel cell. The hydrogen carrier material, in particular, is an organic liquid, which is also known as liquid organic hydrogen carrier (LOHC), such as for example liquid hydrocarbon compounds. The `904 publication [0021-0022, and claims 12-13] discloses at least one of platinum, palladium, nickel, rhodium and ruthenium, each with a weight portion of 0.1% to 10% with reference to the catalyst carrier, serve as catalyst material, and the catalyst carrier comprises at least one of aluminum oxide, silicon oxide, silicon carbide and activated carbon. In addition, the `904 publication [0031, FIG. 1] teaches a hydrogenation reactor 2 is arranged, which is connected with an LOHC storage container 3 by means of an LOHC supply line 4 and an LOHC output line 5. LOHC serves as a hydrogen carrier medium. It is also conceivable to provide two separate LOHC storage containers, whereas a first LOHC storage container is connected with the hydrogenation reactor 2 via a the LOHC supply line 4 and a second LOHC storage container is connected with the hydrogenation reactor 2 via the LOHC output line 5. By this means, the separate stocking of LOHC in an at least partially hydrogenated or partially dehydrogenated state is possible.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims (MPEP §2141.02)
The difference between the instantly claimed method/system and the method/system of the `904 publication is that the prior art does not teach the hydrogen can be released again by a catalytic dehydrogenation reaction. Instead, the `904 publication the hydrogen can be released again by a dehydrogenation reaction without the word “catalytic”. In addition, the `904 publication does not teach hydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier medium with the dissolved hydrogen in a hydrogenation unit, wherein in the hydrogenation unit a post-hydrogenation takes place (i.e., at a subsequential hydrogenation reactor).
Finding of prima facie obviousness--rational and motivation (MPEP §2142-2413)
However, the instantly claimed method/system would have been obvious over the method/system disclosed in the `904 publication because the difference of dehydrogenation by a catalytic dehydrogenation reaction is further taught and/or suggested by the `048 publication. The `048 publication (Abstract and FIG. 2) discloses a method for providing hydrogen gas includes the process steps pre-heating of an at least partially hydrogenated hydrogen carrier material, release of hydrogen gas by at least partial catalytic dehydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier material, purification of the released hydrogen gas as well as cooling and conditioning of the at least partially dehydrogenated hydrogen carrier material. Specifically, the `048 publication [0041-0052, FIG. 2 and claims 12-13] discloses the dehydrogenation reactor 2 has a reactor housing 10, in which a number of catalyst mounts 11 are arranged; on each catalyst mount 11, a catalyst carrier with catalyst material 12 is arranged; and at least one of platinum, palladium, nickel, rhodium and ruthenium, each with a weight portion of 0.1% to 10% with reference to the catalyst carrier, serve as catalyst material, and the catalyst carrier comprises at least one of aluminum oxide, silicon oxide, silicon carbide and activated carbon.
In terms of the amended limitation “hydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier medium with the dissolved hydrogen in a hydrogenation unit, wherein in the hydrogenation unit a post-hydrogenation takes place”, the `721 patent (FIG. 5) discloses a system and a method for hydrogenating a liquid carrier (e.g., diesel oil). Diesel oil (1) and hydrogen (3) are supplied to a first reactor (5), where the diesel oil is catalytically hydrogenated in the first reactor (5). A mixture of (partially) hydrogenated diesel oil and hydrogen dissolved in the diesel oil is transported to a second reactor (55), in which the diesel oil is again catalytically hydrogenated using the dissolved hydrogen. In addition, the `721 patent (FIG. 3) discloses a system and a method for hydrogenating a liquid carrier (e.g., diesel oil). Diesel oil (1) and hydrogen (3) are supplied to a first reactor (5), where the diesel oil is catalytically hydrogenated in the first reactor (5). A mixture of (partially) hydrogenated diesel oil and hydrogen dissolved in the diesel oil is transported to a second reactor (52), in which the diesel oil is again catalytically hydrogenated using the dissolved hydrogen with additional H2 supply (32). `721-Fang teaches and/or suggests the hydrogenation unit a post-hydrogenation takes place. Therefore, the `904 publication in view of the `048 publication and the `721 patent would have rendered claims 1-2, 8, 11-12, and 28 obvious.
