DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-17 are pending.
Claims 4, and 12 are cancelled.
Claims 15-17 are new.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 23rd , 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-17, and 19-21 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on page 10, applicant argues “Applicant respectfully submits that Somani in view of Monai fails to teach or suggest all the features of either of the amended independent claims. Applicant respectfully submits that Somani is silent regarding the claimed "dead band width" and therefore, Somani fails to teach or suggest the claimed control features of the control circuit”. And on pages 11-12, “Applicant respectfully submits the cited references fail to teach or suggest a control circuit that "controls the at least one power converter such that, when a deviation between the target active power value and the detected active power value exceeds a dead band width, an absolute value of the deviation is reduced by performing input and output of active power between the energy storage system and the power grid, and controls the at least one power converter such that, when the deviation does not exceed the dead band width, input and output of active power between the energy storage system and the power grid for a purpose of reducing the absolute value of the deviation is not performed," as recited by amended Claim 1, and as similarly required by amended Claim 9”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because SOMANI teaches in Paragraph [0072] “If the power command is within the deadband, the controller 300 controls the power converter 200 so that it is not gating, whereby the power system 100 enters into the active-standby mode (step 560—NO)”… Once the power system 100 enters into the active mode, the controller 300 continues to monitor the power command to determine whether it falls within the deadband (step 580). If, while in active mode, the power command falls within the deadband, the power system 100 enters into active-standby mode, during which the controller 300 controls the power system 200 so that it is not gating”, and Paragraph [0019] “The controller may be configured to determine whether the power system should enter into the active standby mode by determining whether the power system is in a charge or discharge state (e.g., whether a power command is positive or negative)”, and Paragraph [0015], wherein examiner interpreted comparing power command to a deadband, and determining that it is within a deadband to the power system is in active-standby mode as controlling converter such that when deviation does not exceed the dead band width input and output of active power between the energy storage system and the power grid for a purpose of reducing the absolute value of the deviation is not performed, wherein examiner interpreted active standby mode as the input and out between energy storage system and power grid not being performed. Therefore, the combination of SOMANI, and MONAI teaches not performing input and output of energy storage system when the deviation does not exceed a dead band width.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SOMANI et al. USPGPUB 2017/0005564 (hereinafter “SOMANI”), in view of MONAI et al. JP 2013110792 A (hereinafter “MONAI”).
Regarding claim 1, SOMANI teaches an energy storage system connected to a power line of a power grid (Paragraph [0051] “Input 110 is coupled to a power source (e.g., a power generator or energy storage unit) that supplies power to the power system 100”, and Paragraph [0056] “In an embodiment, the power source connected to the input 110 may be an energy storage unit such as a battery (which could be a battery bank that includes plural batteries) that both stores and supplies energy from/to the grid”), the energy storage system comprising:
at least one energy storage device to and from which electric energy is input and output (Paragraph [0056] “In an embodiment, the power source connected to the input 110 may be an energy storage unit such as a battery (which could be a battery bank that includes plural batteries) that both stores and supplies energy from/to the grid”, and Paragraph [0055], and Paragraph [0057] “When the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid, the battery connected to input 110 may store excess energy not needed to power the local loads from one or more other distributed energy sources of the micro-grid. The battery may also store energy from the main utility grid. Energy stored in the battery connected to the input 110 may be supplied to local loads in the event of an outage at the main utility grid”, wherein examiner interpreted storing as input electric energy to energy storage device, and wherein examiner interpreted supplying energy to loads as outputting energy to energy storage device);
at least one power converter provided between the power line and the at least one energy storage device (Paragraph [0056] “In this case, the input 110 is a DC input and the power converter 200 may be a 3-phase bi-directional power inverter that converts DC electric power on the DC side to AC electric power on the grid side and vice versa”, Paragraph [0059] “The DC side switch 120 may, for example, be included within the battery container of the battery connected to input 110 or within the power converter 200. Alternatively, the switch 120 may be installed as part of the site external to both the battery and the power converter 200” Paragraph [0082], and FIG. 1A);
a power detector to detect active power flowing through the power line (Paragraph [0021] “The power system may also comprise one or more sensors coupled between the power converter and the grid to measure real and reactive power, where the power command is determined based on the real and reactive power measured by the one or more sensors”, and Paragraph [0060]); and
