DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano et al (JP 2000344844) in view of Homma (WO 2021145103).
With regards to claims 1, 5, and 6, Asano teaches a liquid radiation curing resin composition (0001) that includes a polyurethane acrylate oligomer containing an acrylic group (0006) that includes a multifunctional polyurethane having two or more (meth)acrylic groups and a urethane mono functional (meth)acrylate (0008). Asano teaches the multi-functional urethane to be a product of a reaction between polyols, diisocyanates, and (meth)acrylate compounds having hydroxyl groups (0009) wherein the polyols include diols (0010). Asano teaches the monofunctional urethane to be formed from polyether monools (0031), diisocyanates (0033), and (meth)acrylate compounds with hydroxyl groups (0034).
Asano does not teach the monofunctional urethane to be formed using polyoxyalkylene monoalkyl ether.
Homma teaches a curable composition that includes a urethane (meth)acrylate that is a reactant of polyoxyalkylene monoalkylether with a diisocyanate and a hydroxyl (meth)acrylate (0025). Homma teaches the polyoxyalkylene monoalkylether to include polyoxypropylene monobutyl ether (0013) having a molecular weight (Mn) for 2500 to 10000 (0019). Homma teaches the motivation for using the polyoxyalkylene monoalkyl ether to be because it improves wear resistance (0025) and improves surface slippage (0021). Asano and Homma are analogous in the art of curable compositions containing urethane components. In light of the benefit above, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the polyoxyalkylene monoalkylether of Homma in the urethane of Asano, thereby obtaining the present invention.
With regards to claims 2 and 3, Asano teaches the polyol to have a molecular weight from 200 to 10,000 (011).
With regards to claim 4, Asano teaches the polyol for the multifunctional urethane to be polypropylene glycol (0059).
With regards to claim 7, Asano teaches the amount of the monofunctional (meth)acrylate to be from 5 to 70% (0038) with a preferred amount of 23.3 parts per 100 parts of the entire composition (0067).
With regards to claim 8, Asano teaches the addition of compounds with ethylene unsaturated groups (0039) that includes N-vinyl compounds (0039).
With regards to claim 9, Asano teaches a liquid radiation curing resin composition (0001) that includes a polyurethane acrylate oligomer containing an acrylic group (0006) that includes a multifunctional polyurethane having two or more (meth)acrylic groups and a urethane mono functional (meth)acrylate (0008). Asano teaches the multi-functional urethane to be a product of a reaction between polyols, diisocyanates, and (meth)acrylate compounds having hydroxyl groups (0009) wherein the polyols include diols (0010). Asano teaches the monofunctional urethane to be formed from polyether monools (0031), diisocyanates (0033), and (meth)acrylate compounds with hydroxyl groups (0034). Asano teaches the process to include forming the urethanes using the above reactions followed by (0055-0065) followed by mixing the urethane compounds the ethylene unsaturated groups and photopolymerization initiators (0065).
Asano does not teach the monofunctional urethane to be formed using polyoxyalkylene monoalkyl ether.
Homma teaches a curable composition that includes a urethane (meth)acrylate that is a reactant of polyoxyalkylene monoalkylether with a diisocyanate and a hydroxyl (meth)acrylate (0025). Homma teaches the polyoxyalkylene monoalkylether to include polyoxypropylene monobutyl ether (0013) having a molecular weight (Mn) for 2500 to 10000 (0019). Homma teaches the motivation for using the polyoxyalkylene monoalkyl ether to be because it improves wear resistance (0025) and improves surface slippage (0021). Asano and Homma are analogous in the art of curable compositions containing urethane components. In light of the benefit above, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the polyoxyalkylene monoalkylether of Homma in the urethane of Asano, thereby obtaining the present invention.
With regards to claim 10, Asano teaches the composition to be used to coat optical fibers that include glass (0002), has a core (0049) and a cladding (title). Asano teaches the composition to be used as a primary coating layer and for the fiber to have a secondary coating (0002).
With regards to claims 11 and 12, Asano teaches the curable composition to be applied to the optical fiber (0053) and cured using irradiation (0066).
With regards to claims 13 and 14, Asano teaches the fiber to be fiber cables (0053).
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763