DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, see Applicant’s arguments pages 6-7, against the use of Vu. Applicant first argues that Vu does not teach the amended limitation of estimating the signal strength “in a normal state in which the living body does not intentionally move”. Examiner asserts that the subject intentionally moving is not part of the invention of Vu. Although a change in patient position may be expected during scanning, [0090]-[0091] teach that the radio wave emitter and receiver change positions in response to the patient moving to maintain the emitter and receiver at a desired distance from the patient. Thus, intentional patient movement is not desired when performing the method of Vu. Additionally, [0093] teaches that movement caused by respiration and/or heartbeat may be detected; neither respiration nor heartbeat comprise intentional movement. Though Vu captures a series of images, in which the series of images depicts breathing motion, this is the intended application of Vu. The system of Vu can be used to perform measurements that do not require patient movement. Furthermore, the claims of the instant application are directed to a single image. Movement cannot be detected from a single image. If considering only a single image obtained by Vu, taken either by itself or as part of the series of images, movement from the patient will not be depicted. Applicant further argues that Vu does not teach estimating a range of signal strength of the reflection signal. Examiner asserts that applying a bandpass filter to filter out noise from the signal comprises an estimation of the signal strength. In order to set the bandpass filter, a range of acceptable signals must be determined. All signals outside of this range would be considered noise and be filtered out. For both of these reasons, Examiner upholds the use of Vu.
Claim Objections
Objections to the claims have been withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments filed 07/02/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vu (US 2018/0049669).
Regarding claim 2, Vu teaches a biological information detection device comprising:
processing circuitry (computer, [0018] & [0097]):
to acquire a reflection signal, from a living body, of a radio wave emitted toward the living body ([0088]);
to acquire an image of the living body ([0083] & [0094]);
to perform image processing on the acquired image ([0083] & [0094]);
to estimate a possible range of signal strength ([0109] & [0122]-[0123]) of the reflection signal in a normal state in which the living body does not intentionally move ([0088] & [0093]) on a basis of a result of the image processing ([0109] & [0122]-[0123]); and
Paragraphs [0122]-[0123] teach collecting the strength of the received signals and filtering out the noise. By understanding which signals correspond to noise and are to be filtered out, Vu shows that a range of signal strength is estimated. Additionally, [0109] teaches applying a bandpass filter to filter out noise. Employing a bandpass filter comprises initially defining which signals correspond to the reflection signal and which correspond to noise, further demonstrating that the possible range of signal strength is estimated. Additionally intentional movements from the patient are not a part of the operation of the system. Paragraph [0093] teaches that interfering signals may be caused by respiration or heartbeat of the subject; neither respiration nor heartbeat are intentional movement.
to reduce, from the reflection signal, a signal having strength outside the estimated range of signal strength ([0109] & [0123]), wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to estimate a skeleton of the living body ([0185] & [0187]), and to estimate a possible range of signal strength of the reflection signal on a basis of the estimated skeleton ([0103]-[0105], [0107], & [0110]-[0111]).
Paragraphs [0185] & [0187] teach that a patient’s skeletal data is used when making measurements relating to the chest. Thus, references to detecting the chest region/chest movement, such as those in [0103]-[0105], [0107], & [0110]-[0111], are made by detecting the patient’s skeleton.
Claim 7 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D. KOLKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798