DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3,5-11 and 13-17 are pending.
Claims 4, 12 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 29th , 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3,5-11 and 13-17 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3,5-11 and 13-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SOMANI et al. USPGPUB 2017/0005564 (hereinafter “SOMANI”), in view of PORTER USPGPUB 2017/0179722 (hereinafter “PORTER”), further in view of MONAI et al. JP 2013110792 A (hereinafter “MONAI”).
Regarding claim 1, SOMANI teaches an energy storage system connected to a power line of a power grid (Paragraph [0051] “Input 110 is coupled to a power source (e.g., a power generator or energy storage unit) that supplies power to the power system 100”, and Paragraph [0056] “In an embodiment, the power source connected to the input 110 may be an energy storage unit such as a battery (which could be a battery bank that includes plural batteries) that both stores and supplies energy from/to the grid”), the energy storage system comprising:
at least one energy storage device to and from which electric energy is input and output (Paragraph [0056] “In an embodiment, the power source connected to the input 110 may be an energy storage unit such as a battery (which could be a battery bank that includes plural batteries) that both stores and supplies energy from/to the grid”, and Paragraph [0055], and Paragraph [0057] “When the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid, the battery connected to input 110 may store excess energy not needed to power the local loads from one or more other distributed energy sources of the micro-grid. The battery may also store energy from the main utility grid. Energy stored in the battery connected to the input 110 may be supplied to local loads in the event of an outage at the main utility grid”, wherein examiner interpreted storing as input electric energy to energy storage device, and wherein examiner interpreted supplying energy to loads as outputting energy to energy storage device);
power detectors to detect active power flowing through the power line from the upstream side of the power line to the downstream side of the power line (Paragraph [0060] “The controller 300 uses the sensors 150 between switch 120 and grid connection 160 to monitor the voltage amplitude, frequency and phase of the grid, and the controller 300 uses the sensor 150 between filter 174 and power converter 200 to monitor the AC output current amplitude, frequency and phase of the power converter 200. The controller may also monitor DC input voltage through sensors 140. For sensors 140 and 150, ‘V’ and ‘I’ represent a voltage measurement and a current measurement, respectively, ‘P’ and ‘PF’ represent power by calculation and power factor by calculation, respectively, and ‘Hz’ represents a frequency measurement. The sensors 150 may include potential transformers, and the sensors 140 may include an isolated voltage monitor”, Paragraph [0050] “FIG. 1A is an electrical schematic diagram illustrating a power system 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention”, Paragraph [0051] “Input 110 is coupled to a power source (e.g., a power generator or energy storage unit) that supplies power to the power system 100. The input 110 is electrically coupled to the power source side switch 120. The power converter 200 converts power between the power source coupled to input 110 and a grid that is coupled to the power system 100 at grid connection 160”, and Paragraph [0055] “The grid connection 160 may be a connection to a micro-grid and/or a main (utility) grid. The micro-grid may include one or more distributed energy resources (distributed generators and energy storage units) and local loads within a local area. When the power system 100 is connected to the micro-grid through grid connection 160, the power source connected to input 110 is one of the distributed energy resources (i.e. a generator or an energy storage unit) of the micro-grid. The loads can be one user (e.g., a utility customer), a grouping of several sites, or dispersed sites that operate in a coordinated fashion”, wherein examiner interpreted sensors measuring various electrical parameters including power by calculation as power detectors detecting active power flowing through the power line from the upstream side of the power line to the downstream side of the power line, wherein examiner interpreted the components connected together in the power system as including the power line, and wherein examiner interpreted power source coupled to input 110 as the upstream side, and grid connection 160 which includes loads as downstream side, additionally PORTER also teaches similar configuration), wherein at least one generator is connected to the upstream side of the power line, at least one load is connected to the downstream side of the power line (FIG. 1A, Paragraph [0051] “Input 110 is coupled to a power source (e.g., a power generator or energy storage unit) that supplies power to the power system 100. The input 110 is electrically coupled to the power source side switch 120”, and Paragraph [0055] “The grid connection 160 may be a connection to a micro-grid