DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 09/10/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 25, 27-28, 31-34, 36, 44, 46-47, 53, and 55-56 have been amended, claims 1-24, 35, 37-39, 41-43, 45, 48-52 and 54 have been cancelled, and claims 57-64 have been added. Thus, claims 25-28, 30-34, 36, 40, 44, 46-47, 53, and 55-64 are presently under consideration in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 09/10/2026, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 09/10/2026, under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for written description have been fully considered. Applicant, on pages 9-11, cites portions of the instant specification to assert support of the amendments to the claim.
Examiner notes that although the amendments clarify the range, the range being used to calculate the metric is new matter and the limitation cannot be found in the instant specification.
Applicant then argues on pages 11 that calculating a metric is disclosed in the following citations “which fully describe calculating the metric (from Page 1 (line 24) through Page 4 (line 15); Page 9 (lines 9-19), Page 20 (lines 15) through Page 21 (line 2), Page 22 (lines 12-17), Page 29 (lines 2-21), Page 36 (lines 6) through Page 37 (line 6), Page 38 (lines 20-28); Page 39 (lines 15-33); Page 40 (lines 18) through Page 43 (line 10)); comparing to clinical criteria (Page 1 (lines 27-29), Page 2 (lines 19-21), Page 3 (lines 1-5); comparing the portion of the ongoing recording with baseline ECG data recorded from the patient (Page 4 (lines 10-15), Page 9 (lines 14- 19), and determining a level of partial heart conduction block (e.g., sub-threshold) is determined (e.g., Page 18, lines 8-16, lines 22-31)”.
Examiner disagrees because although the metric is calculated using Euclidian distance of peak and base amplitudes for ECG, noted in [0151] and [0154], and that the metric calculation is relating to and indicative of signal features [0245]-[0255], the calculation of the metric by “comparing the portion of the ongoing ECG recording with baseline ECG data…and stored criteria” is not disclosed in the specification. Furthermore, the “metric” is still not clearly defined in the instant specification because [0249] also discloses “a variety of metrics” can also be calculated relating to temporal onset, temporal offset, and peak times (which would require additional support/disclosure for either template matching or phase space) which is different than the feature extraction described in [0154]. Looking at Fig. 2 (216), it appears that the comparison of baseline ECG and ongoing ECG occurs between the calculated metrics of both the ongoing ECG and the baseline ECG. While the instant specification also fails to disclose how this calculated metric extracted from the comparison is also related to the clinical/stored criteria, Applicant admits on the record that comparing clinical criteria to the baseline ECG measurement and ongoing ECG recording is well-known.
Therefore, the rejections are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-13, filed 09/10/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Amendments to the claim obviate the rejection of record. The rejection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 13-15, filed 09/10/2026, under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 14 that “claim 25 recites specific medical monitoring device that uses ECG data acquired from body-surface electrodes during an intraoperative transcatheter heart procedure to detect a new-onset of a heart conduction block or of a partial conduction block and trigger an alarm.”
Examiner disagrees because the instant claims fail to recite a technological improvement or a practical application. Electrodes that collect insignificant extra-solution activity is a generic gathering structure that does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application.
Applicant then argues on page 28 that “The claimed device is rooted in a real-world medical environment. The ECG signals are not generic data, but physiological signals acquired from body-surface electrodes placed on a patient undergoing a transcatheter heart procedure. The claimed processor receives physiological ECG signals from body-surface electrodes on a patient undergoing a transcatheter heart procedure, calculates values of a stored clinical metric, determines from those values a level indicative of a partial conduction block within a range below complete heart block, and, based on that determination, generates a control signal that causes a coupled indicator device to present an alarm. Thus, the claimed calculation is not the final objective of the claim. It is used within a defined medical monitoring architecture to transform continuously acquired physiological signals into an actionable intraoperative alarm concerning a conduction disturbance that has not yet reached the complete-block threshold. The claim therefore integrates any alleged mathematical concept or observation of a physiological relationship into a practical application (MPEP § 2106.04(d)) and constitutes a technological application in improvement of cardiac monitoring, rather than an attempt to monopolize the underlying clinical relationship.”
Applicant is asserting the abstract idea itself as the improvement. However, the abstract idea cannot be an “additional element” that shows integration into a practical application. The order of calculations and the particular calculations claimed do not make the abstract idea any less abstract. The claims are currently structured as simply using a generic computer to implement the abstract idea (mental process), which is not enough to show a practical application.
Applicant then asserts on page 15 that claim 60 recites the alarm stimulation different modalities. Examiner notes that the alarm generation is generically displaying the gathered data, similar to TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48 found in MPEP 2106.05(a)(II) and would not be sufficient to show an improvement.
Therefore, the rejection of record is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 15-18, filed 09/10/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 15 that amendments to the claim obviate the rejection of record. Examiner disagrees. Intermittent AV blocks are by definition, a partial heart block, which are below a complete block. The sub-threshold range is taught by Shuros in [0091] where AVI is determined to be above or below AVI threshold indicative of intermittent AV block. Further, the claim is directed to an apparatus, and as such, does not positively claim the catheter, and thereby, the occurrence during a catheter procedure is the intended time in which the device is used, which has no effect on the claimed language as all of the recited structure for the device is found in Shuros.