a control circuit to control an operation of the at least one power converter, thereby causing active power either to be output from the at least one energy storage device to the power line or to be input to the at least one energy storage device from the power line such that a variation in active power detected by the power detector is compensated (Paragraph [0057] “When the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid, the battery connected to input 110 may store excess energy not needed to power the local loads from one or more other distributed energy sources of the micro-grid. The battery may also store energy from the main utility grid. Energy stored in the battery connected to the input 110 may be supplied to local loads in the event of an outage at the main utility grid. The energy stored in the battery may also be used to provide more reliable and stable power when the micro-grid includes more unpredictable energy resources such as photovoltaic/solar panels and wind turbines”, Paragraph [0095] “Referring to FIG. 4 the controller may first determine that grid event occurs (step 400). The controller may determine that a grid even occurs by detecting a grid event using measurements taken by sensors 150. The grid event may, for example, be a power outage. The grid event may also be based on whether the grid voltage or frequency—which may be measured by sensors 150—falls outside of predetermined bounds”, Paragraph [0096], Paragraph [0015] “The at least one power source may be an energy storage unit, and the power system may operate in a discharge state, a charge state, and an idle state. Within the discharge and charge states, the controller controls the power converter to discharge and charge the energy storage unit. The controller may then determine that the power system should enter into the active standby mode when the power system is in an idle state”, and Paragraph [0070] “The power command may be a command received by the controller 300 from a master controller 400 or may be a command that is generated autonomously by controller 300 based, for example, on measurements taken from sensors. Furthermore, the power command may be a value calculated by the controller 300 based on measurements or values received from the master controller 400. The power command is preferably the amount of real power ‘P’ that the power converter 200 is commanded to supply or absorb, to/from the grid. However, it should be understood that the power command is not limited to real power, and the power command may be a real power command P or a reactive power command Q or even an apparent power command”, and Paragraph [0089-0091], wherein examiner interpreted controlling converter to charge or discharge energy storage system based on active mode, or active-standby mode, which is based on grid voltage or frequency being outside predetermined bounds as a control circuit to control an operation of the at least one power converter, thereby causing active power either to be output from the at least one energy storage device to the power line or to be input to the at least one energy storage device from the power line such that a variation in active power detected by the power detector is compensated),
controls the at least one power converter such that, when the deviation does not exceed the dead band width, input and output of active power between the energy storage system and the power grid for a purpose of reducing the absolute value of the deviation is not performed (Paragraph [0072] “If the power command is within the deadband, the controller 300 controls the power converter 200 so that it is not gating, whereby the power system 100 enters into the active-standby mode (step 560—NO)”… Once the power system 100 enters into the active mode, the controller 300 continues to monitor the power command to determine whether it falls within the deadband (step 580). If, while in active mode, the power command falls within the deadband, the power system 100 enters into active-standby mode, during which the controller 300 controls the power system 200 so that it is not gating”, and Paragraph [0019] “The controller may be configured to determine whether the power system should enter into the active standby mode by determining whether the power system is in a charge or discharge state (e.g., whether a power command is positive or negative)”, and Paragraph [0015], wherein examiner interpreted comparing power command to a deadband, and determining that it is within a deadband to the power system is in active-standby mode as controlling converter such that when deviation does not exceed the dead band width input and output of active power between the energy storage system and the power grid for a purpose of reducing the absolute value of the deviation is not performed, wherein examiner interpreted active standby mode as the input and out between energy storage system and power grid not being performed).
SOMANI does not explicitly teach wherein the control circuit calculates a target active power value by removing at least a part of a high-frequency component from a detected active power value acquired by the power detector, the high-frequency component being higher than a predetermined frequency value, controls the at least one power converter such that, when a deviation between the target active power value and the detected active power value exceeds a dead band width, an absolute value of the deviation is reduced by performing input and output of active power between the energy storage system and the power grid.
However, MONAI teaches wherein the control circuit calculates a target active power value by removing at least a part of a high-frequency component from a detected active power value acquired by the power detector, the high-frequency component being higher than a predetermined frequency value ([FIG. 1 Description] “The fluctuation compensation target value calculation unit 62 is an active power fluctuation component removal filter 70 (low-pass filter) that passes only a low frequency component among fluctuation components of the active power measurement value Pt. Of the fluctuation components of the active power measurement value Pt, the low frequency component is output as the fluctuation compensation target value Pa”, wherein examiner interpreted calculating fluctuation compensation target value that is based on passing only low frequency component using low-pass filter as control circuit calculating a target active power value by removing at least a part of a high-frequency component from a detected active power value acquired by the power detector, the high-frequency component being higher than a predetermined frequency value),