and/or a main (utility) grid. The micro-grid may include one or more distributed energy resources (distributed generators and energy storage units) and local loads within a local area. When the power system 100 is connected to the micro-grid through grid connection 160, the power source connected to input 110 is one of the distributed energy resources (i.e. a generator or an energy storage unit) of the micro-grid. The loads can be one user (e.g., a utility customer), a grouping of several sites, or dispersed sites that operate in a coordinated fashion”, wherein examiner interpreted power source coupled to input as least one generator connected to the upstream side of the power line, and wherein examiner interpreted loads connected at grid connection as at least one load connected to the grid connection as at least one load connected to the downstream of the power line), and
a control circuit to control an operation of the at least one power converter, thereby causing active power either to be output from the at least one energy storage device to the power line or to be input to the at least one energy storage device from the power line such that a variation in active power detected by the power detector is compensated (Paragraph [0057] “When the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid, the battery connected to input 110 may store excess energy not needed to power the local loads from one or more other distributed energy sources of the micro-grid. The battery may also store energy from the main utility grid. Energy stored in the battery connected to the input 110 may be supplied to local loads in the event of an outage at the main utility grid. The energy stored in the battery may also be used to provide more reliable and stable power when the micro-grid includes more unpredictable energy resources such as photovoltaic/solar panels and wind turbines”, Paragraph [0095] “Referring to FIG. 4 the controller may first determine that grid event occurs (step 400). The controller may determine that a grid even occurs by detecting a grid event using measurements taken by sensors 150. The grid event may, for example, be a power outage. The grid event may also be based on whether the grid voltage or frequency—which may be measured by sensors 150—falls outside of predetermined bounds”, Paragraph [0096], Paragraph [0015] “The at least one power source may be an energy storage unit, and the power system may operate in a discharge state, a charge state, and an idle state. Within the discharge and charge states, the controller controls the power converter to discharge and charge the energy storage unit. The controller may then determine that the power system should enter into the active standby mode when the power system is in an idle state”, and Paragraph [0070] “The power command may be a command received by the controller 300 from a master controller 400 or may be a command that is generated autonomously by controller 300 based, for example, on measurements taken from sensors. Furthermore, the power command may be a value calculated by the controller 300 based on measurements or values received from the master controller 400. The power command is preferably the amount of real power ‘P’ that the power converter 200 is commanded to supply or absorb, to/from the grid. However, it should be understood that the power command is not limited to real power, and the power command may be a real power command P or a reactive power command Q or even an apparent power command”, and Paragraph [0089-0091], wherein examiner interpreted controlling converter to charge or discharge energy storage system based on active mode, or active-standby mode, which is based on grid voltage or frequency being outside predetermined bounds as a control circuit to control an operation of the at least one power converter, thereby causing active power either to be output from the at least one energy storage device to the power line or to be input to the at least one energy storage device from the power line such that a variation in active power detected by the power detector is compensated),
SOMANI does not explicitly teach at least one power converter connected to the power line at an interconnection point on the power line, the interconnection point being a point on the power line between an upstream side of the power line and a downstream side of the power line, the at least one power converter being provided between the interconnection point on the power line and the at least one energy storage device; the power detectors are directly connected to the power line at power detection points that are arranged on an upstream side of the interconnection point and a downstream side of the interconnection point; and wherein the control circuit calculates a target active power value by removing at least a part of a high-frequency component from a detected active power value acquired by the power detector, the high- frequency component being higher than a predetermined frequency value, and controls the at least one power converter such that, when a deviation between the target active power value and the detected active power value exceeds a dead band width, an absolute value of the deviation is reduced.