In terms of claim 3, wherein the hydrogenation takes place in the hydrogenation unit before the mixture from the reactor is depressurized, see the `721 patent (Figures 5-10, unit 6-7, 65, and 75)).
In terms of claims 4-5, and 9, see the `721 patent (Figures 5-10), and the `875 patent (Figures 1, 4, and 9).
In terms of claims 6-7, and 13 the `904 publication teaches the hydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier material is reversible, with the result that the hydrogen gas can be released again later on by dehydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier material [0006], and the LOHC source 6 (FIG. 1) can show a dehydrogenation reactor or be connected therewith [0033]. The `048 publication [0041-0052, FIG. 2 and claims 12-13] discloses the dehydrogenation reactor 2 has a reactor housing 10, in which a number of catalyst mounts 11 are arranged; on each catalyst mount 11, a catalyst carrier with catalyst material 12 is arranged; and at least one of platinum, palladium, nickel, rhodium and ruthenium, each with a weight portion of 0.1% to 10% with reference to the catalyst carrier, serve as catalyst material, and the catalyst carrier comprises at least one of aluminum oxide, silicon oxide, silicon carbide and activated carbon.
In terms of claim 10, the `904 publication teaches the hydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier material is reversible, with the result that the hydrogen gas can be released again later on by dehydrogenation of the hydrogen carrier material [0006], and the LOHC source 6 (FIG. 1) can show a dehydrogenation reactor or be connected therewith [0033], and the LOHC source 6 (FIG. 1) can be an external source, as for example an LOHC transport vehicle [0032]. The `048 publication [0041-0052, FIG. 2 and claims 12-13] discloses the dehydrogenation reactor 2 has a reactor housing 10, in which a number of catalyst mounts 11 are arranged; on each catalyst mount 11, a catalyst carrier with catalyst material 12 is arranged; and at least one of platinum, palladium, nickel, rhodium and ruthenium, each with a weight portion of 0.1% to 10% with reference to the catalyst carrier, serve as catalyst material, and the catalyst carrier comprises at least one of aluminum oxide, silicon oxide, silicon carbide and activated carbon. In addition, Figure 1 of the `936 publication [0038] discloses the reaction apparatus 6 as hydrogenation unit, the first storage unit 20, the dehydrogenation unit 21 and the second storage unit 25 can form a circulatory system, in particular a closed circulatory system.
In terms of claims 14-15, and 27, the `721 patent (Figures 5-10) teaches the system comprising a pressure regulation unit for depressurizing the mixture from the reactor (units 6-7, 65, and 75), and the `875 patent teaches heat exchangers for cooling the mixture from the reactor, see Figure 1 (units 23, and 25), Figure 4 (units 53, and 55), and Figure 9 (units 53, and 55).
In terms of claims 16-21, and 23-26, see Figures 5-10 of the `721 patent, and Figure 1 of the `936 publication. Figure 1 of the `936 publication [0038] discloses the reaction apparatus 6 as hydrogenation unit, the first storage unit 20, the dehydrogenation unit 21 and the second storage unit 25 can form a circulatory system, in particular a closed circulatory system.
In terms of claim 22, the `048 publication [0040, FIGs.1-2] discloses the dehydrogenation-reactor 2 is connected with a hydrogen consumer 8 via a hydrogen line 9, wherein the hydrogen consumer 8 is configured as a fuel cell and allows for a conversion of the hydrogen generated in the dehydrogenation reactor 2 into electricity, which reads on “wherein hydrogenating the hydrogen carrier medium is performed with supplied hydrogen gas”.
Conclusions
Claims 1-28 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephone Inquiry
Status Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/YONG L CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731