DETAILED ACTION
Remark
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on July 23, 2026, which has been entered into the file.
By this amendment, the applicant has amended claim 22 and has canceled claim 23.
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 13-16, 18, and 20-22 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-11, 13-16, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the patent issued to Dolan et al (PN. 5,797,570) in view of the US patent issued to Grayson (PN. 7,089,696), patent issued to Fukuda (PN. 8,558,965) and US patent application publication by Gioco (US 2021/0317948 A1).
Claim 1 has been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejections.
Dolan et al teaches, with regard to claim 1, a system for attaching a first article (12, Figure 1) serves as the display overlay to an electronic display (24) wherein the system comprises at least one bracket or holder (10) defined by an outer surface and an inner surface the bracket having an L-shape cross section comprising a first leg and a second leg, (17 and 16, Figure 1). Dolan et al teaches that the inner surface of the first leg (17) comprises an adhesive strip (13) serves as the first layer of adhesive, and a surface of the second leg (16) comprises a first attachment member (14).
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. It however does not teach explicitly that the first layer of adhesive strip is on the inner surface of the first leg (17). Claim 1 also includes the phrase “at least one second attracting member comprises a second layer of pressure sensitive adhesive configured to adhere the second attracting member to an edge of the electronic display and wherein the first attracting member and the second attracting member are configured to connected to each other”.
Grayson in the same field of endeavor teaches a display system that is comprised of a frame (36/38, Figure 4) that has an L-shape for attaching an optical member (40) with a first leg and a second leg wherein a magnetic coupling member (50) with a first attracting member (52) is coupled to the inner surface of the second leg (36) and a second attracting member (54) that is coupled to the member (22, please see column 3, lines 5-28), wherein the first attracting member and the second attracting member are connected to each other, (please see Figure 4).
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Grayson to modify the bracket of Dolan et al to alternatively use a pair of magnetic coupling member (52 and 54) that are connected to each other for the benefit of using magnetic arrangement to attach the overlay or cover member. Grayson also teaches that the inner surface of the first leg (38, Figure 4) of the L shape frame is contacting the optical member which means the first adhesive strip may alternatively be arranged at the inner surface of the first leg to attach the optical member alternatively in an arrangement at the inner side of the first leg of the bracket.
These references further fail to teach explicitly that the adhesive strips comprise pressure sensitive adhesive. Pressure sensitive adhesive is commonly known in the art to adhere different optical parts as explicitly demonstrated by Fukuda. Fukuda in Figure 5, teaches a pressure sensitive adhesive (12) is used to adhere a protective cover (12) to a surface of the attachment (10, please see column 12, liens 49-60). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Fukuda to use art well-known pressure sensitive adhesive as the adhesive strips for adhering and attaching the holder to the display.
Claim 1 has been amended (in the previous amendment) to include the phrase “wherein the first attracting member is at least partially embedded in the second leg”. These references do not teach such arrangement explicitly.
Gioco in the same field of endeavor teaches a device of attaching screen protector to an electronic device that is comprised of a bracket having an “L” shape with a first leg and a second legs, (please see Figure 6) wherein a magnet (114) that is at least partially embedded in the second leg, (please see paragraph [0040] and Figures 1 and 6). It would then have been obvious to apply the teachings of Gioco to modify the arrangement of the magnetic attraction members to make one of the magnetic attraction member be at least partially embedded in the leg of the bracket for the benefit of allowing different arrangement and design for the attaching device to achieve the same attraction function.
With regard to claims 2, 4 and 5, Grayson teaches that the attraction means includes magnetic coupling member (50) which implicitly comprises magnet. It is known in the art that a typical magnet comprises ferromagnetic material. With regard to claim 5, although this reference does not teach explicitly to have the first attracting member comprises a rare-earth magnet and the second attracting member comprises ferromagnetic material, such modifications are considered obvious matters of design choices to one skilled in the art since both rare-earth magnet and ferromagnet are well known magnets in the art.