However, PORTER teaches at least one power converter connected to the power line at an interconnection point on the power line (FIG. 1, and Paragraph [0018] “the power conversion module 124 is realized as a bidirectional three-phase full bridge inverter capable of rectifying three-phase alternating current (AC) electrical signals at the electrical grid interface 108 to a direct current (DC) signal provided to the battery 122 when the battery 122 is receiving electrical energy from the electrical grid interface 108 (or charging). Conversely, the inverter is also capable of converting DC input signals from the battery 122 into corresponding three-phase AC output signals at the electrical grid interface 108 when the battery 122 is providing electrical energy to the electrical grid interface 108 (or discharging)”, and Paragraph [0020] “Still referring to FIG. 1, the connection arrangement 106 generally represents one or more switching elements configured to electrically isolate the electrical grid 104 from the microgrid system 102 (e.g., the electrical grid interface 108 and/or the microgrid distribution arrangement 112) under control of the control module 120”, Paragraph [0014] “FIG. 1 depicts an exemplary embodiment of an electrical distribution system 100 that includes a microgrid electrical system 102 capable of being selectively connected to an external electrical grid 104 via a connection arrangement 106. The electrical grid 104 generally represents the distribution lines (or feeders), transformers, and other electrical components that provide an electrical interconnection between the microgrid system 102 and one or more external electrical power source(s) 105, which may be provided, for example, by a public utility”, Paragraph [0014] “Additionally, for purposes of explanation but without limitation, “upstream” or variants thereof may be used herein with reference to locations on or along the electrical grid 104 outside of the microgrid system 102 on a first side of the connection arrangement 106, while “downstream” or variants thereof may be used herein with reference to locations within the microgrid system 102 on the opposite side of the connection arrangement 106”, Paragraph [0016] “The illustrated microgrid system 102 includes an energy storage system 110 that is connected to the electrical grid 104 downstream of the connection arrangement 106 at an interface node 108 (or interconnect point) where electrical signals on the electrical grid 104 interfaces with electrical signals on the microgrid distribution arrangement 112”, wherein examiner interpreted power conversion module converting AC electrical signals to DC signal or DC signals to AC signals at the electrical grid interface as at least one power converter connected to the power line at an interconnection point on the power line, wherein examiner interpreted the connection arrangement, and the electrical grid interface node connecting and disconnecting electrical grid to the microgrid as an interconnection point on the power line), the interconnection point being a point on the power line between an upstream side of the power line and a downstream side of the power line (Paragraph [0014] “FIG. 1 depicts an exemplary embodiment of an electrical distribution system 100 that includes a microgrid electrical system 102 capable of being selectively connected to an external electrical grid 104 via a connection arrangement 106. The electrical grid 104 generally represents the distribution lines (or feeders), transformers, and other electrical components that provide an electrical interconnection between the microgrid system 102 and one or more external electrical power source(s) 105, which may be provided, for example, by a public utility”, Paragraph [0014] “Additionally, for purposes of explanation but without limitation, “upstream” or variants thereof may be used herein with reference to locations on or along the electrical grid 104 outside of the microgrid system 102 on a first side of the connection arrangement 106, while “downstream” or variants thereof may be used herein with reference to locations within the microgrid system 102 on the opposite side of the connection arrangement 106”, Paragraph [0016] “The illustrated microgrid system 102 includes an energy storage system 110 that is connected to the electrical grid 104 downstream of the connection arrangement 106 at an interface node 108 (or interconnect point) where electrical signals on the electrical grid 104 interfaces with electrical signals on the microgrid distribution arrangement 112”, wherein examiner interpreted the connection arrangement, and the electrical grid interface node connecting and disconnecting electrical grid to the microgrid as an interconnection point on the power line that is between an upstream side of the power line and a downstream side of the power line), the at least one power converter being provided between the interconnection point on the power line and the at least one energy storage device (FIG. 1, Paragraph [0018] “In exemplary embodiments, the power conversion module 124 is realized as a bidirectional three-phase full bridge inverter capable of rectifying three-phase alternating current (AC) electrical signals at the electrical grid interface 108 to a direct current (DC) signal provided to the battery 122 when the battery 122 is receiving electrical energy from the electrical grid interface 108 (or charging). Conversely, the inverter is also capable of converting DC input signals from the battery 122 into corresponding three-phase AC output signals at the electrical grid interface 108 when the battery 122 is providing electrical energy to the electrical grid interface 108 (or discharging)”, wherein examiner interpreted power conversion module converting electrical signals between the battery and grid interface, wherein FIG. 1 shows power conversion module is between the battery and grid interface, as the at least one power converter being provided between the interconnection point on the power line and the at least one energy storage device);
