DETAILED ACTION
Claim 15 is cancelled. Claims 1-14 and 16-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0015843 A1 to Li et al. (hereinafter “Li”).
As per claim 1, 16, Li discloses an apparatus (Li Fig. 8), comprising: a memory (Li [0008]); and a processor coupled to the memory (Li Fig. 8, 11, and [0008]), the processor configured to cause the apparatus to: determine an association among a first random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO), a preamble, and a second RO (Li Fig. 2 and [0094] The UE 115-a may determine random access channel parameters based on the parameters carried in SIB1 for the random access request message 230 and the random access shared channel message 230. For example, the UE 115-a may determine a set of preambles to transmit during the random access procedure (e.g., in the MSG1 transmission). In some cases, the UE 115-a may identify up to 64 preambles. The preambles may be determined by a preamble root sequence parameter (e.g., “prach-RootSequenceIndex”), a parameter indicating a set restriction for the preambles (e.g., “restrictedSetConfig”), a zero correlation zone parameter (e.g., “zeroCorrelationZoneConfig”), a parameter indicating a total number of random access preambles (“totalNumberOfRA-Preambles”), or any combination thereof. [0095] The UE 115-a may also determine when to transmit a random access preamble. For example, the UE 115-a may identify random access occasions (ROs) based on the information conveyed in the RMSI/SIB1. In some cases, the UE 115-a may determine which format of random access preamble that the UE 115-a can transmit. The UE 115-a may identify a number of frequency division multiplexed ROs at each RO instance (e.g., in the time domain), which may be determined based on a parameter such as “msg1-FDM.” The UE 115-a may also identify a starting frequency of the ROs, which may be determined based on a parameter such as “msg1-FrequencyStart.” The UE 115-a may also determine an association between an index of the received SSB and ROs. For example, the UE 115-a may determine how a transmitted preamble or a chosen RO can be associated with an SSB index, such as for beam management. The association may be determined based on an SSB-to-RO association parameter such as “ssb-perRACH-OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB.”); and receive a random access response (RAR) in an Msg2 at least according to the second RO in response to transmitting the preamble in the first RO (Li Fig 2 and [0057] The UE may transmit the random access procedure preamble sequence (e.g., a MSG1 or RAR transmission) in ROs corresponding to the first SSB, using the beam associated with the first SSB. The UE may also identify a repetition pattern or repetition scheme for transmitting repetitions of the random access shared channel message (e.g., MSG3 repetitions). In some cases, transmission slots for one or more of the multiple repetitions of the random access shared channel message may be determined based on slots associated with ROs that are mapped to the first SSB. In cases where such slots are not consecutively located (e.g., due to slots that are not associated with a RO that is mapped to the first SSB), one or more slot offsets may be provided for modifying transmission of one or more of the repetitions. In some cases, the UE may determine the slot offset and may postpone transmission of a repetition of the random access shared channel message for one or more slots based on the slot offset. For example the UE may determine that a slot is associated with one or more ROs that are each associated with one or more respective SSBs that are different than the first SSB, and where the slot is unassociated with the first RO and the first SSB. Based on such a determination, the UE may postpone a repetition that would normally be transmitted in that slot, drop the repetition for the slot, or modify a transmission power of the repetition (e.g., to increase the transmission power to enhance the likelihood that the base station receives repetition even though it is transmitted using a different beam than will be monitored by the base station in the RO). In some cases, an indication of the slot offset(s) may be provided to the UE by the base station in a random access response (e.g., in a MSG2). In some cases, the UE may determine the slot offset(s) based on one or more mappings between ROs and SSBs. In further cases, a combination of a slot offset information provided by the base station and a determination of the slot offset at the UE may be used to determine slot offsets for one or more repetitions. [0093] Based on the random access parameters, the UE 115-a may transmit a random access request message 220 (e.g., MSG1) to the base station 105-a. The base station 105-a, in response to receiving the random access request message 220, may transmit a random access response message 225 (e.g., MSG2). Following the random access response message 225, the UE 115-a may transmit a random access shared channel message 230 (e.g., MSG3 PUSCH). In some cases, due to the UE 115-a being a NR-light UE, multiple repetitions of the random access shared channel message 230 may be transmitted, including a first repetition 230-a, a second repetition 230-b, and a third repetition 230-c. The base station 105-a may then transmit a random access contention resolution message 235 (e.g., MSG4) to the UE 115-a.).