Applicant then argues on page 16 that “While Shuros compares patient QRS width to a QRS width threshold of a block (e.g., heart rate cutoff block, AVI threshold block, S1 intensity threhold block, Para. [0091]) in order to determine the presence or absence of an intermittent or rate-related AV conduction disturbance, Hooks calculates a risk of a future heart block. Neither reference discloses or suggest quantifying the patient's current conduction state as a partial block level within the claimed sub-complete-block range.”
Examiner disagrees because Shuros is directed to quantifying current conduction state of a partial heart block in [0081] and [0091], as the Abstract of Shuros specifically teaches that current presence intermittent AV conduction disturbance.
Applicant then argues on page 17 that “while Shuros determines the binary presence or absence of an intermittent or rate-related AV conduction disturbance to control His-bundle pacing, Chien, by contrast, analyzes ECG traces to distinguish acute myocardial infarction from confounding conditions such as bundle branch block and generates an AMI alarm when specified STEMI and vector-angle criteria are met. Chien does not determine a level indicative of a partial heart conduction block within a range below complete heart block, and does not generate an alarm based on that partial-block level…Accordingly, even if Chien's alarm functionality were incorporated into Shuros, the resulting system would at most provide an alarm concerning Shuros's binary detection of a conduction disturbance or Chien's diagnosis of AMI. It would not yield the claimed device that monitors ECG during a transcatheter heart procedure, determines a level of partial conduction block below complete block, and generates an alarm based on that level.”
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Shuros teaches the level of partial conduction block below complete block and the alarm, and would be obvious to combine with Chien because both are directed to collection of ECG signal used in the diagnosing of heat blockage.
The rejection of the claims has been maintained. See updated rejection below.
Claim Objections
Claim 40 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 recitation “one of more” should be amended to recite “one or more”. It is further noted that V6 is a single standard position, so the “or more” should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 53 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim contains 2 periods. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 56 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 recitation “updating” should be amended to recite “update”.
Claim 57 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 recitation “P, R, and T” should be amended to recite “P, R, or T”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-28, 30-34, 36, 40, 44, 46-47, 53, and 55-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Similarly, original claims may lack written description when the claims define the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the specification does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved. For software, this can occur when the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer function are not explained at all or are not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient). In other words, the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed. See MPEP §§ 2163.02 and 2181, subsection IV.
Merely recite a description of the problem to be solved while claiming all solutions to it, leaving the industry to “complete an unfinished invention.” See Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1353
Disclosure of function alone is little more than a wish possession. See MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a).
The written description requirement is not satisfied by merely outlining the goals or results one hopes to achieve with the invention. See MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a).
“It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement. See, e.g., Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 681-683, 114 USPQ2d 1349, 1356, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2015)” See MPEP 2161.01.
Claim 25 fails to sufficiently describe the calculation of the metric and its calculation in regards to the level of partial heart conduction block in enough detail for one skilled in the art to show possession of the claimed invention. The mere statement and recitation of the term “metric” in claim 25, Fig. 2 (214, 206) and [0283], [0360]-[0362] of the instant specification PB Pub (US 20240032843) provides insufficient guidance as to what is a “metric” due to multiple definitions provided by the instant specification. The metric may be calculated using Euclidian distance of peak and base amplitudes for ECG, noted in [0151] and [0154], and that the metric calculation is relating to and indicative of signal features [0245]-[0255], while [0249] also discloses “a variety of metrics” can also be calculated relating to temporal onset, temporal offset, and peak times (which would require additional support/disclosure for either template matching or phase space) which is different than the feature extraction described in [0154]. Additionally, the calculation of the metric by “comparing the portion of the ongoing ECG recording with baseline ECG data…and stored criteria” is not disclosed in the specification. The instant specification provides insufficient detail about what the metric of “the level of partial heart conduction block” is. [0137] of the instant specification PG Pub distinguishes the partial heart conduction block using a sub-threshold, but it is unknown how this “metric” establishes the partial heart conduction block. [0243] of the instant specification PG pub merely state that the metrics are calculated from blocks 206, 208, 210, 212, and 214, but these calculations appear to calculate metrics for ongoing ECG and baseline ECG separately, that are then compared to one another at 216. There is also no clear connection in which the metric is calculated for either the partial or full heart conductance block and for which species of heart conductance blocks (e.g. SA block, SV block, RBBB, His block, LAFB). Nor is there a way in which the criteria are used to calculate the metric. Although Applicant outlines what the heart block criteria may be for 3 representative species in [0337]-[0358] of the instant specification PG Pub, the instant specification fails to distinguish what within the criteria allows one skilled in the art to identify a partial and full heart conductance block used in the calculation for the metric and how the criteria is converted into block or partial block. Furthermore, the instant specification PG Pub, in [0349]-[0358] the different criteria for LAFB, LBBB, RBBB, and AV block but provides no way in which these criteria are used to calculate the metric. Additionally, none of the heart conduction block’s (His block, SA block, RBBB, LBBB, and LAFB) discloses the criteria for a partial heart conduction block. The closest disclosure is found in [0356] relating to RBBB relating to an incomplete RBBB at 110-120 msec, which is still not a partial heart conductance block. Therefore, claims 25-28, 30-34, 36, 40, 44, 46-47, 53, and 55-64 do not provide sufficient detail for one to replicate and understand the intended function that’s being performed to show that Applicant has possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 28 fails to sufficiently describe the transformation of the threshold parameter into a range parameter between a baseline value and threshold value in enough detail for one skilled in the art to show possession of the claimed invention. The recitation of transformation of clinical criteria groups into an algorithm of [0339] or the transforming of threshold parameter used in criteria to a range between baseline value and threshold value ([0085]-[0086]) of the instant specification fails to describe how this functional result is achieved. It is unknown how the baseline value is “calculated” or how this “transformation” can even occur. It is further unknown what algorithm is used to transform the criteria groups, and any associated equations or calculations required to “transform” the threshold parameter. What are the steps in between that can take the threshold parameter and convert this into a range. Therefore, claim 28 does not provide sufficient detail for one to replicate and understand the intended function that’s being performed to show that Applicant has possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 28, 31-33, 40, 47, 53, 55-56, and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "said threshold parameter" in line 3 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 25 recites “respective threshold parameter”.