the power detectors are directly connected to the power line at power detection points that are arranged on an upstream side of the interconnection point and a downstream side of the interconnection point (Paragraph [0020] “The control module 120 is coupled to the electrical grid 104 via one or more sensing arrangements 115, 118 to detect or otherwise identify an electrical disturbance on the electrical grid 104 and automatically operate the connection arrangement 106 to disconnect the electrical grid interface 108 from the grid 104. In this regard, the sensing arrangements 115, 118 include one or more voltage sensors and/or current sensors configured to measure, sense, or otherwise quantify the respective electrical characteristic of a respective electrical phase and generate corresponding output signals provided to the control module 120”, wherein examiner interpreted sensors connected before the connection arrangement and after connection arrangements as the power detectors are directly connected to the power line at power detection points that are arranged on an upstream side of the interconnection point and a downstream side of the interconnection point, wherein SOMANI teaches detecting/calculating power, wherein examiner interpreted sensor locations as the power detection points); and
SOMANI, and PORTER are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to power systems.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above energy storage system, as taught by SOMANI, and incorporating power detectors arranged on upstream side and downstream side, as taught by PORTER.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve Paragraph [0020] “identifying electrical disturbance on the electrical grid”, as suggested by PORTER.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the control circuit calculates a target active power value by removing at least a part of a high-frequency component from a detected active power value acquired by the power detector, the high- frequency component being higher than a predetermined frequency value, and controls the at least one power converter such that, when a deviation between the target active power value and the detected active power value exceeds a dead band width, an absolute value of the deviation is reduced.
However, MONAI teaches wherein the control circuit calculates a target active power value by removing at least a part of a high-frequency component from a detected active power value acquired by the power detector, the high- frequency component being higher than a predetermined frequency value ([FIG. 1 Description] “The fluctuation compensation target value calculation unit 62 is an active power fluctuation component removal filter 70 (low-pass filter) that passes only a low frequency component among fluctuation components of the active power measurement value Pt. Of the fluctuation components of the active power measurement value Pt, the low frequency component is output as the fluctuation compensation target value Pa”, wherein examiner interpreted calculating fluctuation compensation target value that is based on passing only low frequency component using low-pass filter as control circuit calculating a target active power value by removing at least a part of a high-frequency component from a detected active power value acquired by the power detector, the high-frequency component being higher than a predetermined frequency value), and
controls the at least one power converter such that, when a deviation between the target active power value and the detected active power value exceeds a dead band width, an absolute value of the deviation is reduced ([FIG. 1 Description] “The power converter 31 (charge / discharge control device) is a device that discharges power from the storage battery 30 or charges the storage battery 30 according to the active power command value Pbc, and includes, for example, an inverter device. As a specific example, when the active power command value Pbc is “positive”, the power converter 31 discharges the storage battery 30 with power corresponding to the active power command value Pbc. On the other hand, when active power command value Pbc is “negative”, power converter 31 charges storage battery 30 with power corresponding to active power command value Pbc”, and [Fig. 4 Description] “when the generated power target value Pga is higher than the generated power measurement value Pg and the generated power difference value ΔPg is “positive” (for example, 20 kW), the active power command value Pbc is “15 kW” (20 kW−5 kW). It becomes. The power corresponding to the active power command value Pbc of “15 kW” is greater than the power corresponding to the power of the active power command value Pbc of “20 kW” by adding the power storage amount correction power command value Pc to the generated power difference value ΔPg. It becomes small and the discharge amount of the storage battery 30 is suppressed. Thus, in this embodiment, when the charged amount detection value Sb is lower than the charged amount target value Sba, the charged amount correction power command value Pc is corrected so that the storage battery 30 is not overdischarged”, “On the other hand, when the charged amount detection value Sb is higher than the