DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Federal Republic of Germany on 03/01/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the English translation of DE102021001082.5 application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “4” has been used to designate both pipe and heating element. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
electric heating element in claim 1, interpreted as heater as described in Fig. 2 of the original disclosure, and equivalents thereof
integral structures in claim 1, interpreted as pipe as described in Fig. 2 of the original disclosure, and equivalents thereof
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laging et al., WO 2020035178 (hereafter Laging), and further in view of Koo, KR 20140050930 (hereafter Koo), and Ida, US 5056501 (hereafter Ida).
Regarding claim 1,
A device for heating a medium and air, comprising: (abstract)
a heating source, (10)
a heat exchanger, (21)
at least one electric heating element, (Page 5, paragraph 5 teaches “heating source 11 configured as an electrical heat source”)
…wherein: the heating source generates thermal energy by the combustion of a fuel-air-mixture, (Page 5, paragraph 2 of the attached machine translation teaches “a heating source 10 which, for. B. generates thermal energy via the combustion of propane and / or butane.”)
…the heat exchanger has an interior space into which flue gas generated during combustion of the fuel-air-mixture flows, (heat exchanger 21 in Fig. 3)
Fig. 3 in Laging
…the heat exchanger transmits the thermal energy produced by the heating source to the medium pipe, (Fig. 3)
the electric heating element generates thermal energy, (Page 5, paragraph 5 teaches “heating source 11 configured as an electrical heat source”)
Laging is silent about and at least one medium pipe, the heat exchanger serves to heat air passed along an exterior side, the heat exchanger has a fin structure on the exterior side, the heat exchanger having integral structures for at least partially accommodating the electric heating element and the medium pipe,
the medium pipe is guided around the interior space of the heat exchanger, and the electric heating element is guided around the interior space of the heat exchange.
Koo teaches and at least one medium pipe, (pipe 17 in Fig. 12 in Koo)
Fig. 12 in Koo
the heat exchanger having integral structures for at least partially accommodating the electric heating element and the medium pipe, (Fig. 12 in Koo teaches electric heating element 59 and medium pipe 17.)
the medium pipe is guided around the interior space of the heat exchanger, and the electric heating element is guided around the interior space of the heat exchanger. (Fig. 12 in Koo)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the medium pipe and heating element as guided around the interior of heat exchanger as taught in Koo to the device in Laging. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The heat exchanger comprises a heat-conducting coil where a heat conducting medium, a refrigerant or a heat medium, and a hollow coil which is attached and comes in contact with the heat conducting coil along the lengthwise direction so as for a second fluid to exchange heat with the heat conducting medium and expand the surface areas of the heat exchange. The efficiency of the heat exchange between the heat-conducting medium and the second fluid can be thereby improved” as taught in abstract in Koo.
Primary combination of references is silent about the heat exchanger serves to heat air passed along an exterior side, the heat exchanger has a fin structure on the exterior side.
Ida teaches the heat exchanger serves to heat air passed along an exterior side,
(Fig. 2 in Ida)
Fig. 2 in Ida
the heat exchanger has a fin structure on the exterior side, (Ida teaches in column 4, lines 41-47 “a plurality of fins 20 are formed on an outer peripheral surface of the inner cylinder 8d in a manner axially extending and arranged at circumferentially equal intervals so that heating air introduced from the heating air inlet hole 15a is efficiently heated by the heat of the inner cylinder 8d while travelling in the heating air passage B.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the heat exchanger to heat the air along exterior side and add fins to the exterior side as taught in Ida to the device in Laging. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “heating air introduced from the heating air inlet hole 15a is efficiently heated by the heat of the inner cylinder 8d while travelling in the heating air passage B” as taught in column 4, lines 41-47 in Ida.
