DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior art of record is O’Hare et al (2014/0207250) which teaches, “the scaffold may be constructed of alternating layers of aligned and randomly oriented fibers”; see abstract. This fails to teach the claim limitation that the non-aligned (random) fibers are simultaneously electrospun with the aligned fibers. Further, O’Hare et al fails to teach producing circumferentially aligned bands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5, 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Badhwar et al (11,129,711).
Badhwar et al teaches a heart valve comprising at least one leaflet (i.e. bileaflet shown);
wherein a free edge of the leaflet (depicted) consists essentially of a circumferentially aligned band of aligned electrospun fibers with non-aligned fibers. Badhwar et al teaches 19:46-52:
In further detail and with regard to rotating mandrels, an anisotropic matrix, that is a matrix or article in which at least a portion of which is anisotropic, is prepared by electrospinning on a mandrel, by biasing fiber deposition away from a random, isotropic orientation, resulting in a non-random bias of fiber orientation in a specific orientation, for example with a circumferential bias (interpreted as a circumferentially aligned band). “At least a portion of which is anisotropic” is interpreted that some are non-anisotropic, non-aligned.
Badhwar et al further states (26:18-21), the “fibers are at least partially deposited and aligned in a circumferential direction in at least one portion of the heart valve, for example in the concave portion, or the bellies of the leaflet”. The examiner interprets this as some fibers are not aligned in the circumferential direction and can be on any portion of the leaflet including the free edge.
Wherein the aligned fibers are bioabsorbable polymer fibers and wherein the non-aligned fibers are bioabsorbable polymer fibers; see at least column 12, line 49-67.
Inherently, at least one of the following is true: wherein the aligned fibers and the non-aligned fibers at the free edge are either distinct layers or intermixed.
Claims 7 and 10, the bioabsorbable polymer fibers of both the aligned fibers and non-aligned fibers inherently degrade allowing infiltration of cells replacing said fibers over time with newly formed tissue. See at least 8:64 teaching tissue remodeling.
Claims 8, requires the leaflet belly area consists essentially of a circumferentially aligned band of aligned electrospun fibers with non-aligned fibers. The main rejection above describes the belly area fulfilling this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badhwar et al (11,129,711) in view of Serrero et al (2019/021588).
Badhwar et al teaches a heart valve comprising at least one leaflet as described above, however, fails to teach wherein the bioabsorbable polymer fibers of the aligned fibers are supramolecular bioabsorbable polymer fibers and/or wherein the bioabsorbable polymer fibers of the non-aligned fibers are supramolecular bioabsorbable polymer fibers.
Serrero et al also teaches a biodegradable heart valve (see figures 3A-C) comprising bioabsorbable electrospun fibers, either aligned or random (figure 2), wherein the bioabsorbable polymer fibers of the aligned fibers are supramolecular bioabsorbable polymer fibers and/or wherein the bioabsorbable polymer fibers of the non-aligned fibers are supramolecular bioabsorbable polymer fibers; see at least the abstract.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have used supramolecular bioabsorbable polymer fibers as taught by Serrero et al for either one or both of the aligned fibers bioabsorbable polymer fibers and/or the non-aligned fibers of Badhwar et al resulting in leaflets with much enhanced durability and fatigue resistance, while maintaining the effectiveness as a leaflet.
/BRUCE E SNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774