charged amount target value Sba, the charged amount correction power command value Pc is corrected so that the storage battery 30 is not overcharged, contrary to the case described above. Thus, in the present embodiment, the difference between the storage amount detection value Sb and the storage amount target value Sba is suppressed by correcting the storage amount correction power command value Pc. Generation of charging is suppressed”, and [FIG. 6 Description] “ The reference generation power command value calculation unit 82 (reference command value output unit) includes a limiter 110, subtraction units 111, 123, and 130, a reference generation power lower limit limiter 112, a reference generation power upper limit limiter 113, a reference generation power smoothing filter 114, The solar radiation amount calculation unit 120, the weather coefficient calculation unit 121, the photovoltaic power generation system output calculation method 122, and the addition unit 124 are configured. The reference generated power lower limit limiter 112, the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113, and the reference generated power smoothing filter 114 correspond to an output unit”, and [FIG. 9 Description] “a command value Pc ′, which is a negative component of the storage amount correction power command value Pc, is generated, and the subtraction unit 111 calculates Pe−Pc ′. Then, Pe-Pc ′ that is the calculation result of the subtracting unit 111 is limited by the reference generated power minimum value LLGB that is the limiter value of the reference generated power lower limit limiter 112. Further, the output of the reference generated power lower limit limiter 112 is limited by the reference generated power maximum value HLGB of the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113. As a result, the reference generated power command value Po as shown by the solid line in FIG. 9 is output from the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113”, wherein examiner interpreted charged amount correction power command being corrected as controller controlling power converter such that when a deviation between the target active power value and the detected active power value exceeds a dead band width, an absolute value of the deviation is reduced, and wherein examiner interpreted target correction power being determined by using an upper limiter, a lower limiter, and subtraction unit that limits the power command value to be within the limits as a dead band width).
SOMANI, PORTER, and MONAI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to power systems.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above energy storage system, as taught by SOMANI, and PORTER, and incorporating target active power value, as taught by MONAI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve suppressing the influence resulting from fluctuations in the generated power of such a natural energy power generation facility, as suggested by MONAI (see [BACKGROUND-ART]).
Regarding claim 2, SOMANI, PORTER, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
SOMANI further teaches wherein the power detector detects active power on the power line at the power detection point on the upstream side of the interconnection point (Paragraph [0021] “The power system may also comprise one or more sensors coupled between the power converter and the grid to measure real and reactive power, where the power command is determined based on the real and reactive power measured by the one or more sensors”, FIG. 1A, Paragraph [0060] “The controller 300 uses the sensors 150 between switch 120 and grid connection 160 to monitor the voltage amplitude, frequency and phase of the grid, and the controller 300 uses the sensor 150 between filter 174 and power converter 200 to monitor the AC output current amplitude, frequency and phase of the power converter 200. The controller may also monitor DC input voltage through sensors 140. For sensors 140 and 150, ‘V’ and ‘I’ represent a voltage measurement and a current measurement, respectively, ‘P’ and ‘PF’ represent power by calculation and power factor by calculation, respectively, and ‘Hz’ represents a frequency measurement”, wherein examiner interpreted sensors measuring power placed within the power system before the grid connection as power detector detecting active power on the power line at the power detection point on the upstream side of the interconnection point, additionally PORTER teaches similar configuration).
Regarding claim 3, SOMANI, PORTER, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
PORTER further teaches wherein the power detector detects active power on the power line at the power detection point on the downstream side of the interconnection point (Paragraph [0020] “The control module 120 is coupled to the electrical grid 104 via one or more sensing arrangements 115, 118 to detect or otherwise identify an electrical disturbance on the electrical grid 104 and automatically operate the connection arrangement 106 to disconnect the electrical grid interface 108 from the grid 104. In this regard, the sensing arrangements 115, 118 include one or more voltage sensors and/or current sensors configured to measure, sense, or otherwise quantify the respective electrical characteristic of a respective electrical phase and generate corresponding output signals provided to the control module 120”, wherein examiner interpreted sensors connected after connection arrangement as the power detector detects active power on the power line at the power detection point on the downstream side of the interconnection point, wherein SOMANI teaches detecting/calculating power).
