DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-14 are cancelled. Claims 15-31 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of PCT/EP2021/084556 filed on 12/7/2021, which claims priority from EP20212306.3 filed on 12/7/2020.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements filed on 7/25/2023 and 2/5/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 15-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15 and 18 recite the limitation "the cosmetic treatment of skin" in the claim for the first time without a first recitation of “cosmetic treatment of skin”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 16, 17 and 19-31 are rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benson US 20180125767.
In claim 15, “cosmetic treatment of skin” is toward an intended use of the composition that is found in the preamble of the claim (MPEP 2111.02). If the prior art teaches the composition, it may be used for such a use.
Benson teaches a compound of formula (3) (component A) that is the compound of formula (I) in applicant’s claims (see abstract and paragraphs 13-17). n in Benson may be 1 to 10 or 2 to 8 while R is selected from branched or linear C.sub.3-20-alkyl, preferably from C.sub.6-18-alkyl, more preferably C.sub.10-16-alkyl, even more preferably C.sub.12-14-alkyl ((paragraphs 15-17). Benson provides for conditioning of keratin fibers (paragraph 66). Benson teaches a hydroxy value of 1 to 60 or 10 to 46 KOH/g (paragraph 40). Benson teaches molecular weight of 1200 to 2200 g/mol or 900 to 5000 g/mol for the component A (paragraph 42).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson US 20180125767 and Parson US 20150045430.
Benson teaches claims as discussed above. Benson also teaches surfactant, thickener, and conditioning component (paragraphs 18-21). Thickeners modify the rheology of substances (paragraph 61). Benson teaches coloring agents (paragraph 84). Benson teaches sun protectors like titanium dioxide and benzophenone (paragraph 85). Benson teaches 0.5 to 20% by weight or 0.5 to 5% by weight of component A (paragraph 91). Benson teaches component A is useful for shampoos and conditioners (paragraph 43 and paragraph 96). Benson teaches applying the shampoo and then rinsing it (paragraph 113). Benson teaches washing the hair, and thus, is in the form of a wash (claim 11 of Benson). Benson teaches all products being creamy liquids (paragraphs 147 and 173). Creamy liquids can be construed as creams. Benson teaches its formula compounds as estolide esters (abstract).
Although Benson allows for treatment of keratin, it does not teach treating skin by applying to skin.
Parson teaches estolide compounds suitable for use in personal care and cosmetic formulations (abstract and claim 1 of Parson). Parson teaches estolides provide lubricity properties (abstract). Parson teaches various products such as “shampoo, conditioner, hair lotion, tonic, hair spray, hair mousse, hair gel, hair dyes, moisturizer, suntan lotion, color cosmetic, body lotion, hand cream, baby skin-care product, facial cream, lipstick, lip balm, mascara, blush, eyeliner, nail products, baby shampoo, baby moisturizer, baby lotion, shower gel, soap, shaving product, deodorant, bath cream, body wash, serum, cream, solid, gel, lubricant, gelly, balm, tooth paste, whitening gel, disposable towel, disposable wipe or ointment” (paragraph 136). Parson teaches lotions being applied to the forearms of subjects (paragraph 189) for skincare testing. Parson teaches lotions applied to the stratum corneum of the forearm of subjects to test hydration and moisturization (paragraph 190). Parson teaches estolide compounds provide “improved elasticity; moisture retention; hydrating/moisturizing properties; and anti-aging properties” (paragraph 138), and thus, estolide compounds for personal care/cosmetic products are used for such properties. Parson teaches additives like surfactants and viscosity modifiers (paragraph 140). Parson teaches UV absorber (paragraph 143).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have utilized compositions applicable for conditioning of keratin for the skin by the combined teachings of Benson and Parson as both recognize the use of estolide compounds for personal care products and Parson realizing estolide compounds have utility in products applied to the skin for conditioning and moisturizing. Therefore, there would be a reasonable expectation of success in utilizing the keratin-appropriate estolide compound containing compositions of Benson as compositions in the methods of skin treatment of Parson for the skin which also provides for personal care products with estolide compounds and obtain moisturizing and/or conditioning of the skin.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 15-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 9, 10, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 10238591. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim set provides for a composition having the similar compound of the same general formula.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613