controls the at least one power converter such that, when a deviation between the target active power value and the detected active power value exceeds a dead band width, an absolute value of the deviation is reduced by performing input and output of active power between the energy storage system and the power grid ([FIG. 1 Description] “The power converter 31 (charge / discharge control device) is a device that discharges power from the storage battery 30 or charges the storage battery 30 according to the active power command value Pbc, and includes, for example, an inverter device. As a specific example, when the active power command value Pbc is “positive”, the power converter 31 discharges the storage battery 30 with power corresponding to the active power command value Pbc. On the other hand, when active power command value Pbc is “negative”, power converter 31 charges storage battery 30 with power corresponding to active power command value Pbc”, and [Fig. 4 Description] “when the generated power target value Pga is higher than the generated power measurement value Pg and the generated power difference value ΔPg is “positive” (for example, 20 kW), the active power command value Pbc is “15 kW” (20 kW−5 kW). It becomes. The power corresponding to the active power command value Pbc of “15 kW” is greater than the power corresponding to the power of the active power command value Pbc of “20 kW” by adding the power storage amount correction power command value Pc to the generated power difference value ΔPg. It becomes small and the discharge amount of the storage battery 30 is suppressed. Thus, in this embodiment, when the charged amount detection value Sb is lower than the charged amount target value Sba, the charged amount correction power command value Pc is corrected so that the storage battery 30 is not overdischarged”, “On the other hand, when the charged amount detection value Sb is higher than the charged amount target value Sba, the charged amount correction power command value Pc is corrected so that the storage battery 30 is not overcharged, contrary to the case described above. Thus, in the present embodiment, the difference between the storage amount detection value Sb and the storage amount target value Sba is suppressed by correcting the storage amount correction power command value Pc. Generation of charging is suppressed”, and [FIG. 6 Description] “ The reference generation power command value calculation unit 82 (reference command value output unit) includes a limiter 110, subtraction units 111, 123, and 130, a reference generation power lower limit limiter 112, a reference generation power upper limit limiter 113, a reference generation power smoothing filter 114, The solar radiation amount calculation unit 120, the weather coefficient calculation unit 121, the photovoltaic power generation system output calculation method 122, and the addition unit 124 are configured. The reference generated power lower limit limiter 112, the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113, and the reference generated power smoothing filter 114 correspond to an output unit”, and [FIG. 9 Description] “a command value Pc ′, which is a negative component of the storage amount correction power command value Pc, is generated, and the subtraction unit 111 calculates Pe−Pc ′. Then, Pe-Pc ′ that is the calculation result of the subtracting unit 111 is limited by the reference generated power minimum value LLGB that is the limiter value of the reference generated power lower limit limiter 112. Further, the output of the reference generated power lower limit limiter 112 is limited by the reference generated power maximum value HLGB of the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113. As a result, the reference generated power command value Po as shown by the solid line in FIG. 9 is output from the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113”, wherein examiner interpreted charged amount correction power command being corrected as controller controlling power converter such that when a deviation between the target active power value and the detected active power value exceeds a dead band width, an absolute value of the deviation is reduced, and wherein examiner interpreted target correction power being determined by using an upper limiter, a lower limiter, and subtraction unit that limits the power command value to be within the limits as a dead band width, wherein examiner the power command to value is used to charge and discharge energy storage battery).
SOMANI, and MONAI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to power systems.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above energy storage system, as taught by SOMANI, and incorporating target active power value, as taught by MONAI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve suppressing the influence resulting from fluctuations in the generated power of such a natural energy power generation facility, as suggested by MONAI (see [BACKGROUND-ART]).
Regarding claim 2, SOMANI, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
SOMANI further teaches wherein the power detector detects active power on an upstream side of a flow of the active power with respect to an interconnection point between the at least one power converter and the power line (Paragraph [0021] “The power system may also comprise one or more sensors coupled between the power converter and the grid to measure real and reactive power, where the power command is determined based on the real and reactive power measured by the one or more sensors”, FIG. 1A, Paragraph [0051] “sensors 140 and 150”, and Paragraph [0060], wherein examiner interpreted sensors placed within the power system as including the power detector detecting active power on an upstream side of a flow of the active power with respect to an interconnection point between the at least one power converter and the power line).
Regarding claim 3, SOMANI, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
SOMANI further teaches wherein the power detector detects active power on a downstream side of a flow of the active power with respect to an interconnection point between the at least one power converter and the power line (Paragraph [0021] “The power system may also comprise one or more sensors coupled between the power converter and the grid to measure real and reactive power, where the power command is determined based on the real and reactive power measured by the one or more sensors”, FIG. 1A, Paragraph [0051] “sensors 140 and 150”, and Paragraph [0060], wherein examiner interpreted sensors placed within the power system as the power detector detects active power on a downstream side of a flow of the active power with respect to an interconnection point between the at least one power converter and the power line).
Regarding claim 5, SOMANI, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
SOMANI further teaches wherein the power detector detects active power on both sides of an interconnection point between the at least one power converter and the power line (Paragraph [0021] “The power system may also comprise one or more sensors coupled between the power converter and the grid to measure real and reactive power, where the power command is determined based on the real and reactive power measured by the one or more sensors”, FIG. 1A, Paragraph [0051] “sensors 140 and 150”, and Paragraph [0060], wherein examiner interpreted the power detector detects active power on both sides of an interconnection point between the at least one power converter and the power line).