Regarding claim 5, SOMANI, PORTER, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
PORTER further teaches wherein the power detector detects active power on the power line at both sides of the interconnection point (Paragraph [0020] “The control module 120 is coupled to the electrical grid 104 via one or more sensing arrangements 115, 118 to detect or otherwise identify an electrical disturbance on the electrical grid 104 and automatically operate the connection arrangement 106 to disconnect the electrical grid interface 108 from the grid 104. In this regard, the sensing arrangements 115, 118 include one or more voltage sensors and/or current sensors configured to measure, sense, or otherwise quantify the respective electrical characteristic of a respective electrical phase and generate corresponding output signals provided to the control module 120”, wherein examiner interpreted sensors connected before the connection arrangement and after connection arrangements as the power detector detects active power on the power line at both sides of the interconnection point, wherein SOMANI teaches detecting/calculating power).
Regarding claim 7, SOMANI, PORTER, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
SOMANI further teaches comprising: a plurality of energy storage devices as the at least one energy storage device (Paragraph [0056] “the power source connected to the input 110 may be an energy storage unit such as a battery (which could be a battery bank that includes plural batteries)”, and Paragraph [0057], wherein examiner interpreted energy storage units as a plurality of energy storage devices as the at least one energy storage device); and
a plurality of power converters as the at least one power converter, the plurality of power converters respectively corresponding to the plurality of energy storage devices (Paragraph [0062] “FIGS. 1B and 5B show embodiments of the power electronics of the power converter 200”, FIGS. 5A-5B, Paragraph [0055] “The grid connection 160 may be a connection to a micro-grid and/or a main (utility) grid. The micro-grid may include one or more distributed energy resources (distributed generators and energy storage units) and local loads within a local area. When the power system 100 is connected to the micro-grid through grid connection 160, the power source connected to input 110 is one of the distributed energy resources (i.e. a generator or an energy storage unit) of the micro-grid”, wherein converters are connected to energy storage units), wherein
the control circuit determines, according to rated power capacities of the plurality of power converters (Paragraph [0053] “In the example shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B, the power converter 202 may be a DC/DC power converter that provides a voltage source to the power inverter 200. The flow of energy through the DC/DC power converter 202 is modulated to maintain an appropriate voltage source to the inverter 200. In another embodiment, the power converter 202 may be an AC-DC converter 204 coupled to an AC source (e.g., a wind turbine) at input 110. The AC-DC converter 202 may then be coupled to a DC-AC inverter 200. In this embodiment, the flow of energy through the AC-DC converter 202 is modulated to maintain an appropriate voltage source to the inverter 200, and the inverter 200 converts the power to AC suitable for grid connection 160”, wherein examiner interpreted various converters to have rated power capacities), active power to be input to or output from each of the energy storage devices via corresponding one of the power converters (Paragraph [0056] “In an embodiment, the power source connected to the input 110 may be an energy storage unit such as a battery (which could be a battery bank that includes plural batteries) that both stores and supplies energy from/to the grid. In this case, the input 110 is a DC input and the power converter 200 may be a 3-phase bi-directional power inverter that converts DC electric power on the DC side to AC electric power on the grid side and vice versa”, and Paragraph [0057], Paragraph [0060] “The power converter 200 and the controller 300 together operate as a power conversion system for converting power between the power source and the grid”, wherein examiner interpreted converter connected to energy storage unit to control storing and supplying energy to power system as control unit determining active power to be input to or output from each of the energy storage devices via corresponding one of the power converters).
