Drawings
Figs. 1 and 23 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “pressing element” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “a first distance between central ones of the reinforcements disposed nearest to the center is larger than a second distance between other ones of the reinforcements” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “distance between central ones” and “distance between other ones” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear how the distance is measured i.e. gap between, from central portion to central portion, etc. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP-2019107606 A to Sasano et al (hereinafter Sasano).
Regarding claim 1, Sasano teaches a dual slot die coater (14) having a first slot and a second slot to deliver a coating solution opposite to gravity, the dual slot die coater comprising: a first die block (22) vertically installed and integrally formed with a base (20) at a rear end of an upper surface of the base; a second die block (24) positioned in contact with the base and alongside the upper surface of the first die block to form the first slot (120) between the second die block and the first die block; and a third die block (26) positioned in contact with the base and alongside the second die block to form the second slot (124) between the third die block(26) and the second die block (24). (See Sasano, Abstract, Fig. 5, Machine Translation; page 2, paragraphs 5-8; page 3, paragraphs 3-7; page 4, paragraphs 3-4, 6-9; page 5, paragraphs 6-7.)
Regarding claim 2, Sasano teaches a lower surface of the second die block (24) and a lower surface of the third die block (26) are in contact with a top surface of the base (20) such that the top surface is completely covered. (See Sasano, Abstract, Fig. 5, Machine Translation; page 2, paragraphs 5-8; page 3, paragraphs 3-7; page 4, paragraphs 3-4, 6-9; page 5, paragraphs 6-7.)
Regarding claim 3, Sasano teaches a lower surface of the second die block and a lower surface of the third die block are in intermittent contact with the base. (See Sasano, Abstract, Fig. 5, Machine Translation; page 2, paragraphs 5-8; page 3, paragraphs 3-7; page 4, paragraphs 3-4, 6-9; page 5, paragraphs 6-7.)
Regarding claim 4, Sasano teaches a pressing element (56) is connected to a bottom of the base. (See Sasano, Abstract, Fig. 5, Machine Translation; page 2, paragraphs 5-8; page 3, paragraphs 3-7; page 4, paragraphs 3-4, 6-9; page 5, paragraphs 6-7.)
Regarding claim 6, Sasano teaches dual slot die coater according to claim 1, further comprising: a first shim (70) between the first die block (22) and the second die block (24) to form the first slot and a second shim (80) between the second die block (24) and the third die block to form the second slot, wherein the first shim (portion of 70 which includes recess adjacent 32 in Fig. 5 ) and the second shim (80) have an open portion (portion of 80 which includes recess adjacent 62 in Fig. 5) which is at least disposed at a central area (32, 62 in Fig. 5) in the first (70) and second shims (80). (See Sasano, Abstract, Fig. 5, Machine Translation; page 2, paragraphs 5-8; page 3, paragraphs 3-7; page 4, paragraphs 3-4, 6-9; page 5, paragraphs 6-7.)
Regarding claim 13, Sasano teaches the first die block (22) includes a first manifold (36) which accommodates a first coating solution and is in communication with the first slot (120) , and the third die block (26) includes a second manifold (66) which accommodates a second coating solution and is in communication with the second slot (124). (See Sasano, Abstract, Fig. 5, Machine Translation; page 2, paragraphs 5-8; page 3, paragraphs 3-7; page 4, paragraphs 3-4, 6-9; page 5, paragraphs 6-7.)
Regarding claim 14, Sasano teaches a first bolt (42) is vertically installed into a first contact surface between the base (20) and the second die block (24) , and a second bolt (58) is vertically installed into a second contact surface between the base (20) and the third die block (26). (See Sasano, Abstract, Fig. 5, Machine Translation; page 2, paragraphs 5-8; page 3, paragraphs 3-7; page 4, paragraphs 3-4, 6-9; page 5, paragraphs 6-7.)
Regarding claim 15, Sasano teaches the first slot (120) is perpendicular to the base (20). (See Sasano, Abstract, Fig. 5, Machine Translation; page 2, paragraphs 5-8; page 3, paragraphs 3-7; page 4, paragraphs 3-4, 6-9; page 5, paragraphs 6-7.)
Regarding claim 16, Sasano teaches the second die block (24) has a right triangular cross section. (See Sasano, Abstract, Fig. 5, Machine Translation; page 2, paragraphs 5-8; page 3, paragraphs 3-7; page 4, paragraphs 3-4, 6-9; page 5, paragraphs 6-7.)