Regarding claim 7, SOMANI, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
SOMANI further teaches comprising: a plurality of energy storage devices as the at least one energy storage device (Paragraph [0056] “the power source connected to the input 110 may be an energy storage unit such as a battery (which could be a battery bank that includes plural batteries)”, and Paragraph [0057], wherein examiner interpreted energy storage units as a plurality of energy storage devices as the at least one energy storage device); and
a plurality of power converters as the at least one power converter, the plurality of power converters respectively corresponding to the plurality of energy storage devices (Paragraph [0062] “FIGS. 1B and 5B show embodiments of the power electronics of the power converter 200”, FIGS. 5A-5B, Paragraph [0055] “The grid connection 160 may be a connection to a micro-grid and/or a main (utility) grid. The micro-grid may include one or more distributed energy resources (distributed generators and energy storage units) and local loads within a local area. When the power system 100 is connected to the micro-grid through grid connection 160, the power source connected to input 110 is one of the distributed energy resources (i.e. a generator or an energy storage unit) of the micro-grid”, wherein converters are connected to energy storage units), wherein
the control circuit determines, according to rated power capacities of the plurality of power converters (Paragraph [0053] “In the example shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B, the power converter 202 may be a DC/DC power converter that provides a voltage source to the power inverter 200. The flow of energy through the DC/DC power converter 202 is modulated to maintain an appropriate voltage source to the inverter 200. In another embodiment, the power converter 202 may be an AC-DC converter 204 coupled to an AC source (e.g., a wind turbine) at input 110. The AC-DC converter 202 may then be coupled to a DC-AC inverter 200. In this embodiment, the flow of energy through the AC-DC converter 202 is modulated to maintain an appropriate voltage source to the inverter 200, and the inverter 200 converts the power to AC suitable for grid connection 160”, wherein examiner interpreted various converters to have rated power capacities), active power to be input to or output from each of the energy storage devices via corresponding one of the power converters (Paragraph [0056] “In an embodiment, the power source connected to the input 110 may be an energy storage unit such as a battery (which could be a battery bank that includes plural batteries) that both stores and supplies energy from/to the grid. In this case, the input 110 is a DC input and the power converter 200 may be a 3-phase bi-directional power inverter that converts DC electric power on the DC side to AC electric power on the grid side and vice versa”, and Paragraph [0057], Paragraph [0060] “The power converter 200 and the controller 300 together operate as a power conversion system for converting power between the power source and the grid”, wherein examiner interpreted converter connected to energy storage unit to control storing and supplying energy to power system as control circuit determining active power to be input to or output from each of the energy storage devices via corresponding one of the power converters).
Regarding claim 8, SOMANI, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
MONAI further teaches wherein the control circuit determines the dead band width based on the detected active power value detected by the power detector (([FIG. 1 Description] “The power converter 31 (charge / discharge control device) is a device that discharges power from the storage battery 30 or charges the storage battery 30 according to the active power command value Pbc, and includes, for example, an inverter device. As a specific example, when the active power command value Pbc is “positive”, the power converter 31 discharges the storage battery 30 with power corresponding to the active power command value Pbc. On the other hand, when active power command value Pbc is “negative”, power converter 31 charges storage battery 30 with power corresponding to active power command value Pbc”, and [Fig. 4 Description] “when the generated power target value Pga is higher than the generated power measurement value Pg and the generated power difference value ΔPg is “positive” (for example, 20 kW), the active power command value Pbc is “15 kW” (20 kW−5 kW). It becomes. The power corresponding to the active power command value Pbc of “15 kW” is greater than the power corresponding to the power of the active power command value Pbc of “20 kW” by adding the power storage amount correction power command value Pc to the generated power difference value ΔPg. It becomes small and the discharge amount of the storage battery 30 is suppressed. Thus, in this embodiment, when the charged amount detection value Sb is lower than the charged amount target value Sba, the charged amount correction power command value Pc is corrected so that the storage battery 30 is not overdischarged”, “On the other hand, when the charged amount detection value Sb is higher than the charged amount target value Sba, the charged amount correction power command value Pc is corrected so that the storage battery 30 is not overcharged, contrary to the case described above. Thus, in the present embodiment, the difference between the storage amount detection value Sb and the storage amount target value Sba is suppressed by correcting the storage amount correction power command value Pc. Generation of charging is suppressed”, and [FIG. 6 Description] “ The reference generation power command value calculation unit 82 (reference command value output unit) includes a limiter 110, subtraction units 111, 123, and 130, a reference generation power lower limit limiter 112, a reference generation power upper limit limiter 113, a reference generation power smoothing filter 114, The solar radiation amount calculation unit 120, the weather coefficient calculation unit 121, the photovoltaic power generation system output calculation method 122, and the addition unit 124 are configured. The reference generated power lower limit limiter 112, the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113, and the reference generated power smoothing filter 114 correspond to an output unit”, and [FIG. 9 Description] “a command value Pc ′, which is a negative component of the storage amount correction power command value Pc, is generated, and the subtraction unit 111 calculates Pe−Pc ′. Then, Pe-Pc ′ that is the calculation result of the subtracting unit 111 is limited by the reference generated power minimum value LLGB that is the limiter value of the reference generated power lower limit limiter 112. Further, the output of the reference generated power lower limit limiter 112 is limited by the reference generated power maximum value HLGB of the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113. As a result, the reference generated power command value Po as shown by the solid line in FIG. 9 is output from the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113”, wherein examiner interpreted power command value being determined based on the difference between the detected value and target value, and by limiting the command value using limiter as including control circuit determines the dead band width based on the detected active power value detected by the power detector).