Regarding claim 28, it is unclear how the threshold parameter can be “transformed” into a range parameter, or how the calculation of the baseline value is. How is it possible for a single threshold become a range.
Regarding claim 31, it is unclear of the “range parameters” and “single range parameter” of claim 31 is the same or different than the “range parameter” of claim 28.
Regarding claim 31, it is unclear of the “baseline value” of claim 31 is the same or different than the “baseline value” of claim 28.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the criteria" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 25 recites “the clinical criteria”.
Regarding claim 32, it is unclear of the “range parameters” and “single range parameter” of claim 31 is the same or different than the “range parameter” of claim 28.
Regarding claim 32, it is unclear of the “baseline value” of claim 31 is the same or different than the “baseline value” of claim 28.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "the criteria" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 25 recites “the clinical criteria”.
Regarding claim 33, it is unclear of the “heart conduction block” of claim 33 is the same or different than the “heart conduction block” of claim 25.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the ECG" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 25 recites “the ECG data”.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the chest electrodes" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 40 recites “one or more chest electrodes”.
Claim 47 recites the limitation "metric" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 25 recites “metric”.
Claim 53 recites the limitation "the criteria" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 25 recites “the clinical criteria”.
Claim 55 recites the limitation "the criteria" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 25 recites “the clinical criteria”.
Claim 56 recites the limitation "the baseline ECG signal" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 63 recites the limitation "said baseline portion" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 25-28, 30-34, 36, 40, 44, 46-47, 53, and 55-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
MPEP 2106(III) outlines steps for determining whether a claim is directed to statutory subject
matter. The stepwise analysis for the instant claim is provided here.
Step 1 – Statutory categories
Claim 25 is directed to a system (i.e. machine) and thus meets the step 1 requirements.
Step 2A – Prong 1 – Judicial exception (j.e.)
Regarding claim 25, the following step is an abstract idea:
“calculate one or more values of said metric from the portion of the ongoing EGG signal recording,
determine, based on said one or more values of said metric, a level indicative of a partial heart conduction block within a range below a complete heart block”, which is a mental process when given its broadest reasonable interpretation. As discussed in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II), the mental process grouping includes observations, evaluations, judgements, and opinions. In this case, a human could calculate a value of a metric determine a level indicative of a partial conduction block.
“calculate one or more values of said metric from the portion of the ongoing EGG signal recording” , which is a mathematical concept when given its broadest reasonable interpretation. As discussed in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), the mathematical concepts grouping is defined as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. In this case, the metric is calculated using a Euclidian distance to extract features, as noted in [0154], which is a mathematical concept.
Step 2A – Prong 2 – additional elements to integrate j.e. into a practical application
Regarding claim 25, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application.
The following claim elements do not add any meaningful limitation to the abstract idea:
- “processor”, “indicator device”, and “memory” are recited at a high level of generality amounting to generic computer components for implementing abstract idea [MPEP 2106.05(b)];
- “electrodes” and “ECG interface” are data gathering structures for the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering [MPEP 2106.05(b)];
- “(one or more values) of the metric”, “alarm”, “clinical criteria”, “respective threshold parameter”, “(partial) heart conduction block”, “(ongoing) ECG data/signal”, “test value”, “range”, “a level of partial heart conduction block”, and “baseline ECG data” are data (gathering, selecting, and displaying) that is necessary to implement the abstract idea on a computer amounting to insignificant extra-solution activity [MPEP 2106.05(g)];
- “transcatheter heart procedure” is generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Step 2B – significantly more/inventive concept
The following claim elements do not add any meaningful limitation to the abstract idea:
- “processor”, “indicator device”, and “memory” are recited at a high level of generality amounting to generic computer components for implementing abstract idea [MPEP 2106.05(b)];
- “electrodes” and “ECG interface” are data gathering structures for the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering [MPEP 2106.05(b)];
- “(one or more values) of the metric”, “alarm”, “clinical criteria”, “respective threshold parameter”, “(partial) heart conduction block”, “(ongoing) ECG data/signal”, “test value”, “range”, “a level of partial heart conduction block”, and “baseline ECG data” are data (gathering, selecting, and displaying) that is necessary to implement the abstract idea on a computer amounting to insignificant extra-solution activity [MPEP 2106.05(g)];
- “transcatheter heart procedure” is generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(h).