With regard to claims 6 and 7, Dolan et al teaches that the holder with the first and second legs (17 and 16) may comprise plastic, (please see column 3, lines 17-19). In light of the Greyson since the first leg (38, Figure 4) is placed in the front surface of the overlay, one skilled in the art would be motivated to use a clear plastic so that the screen information would not be blocked.
With regard to claim 9, Dolan et al teaches that the length of the second leg (16, Figure 1) is less than the length of the first leg (17).
With regard to claim 10, Dolan et al teaches that the length of the second leg (16) corresponds to the bezel length of a display.
With regard to claim 11, Dolan et al in light of Grayson teaches that the attracting member has a bar shape, (50, Figure 4 of Grayson).
With regard to claim 13, Dolan et al teaches two brackets or holders (10, Figure 1).
With regard to claims 14 and 15, Dolan et al the first article or overlay (12, Figure 1) may comprise a protective cover, (please see column 3, lines 62-63).
With regard to claim 16, Dolan et al in light of Grayson and Fukuda et al teaches that the first adhesive layer may be placed at the front major surface of the display overlay.
With regard to claim 18, Dolan et al in light of Grayson teaches that the second attracting member (54, Figure 4) may be coupled to the member (22) or the edge of the electronic display of Dolan et al. As shown in Figure 1 of Dolan et al the edge of the electronic display may be a top horizontal edge of the display.
With regard to claim 20, Grayson teaches that the first attraction member (52, Figure 4) is attached to the second attraction member (54). In light of Dolan et al, the first article (12, Figure 1) or the overlay has a back major surface adjacent to the viewing area of the display. This is achieved by the holder with the first and second attracting members.
With regard to claim 21, As shown in Figure 1 od Dolan et al, the display is a monitor (11, please see column 3, line 9), which is a desktop display.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolan et al, Grayson, Fukuda and Gioco as applied to claim 1 and 2 above, and further in view of the US patent application publication by Forster et al (US 2012/0127211 A1).
The system for attaching overlays to an electronic display taught by Dolan et al in combination with the teachings of Grayson, Fukuda and Gioco as described in claim 1 above has met all the limitations of the claim.
With regard to claim 3, these references do not teach explicitly that the attracting member is a rare-earth magnet. Forster et al in the same field of endeavor teaches an attracting means for attaching optical member wherein the attracting means comprises rare-earth magnet, (please see Figure 1, paragraph [0024]). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings Forster et al to use an art well known rare-earth magnet as an alternative attracting means for attaching the overlay.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: of the prior art references considered, none has disclosed a system for attaching overlay to an electronic display that is comprised of at least one straight bracket having a first major surface and a second major surface, wherein the second major surface comprises a magnet at least partially embedded in the upper half of the second major surface and a first layer of pressure sensitive adhesive in a lower half of the second major surface. The first layer of pressure sensitive adhesive is attached to a top of major surface of the display overlay. The magnet is positioned above a top edge of the display overlay and is configured to directly magnetically attach to a front face of the top horizonal edge of the electronic display wherein the top horizontal edge comprises a ferromagnetic material, as explicitly set forth in claim 22.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly amended claim has been fully considered and they are rejected for the reasons set forth above.
In response to applicant’s arguments concerning the rejection to the claims based on the cited Dolan et al and Grayson references, are not persuasive to overcome the rejections. It is noted that both Dolan and Grayson references teach system for attaching overlays comprises a bracket that has a L-shaped cross section. Dolan et al teaches that the first leg may comprise adhesive strip while Grayson teaches that the second leg comprises a first magnet serves as the first attachment member. Grayson further teaches that a second attachment comprises a magnet may be attached to the electronic display wherein the first attachment member and the second attachment member are connected to each other. Applicant being one skilled in the art must have the basic knowledge to use an adhesive or pressure sensitive adhesive to attach the elements ad desired is very well known practice and therefore is novelty concerning the usage of adhesive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872