Regarding claim 9, SOMANI teaches a grid control system (Paragraph [0060] “The power converter 200 and the controller 300 together operate as a power conversion system for converting power between the power source and the grid. In an embodiment, the controller 300 is responsible for the control, monitoring, and measurement of the power system 100 and may communicate with a master (or user) controller 400 in the event that the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid that is coordinated by a master (or user) controller”), comprising:
a plurality of energy storage systems connected to a power grid (Paragraph [0056] “the power source connected to the input 110 may be an energy storage unit such as a battery (which could be a battery bank that includes plural batteries)”, and Paragraph [0057], wherein examiner interpreted energy storage units as a plurality of energy storage systems connected to a power grid); and
a centralized control device to receive information from the plurality of energy storage systems and give commands to the plurality of energy storage systems (Paragraph [0055] “The grid connection 160 may be a connection to a micro-grid and/or a main (utility) grid. The micro-grid may include one or more distributed energy resources (distributed generators and energy storage units) and local loads within a local area. When the power system 100 is connected to the micro-grid through grid connection 160, the power source connected to input 110 is one of the distributed energy resources (i.e. a generator or an energy storage unit) of the micro-grid… The distributed energy resources of the micro-grid may be coordinated by a master (or user) controller 400. The master controller 400 may be physically separate from the controller 300 of the power system 100, may be included within the same box, or could be integrated with or included as part of the controller 300”, wherein examiner interpreted master controller controlling distrusted energy resources which includes energy storage units as a centralized control device to receive information from the plurality of energy storage systems and give commands to the plurality of energy storage systems), wherein
each of the plurality of energy storage systems includes:
at least one energy storage device to and from which electric energy is input and output (Paragraph [0056] “In an embodiment, the power source connected to the input 110 may be an energy storage unit such as a battery (which could be a battery bank that includes plural batteries) that both stores and supplies energy from/to the grid”, and Paragraph [0055], and Paragraph [0057] “When the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid, the battery connected to input 110 may store excess energy not needed to power the local loads from one or more other distributed energy sources of the micro-grid. The battery may also store energy from the main utility grid. Energy stored in the battery connected to the input 110 may be supplied to local loads in the event of an outage at the main utility grid”, wherein examiner interpreted storing as input electric energy to energy storage device, and wherein examiner interpreted supplying energy to loads as outputting energy to energy storage device);
at least one power converter provided between one power line among power lines of the power grid and the at least one energy storage device (Paragraph [0056] “In this case, the input 110 is a DC input and the power converter 200 may be a 3-phase bi-directional power inverter that converts DC electric power on the DC side to AC electric power on the grid side and vice versa”, Paragraph [0059] “The DC side switch 120 may, for example, be included within the battery container of the battery connected to input 110 or within the power converter 200. Alternatively, the switch 120 may be installed as part of the site external to both the battery and the power converter 200” Paragraph [0082], and FIG. 1A);
a power detector to detect active power flowing through the power line (Paragraph [0021] “The power system may also comprise one or more sensors coupled between the power converter and the grid to measure real and reactive power, where the power command is determined based on the real and reactive power measured by the one or more sensors”, and Paragraph [0060]); and
a control circuit to control an operation of the at least one power converter, thereby causing active power either to be output from the at least one energy storage device to the power line or to be input to the at least one energy storage device from the power line such that a variation in active power detected by the power detector is compensated (Paragraph [0057] “When the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid, the battery connected to input 110 may store excess energy not needed to power the local loads from one or more other distributed energy sources of the micro-grid. The battery may also store energy from the main utility grid. Energy stored in the battery connected to the input 110 may be supplied to local loads in the event of an outage at the main utility grid. The energy stored in the battery may also be used to provide more reliable and stable power when the micro-grid includes more unpredictable energy resources such as photovoltaic/solar panels and wind turbines”, Paragraph [0095] “Referring to FIG. 4 the controller may first determine that grid event occurs (step 400). The controller may determine that a grid even occurs by detecting a grid event using measurements taken by sensors 150. The grid event may, for example, be a power outage. The grid event may also be based on whether the grid voltage or frequency—which may be measured by sensors 150—falls outside of predetermined bounds”, Paragraph [0096], Paragraph [0015] “The at least one power source may be an energy storage unit, and the power system may operate in a discharge state, a charge state, and an idle state. Within the discharge and charge states, the controller controls the power converter to discharge and charge the energy storage unit. The controller may then determine that the power system should enter into the active standby mode when the power system is in an idle state”, and Paragraph [0070] “The power command may be a command received by the controller 300 from a master controller 400 or may be a command that is generated autonomously by controller 300 