Regarding claim 17, Sasano teaches the first die block, the second die block, and the third die block include a first die lip (area of 34 laterally between F and E in Fig. 6) , a second die lip(area of 40 laterally between D and C), and a third die lip (area of 64 laterally between A and B in Fig. 6) which form front ends (ends of 34, 40, 64 directly across from 12) , respectively, and the first die lip, the second die lip, and the third die lip are disposed on a straight line. (See Sasano, Abstract, Fig. 5, Machine Translation; page 2, paragraphs 5-8; page 3, paragraphs 3-7; page 4, paragraphs 3-4, 6-9; page 5, paragraphs 6-7.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2019107606 A to Sasano et al (hereinafter Sasano) as applied to claim 4 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20240286337 A1 to Colell et al (hereinafter Colell).
Regarding claim 5, Sasano teaches the pressing element is a servomotor.
Colell is directed to slot nozzle regulation system.
Colell teaches a servomotor is a known mechanism for adjusting the position of slot die nozzles. (See Colell, Abstract, paragraph 14, Abstract, and Figs. 1-4.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pressing element is a servomotor, because Colell teaches this is an art recognized equivalent structure for adjusting the position of the slot die nozzles. (See Colell, Abstract, paragraphs 12, 14-15, 17, 26, 28, 30, 34, 40, 43, 49-52, 64-65, 67, 71, 75-77, 81, 85, 89, 91, Abstract, and Figs. 1-4.)
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F. 2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Claims 7-8, 10, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2019107606 A to Sasano et al (hereinafter Sasano) as applied to claim 17 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20070092655 A1 to Tokimasa et al (hereinafter Tokimasa).
Regarding claim 7, Sasano does not explicitly teach wherein reinforcements are disposed on a lower surface of the second die block for intermittent contact with the base and a bending space is disposed between the reinforcements.
Tokimasa is directed to an apparatus for applying a coating solution using a die.
Tokimasa teaches reinforcements (thickness gage 86) are disposed on a lower surface of the second die block for intermittent contact with the base to vary the positional relations between the lips.
Tokimasa teaches a bending space (space between thickness gage 86) is disposed between the reinforcements. (See Tokimasa, Abstract, paragraphs 9, 52, 59, 61, 88, 90-91, 96, 116, 147, 162, 175-176, 179-180, and Fig. 2.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify reinforcements are disposed on a lower surface of the second die block for intermittent contact with the base and a bending space is disposed between the reinforcements, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper thickness for the optimal overbite for the coating material, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide the optimal overbite length based on the viscosity of the coating solution, the coating velocity, the thickness of the coating, and other factors. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)). (See Tokimasa, Abstract, paragraph 14 and Fig. 2.)
Regarding claim 8, Sasano does not explicitly teach reinforcements are disposed on a lower surface of the third die block for intermittent contact with the base, and a bending space is disposed between the reinforcements.
Tokimasa teaches reinforcements (thickness gage 86) are disposed on a lower surface of the die block for intermittent contact with the base to vary the positional relations between the lips. (See Tokimasa, Abstract, paragraphs 9, 14, 52, 59, 61, 88, 90-91, 96, 116, 147, 162, 175-176, 179-180, and Fig. 2.)
Tokimasa teaches a bending space (space between thickness gage 86) is disposed between the reinforcements. (See Tokimasa, Abstract, paragraphs 9, 14, 52, 59, 61, 88, 90-91, 96, 116, 147, 162, 175-176, 179-180, and Fig. 2.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify reinforcements are disposed on a lower surface of the third die block for intermittent contact with the base, and a bending space is disposed between the reinforcements, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper thickness for the optimal overbite for the coating material, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide the optimal overbite length based on the viscosity of the coating solution, the coating velocity, the thickness of the coating, and other factors. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)). (See Tokimasa, Abstract, paragraph 14 and Fig. 2.)
Regarding claim 10, Sasano does not explicitly teach the reinforcements are disposed in a lengthwise direction of the dual slot die coater.