Regarding claim 2,
The device according to claim 1, wherein the medium pipe and the electric heating element are guided parallel to each other. (Primary combination of references is silent about this. Fig. 12 in Koo teaches medium pipe 17 and heating element 59 are guided parallel to each other.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the medium pipe and heating element as guided around the interior of heat exchanger as taught in Koo to the device in Laging. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The heat exchanger comprises a heat-conducting coil where a heat conducting medium, a refrigerant or a heat medium, and a hollow coil which is attached and comes in contact with the heat conducting coil along the lengthwise direction so as for a second fluid to exchange heat with the heat conducting medium and expand the surface areas of the heat exchange. The efficiency of the heat exchange between the heat-conducting medium and the second fluid can be thereby improved” as taught in abstract in Koo.
Regarding claim 3,
The device according to claim 1, wherein the medium pipe and the electric heating element are in thermal contact with each other. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Koo teaches the heat generated by heating element 59 is transferred to the water in pipe 17. It is understood that they are in thermal contact.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the medium pipe and heating element as guided around the interior of heat exchanger as taught in Koo to the device in Laging. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The heat exchanger comprises a heat-conducting coil where a heat conducting medium, a refrigerant or a heat medium, and a hollow coil which is attached and comes in contact with the heat conducting coil along the lengthwise direction so as for a second fluid to exchange heat with the heat conducting medium and expand the surface areas of the heat exchange. The efficiency of the heat exchange between the heat-conducting medium and the second fluid can be thereby improved” as taught in abstract in Koo.
Regarding claim 4,
The device according to claim 1,wherein the integral structures of the heat exchanger are configured in a tubular shape. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Fig. 12 in Koo teaches tubular shaped pipe and heating element.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the medium pipe and heating element as guided around the interior of heat exchanger as taught in Koo to the device in Laging. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The heat exchanger comprises a heat-conducting coil where a heat conducting medium, a refrigerant or a heat medium, and a hollow coil which is attached and comes in contact with the heat conducting coil along the lengthwise direction so as for a second fluid to exchange heat with the heat conducting medium and expand the surface areas of the heat exchange. The efficiency of the heat exchange between the heat-conducting medium and the second fluid can be thereby improved” as taught in abstract in Koo.
Regarding claim 5,
The device according to claim 1, wherein the device has two electric heating elements, and the integral structures at least partially accommodates the two electric heating elements. (The claim is interpreted as duplicating the heating element. MPEP 2144.04-VI-B sets forth that “the courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960): (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of
flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although
the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.)”)
Regarding claim 7,
The device according to claim 1, wherein the medium pipe is guided concentrically around the interior space of the heat exchanger. (Fig. 12 in Koo.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to guide the medium pipe concentrically around the interior of heat exchanger as taught in Koo to the device in Laging. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The heat exchanger comprises a heat-conducting coil where a heat conducting medium, a refrigerant or a heat medium, and a hollow coil which is attached and comes in contact with the heat conducting coil along the lengthwise direction so as for a second fluid to exchange heat with the heat conducting medium and expand the surface areas of the heat exchange. The efficiency of the heat exchange between the heat-conducting medium and the second fluid can be thereby improved” as taught in abstract in Koo.
Regarding claim 8,
The device according to claim 1, wherein the electric heating element is guided concentrically around the interior space of the heat exchanger. (Fig. 12 in Koo.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to guide the heating element concentrically around the interior of heat exchanger as taught in Koo to the device in Laging. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The heat exchanger comprises a heat-conducting coil where a heat conducting medium, a refrigerant or a heat medium, and a hollow coil which is attached and comes in contact with the heat conducting coil along the lengthwise direction so as for a second fluid to exchange heat with the heat conducting medium and expand the surface areas of the heat exchange. The efficiency of the heat exchange between the heat-conducting medium and the second fluid can be thereby improved” as taught in abstract in Koo.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laging, Koo, and Ida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Collmer, US 11312209 (hereafter Collmer).
The device according to claim 1, wherein the heat exchanger is at least partially made of a die-cast or of a sintered material. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Collmer teaches in column 3, lines 30-32 “The heat exchanger housing is preferably a cast metal component for reasons of strength,”.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to design part of heat exchanger as a die-cast as taught in Collmer to the device in Laging. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The heat exchanger housing is preferably a cast metal component for reasons of strength,” as taught in column 3, lines 30-32 in Collmer.
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA FERDOUSI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761