based, for example, on measurements taken from sensors. Furthermore, the power command may be a value calculated by the controller 300 based on measurements or values received from the master controller 400. The power command is preferably the amount of real power ‘P’ that the power converter 200 is commanded to supply or absorb, to/from the grid. However, it should be understood that the power command is not limited to real power, and the power command may be a real power command P or a reactive power command Q or even an apparent power command”, and Paragraph [0090-0091], wherein examiner interpreted controlling converter to charge or discharge energy storage system based on active mode, or active-standby mode, which is based on grid voltage or frequency being outside predetermined bounds as a control circuit to control an operation of the at least one power converter, thereby causing active power either to be output from the at least one energy storage device to the power line or to be input to the at least one energy storage device from the power line such that a variation in active power detected by the power detector is compensated)
controls the at least one power converter such that input and output of active power between the energy storage system and the power grid for a purpose of reducing the absolute value of the deviation is not performed, when the detected active power value does not exceed the upper limit value and the detected active power value does not fall below the lower limit value (Paragraph [0072] “If the power command is within the deadband, the controller 300 controls the power converter 200 so that it is not gating, whereby the power system 100 enters into the active-standby mode (step 560—NO)”… Once the power system 100 enters into the active mode, the controller 300 continues to monitor the power command to determine whether it falls within the deadband (step 580). If, while in active mode, the power command falls within the deadband, the power system 100 enters into active-standby mode, during which the controller 300 controls the power system 200 so that it is not gating”, and Paragraph [0019] “The controller may be configured to determine whether the power system should enter into the active standby mode by determining whether the power system is in a charge or discharge state (e.g., whether a power command is positive or negative)”, and Paragraph [0015], wherein examiner interpreted comparing power command to a deadband, and determining that it is within a deadband to the power system is in active-standby mode as controls the at least one power converter such that input and output of active power between the energy storage system and the power grid for a purpose of reducing the absolute value of the deviation is not performed, wherein examiner interpreted active standby mode as the input and out between energy storage system and power grid not being performed, and wherein the command value is determined based on measurements of power, wherein the power command is determined as being within a deadband as the detected active power value does not fall outside upper limit and lower limit).
SOMANI does not explicitly teach wherein the control circuit of each of the plurality of energy storage systems calculates a target active power value by removing at least a part of a high-frequency component from a detected active power value acquired by the power detector, the high-frequency component being higher than a predetermined frequency value, controls the at least one power converter so as to reduce an absolute value of a deviation between the target active power value and the detected active power value by performing input and output of active power between the energy storage system and the power grid in one of cases where the detected active power value exceeds an upper limit value obtained by adding an upper dead band width to the target active power value, and where the detected active power value falls below a lower limit value obtained by subtracting a lower dead band width from the target active power value.
However, MONAI teaches wherein the control circuit of each of the plurality of energy storage systems calculates a target active power value by removing at least a part of a high-frequency component from a detected active power value acquired by the power detector, the high-frequency component being higher than a predetermined frequency value ([FIG. 1 Description] “The fluctuation compensation target value calculation unit 62 is an active power fluctuation component removal filter 70 (low-pass filter) that passes only a low frequency component among fluctuation components of the active power measurement value Pt. Of the fluctuation components of the active power measurement value Pt, the low frequency component is output as the fluctuation compensation target value Pa”, wherein examiner interpreted calculating fluctuation compensation target value that is based on passing only low frequency component using low-pass filter as control circuit calculating a target active power value by removing at least a part of a high-frequency component from a detected active power value acquired by the power detector, the high-frequency component being higher than a predetermined frequency value),
controls the at least one power converter so as to reduce an absolute value of a deviation between the target active power value and the detected active power value by performing input and output of active power between the energy storage system and the power grid in one of cases where the detected active power value exceeds an upper limit value obtained by adding an upper dead band width to the target active power value, and where the detected active power value falls below a lower limit value obtained by subtracting a lower dead band width from the target active power value ([FIG. 1 Description] “The power converter 31 (charge / discharge control device) is a device that discharges power from the storage battery 30 or charges the storage battery 30 according to the active power command value Pbc, and includes, for example, an inverter device. As a specific example, when the active power command value Pbc is “positive”, the power converter 31 discharges the storage battery 30 with power corresponding to the active power command value Pbc. On the other hand, when active power command value Pbc is “negative”, power