The additional elements of claim 25, when considered separately and in combination, do not add significantly more (ie. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the processor, memory, and indicator device, along with their associated functions, are recited at a high level of generality and simply amount to implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The ECG sensor is claimed very generically and are used only to gather the data they are designed for. These are well-understood, routine and conventional structure since the diagnostic art in Zhao et al (US 20170258356) teaches the use of ECG/EKG sensors to collect ECG signals ([0006]), and Shuros et al. (US 20200376280) teaches surface electrodes for collecting ECG ([0053]).
Dependent claims 26-28, 30-34, 36, 40, 44, 46-47, 53, and 55-64 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not add significantly more to the abstract idea of claim 1 and 10. The dependent claim limitations are directed to the type of data (claims 26-28, 30-34, 44, 46-47, 53, 55-60, and 62-66) and to generic gathering structure (claims 36, 40, and 55), and mental process (claim 61) which do not amount to more than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional.
In summary, claims 25-28, 30-34, 36, 40, 44, 46-47, 53, and 55-64 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more and, therefore, are patent ineligible.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 25 recites the phrase “comprising”, which is an open-ended term, and would open up the claim to include any additional material recited in the prior art. Although claim 55 uses the phrase “consisting of”, the claim is not limited to only 4 electrodes due to the open-ended term “comprising” used in the independent claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25-27, 30, 33, 46, 52, and 57-63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shuros et al. (US 20200376280)(IDS)(Hereinafter Shuros).
Regarding claim 25, Shuros teaches A device for intraoperative monitoring of new onset conduction disturbances (Abstract “An exemplary medical system includes an AV conduction monitor to detect an indication of either a presence or an absence of intermittent or rate-related AV conduction disturbance using physiologic information of the subject.”), the device comprising:
an indicator device configured to present an alarm responsive to an alarm signal ([0058] “the external device 120 or the remote device 124 may include a respective display unit for displaying the physiological signals, stimulation parameters, capture verification, or AV conduction status, among other intermediate analyses and computations. Alerts, alarms, emergency calls, or other forms of warnings to signal the detected medical event may also be generated.”);
an electrocardiogram (ECG) interface adapted to receive from ECG circuitry comprising body surface electrodes configured to be placed on a patient undergoing a transcatheter heart procedure, the ECG circuitry configured to acquire ECG signals from the body surface electrodes ([0081] “The QRS width information 322 may be derived from a surface ECG signal” [0053] “surface ECG signal sensed using skin electrodes [ECG interface] attached to the body surface.” Examiner notes that the patient undergoing transcatheter heart procedure is the manner intended for the electrodes to be used, which is functional language. “A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” See MPEP 2114. Examiner notes the surface electrodes are taught by Shuros, and therefore contains the claimed structure.);
a processor coupled to the indicator device and adapted to convert the received ECG signals into ECG data ([0100] “The machine (e.g., computer system) 700 may include a hardware processor 702 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a hardware processor core, or any combination thereof), a main memory 704” [0081] “The QRS width information 322 may be derived from a surface ECG signal”); and
a digital memory accessible to the processor and storing clinical criteria for determining existence of a heart conduction block based on the EGG data, wherein one or more of the stored clinical criteria comprises a respective threshold parameter of a metric indicating existence of the heart conduction block ([0100] “The machine (e.g., computer system) 700 may include a hardware processor 702 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a hardware processor core, or any combination thereof), a main memory 704” [0082] “The AV conduction monitor 230 can detect an indication of a presence of intermittent AV conduction disturbance [an intermittent AV conduction is a partial heart block] in response to the AVI exceeding an AVI threshold (AVI.sub.block) [clinical criteria], and detect an indication of an absence of intermittent AV conduction disturbance in response to the AVI falling below the AVI.sub.block.”);
wherein the memory also stores instructions instructing the processor to:
access, from the ECG data, a portion of an ongoing ECG signal recording recorded from the patient during performance of the transcatheter heart procedure ([0081] “The QRS width information 322 may be derived from a surface ECG signal” Examiner notes that the patient undergoing transcatheter heart procedure is the manner intended for the electrodes to be used, which is functional language. “A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” See MPEP 2114. Examiner notes the surface electrodes are taught by Shuros, and therefore contains the claimed structure.);