Regarding claim 8, SOMANI, PORTER, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
MONAI further teaches wherein the control circuit determines the dead band width based on the detected active power value detected by the power detector (([FIG. 1 Description] “The power converter 31 (charge / discharge control device) is a device that discharges power from the storage battery 30 or charges the storage battery 30 according to the active power command value Pbc, and includes, for example, an inverter device. As a specific example, when the active power command value Pbc is “positive”, the power converter 31 discharges the storage battery 30 with power corresponding to the active power command value Pbc. On the other hand, when active power command value Pbc is “negative”, power converter 31 charges storage battery 30 with power corresponding to active power command value Pbc”, and [Fig. 4 Description] “when the generated power target value Pga is higher than the generated power measurement value Pg and the generated power difference value ΔPg is “positive” (for example, 20 kW), the active power command value Pbc is “15 kW” (20 kW−5 kW). It becomes. The power corresponding to the active power command value Pbc of “15 kW” is greater than the power corresponding to the power of the active power command value Pbc of “20 kW” by adding the power storage amount correction power command value Pc to the generated power difference value ΔPg. It becomes small and the discharge amount of the storage battery 30 is suppressed. Thus, in this embodiment, when the charged amount detection value Sb is lower than the charged amount target value Sba, the charged amount correction power command value Pc is corrected so that the storage battery 30 is not overdischarged”, “On the other hand, when the charged amount detection value Sb is higher than the charged amount target value Sba, the charged amount correction power command value Pc is corrected so that the storage battery 30 is not overcharged, contrary to the case described above. Thus, in the present embodiment, the difference between the storage amount detection value Sb and the storage amount target value Sba is suppressed by correcting the storage amount correction power command value Pc. Generation of charging is suppressed”, and [FIG. 6 Description] “ The reference generation power command value calculation unit 82 (reference command value output unit) includes a limiter 110, subtraction units 111, 123, and 130, a reference generation power lower limit limiter 112, a reference generation power upper limit limiter 113, a reference generation power smoothing filter 114, The solar radiation amount calculation unit 120, the weather coefficient calculation unit 121, the photovoltaic power generation system output calculation method 122, and the addition unit 124 are configured. The reference generated power lower limit limiter 112, the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113, and the reference generated power smoothing filter 114 correspond to an output unit”, and [FIG. 9 Description] “a command value Pc ′, which is a negative component of the storage amount correction power command value Pc, is generated, and the subtraction unit 111 calculates Pe−Pc ′. Then, Pe-Pc ′ that is the calculation result of the subtracting unit 111 is limited by the reference generated power minimum value LLGB that is the limiter value of the reference generated power lower limit limiter 112. Further, the output of the reference generated power lower limit limiter 112 is limited by the reference generated power maximum value HLGB of the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113. As a result, the reference generated power command value Po as shown by the solid line in FIG. 9 is output from the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113”, wherein examiner interpreted power command value being determined based on the difference between the detected value and target value, and by limiting the command value using limiter as including control circuit determines the dead band width based on the detected active power value detected by the power detector).
Regarding claim 9, SOMANI teaches a grid control system (Paragraph [0060] “The power converter 200 and the controller 300 together operate as a power conversion system for converting power between the power source and the grid. In an embodiment, the controller 300 is responsible for the control, monitoring, and measurement of the power system 100 and may communicate with a master (or user) controller 400 in the event that the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid that is coordinated by a master (or user) controller”), comprising:
a plurality of energy storage systems connected to a power grid (Paragraph [0056] “the power source connected to the input 110 may be an energy storage unit such as a battery (which could be a battery bank that includes plural batteries)”, and Paragraph [0057], wherein examiner interpreted energy storage units as a plurality of energy storage systems connected to a power grid); and
a centralized control device to receive information from the plurality of energy storage systems and give commands to the plurality of energy storage systems (Paragraph [0055] “The grid connection 160 may be a connection to a micro-grid and/or a main (utility) grid. The micro-grid may include one or more distributed energy resources (distributed generators and energy storage units) and local loads within a local area. When the power system 100 is connected to the micro-grid through grid connection 160, the power source connected to input 110 is one of the distributed energy resources (i.e. a generator or an energy storage unit) of the micro-grid… The distributed energy resources of the micro-grid may be coordinated by a master (or user) controller 400. The master controller 400 may be physically separate from the controller 300 of the power system 100, may be included within the same box, or could be integrated with or included as part of the controller 300”, wherein examiner interpreted master controller controlling distrusted energy resources which includes energy storage units as a centralized control device to receive information from the plurality of energy storage systems and give commands to the plurality of energy storage systems), wherein