Tokimasa teaches reinforcements (thickness gage 86) are disposed on a lower surface of the second die block for intermittent contact with the base to vary the positional relations between the lips. (See Tokimasa, Abstract, paragraphs 9, 14, 52, 59, 61, 88, 90-91, 96, 116, 147, 162, 175-176, 179-180, and Fig. 2.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the reinforcements are disposed in a lengthwise direction of the dual slot die coater, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper thickness for the optimal overbite for the coating material in a lengthwise direction along the length of the slot nozzle, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide the desired positional relations between the lips along the entire length of the slit nozzles. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)). (See Tokimasa, Abstract, paragraph 14 and Fig. 2.)
Regarding claim 18, Sasano does not explicitly teach the third die lip is wider than the first die lip and the second die lip.
Tokimasa teaches the width of the lip of the die (overbite length) may be adjusted to accommodate for the viscosity of the coating solution, the coating velocity, the thickness of the coating, and other factors. (See Tokimasa, Abstract, paragraph 14 and Fig. 2.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the third die lip to be wider than the first die lip and the second die lip, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper material for the coating material, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide the optimal overbite length based on the viscosity of the coating solution, the coating velocity, the thickness of the coating, and other factors. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Tokimasa, Abstract, paragraph 14 and Fig. 2.)
Regarding claim 19, Sasano teaches a second exit port (126) in communication with the second slot is between the third die lip and the second die lip, and a first exit port (122) in communication with the first slot is between the second die lip and the first die lip, the second coating solution being delivered onto a substrate through the second exit port, wherein the first exit port is spaced apart from the second exit port on a downstream side of a coating direction, and a first coating solution is delivered onto the substrate through the first exit port (122). (See Sasano, Abstract, Fig. 5, Machine Translation; page 2, paragraphs 5-8; page 3, paragraphs 3-7; page 4, paragraphs 3-4, 6-9; page 5, paragraphs 6-7.)
Regarding claim 20, Sasano does not explicitly teach reinforcements are disposed on a lower surface of the third die block for intermittent contact with the base, and a bending space is disposed between the reinforcements.
Tokimasa teaches reinforcements (thickness gage 86) are disposed on a lower surface of the die block for intermittent contact with the base to vary the positional relations between the lips. (See Tokimasa, Abstract, paragraphs 9, 14, 52, 59, 61, 88, 90-91, 96, 116, 147, 162, 175-176, 179-180, and Fig. 2.)
Tokimasa teaches a bending space (space between thickness gage 86) is disposed between the reinforcements. (See Tokimasa, Abstract, paragraphs 9, 14, 52, 59, 61, 88, 90-91, 96, 116, 147, 162, 175-176, 179-180, and Fig. 2.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify reinforcements are disposed on a lower surface of the third die block for intermittent contact with the base, and a bending space is disposed between the reinforcements, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper thickness for the optimal overbite for the coating material, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide the optimal overbite length based on the viscosity of the coating solution, the coating velocity, the thickness of the coating, and other factors. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)). (See Tokimasa, Abstract, paragraph 14 and Fig. 2.)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2019107606 A to Sasano et al (hereinafter Sasano) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20070092655 A1 to Tokimasa et al (hereinafter Tokimasa) as applied to claim 8 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20190118215 A1 to Yamane et al (hereinafter Yamane) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20240286337 A1 to Colell et al (hereinafter Colell) .
Regarding claim 9, Sasano does not explicitly teach a servomotor is connected to a center of a bottom of the base and configured to deform the bending space.
Yamane is directed to slot nozzle coating system.
Yamane teaches a motor (56) is connected to a center of a bottom of the base (58) and configured to bend a portion (16, 18) of the slot nozzle die. (See Yamane, Abstract, paragraphs 4-6, 11-12, 14, 25-26, and 33-37, Abstract, and Figs. 1-4.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motor is connected to a center of a bottom of the base and configured to deform the bending space, because Yamane teaches this configuration would allow the slot nozzle to be bent in the area in which the largest coating pressure is applied. (See Yamane, Abstract, paragraphs 4-6, 11-12, 14, 25-26, and 33-37, Abstract, and Figs. 1-4.)
Regarding claim 9, Sasano does not explicitly teach a servomotor is connected to a center of a bottom of the base.
