NON-FINAL REJECTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doersam et al. DE10032180 (citations from the translation provided 9/29/2025).
With respect to claims 1, 7, and 15-17, Doersam teaches an input means (steering system 1 having a steering handle 2, figure 1) configured for inputting a steering command (paragraph 17), a steering shaft (steering column 3) having a first region (interpreted as the upper portion of the steering column 3, figure 1) and a second region (interpreted as the lower portion of the steering column 3, figure 1) spaced apart from the first region in a longitudinal direction of the steering shaft (the upper portion is spaced apart from the lower portion, figure 1), and a sensor system (the combination of all the sensors of the system, figure 1) configured for detecting at least one of a steering angle or a steering torque on the steering shaft (paragraphs 17-18, figure 1), the sensor system comprising: a first angular-position sensor assigned to the first region (steering angle sensor 4 on the upper portion of the steering column 3, figure 1), and a second angular-position sensor assigned to the second region (steering angle sensor 5 on the lower portion of the steering column 3, figure 1), and wherein a difference of a first angle signal of the first angular-position sensor and a second angle signal of the second angular-position sensor determines a steering torque on the steering shaft (torque is determined from a difference between the sensor signals, paragraphs 17-18). Further, Doersam teaches determining the steering torque of the steering shaft via the controller (interpreted as the hand torque that is calculated from known values and the sensor signals, paragraph 18) and a mathematical function between the difference angle and the steering torque (interpreted the hand torque calculation that is a function of the angles sensors signals and known characteristics, paragraph 18), the mathematical function corresponding to a mechanical torsional stiffness of the steering shaft (the mathematical function is interpreted as the known characteristic curve of the torsion bar 9 of the steering column 3 that may be part of the calculations, paragraph 18).
With respect to claims 2 and 8, Doersam teaches wherein the first angular-position sensor is assigned to a first measuring channel (signal line 6, figure 1) and the second angular-position sensor is assigned to a second measuring channel (signal line 7, figure 1), so that redundant acquisition of the steering angle via the first measuring channel and the second measuring channel is possible (the two steering angle sensors 4 and 5 are connected to a controller 8 of the steering system 1 via signal lines 6 and 7, paragraph 17).
With respect to claims 3, Doersam teaches wherein the first angular-position sensor and the second angular-position sensor are galvanically separated from each other (the sensors 4 and 5 having different signal lines 6 and 7, therefore they are interpreted as being galvanically separated, figure 1).
With respect to claim 6, Doersam teaches a motor vehicle having a steering assembly according to claim 1 (paragraph 1).
With respect to claim 9, Doersam teaches wherein: the first angular-position sensor is arranged on the first region of the steering shaft, and the second angular-position sensor is arranged on the second region of the steering shaft (steering angle sensor 4 on the upper portion of the steering column 3 and steering angle sensor 5 on the lower portion of the steering column 3, figure 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doersam et al. DE10032180 in view of Hirate et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0304922.
With respect to claim 4, Doersam teaches the claimed invention except wherein at least one of the first angular-position sensor or the second angular position sensor is configured as a magnetic sensor.
Hirate teaches a steering assist apparatus where a steering assist apparatus 10 is installed on a vehicle 500, the steering assist apparatus 10 is provided with a control unit 100, a rotational angle sensor 20 that detects a steering angle, a torque sensor 21, a front camera 22, a vehicle cabin camera 23, a millimeter wave radar device 24, a wheel speed sensor 25, a GPS 26, a variable steering angle apparatus 31 and a steering support apparatus 32 (paragraph 21), where the rotational angle sensor 20, a magnetic type rotational angle sensor can be used (paragraph 29).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the position sensors of Doersam with the magnetic position sensors as taught by Hirate in order to more accurate angle sensor.
Claim(s) 5, 11, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doersam et al. DE10032180 in view of Duits et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2004/0262071.
With respect to claims 5, 11, 13, and 18, Doersam teaches the claimed invention except, wherein at least one of the first angular-position sensor or the second angular position sensor is configured as a sensor bearing, so that the respective first and second angular-position sensor receives the steering shaft in a mechanically rotatable manner, an inner ring of the sensor bearing is non-rotatably attached to the steering shaft, wherein: the first angular-position sensor is configured as a first sensor bearing having a first impeller with a first number of blades, the second angular-position sensor is configured as a second sensor bearing having a second impeller with a second number of blades different than the first number of blades.