converter 31 charges storage battery 30 with power corresponding to active power command value Pbc”, and [Fig. 4 Description] “when the generated power target value Pga is higher than the generated power measurement value Pg and the generated power difference value ΔPg is “positive” (for example, 20 kW), the active power command value Pbc is “15 kW” (20 kW−5 kW). It becomes. The power corresponding to the active power command value Pbc of “15 kW” is greater than the power corresponding to the power of the active power command value Pbc of “20 kW” by adding the power storage amount correction power command value Pc to the generated power difference value ΔPg. It becomes small and the discharge amount of the storage battery 30 is suppressed. Thus, in this embodiment, when the charged amount detection value Sb is lower than the charged amount target value Sba, the charged amount correction power command value Pc is corrected so that the storage battery 30 is not overdischarged”, “On the other hand, when the charged amount detection value Sb is higher than the charged amount target value Sba, the charged amount correction power command value Pc is corrected so that the storage battery 30 is not overcharged, contrary to the case described above. Thus, in the present embodiment, the difference between the storage amount detection value Sb and the storage amount target value Sba is suppressed by correcting the storage amount correction power command value Pc. Generation of charging is suppressed”, and [FIG. 6 Description] “ The reference generation power command value calculation unit 82 (reference command value output unit) includes a limiter 110, subtraction units 111, 123, and 130, a reference generation power lower limit limiter 112, a reference generation power upper limit limiter 113, a reference generation power smoothing filter 114, The solar radiation amount calculation unit 120, the weather coefficient calculation unit 121, the photovoltaic power generation system output calculation method 122, and the addition unit 124 are configured. The reference generated power lower limit limiter 112, the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113, and the reference generated power smoothing filter 114 correspond to an output unit”, and [FIG. 9 Description] “a command value Pc ′, which is a negative component of the storage amount correction power command value Pc, is generated, and the subtraction unit 111 calculates Pe−Pc ′. Then, Pe-Pc ′ that is the calculation result of the subtracting unit 111 is limited by the reference generated power minimum value LLGB that is the limiter value of the reference generated power lower limit limiter 112. Further, the output of the reference generated power lower limit limiter 112 is limited by the reference generated power maximum value HLGB of the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113. As a result, the reference generated power command value Po as shown by the solid line in FIG. 9 is output from the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113”, wherein examiner interpreted charged amount correction power command being corrected as controlling power converter to reduce a deviation between the target active power value and including the detected active power value exceeding a lower limit and upper limit, and wherein examiner interpreted target correction power being determined by using an upper limiter, a lower limiter, and subtraction unit as including adding an upper dead band width to the target active power value, and subtracting a lower dead band width from the target active power value).
SOMANI, and MONAI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to power systems.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above energy storage system, as taught by SOMANI, and incorporating target active power value, as taught by MONAI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve suppressing the influence resulting from fluctuations in the generated power of such a natural energy power generation facility, as suggested by MONAI (see [BACKGROUND-ART]).
Regarding claim 10 SOMANI, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
SOMANI further teaches wherein the centralized control device determines, based on a state of charge of the at least one energy storage device included in each of the plurality of energy storage systems, whether or not input of active power is permitted and whether or not output of active power is permitted, and gives commands respectively to the plurality of energy storage systems, the commands each directing one of permission and prohibition of input and output of active power to and from corresponding one of the plurality of energy storage systems (Paragraph [0057] “When the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid, the battery connected to input 110 may store excess energy not needed to power the local loads from one or more other distributed energy sources of the micro-grid. The battery may also store energy from the main utility grid. Energy stored in the battery connected to the input 110 may be supplied to local loads in the event of an outage at the main utility grid. The energy stored in the battery may also be used to provide more reliable and stable power when the micro-grid includes more unpredictable energy resources such as photovoltaic/solar panels and wind turbines”, Paragraph [0083] “In the embodiment shown in FIG. 3, separate thresholds are provided for charge mode and discharge mode. The separate thresholds are the upper and lower bounds of the deadband”), and Paragraphs [0084-0086], Paragraphs [0089-0090], wherein examiner interpreted determining charge command and discharge command based on the thresholds as centralized control device determines, based on a state of charge of the at least one energy storage device included in each of the plurality of energy storage systems, whether or not input of active power is permitted and whether or not output of active power is permitted, and gives commands respectively to the plurality of energy storage systems, the commands each directing one of permission and prohibition of input and output of active power to and from corresponding one of the plurality of energy storage systems, wherein examiner interpreted being able to charge and discharge the energy storage devices as being based on the state of charge of energy storage device).