Colell teaches a servomotor is a known type of motor for adjusting the position of slot die nozzles. (See Colell, Abstract, paragraph 14, Abstract, and Figs. 1-4.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a servomotor is connected to a center of a bottom of the base, because Colell teaches this is an art recognized equivalent structure for adjusting the position of the slot die nozzles. (See Colell, Abstract, paragraphs 12, 14-15, 17, 26, 28, 30, 34, 40, 43, 49-52, 64-65, 67, 71, 75-77, 81, 85, 89, 91, Abstract, and Figs. 1-4.)
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F. 2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2019107606 A to Sasano et al (hereinafter Sasano) and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20070092655 A1 to Tokimasa et al (hereinafter Tokimasa) as applied to claim 10 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20080274223 A1 to Peter Cloeren (hereinafter Cloeren).
Regarding claim 11, Sasano does not explicitly teach the reinforcements are symmetrical with respect to a center of the dual slot die coater in the lengthwise direction.
Cloeren is directed a slot die having a flow passageway.
Cloeren teaches the reinforcements (68) are symmetrical with respect to a center of the slot die coater in the lengthwise direction for Z-axis positioning of die body. (See Cloeren, Abstract, Figs. 5-6, and 9; paragraphs 64-69, 71-83, 87-91.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the reinforcements symmetrical with respect to a center of the dual slot die coater in the lengthwise direction, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper location of the shims, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide the desired z-axis positioning. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)). (See Cloeren, Abstract, Figs. 5-6, and 9; paragraphs 5-6, 8-9, 11-13, 18-23, 25, 29-38, 46-47, 49, 53, 64-69, 71-83, 87-91.)
Regarding claim 12, Sasano does not explicitly teach a first distance between central ones of the reinforcements disposed nearest to the center is larger than a second distance between other ones of the reinforcements.
Cloeren teaches the reinforcements (68) are symmetrical with respect to a center of the slot die coater in the lengthwise direction for Z-axis positioning of die body. (See Cloeren, Abstract, Figs. 5-6, and 9; paragraphs 64-69, 71-83, 87-91.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a first distance between central ones of the reinforcements disposed nearest to the center is larger than a second distance between other ones of the reinforcements, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper location of the shims, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide the desired z-axis positioning of the slot die. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)). (See Cloeren, Abstract, Figs. 5-6, and 9; paragraphs 5-6, 8-9, 11-13, 18-23, 25, 29-38, 46-47, 49, 53, 64-69, 71-83, 87-91.)
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 515, 235 to Lee (hereinafter Lee) in view of JP-2019107606 A to Sasano et al (hereinafter Sasano).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of Lee recites a dual slot die coater having a first slot and a second slot to deliver a coating solution opposite to gravity (a dual slot die coater having a first slot and a second slot to deliver a coating solution opposite to gravity), the dual slot die coater comprising: a first die block vertically installed (the dual slot die coater comprising: a first die block vertically installed) and integrally formed with a base (20) at a rear end of an upper surface of the base; a second die block positioned in contact with the base and alongside the upper surface of the first die block to form the first slot between the second die block and the first die block (a second die block arranged on the front surface of the second die block to form the first slot between the second die block and the first die block); and a third die block positioned in contact with the base and alongside the second die block to form the second slot between the third die block and the second die block ( a third die block arranged on the front surface of the second die block to form the second slot between the third die block and the second die block ) . (See Sasano, Abstract, Fig. 5, Machine Translation; page 2, paragraphs 5-8; page 3, paragraphs 3-7; page 4, paragraphs 3-4, 6-9; page 5, paragraphs 6-7.)
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of Lee does not explicitly teach the dual slot die coater comprising: a first die block vertically installed and integrally formed with a base at a rear end of an upper surface of the base.
Sasane teaches the dual slot die coater comprising: a first die block vertically installed and integrally formed with a base at a rear end of an upper surface of the base. (See Sasano, Abstract, Fig. 5, Machine Translation; page 2, paragraphs 5-8; page 3, paragraphs 3-7; page 4, paragraphs 3-4, 6-9; page 5, paragraphs 6-7.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dual slot die coater comprising: a first die block vertically installed and integrally formed with a base at a rear end of an upper surface of the base, because Sasano teaches this configuration would allow the slot nozzle to be used to coat a web. (See Sasano, Abstract, Fig. 5, Machine Translation; page 2, paragraphs 5-8; page 3, paragraphs 3-7; page 4, paragraphs 3-4, 6-9; page 5, paragraphs 6-7.)
Conclusion
/KARL KURPLE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717