DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akita (US 20130040052, of record) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches A wire grid polarizing element (10), in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); of a hybrid type made of an inorganic material ([0080]) and an organic material ([0025]) , comprising: a substrate (14; [0055]) made of the inorganic material ([0080]); a grid structural body (10) made of the organic material ([0025]) and including a base part (13) provided on the substrate (14; [0055]) and a plurality of ridge portions (12) protruding from the base part (13), the base part (13) and the ridge portions (12) being integrally formed; and a functional film (20 or 25) made of a metal material (22 or 27) and covering part of each of the ridge portions (12), wherein the ridge portions (12) each have an upward narrowing shape (16 and 18 narrow to 19) that narrows in width (Dpt) with distance from the base part (13), the functional film (20 or 25) covers and wraps a leading end (19) and an upper side of at least one of side surfaces (16 or 18) of each of the ridge portions (12), and does not cover a lower side of both the side surfaces (16 or 18) of each of the ridge portions (12) and the base part (13), and a surface of the functional film (20 or 25) covering and wrapping each of the ridge portions (12) is rounded and bulges in a width direction of the ridge portions (12), and a maximum width (WMAX) of the functional film (20 or 25) covering and wrapping each of the ridge portions (12) is more than or equal to a width (WB) of each of the ridge portions (12) at a position of 20% of a height of each of the ridge portions (12) upward from a bottom of each of the ridge portions (12).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein when a coverage rate (Rc) of the side surfaces (16 or 18) of each of the ridge portions (12) obtained by the functional film (20 or 25) is a proportion of a height (Hx) of a portion of the side surfaces (16 or 18) of each of the ridge portions (12) that is covered by the functional film (20 or 25) to a height (H) of the ridge portions (12), the coverage rate (Rc) is more than or equal to 25% and less than or equal to 80% (coverage of 22 and 27 of 12 is clearly in range).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein the coverage rate (Rc) is more than or equal to 30% and less than or equal to 70% (coverage of 22 and 27 of 12 is clearly in range).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein a product (Tp×Rs) of transmission axis transmittance (Tp) and reflection axis reflectance (Rs) for incident light at an incident angle of 45° with respect to the wire grid polarizing element (10) is more than or equal to 70% ([0022], [0219]).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein the height ([0020]) of each of the ridge portions (12) is more than or equal to 160 nm.
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein the functional film (20 or 25) covering the leading end (19) of each of the ridge portions (12) has a thickness (Dpt) of more than or equal to 5 nm.
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein the functional film (20 or 25) covering the side surfaces (16 or 18) of each of the ridge portions (12) has a thickness (Ds) of more than or equal to 10 nm and less than or equal to 30 nm ([0080] and [0088]).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein the base part (13) has a thickness (Dpb) of more than or equal to 1 nm ([0113]).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein a sectional shape of each of the ridge portions (12) in a section orthogonal to a reflection axis direction of the wire grid polarizing element (10) is a trapezoidal shape, a triangular shape, a hanging bell shape, or an elliptical shape that narrows in width (Dpt) with distance from the base part (13).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); further comprising a protection film (20) formed to cover at least the surface of the functional film (20 or 25).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein the protection film (20) includes a water-repellent coating ([0061]) or an oleophobic coating.
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein the functional film (20 or 25) further has a dielectric film.
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein in a case where θ is more than or equal to 30° and less than or equal to 60°, a difference between transmission axis transmittance (Tp (+)) for incident light at an incident angle of +θ with respect to the wire grid polarizing element (10) and transmission axis transmittance (Tp (−)) for incident light at an incident angle of −θ is within 3% ([0115], [0117], [0203], and [0242]).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein the functional film (20 or 25) is a reflection film ([0113]) configured to reflect incident light.
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein the wire grid polarizing element (10) is a polarizing beam splitter ([0004]; table 4) configured to split oblique incident light into first polarized light ([0004]; table 4) and second polarized light ([0004]; table 4).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches a method for manufacturing a wire grid polarizing element (10) of a hybrid type made of an inorganic material ([0025]) ([0080]) and an organic material ([0025]), comprising the steps of: forming a grid structural body (10) material made of the organic material ([0025]) on a substrate (14; [0055]) made of the inorganic material ([0025]) ([0080]); subjecting the grid structural body (10) material to nano-imprinting to form a grid structural body (10) including a base part (13) provided on the substrate (14; [0055]) and a plurality of ridge portions (12)protruding from the base part (13), the base part (13) and the ridge portions (12)being integrally formed; and forming a functional film (20 or 25) covering part of each of the ridge portions (12)using a metal material (22 or 27), wherein in the step of forming the grid structural body (10), the ridge portions (12) each having an upward narrowing shape that narrows in width (Dpt) with distance from the base part (13) are formed, and in the step of forming the functional film (20 or 25), the functional film (20 or 25) is formed such that the functional film (20 or 25) covers and wraps a leading end (19) and an upper side of at least one of side surfaces (16 or 18) of each of the ridge portions (12) and does not cover a lower side of both the side surfaces (16 or 18) of each of the ridge portions (12)and the base part (13), a surface of the functional film (20 or 25) covering and wrapping each of the ridge portions (12)is rounded and bulges in a width (Dpt) direction of the ridge portions (12), and a maximum width (Dpt) (WMAX) of the functional film (20 or 25) covering and wrapping each of the ridge portions (12) is more than or equal to a width (Dpt) (WB) of each of the ridge portions (12) at a position of 20% of a height of each of the ridge portions (12) upward from a bottom of each of the ridge portions.
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 16, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein in the step of forming the functional film (20 or 25), deposition is performed on the ridge portions (12) alternately in a plurality of directions by a sputtering or vapor deposition method ([0052]).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); as part of a projection display device ([0026]) comprising: a light source ([0217]); a polarizing beam splitter ([0004]; table 4) arranged such that incident light from the light source ([0217]) is incident at an incident angle in a predetermined range including 45° ([0117]), and configured to split the incident light into first polarized light ([0004]; table 4) and second polarized light ([0004]; table 4); a reflection-type liquid crystal display element ([0205]) arranged such that the first polarized light reflected by the polarizing beam splitter ([0004]; table 4) or the second polarized light transmitted through the polarizing beam splitter ([0004]; table 4) is incident, and configured to reflect and modulate the first polarized light or the second polarized light having been incident; and a lens arranged such that the first polarized light or the second polarized light reflected and modulated by the reflection-type liquid crystal display element ([0205]) is incident through the polarizing beam splitter ([0004]; table 4), wherein the polarizing beam splitter ([0004]; table 4) is implemented by the wire grid polarizing element (10)
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 18, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein the incident angle ([0117]) in the predetermined range is more than or equal to 30° and less than or equal to 60°.
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 18, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein a heat dissipation member ([0237]) is provided around the wire grid polarizing element (10).
With regard to claim 21, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 18, wherein D1 further teaches a process for producing wire-grid polarizer, in at least (figs. 1-6; and [0020], [0022], [0025], [0055], [0080], [0088], [0113], [0219]); wherein the polarizer is part of a display device in a vehicle ([0205]).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872