calculate one or more values of said metric from the portion of the ongoing EGG signal recording ([0082] “The atrioventricular interval (AVI) [value of said metric that is calculated] 323 represents an atrioventricular conduction time, and can be measured from an ECG as P wave to R wave interval (P-R interval). Alternatively, the AVI can be measured between (i) an atrial sensed event (AS, representing a sinus node activation) or an atrial paced event (AP) and (ii) a ventricular sensed event (VS) within a same cardiac cycle.”),
determine, based on said one or more values of said metric, a level indicative of a partial heart conduction block within a range below a complete heart block ([0042] “AV conduction disturbance can include different degrees of obstruction, varying from a mild delay in conduction (first-degree AV block)” [0091] “In an example, patient QRS width [metric] may be compared to a QRS width threshold (QRS.sub.block) [clinical criteria]. At 420, an intermittent AV conduction disturbance [this is below the range of a complete block] is decided to be present if the patient QRS width exceeds the QRS.sub.block, or to be absent if the QRS width falls below the QRS.sub.block. In an example, patient AVI [value of metric] may be compared to an AVI threshold (AVI.sub.block) [clinical criteria]. At 420, an intermittent AV conduction disturbance [this is below the range of a complete block] is decided to be present if the patient AVI exceeds the AVI.sub.block, or to be absent if the patient AVI falls below the AVI.sub.block.”); and
generate said alarm signal instructing the indicator device to present the alarm based on the partial heart conduction ([0058] “the external device 120 or the remote device 124 may include a respective display unit for displaying the physiological signals, stimulation parameters, capture verification, or AV conduction status, among other intermediate analyses and computations. Alerts, alarms, emergency calls, or other forms of warnings to signal the detected medical event may also be generated.”).
Regarding claim 26, Shuros teaches further comprising ECG circuitry configured to record the ECG signal recording ([0053] “surface ECG signal sensed using skin electrodes [ECG interface] attached to the body surface.”).
Regarding claim 27, Shuros teaches wherein the digital memory stores the baseline ECG data of the ongoing CG signal recording ([0091] “patient QRS width may be compared to a QRS width threshold (QRS.sub.block) [baseline ECG data].”).
Regarding claim 30, Shuros teaches wherein the alarm is indicative of the existence of the partial heart conduction block in a heart of the patient based on the EGG data ([0042] “AV conduction disturbance can include different degrees of obstruction, varying from a mild delay in conduction (first-degree AV block)” [0091] “patient QRS width may be compared to a QRS width threshold (QRS.sub.block) [baseline ECG data]. At 420, an intermittent AV conduction disturbance is decided to be present if the patient QRS width exceeds the QRS.sub.block, or to be absent if the QRS width falls below the QRS.sub.block. In an example, patient AVI [metric] may be compared to an AVI threshold (AVI.sub.block) [stored criteria].”).
Regarding claim 33, Shuros teaches wherein the alarm instruction is indicative of heart conduction block at a specific structure of a heart conduction system ([0058] “the external device 120 or the remote device 124 may include a respective display unit for displaying the physiological signals, stimulation parameters, capture verification, or AV conduction status, among other intermediate analyses and computations. Alerts, alarms, emergency calls, or other forms of warnings to signal the detected medical event may also be generated.”).
Regarding claim 46, Shuros teaches wherein an interval between the portion of the ongoing EGG recording and the baseline EGG data is a single heartbeat ([0081] “The QRS [single heartbeat] width information 322 may be derived from a surface ECG signal”).
Regarding claim 52, Shuros teaches wherein calculating the metric comprises:
measuring a duration of the QRS complex in the portion of the ongoing ECG signal;
comparing the measured duration to a baseline QRS duration derived from the baseline ECG data;
determining a difference between the measured duration and the baseline QRS duration; and
wherein the metric is based on the determined difference ([0042] “AV conduction disturbance can include different degrees of obstruction, varying from a mild delay in conduction (first-degree AV block)” [0091] “patient QRS width may be compared to a QRS width threshold (QRS.sub.block) [baseline ECG data]. At 420, an intermittent AV conduction disturbance is decided to be present if the patient QRS width exceeds the QRS.sub.block, or to be absent if the QRS width falls below the QRS.sub.block. In an example, patient AVI [metric] may be compared to an AVI threshold (AVI.sub.block) [stored criteria].”).
Regarding claim 57, Shuros teaches wherein one or more of said metric characterizes temporal features of an ECG signal time course including onset, offset and/or peak times of any one or more of P, R, and T waves ([0082] “The atrioventricular interval (AVI) 323 represents an atrioventricular conduction time, and can be measured from an ECG as P wave to R wave interval (P-R interval). Alternatively, the AVI can be measured between (i) an atrial sensed event (AS, representing a sinus node activation) or an atrial paced event (AP) and (ii) a ventricular sensed event (VS) within a same cardiac cycle.”).
Regarding claim 58, Shuros teaches wherein the metric further comprises an interval defined between two landmark ECG features ([0082] “The atrioventricular interval (AVI) 323 represents an atrioventricular conduction time, and can be measured from an ECG as P wave to R wave interval (P-R interval). Alternatively, the AVI can be measured between (i) an atrial sensed event (AS, representing a sinus node activation) or an atrial paced event (AP) and (ii) a ventricular sensed event (VS) within a same cardiac cycle.”).
