Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 is rejected because it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. Ex parte Erlich, 3 USPQ2d 1011 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986). See MPEP 2173.05(q). Applicant is advised to amend or to cancel the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sultan et al. (PG Pub. 2007/0161758) in view of either of Yijian et al. (PG Pub. 2018/0371217) or Tran et al. (WO 2019/229209) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sultan et al. (PG Pub. 2007/0161758) in view of Jackson et al. (US Pat. 6,468,583) in view of either of Yijian et al. (PG Pub. 2018/0371217) or Tran et al. (WO 2019/229209).
Regarding claims 1-5, Sultan et al. teach a crosslinkable polymer composition comprising a high density ethylene homo or copolymer with a density in the claimed range and a copolymer of ethylene with a silane groups containing comonomer having a content of silane groups containing monomer in the claimed range (VTMS is below 2 wt%) [0011, 0039]. Sultan et al. are silent regarding the claimed tracking resistance test. However, give Sultan teaches such a similar crosslinkable polymer composition with such similar contents of materials, and given US Pat. 6,468,583 teaches silane modified polyolefins produce improved tracking resistance, even with that in the claimed range, the crosslinkable polymer composition would pass the tracking resistance test inherently. In the alternative, Jackson et al. teach using silane modified polyethylene to pass tracking resistance test. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the silane modified polyethylene of Jackson et al. in Sultan et al. in order to pass the tracking resistance test and arrive at the claimed invention.
Sultan et al. and Jackson et al. are silent regarding the claimed specifics of the high density ethylene. However, Yijian et al. or Tran et al. teach high density ethylene copolymer which is multimodal copolymer of ethylene and hexene with a density in the claimed range and a melt flow rate in the claimed range and also includes a very low density polyethylene with a density in the claimed range (taught in WO 2004/101674 which is incorporated in Yijian et al.) in order to provide high density polyethylene which has better crack resistance and to improve barrier properties [Abstract, 0002, and 0026]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the high density ethylene copolymer which is multimodal copolymer of ethylene and hexene with the claimed density and melt flow rate in order to provide improved crack resistance and to improve barrier properties and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 7-8 and 17, Sultan et al. are silent regarding the claimed fillers. However it would have been obvious to add any of the claimed fillers in the claimed amount as such is well known in the art as evidenced by Jackson et al. In the alternative, Jackson et al. teach incorporation of anti-track fillers, including ground magnesium hydroxide in the claimed amount. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include magnesium hydroxide as an anti-track filler and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9, Sultan et al. teach antioxidants [0042-0043]. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include any of the claimed additives as is known in the art. Further, Jackson et al. teach antioxidants, UV stabilizers.
Regarding claim 10, Sultan et al. teach a tensile strength and elongation in the claimed range [0014].
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed UV resistance in order to protect the cable from damage. Further, Jackson et al. teach inclusion of UV stabilizers and absorbers and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the UV stabilizers and absorbers of Jackson et al. in Sultan et al. to provide the claimed UV resistance to prevent damage and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, Sultan et al. teach crosslinking in the presence of a crosslinking agent.
Regarding claims 13-14 and 18-19, Sultan et al. and or the previous combination teach a track resistant power cable [0026] comprising at least one layer of the polymer composition of claim 1 with the one layer being a jacket layer or sheath layer or insulation layer and use of the polymer of claim 1 in a cable for increasing track resistance.
Regarding claim 15, Sultan and or the previous combination teach a method of manufacturing a polymer composition according to claim 1, with a step of compounding the high density homo or copolymer and the copolymer of ethylene with a silane groups containing monomer. Even if Sultan et al. does not disclose the process, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113. Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Sultan and or the previous combination meets the requirements of the claimed composition, Sultan and or the previous combination clearly meet the requirements of present claims composition.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sultan et al. (PG Pub. 2007/0161758) in view of either of Yijian et al. (PG Pub. 2018/0371217) or Tran et al. (WO 2019/229209) in view of Cao et al. (CN 102532728) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sultan et al. (PG Pub. 2007/0161758) in view of Jackson et al. (US Pat. 6,468,583) in view of either of Yijian et al. (PG Pub. 2018/0371217) or Tran et al. (WO 2019/229209) in view of Cao et al. (CN 102532728).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the previous combination is silent regarding the claimed linear low density polyethylene copolymerized or grafted with maleic acid anhydride. However, Cao et al. teach linear low density polyethylene copolymerized or grafted with maleic acid anhydride used in a cable sheath as a compatibilizer in order to improve blending, and adhesion and properties. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the linear low density polyethylene copolymerized or grafted with maleic anhydride of Cao et al. in the previous combination as a compatibilizer in order to improve blending, and adhesion and properties and arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Palmlof have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Palmlof for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues the cited art does not teach the claims properties. Newly cited Yijian et al. and Tran et al.. combined with the cited art teaches the multimodal ethylene hexene copolymer. Yijian et al. and Tran et al. give motivation to use multimodal ethylene hexene copolymer to provide better crack resistance and to improve barrier properties which would also improve track resistance. Further, the properties argued would be inherent to the cited art given the cited art teaches such similar composition made of such similar materials with such similar properties. Therefore, the present claims are now allowable. Applicant is invited to amend the claims over the cited art.
Conclusion
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789