Duits teaches a steering arrangement for use in steer-by-wire applications where the angular position of a shaft 17 of a steer wheel 11 is detected by an angular sensor 12, which is connected to the controller 10 (paragraph 26), and the controller 10 also receives input signals from a wheel angle sensor 22, which measures the actual angular position of the steered wheels 20 (interpreted as impeller having “blades”) of the vehicle (paragraph 27). Further, Duits teaches the steering wheel 11, which is attached to the steering wheel shaft 17 by means of a steer plate 44, and the steering wheel shaft 17 is rotatably mounted using the front and aft bearing 31, 32, which are provided with a locking ring 43, and where the angular sensor 12 is mounted to sensor plate 45 (interpreted as impeller having “blades”), where the sensor plate 45 and brake plate 40 are fixedly coupled to each other using four pins 42, and may be attached to a steering unit housing 30 (paragraphs, 26, 41-44, figure 2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the steering sensor system of Doersam with the steering system having bearings positioned with the angular sensors as taught by Duits in order to provide a more accurate steering angle sensing system.
Claim(s) 10, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doersam et al. DE10032180 in view of Lewis U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0361867.
With respect to claims 10, 14, and 20, Doersam teaches the claimed invention except wherein at least one of the first angular-position sensor or the second angular-position sensor is configured as an optical sensor, and a motor adjoined to the second region of the steering shaft, the motor configured to introduce torque into the steering shaft.
Lewis teaches a steer-by-wire assembly 12 includes a shaft assembly 30, a position and torque sensing unit or steering input sensor 32, a motorized feedback assembly 34, and a clutch assembly 36 ( FIGS. 1B and 2), where the steering input sensor 32 may be adapted to provide electrical output values associated with mechanical steering input, and, using an electronic control unit ECU 28, also may correlate the output values to position and torque steering data (paragraph 23), where the controller 20 may receive steering control signals from the steer-by-wire assembly 12 to control the electric motor 22 using those control signals (paragraph 22). Further, two sensing elements 210, 212 where sensing element 210 may be located facing the first end 52 of upper shaft 40, and sensing element 212 facing of lower shaft 42 (paragraph 43), where the shaft assembly 30 includes a first or upper shaft 40, a second or lower shaft 42 coupled to the upper shaft 40, and a torsion assembly 44 coupled to both the upper and lower shafts 40, 42 (paragraph 27). Also, the sensing elements 210, 212 are Hall Effect sensors or may also use magnetism, electro-magnetism, light, light reflection (paragraph 45).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the sensors of Doersam with the optical sensing method for shaft sensing as well as modify the steering system with a motor for actuating the wheel as taught by Lewis in order to more reliable steering sensing system.
Claim(s) 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doersam et al. DE10032180 in view of Duits et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2004/0262071 and further in view of Farrelly U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0144703.
With respect to claims 12 and 19, Doersam as modified by Duits teach impellers configured to rotate with the shaft (disc 15, 16 Duits), but fail to teach a magnetic sensor configured to detect rotation of the impeller.
Farrelly teaches an electric power assisted steering system 1 that is located within a steering apparatus between the steering wheel and the road wheels (paragraph 100) having an electric motor 2 which has an output shaft 3 that is connected to a lower steering column shaft by a gearbox 4, where the lower shaft is connected to the road wheels of the vehicle, indirectly thought a rack and pinion or other connection and an upper column shaft supports the steering wheel, and connecting the upper shaft to the lower shaft is a torque sensor 6 (paragraph 100). Further, Farrelly teaches that each of the angular position sensing means includes a respective metal rotor 19, 20 comprising a flat metal disk having a plurality of equally spaced radial arms forming an annular track of cutouts 19a that extends around the disk (paragraph 113), and each rotor 19, 20 cooperates with a stator support part 21 that comprises a printed circuit board to form two angular position sensors and the board 21 carries the active parts of the sensing means comprising two excitation coils and two sets of receiver coils, one excitation coil and one set of receiver coils forming each of the two sensors, and the excitation coil of each sensor forms part of an LC circuit and generates a magnetic field. This field induces a current in the metal rotor and in turn the rotor generates its own magnetic field that couples back to the respective receiver coils of that sensor on the PCB (paragraph 115).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the sensors of Doersam as modified by Duits with the magnetic sensor of Farrelly in order to improve the accuracy of the measurement signals (paragraph 159, Farrelly).
Conclusion
FREDDIE KIRKLAND III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/Freddie Kirkland III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 2/26/2026