Regarding claim 59, Shuros teaches wherein said metric comprises one or more of an EGG-based axis lead determination, an EGG-based vector electrogram, and a morphology of a loop of a vector electrogram ([0082] “The atrioventricular interval (AVI) 323 represents an atrioventricular conduction time, and can be measured from an ECG as P wave to R wave interval (P-R interval). Alternatively, the AVI can be measured between (i) an atrial sensed event (AS, representing a sinus node activation) or an atrial paced event (AP) and (ii) a ventricular sensed event (VS) within a same cardiac cycle.” Examiner notes that the measured ECG of Shuros is a vector electrogram.).
Regarding claim 60, Shuros teaches wherein said alarm is configured to stimulate an audible, a visible and/or a haptic sensory modality (0058] “the external device 120 or the remote device 124 may include a respective display unit for displaying the physiological signals, stimulation parameters, capture verification, or AV conduction status, among other intermediate analyses and computations. Alerts, alarms, emergency calls, or other forms of warnings to signal the detected medical event may also be generated.”).
Regarding claim 61, Shuros teaches wherein said instructions further comprise instructing the processor to:
compare, during said monitoring period including at least a portion of the transcatheter heart procedure, a test value of a metric calculated from a test portion of the ECG signal recording recorded during said performance of the transcatheter heart procedure with a reference value of said metric calculated from a baseline portion of the EGG signal recording ([0091] “In an example, patient QRS width may be compared to a QRS width threshold (QRS.sub.block). At 420, an intermittent AV conduction disturbance [this is below the range of a complete block] is decided to be present if the patient QRS width exceeds the QRS.sub.block, or to be absent if the QRS width falls below the QRS.sub.block. In an example, patient AVI [test value of metric] may be compared to an AVI threshold (AVI.sub.block) [baseline]. At 420, an intermittent AV conduction disturbance [indicative of partial heart conduction block] is decided to be present if the patient AVI exceeds the AVI.sub.block, or to be absent if the patient AVI falls below the AVI.sub.block.”);
determine, based on the comparison, that said test value is indicative of a new onset of a heart conduction block or of a partial heart conduction block ([0091] “In an example, patient QRS width may be compared to a QRS width threshold (QRS.sub.block). At 420, an intermittent AV conduction disturbance [this is below the range of a complete block] is decided to be present if the patient QRS width exceeds the QRS.sub.block, or to be absent if the QRS width falls below the QRS.sub.block. In an example, patient AVI [test value of metric] may be compared to an AVI threshold (AVI.sub.block) [baseline]. At 420, an intermittent AV conduction disturbance [indicative of partial heart conduction block] is decided to be present if the patient AVI exceeds the AVI.sub.block, or to be absent if the patient AVI falls below the AVI.sub.block.”).
Regarding claim 62, Shuros teaches wherein said compare comprises using a threshold setting to distinguish a difference or similarity between said test value and said reference value, and based on the distinguished difference or the similarity, determine, an indication of the new onset of heart conduction blockor a partial heart conduction block ([0091] “In an example, patient QRS width may be compared to a QRS width threshold (QRS.sub.block). At 420, an intermittent AV conduction disturbance [this is below the range of a complete block] is decided to be present if the patient QRS width exceeds the QRS.sub.block, or to be absent if the QRS width falls below the QRS.sub.block. In an example, patient AVI [test value of metric] may be compared to an AVI threshold (AVI.sub.block) [threshold setting]. At 420, an intermittent AV conduction disturbance [indicative of partial heart conduction block] is decided to be present if the patient AVI exceeds the AVI.sub.block, or to be absent if the patient AVI falls below the AVI.sub.block.”).
Regarding claim 63, Shuros teaches wherein said baseline portion of the EGG signal recording is received from the patient during the transcatheter intervention procedure and before the action that might induce the heart conduction block is taken ([0091] “In an example, patient QRS width may be compared to a QRS width threshold (QRS.sub.block). At 420, an intermittent AV conduction disturbance [this is below the range of a complete block] is decided to be present if the patient QRS width exceeds the QRS.sub.block, or to be absent if the QRS width falls below the QRS.sub.block. In an example, patient AVI [test value of metric] may be compared to an AVI threshold (AVI.sub.block) [baseline]. At 420, an intermittent AV conduction disturbance [indicative of partial heart conduction block] is decided to be present if the patient AVI exceeds the AVI.sub.block, or to be absent if the patient AVI falls below the AVI.sub.block.” Examiner notes that the patient undergoing transcatheter heart procedure is the manner intended for the electrodes to be used, which is functional language. “A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” See MPEP 2114. Examiner notes the surface electrodes are taught by Shuros, and therefore contains the claimed structure.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34, and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuros et al. (US 20200376280)(IDS)(Hereinafter Shuros) in view of Hooks et al. (EP3318210A1)(IDS)(Hereinafter Hooks).