As per claim 12, Li discloses an apparatus (Li Fig. 12), comprising: a memory (Li Fig. 12 and [0025]); and a processor coupled to the memory (Li Fig. 12 and [0025]), the processor configured to cause the apparatus to: determine an association among a first random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO), a preamble, and a second RO (Li [0025] An apparatus for wireless communication at a base station is described. The apparatus may include at least one processor, memory coupled (e.g., operatively, communicatively, functionally, electronically, or electrically) to the at least one processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the a least one processor to cause the apparatus to initiate a random access procedure with a UE, where the random access procedure includes a random access shared channel message that is to be transmitted by the UE, where the random access shared channel message is associated with a first SSB and a first RO, and where two or more repetitions of the random access shared channel message are to be transmitted in two or more slots, receive, from the UE, a first repetition of the random access shared channel message in a first slot that is associated with the first RO, determine that a second slot available for transmission of a second repetition of the random access shared channel message is associated with one or more ROs that are each associated with one or more respective SSBs that are different than the first SSB, and that the second slot is unassociated with the first RO and the first SSB, and monitor, based on the determining, for the second repetition of the random access shared channel message in a subsequent RO after the second slot. [0030] Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for determining that a fourth slot available for transmission of a third repetition of the random access shared channel message is associated with one or more ROs that are each associated with one or more respective SSBs that are different than the first SSB, and that the fourth slot is unassociated with the first RO and the first SSB, and postponing, based on the determining, monitoring for the third repetition of the random access shared channel message until a fifth slot subsequent to the fourth slot, where the fifth slot is a closest available slot that is associated with a RO that is associated with the first SSB. In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the determining is based on one or more SSB-to-RO preamble associations provided in a RMSI communication of the base station. See also [0101]); and transmit a random access response (RAR) in an Msg2 at least according to the second RO in response to receiving the preamble in the first RO from a user equipment (UE) (Li Fig 2 and [0057] The UE may transmit the random access procedure preamble sequence (e.g., a MSG1 or RAR transmission) in ROs corresponding to the first SSB, using the beam associated with the first SSB. The UE may also identify a repetition pattern or repetition scheme for transmitting repetitions of the random access shared channel message (e.g., MSG3 repetitions). In some cases, transmission slots for one or more of the multiple repetitions of the random access shared channel message may be determined based on slots associated with ROs that are mapped to the first SSB. In cases where such slots are not consecutively located (e.g., due to slots that are not associated with a RO that is mapped to the first SSB), one or more slot offsets may be provided for modifying transmission of one or more of the repetitions. In some cases, the UE may determine the slot offset and may postpone transmission of a repetition of the random access shared channel message for one or more slots based on the slot offset. For example the UE may determine that a slot is associated with one or more ROs that are each associated with one or more respective SSBs that are different than the first SSB, and where the slot is unassociated with the first RO and the first SSB. Based on such a determination, the UE may postpone a repetition that would normally be transmitted in that slot, drop the repetition for the slot, or modify a transmission power of the repetition (e.g., to increase the transmission power to enhance the likelihood that the base station receives repetition even though it is transmitted using a different beam than will be monitored by the base station in the RO). In some cases, an indication of the slot offset(s) may be provided to the UE by the base station in a random access response (e.g., in a MSG2). In some cases, the UE may determine the slot offset(s) based on one or more mappings between ROs and SSBs. In further cases, a combination of a slot offset information provided by the base station and a determination of the slot offset at the UE may be used to determine slot offsets for one or more repetitions. [0093] Based on the random access parameters, the UE 115-a may transmit a random access request message 220 (e.g., MSG1) to the base station 105-a. The base station 105-a, in response to receiving the random access request message 220, may transmit a random access response message 225 (e.g., MSG2). Following the random access response message 225, the UE 115-a may transmit a random access shared channel message 230 (e.g., MSG3 PUSCH). In some cases, due to the UE 115-a being a NR-light UE, multiple repetitions of the random access shared channel message 230 may be transmitted, including a first repetition 230-a, a second repetition 230-b, and a third repetition 230-c. The base station 105-a may then transmit a random access contention resolution message 235 (e.g., MSG4) to the UE 115-a.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claims 1, 12, and 16 above, and further in view of US 20230209606 A1 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter “Zhang”).
As per claim 3, 18, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the Msg2 is scheduled by a Downlink Control Information (DCI) with a scrambling sequence at least according to the second RO.
Li may not explicitly disclose, but Zhang, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the Msg2 is scheduled by a Downlink Control Information (DCI) with a scrambling sequence at least according to the second RO (Zhang [0076,0095-0096]). The purpose of Zhang is to provide flexibility in random access and reduce complexity in RAR monitoring (Zhang [0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with Li, to provide flexibility in random access and reduce complexity in RAR monitoring (Zhang [0046]).
As per claim 5, 20, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein to receive the RAR in the Msg2 at least according the second RO, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: determine a random access (RA) response window for the Msg2 at least according to the second RO.
Li may not explicitly disclose, but Zhang, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein to receive the RAR in the Msg2 at least according the second RO, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: determine a random access (RA) response window for the Msg2 at least according to the second RO (Zhang [0007-0010,0040-0043]). The purpose of Zhang is to provide flexibility in random access and reduce complexity in RAR monitoring (Zhang [0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with Li, to provide flexibility in random access and reduce complexity in RAR monitoring (Zhang [0046]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 6-11, 13-14, 17, 19, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476