Regarding claim 11 SOMANI, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
SOMANI further teaches wherein each of the plurality of energy storage systems determines, based on a state of charge of the at least one energy storage device included in the energy storage system, whether or not input of active power is permitted and whether or not output of active power is permitted, and notifies the centralized control device of information on whether or not input of active power is permitted and whether or not output of active power is permitted that have been determined (Paragraph [0057] “When the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid, the battery connected to input 110 may store excess energy not needed to power the local loads from one or more other distributed energy sources of the micro-grid. The battery may also store energy from the main utility grid. Energy stored in the battery connected to the input 110 may be supplied to local loads in the event of an outage at the main utility grid. The energy stored in the battery may also be used to provide more reliable and stable power when the micro-grid includes more unpredictable energy resources such as photovoltaic/solar panels and wind turbines”, Paragraph [0083] “In the embodiment shown in FIG. 3, separate thresholds are provided for charge mode and discharge mode. The separate thresholds are the upper and lower bounds of the deadband”), and Paragraphs [0084-0086], Paragraphs [0089-0090], and Paragraph [0060] “ In an embodiment, the controller 300 is responsible for the control, monitoring, and measurement of the power system 100 and may communicate with a master (or user) controller 400 in the event that the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid that is coordinated by a master (or user) controller”, wherein examiner interpreted determining charge command and discharge command based on the thresholds as wherein each of the plurality of energy storage systems determines, based on a state of charge of the at least one energy storage device included in the energy storage system, whether or not input of active power is permitted and whether or not output of active power is permitted, and wherein examiner interpreted controller being able to control, monitor, measurement of power system, and communicating with a master controller as including notifying the centralized control device of information on whether or not input of active power is permitted and whether or not output of active power is permitted that have been determined).
Regarding claim 15 SOMANI, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
SOMANI further teaches wherein the power detector in each of the plurality of energy storage systems detects active power on the power line at a power detection point on an upstream side of an interconnection point between the at least one power converter and the power line (Paragraph [0021] “The power system may also comprise one or more sensors coupled between the power converter and the grid to measure real and reactive power, where the power command is determined based on the real and reactive power measured by the one or more sensors”, Paragraph [0051] “Referring to FIG. 1A, a power system 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention may include a power converter 200, an input 110, switches 120 and 130, sensors 140 and 150 and a controller 300. Input 110 is coupled to a power source (e.g., a power generator or energy storage unit) that supplies power to the power system 100”, and FIG. 1 wherein examiner interpreted sensors coupled between power converter and grid, which includes sensors for storage unit to measure real and reactive power as power detector in each of the plurality of energy storage systems detects active power on the power line at a power detection point on an upstream side of an interconnection point between the at least one power converter and the power line).
Regarding claim 16 SOMANI, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
SOMANI further teaches wherein the power detector in each of the plurality of energy storage systems detects active power on the power line at a power detection point on a downstream side of an interconnection point between the at least one power converter and the power line (Paragraph [0021] “The power system may also comprise one or more sensors coupled between the power converter and the grid to measure real and reactive power, where the power command is determined based on the real and reactive power measured by the one or more sensors”, Paragraph [0051] “Referring to FIG. 1A, a power system 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention may include a power converter 200, an input 110, switches 120 and 130, sensors 140 and 150 and a controller 300. Input 110 is coupled to a power source (e.g., a power generator or energy storage unit) that supplies power to the power system 100”, and FIG. 1 wherein examiner interpreted sensors coupled between power converter and grid, which includes sensors for storage unit to measure real and reactive power as the power detector in each of the plurality of energy storage systems detects active power on the power line at a power detection point on a downstream side of an interconnection point between the at least one power converter and the power line).
Regarding claim 17 SOMANI, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
SOMANI further teaches wherein the power detector in each of the plurality of energy storage systems detects active power on the power line at an upstream side and a downstream side of an interconnection point between the at least one power converter and the power line (Paragraph [0021] “The power system may also comprise one or more sensors coupled between the power converter and the grid to measure real and reactive power, where the power command is determined based on the real and reactive power measured by the one or more sensors”, Paragraph [0051] “Referring to FIG. 1A, a power system 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention may include a power converter 200, an input 110, switches 120 and 130, sensors 140 and 150 and a controller 300. Input 110 is coupled to a power source (e.g., a power generator or energy storage unit) that supplies power to the power system 100”, and FIG. 1 wherein examiner interpreted sensors coupled between power converter and grid, which includes sensors for storage unit to measure real and reactive power as wherein the power detector in each of the plurality of energy storage systems detects active power on the power line at an upstream side and a downstream side of an interconnection point between the at least one power converter and the power line).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and on the attached PTO Form 892 but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PORTER [USPGPUB 2017/0179722] teaches the frequency correction power command regulates the frequency of the electrical characteristic of the electrical grid interface to the target frequency, for example, by charging or discharging a battery.
JINTSUGAWA et al. [JP 2007/306670 A] teaches attaining output variation compensation effect surely through charge/discharge of a power storage unit by preventing the storage electric energy of the power storage unit from sticking to an upper limit or a lower limit for a long term.
Hansen et al. [USGPUB 2020/0259358] teaches a method for coordinated control of a renewable electrical energy source (RES) and an electrical energy storage (EES) device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119