Regarding claim 34, Shuros teaches the invention of claim 25. However, Shuros does not teach the indicator device displays a visual representation of a heart conduction system with the mark presented at the specific structure of the heart conduction system and with a visual characteristic indicative of the alarm instruction. Hooks, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the determination of a level of heart block based on ECG from electrodes (Abstract), and further teaches wherein the indicator device displays a visual representation of a heart conduction system with the mark presented at the specific structure of the heart conduction system and with a visual characteristic indicative of the alarm instruction (Fig. 7 shows 3D mapping of intracardiac image, which marks the heart. [0071] “a first Risk Index RI1 may activate one visual alarm with an appropriated display,”) to alert a user about a heart blockage ([0071]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Shuros, with the indicator device displays a visual representation of a heart conduction system with the mark presented at the specific structure of the heart conduction system and with a visual characteristic indicative of the alarm instruction of Hooks, because such a modification would allow to alert a user about a heart blockage.
Regarding claim 44, Shuros teaches the invention of claim 25. However, Shuros does not teach the indicator device presentation of the alarm in response to the alarm instruction is indicative of a potential to halt or reverse the partial heart conduction block. Hooks, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the determination of a level of heart block based on ECG from electrodes (Abstract), and further teaches wherein the indicator device presentation of the alarm in response to the alarm instruction is indicative of a potential to halt or reverse the partial heart conduction block ([0135] “allowing automatic generation of a sensorial alert when conditions indicating risk of heart block occur. The system disclosed is able to react to risk conditions faster than the human reaction, and in a more consistent manner.”) to alert a user about a heart blockage ([0071]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Shuros, with the indicator device presentation of the alarm in response to the alarm instruction is indicative of a potential to halt or reverse the partial heart conduction block of Hooks, because such a modification would allow to alert a user about a heart blockage.
Claim(s) 36 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuros et al. (US 20200376280)(IDS)(Hereinafter Shuros) in view of Chien (US 20160143553)(Hereinafter Chien).
Regarding claim 36, Shuros teaches the invention of claim 25. Shuros does not teach a set of electrodes for collecting a 12-lead ECG with an interface containing less than 10 ports. Chien, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the collection of ECG signal used in the diagnosing of heat blockage (bundle branch block) (Abstract), and further teaches wherein the ongoing ECG signal recording is obtained using a set of electrodes having less electrodes than defined for performing a standard 12-lead ECG, and the device comprises an interface connecting to electrodes with fewer electrode attachment ports than ten ([0022] “The illustrative embodiment employs a conventional 12-lead ECG in which six chest electrodes V1, . . . , V6 are connected to the chest, a left arm electrode LA is connected to the left arm, a right arm electrode RA is connected to the right arm, and a left leg electrode LL is connected to the left leg. A ground electrode is also connected, in the illustrative example as a right leg electrode RL…the illustrative 12-lead ECG is a standard ECG configuration, various modified electrode configurations may alternatively be employed, such as the Mason-Likar ECG in which the limb electrodes are moved off the limbs toward the body center-of-mass, e.g. onto the torso, or a reduced-electrodes configuration such as the EASI system (where the leads of the 12-lead ECG can be computed using suitable mathematical transforms).”) to reduce the number of electrodes/leads/wires, which significantly reduces cable bulk and tangling on a user ([0022]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Shuros, with the set of electrodes for collecting a 12-lead ECG with an interface containing less than 10 ports of Chien, because such a modification would allow to reduce the number of electrodes/leads/wires, which significantly reduces cable bulk and tangling on a user.
Although Chien does not explicitly use less than 10 attachment ports, for a person of ordinary skill in the art, making such modifications would have required nothing more than a predictable application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416-417. A skilled artisan would have understood how to modify Chien to use less leads (as shown in [0022]) to reduce the number of electrodes/leads/wires, which significantly reduces cable bulk and tangling on a user. The use of less than 10 attachment ports would not have been “uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art” or “represented an unobvious step over the prior art” to modify Hooks in view of Chien as discussed above. Leapfrog Enters., Inc. v. Fisher- Price, Inc., 485 F.3d 1157, 1162 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (citing KSR, 550 U.S. at 418-19).
Regarding claim 40, Shuros teaches the invention of claim 25. Shuros does not teach V6 chest electrode. Chien, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the collection of ECG signal used in the diagnosing of heat blockage (bundle branch block) (Abstract), and further teaches wherein the ECG is collected using one or more chest electrodes, and wherein one of are one or more of the chest electrodes comprises one or more V6 electrodes ([0022] “The illustrative embodiment employs a conventional 12-lead ECG in which six chest electrodes V1, . . . , V6 are connected to the chest, a left arm electrode LA is connected to the left arm, a right arm electrode RA is connected to the right arm, and a left leg electrode LL is connected to the left leg. A ground electrode is also connected, in the illustrative example as a right leg electrode RL”) to reduce the number of electrodes/leads/wires, which significantly reduces cable bulk and tangling on a user ([0022]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Shuros, with the V6 chest electrode of Chien, because such a modification would allow to reduce the number of electrodes/leads/wires, which significantly reduces cable bulk and tangling on a user.
