DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted on February 11, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently claim 1 is amended and claims 7-12 and 14 are withdrawn, resulting in claims 1-6 and 13 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (KR 2005-0080213)1,2.
With respect to claims 1 and 3-4, Chang teaches a tarpaulin comprising a polyester or polyolefin woven fabric coated on one or both sides with a copolymer resin in which ethylene vinyl acetate resin and polyolefin resin are mixed at a certain ratio (pages 3 and 8). The composition ratio is 1-100 wt% ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer and 1-99 wt% polyolefin (page 4). The polyolefin may be polyethylene (page 6).
The weight percentage of ethylene vinyl acetate resin and polyethylene resin ranges of Chang substantially overlap the claimed range in the instant claims 1 and 3. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Chang, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
The textile fabric being weldable by high-frequency welding defines the textile fabric by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was not evaluated on its own, but in conjunction with the remainder of claim 1. See MPEP 2173.05(g). Chang teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
With respect to claim 2, Chang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Chang further teaches the vinyl acetate content of the ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer resin (EVA resin) is 0.05-45 wt% (page 4). It is noted that ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer resin (EVA resin) appears to be defined as the blend of ethylene vinyl acetate resin and the polyolefin resin (pages 3, 6, and 7).
If the vinyl acetate content is with respect to the ethylene vinyl acetate resin and not the blend, the content of vinyl acetate in the blend would range from 0.0005-45 wt%.
The weight percentage of vinyl acetate range of Chang substantially overlap the claimed ranges in the instant claim 2. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Chang, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
With respect to claim 5, Chang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Chang further teaches a method of extrusion coating the resin onto the polyester or polyolefin fabric where the resin is coated on the upper side of the fabric which the fabric is wound on a roll as seen in Fig. 3 (pages 6-7). It is expected this method would provide a coating applied over the entire surface.
With respect to claim 6, Chang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Chang further teaches that PVC tarpaulins have environmental concerns, and the disclosed product was developed as a substitute material for PVC (page 3). Therefore, the polymer blend of Chang is free from polyvinyl chloride.
With respect to claim 13, Chang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. The limitation "configured to be used in the fields of architecture, advertising, visual protection, sheathing and/or temporary weather protection” is a use limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the use produces a structural feature of the product. The use of the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed use because Chang teaches a tarpaulin comprising a polyester or polyolefin base woven fabric coated with a mixture of EVA and PE as claimed. Since Chang teaches the same materials and structure as disclosed by the Applicant, then it would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Response to Arguments
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC §103
Applicant’s arguments submitted on February 11, 2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
On page 4 of the response Applicant submits that Chang is silent as to high-frequency welding and provides no teaching, suggestion, or motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify its composition to achieve HF weldability.
These arguments are not persuasive. The textile fabric being weldable by high-frequency welding defines the textile fabric by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was not evaluated on its own, but in conjunction with the remainder of claim 1. See MPEP 2173.05(g). Chang teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
On page 4 of the response Applicant submits that the Chang and the pending application solve different problems.
These arguments are not persuasive. A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). See MPEP 2141.01(a). The instant invention is directed to a textile fabric with a surface coating (see e.g., claim 1 and page 1 of the instant specification). Similarly, Chang is directed to a polyester or polyolefin coated fabric (Chang; paragraph [8]). Therefore, Chang is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and is analogous art regardless of whether or not Chang solves the same problem as the claimed invention.
On pates 4-5 of the response Applicant submits that the ability of a polyolefin-based blend with greater than 40% PEVA to be HF-weldable is a surprising and unexpected result.
These arguments are not persuasive. Overcoming a rejection based on unexpected results requires the combination of three different elements: (i) the results must fairly compare with the closest prior art in an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132, (ii) the claims must be commensurate in scope, and (iii) the results must truly be unexpected. MPEP 716.02. Additionally, the burden rests with Applicant to establish the results are unexpected and significant. MPEP 716.02(b).
With respect to (i), the results have not been fairly compared with the closest prior art in an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132. Applicant appears to rely on Sample 2 for the inventive results and argues Sample 1 is representative of Chang because the disclosure of Chang includes an embodiment of 100% by weight of EVA resin. According to the arguments Sample 1 is a pure PE resin. This is not representative of Chang as Chang discloses 1-99 wt% polyolefin (such as polyethylene), and therefore does not include an embodiment where the coating is 100% PE as alleged. Therefore Sample 1 does not fairly represent the coated fabric of Chang and as such the results have not been fairly compared with the prior art.
With respect to (ii), it is unclear whether the claims are commensurate in scope with the results as the specific composition used for Sample 2 was not disclosed. Page 10 of the specification as filed alleges that Sample 2 was coated with a polymer blend made from a mixture of PE and EVA copolymer according to claim 1, however only one Sample 2 appears to be shown. Therefore Sample 2 cannot provide support for the entire range of the claim. To establish unexpected results over a range, Applicant should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. MPEP 716.02(d)(II).
With respect to (iii), Applicant has merely stated that the results are surprising and unexpected but has not established why the results are unexpected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
1 Machine translation used as reference
2 Previously presented