DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Stein (US 5044002).
Regarding claim 1, Stein teaches an arrangement of an X-ray detector and a shielding element shielding X-rays, wherein
the X-ray detector 25 comprises at least one detector line 35 with at least one detector element arranged along the detector line,
the shielding element 21 comprises at least one region opaque for X-rays and at least one region transparent for X-rays,
the shielding element is arranged in front of the receiving surface of the at least one detector element in the beam direction of the X-rays (figure 1a), and
the shielding element is moveable by rotation 24 with respect to the at least one detector element for a relative movement, so that the effective receiving surface for X-rays of the at least one detector element can be changed dynamically accordingly (figures 1a, while rotating the shielding element 21, the effective receiving surface of the detector would be changed).
Regarding claim 9, Stein teaches a method for increasing the spatial resolution of an X-ray detector with at least one detector line with at least one detector element, wherein a shielding element arranged above the receiving surface for the X-rays of the at least one detector element is movable by rotation relative to the at least one detector element for a relative movement, whereby the effective receiving surface for the X-rays (RX) of the at least one detector element is changed (figures 1a, while rotating the shielding element 21, the effective receiving surface of the detector would be changed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paolini (US 4644578) in view of Virta et al. (US 5212719).
Regarding claim 1, Paolinia teaches an arrangement of an X-ray detector and a shielding element shielding X-rays for providing detector data with a higher spatial resolution than the physical resolution of the X-ray detector, wherein
the X-ray detector 22 comprises at least one detector line with at least one detector element arranged along the detector line,
the shielding element 20 comprises at least one region opaque for X-rays and at least one region transparent for X-rays,
the shielding element is arranged in front of the receiving surface of the at least one detector element in the beam direction of the X-rays, and
the shielding element is moveable 25 with respect to the at least one detector element for a relative movement, so that the effective receiving surface for X-rays of the at least one detector element can be changed dynamically accordingly (figures 2a-b, col 2 lines 15+).
However Paolinia fails to teach the moveable by rotation.
Virta teaches oscillation movement by rotating stepper motor 31a (figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the movement of Paolinia with the movement as taught by Virta, since it would provide accurate shielding element movement.
Regarding claim 2, Paolinia teaches the region of the shielding element which is transparent for X-rays is a recess (figures 2a-b, col 2 lines 15+).
Regarding claim 3, Paolinia teaches the region of the shielding element which is transparent for X-rays is made of a material with a low attenuation for X-rays; and/or the region of the shielding element which is opaque to X-rays is made of a material with a high attenuation for X-rays; wherein the transmittance for X-rays is higher in the transparent region than in the opaque region (col 2 lines 15+)
Regarding claim 4, Paolinia teaches the shielding element has the form of a comb, a disc, a belt, a wheel, or a tube comprising the detector line (figures 2a-b, col 2 lines 15+).
Regarding claim 5, Paolinia teaches the shielding element is movable by an oscillating movement between a first position and a second position for the relative movement relative to the detector elements (figures 2a-b).
Regarding claim 6, Paolinia teaches the region transparent for X-rays has a stepped profile such that when the shielding element and the at least one detector element are moved relative to each other for relative movement, the effective X-ray receiving area of the at least one detector element is correspondingly variable in regular or irregular steps (figures 2a-b).
Regarding claim 7, Paolinia teaches the shielding element is coupled to a first actuator (oscillating mask) and/or the detector line is coupled to a second actuator, the first actuator and/or the second actuator being controllable for the relative movement between the shielding element and the at least one detector element (figure 2a-b).
Regarding claim 8, Paolinia teaches an X-ray inspection apparatus comprising an arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the X-ray inspection apparatus is configured for transporting 4 an inspection object in a transport direction through the inspection apparatus and the detector line of the X-ray detector is arranged in a line direction, which is directed orthogonal to the transport direction, and the X-ray inspection apparatus is configured to provide detected intensity values of the X-rays from a scanned area of the changed effective receiving area for the X-rays of the at least one detector element for different points in time (figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Paolinia teaches a method for increasing the spatial resolution of an X-ray detector with at least one detector line with at least one detector element, wherein a shielding element arranged above the receiving surface for the X-rays of the at least one detector element are movable relative to the at least one detector element for a relative movement, whereby the effective receiving surface for the X-rays (RX) of the at least one detector element is changed (figures 2a-b, col 2 lines 15+).
However Paolinia fails to teach the moveable by rotation.
Virta teaches oscillation movement by rotating stepper motor 31a (figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the movement of Paolinia with the movement as taught by Virta, since it would provide accurate shielding element movement.
Regarding claim 10, Paolinia teaches a step S1 with first reading of the at least one detector element at a first point of time t, during which a first area of the at least one detector element is irradiated by the X-rays: a step S2 with second reading of the at least one detector element at a second point of time t+1, during which a second region of the at least one detector element is irradiated by the X-rays; and a step S3 with calculation of associated intensity values of the X-rays for the first region and the second region for the first point of time t and the second point of time t+1 (col 2 lines 24+).
Regarding claim 12, Paolinia teaches the second area of the at least one detector element irradiated by X-rays overlaps at least a partial area of said first area of said at least one detector element irradiated by X-rays (figures 2a-b, while movement of the shield 20, the overlapping area will be on the detector element 22).
Regarding claim 11, Paolinia teaches a step S4 comprising subtracting (S4) the intensity values calculated in step (S3): and a step S5 comprising determining (S5) a virtual intensity value of the X-ray radiation of a partial area of the at least one detector element based on the subtraction in step S3 (column 2 lines 15-63, column 1 lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 13, Paolinia teaches a change in the relative arrangement of the shielding element and the at least one detector element is synchronized with the respective irradiation of the X-ray detector with X-rays (column 2 lines 15-63, column 1 lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 14, Paolinia teaches a processing device for processing the intensity values of the X-rays provided by the X-ray inspection apparatus according to claim 8 (column 2 lines 15-63, column 1 lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 15, Paolinia teaches a system comprising an X-ray inspection apparatus according to claim 8 and a processing device, wherein the X-ray inspection apparatus is configured to provide the intensity values based on scanning an inspection object to the processing device and is connected to the processing device for data communication therefor (column 2 lines 15-63, column 1 lines 5-12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884