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuros et al. (US 20200376280)(IDS)(Hereinafter Shuros) in view van den Berg et al. (“Normal Values of QT Variability in 10-s Electrocardiograms for all Ages” Front. Physiol., 03 October 2019 Sec. Cardiac Electrophysiology, Volume 10 - 2019) (Hereinafter VDB).
Regarding claim 53, Shuros teaches the invention of claim 25. However, Shuros fail to teach criteria comprise clinical diagnostic criteria selected from the group consisting of: MEANS criteria for left anterior fascicular block, MEANS criteria for left bundle branch block, MEANS criteria for right bundle branch block, and MEANS criteria for atrioventricular block. VDB, in the same field of endeavor, teaches using QT variability, from ECG, to determine an AV block (Abstract) and further teaches wherein the criteria comprise MEANS criteria for left bundle branch block (Pg 3 left col. lines 15-19“The ECGs were processed by our Modular ECG Analysis System (MEANS), an ECG computer program that has been evaluated extensively (van Bemmel et al., 1990; Willems et al., 1991). MEANS signals excessive noise and baseline wander, recognizes ectopic beats and the various forms of AV block.”) to correlate fiducial points of segments for heart blocks (Pg 3 left col. lines 25-27). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Shuros, with the criteria comprise clinical diagnostic criteria selected from the group consisting of: MEANS criteria for left anterior fascicular block, MEANS criteria for left bundle branch block, MEANS criteria for right bundle branch block, and MEANS criteria for atrioventricular block of VBD, because such a modification would allow to correlate fiducial points of segments for heart blocks.
Claim(s) 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuros et al. (US 20200376280)(IDS)(Hereinafter Shuros) in view Jaros et al. (“Comparison of Different Electrocardiography with Vectorcardiography Transformations” Sensors (Basel). 2019 Jul 11;19(14):3072.) (Hereinafter Jaros).
Regarding claim 55, Shuros teaches the invention of claim 25. However, Shuros fail to teach the ECG circuitry comprises body surface electrodes consisting of four electrodes positioned to correspond to arm electrodes, leg electrodes, and a chest electrode of a standard twelve-lead ECG configuration; the processor is configured to transform ECG signals from the four electrodes into twelve-lead ECG data by: (a) applying a modified inverse Dower transform to produce Frank vector cardiography lead data, and (b) applying a Dower transform to the Frank vector cardiography lead data to generate the twelve-lead ECG data; and the stored criteria reference lead designations of the standard twelve-lead ECG configuration. Jaros, in the same field of endeavor, teaches obtain QRS complexes via ECG transformation (Abstract) and further teaches wherein:
the ECG circuitry comprises body surface electrodes consisting of four electrodes positioned to correspond to arm electrodes, leg electrodes, and a chest electrode of a standard twelve-lead ECG configuration (Pg. 5 lines 30-32 “To transform the 12-lead ECG into 3 lead VCG, only the values of 6 thoracic leads, lead I and lead II, i.e., 8 linearly independent leads are used.”);
the processor is configured to transform ECG signals from the four electrodes into twelve-lead ECG data by: (a) applying a modified inverse Dower transform to produce Frank vector cardiography lead data (Pg 4 lines 1-3 “This method is based on the mathematical pseudoinversion of the Dower’s method of deriving ECG from VCG.”), and (b) applying a Dower transform to the Frank vector cardiography lead data to generate the twelve-lead ECG data (Pg. 5 lines 30-32 “To transform the 12-lead ECG into 3 lead VCG, only the values of 6 thoracic leads, lead I and lead II, i.e., 8 linearly independent leads are used.” Pg 8 lines 24-25v “The test was performed on the recordings from the PTB database and the MSE and R result vector in relation to the reference Frank’s leads was obtained for each method.”); and
the stored criteria reference lead designations of the standard twelve-lead ECG configuration (Pg 7 lines 6-8 “The individual recordings contain 15 simultaneously measured leads. The leads measured comprise of 12 ECG leads (Eithoven, Goldberg, and Wilson leads) and 3 VCG leads (Frank’s leads).”) to obtain the most accurate transformation (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Shuros, with the ECG circuitry comprises body surface electrodes consisting of four electrodes positioned to correspond to arm electrodes, leg electrodes, and a chest electrode of a standard twelve-lead ECG configuration; the processor is configured to transform ECG signals from the four electrodes into twelve-lead ECG data by: (a) applying a modified inverse Dower transform to produce Frank vector cardiography lead data, and (b) applying a Dower transform to the Frank vector cardiography lead data to generate the twelve-lead ECG data; and the stored criteria reference lead designations of the standard twelve-lead ECG configuration of Jaros, because such a modification would allow to obtain the most accurate transformation.
Conclusion
Claims 28, 31, 32, 47, 56, and 64 are free from prior art but remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, 112(a), and 112(b), and are dependent on rejected claim 25 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Badie et al. (US 20210369176).
/MOUSSA HADDAD/Examiner, Art Unit 3796