each of the plurality of energy storage systems includes: at least one energy storage device to and from which electric energy is input and output (Paragraph [0056] “In an embodiment, the power source connected to the input 110 may be an energy storage unit such as a battery (which could be a battery bank that includes plural batteries) that both stores and supplies energy from/to the grid”, and Paragraph [0055], and Paragraph [0057] “When the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid, the battery connected to input 110 may store excess energy not needed to power the local loads from one or more other distributed energy sources of the micro-grid. The battery may also store energy from the main utility grid. Energy stored in the battery connected to the input 110 may be supplied to local loads in the event of an outage at the main utility grid”, wherein examiner interpreted storing as input electric energy to energy storage device, and wherein examiner interpreted supplying energy to loads as outputting energy to energy storage device);
power detectors to detect active power flowing through the power line from an upstream side of the power line to a downstream side of the power line (Paragraph [0060] “The controller 300 uses the sensors 150 between switch 120 and grid connection 160 to monitor the voltage amplitude, frequency and phase of the grid, and the controller 300 uses the sensor 150 between filter 174 and power converter 200 to monitor the AC output current amplitude, frequency and phase of the power converter 200. The controller may also monitor DC input voltage through sensors 140. For sensors 140 and 150, ‘V’ and ‘I’ represent a voltage measurement and a current measurement, respectively, ‘P’ and ‘PF’ represent power by calculation and power factor by calculation, respectively, and ‘Hz’ represents a frequency measurement. The sensors 150 may include potential transformers, and the sensors 140 may include an isolated voltage monitor”, Paragraph [0050] “FIG. 1A is an electrical schematic diagram illustrating a power system 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention”, Paragraph [0051] “Input 110 is coupled to a power source (e.g., a power generator or energy storage unit) that supplies power to the power system 100. The input 110 is electrically coupled to the power source side switch 120. The power converter 200 converts power between the power source coupled to input 110 and a grid that is coupled to the power system 100 at grid connection 160”, and Paragraph [0055] “The grid connection 160 may be a connection to a micro-grid and/or a main (utility) grid. The micro-grid may include one or more distributed energy resources (distributed generators and energy storage units) and local loads within a local area. When the power system 100 is connected to the micro-grid through grid connection 160, the power source connected to input 110 is one of the distributed energy resources (i.e. a generator or an energy storage unit) of the micro-grid. The loads can be one user (e.g., a utility customer), a grouping of several sites, or dispersed sites that operate in a coordinated fashion”, wherein examiner interpreted sensors measuring various electrical parameters including power by calculation as power detectors detecting active power flowing through the power line from the upstream side of the power line to the downstream side of the power line, wherein examiner interpreted the components connected together in the power system as including the power line, and wherein examiner interpreted power source coupled to input 110 as the upstream side, and grid connection 160 which includes loads as downstream side, additionally PORTER also teaches similar configuration), wherein at least one generator is connected to the upstream side of the power line, at least one load is connected to the downstream side of the power line (FIG. 1A, Paragraph [0051] “Input 110 is coupled to a power source (e.g., a power generator or energy storage unit) that supplies power to the power system 100. The input 110 is electrically coupled to the power source side switch 120”, and Paragraph [0055] “The grid connection 160 may be a connection to a micro-grid and/or a main (utility) grid. The micro-grid may include one or more distributed energy resources (distributed generators and energy storage units) and local loads within a local area. When the power system 100 is connected to the micro-grid through grid connection 160, the power source connected to input 110 is one of the distributed energy resources (i.e. a generator or an energy storage unit) of the micro-grid. The loads can be one user (e.g., a utility customer), a grouping of several sites, or dispersed sites that operate in a coordinated fashion”, wherein examiner interpreted power source coupled to input as least one generator connected to the upstream side of the power line, and wherein examiner interpreted loads connected at grid connection as at least one load connected to the grid connection as at least one load connected to the downstream of the power line), and
a control circuit to control an operation of the at least one power converter, thereby causing active power either to be output from the at least one energy storage device to the power line or to be input to the at least one energy storage device from the power line such that a variation in active power detected by the power detector is compensated (Paragraph [0057] “When the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid, the battery connected to input 110 may store excess energy not needed to power the local loads from one or more other distributed energy sources of the micro-grid. The battery may also store energy from the main utility grid. Energy stored in the battery connected to the input 110 may be supplied to local loads in the event of an outage at the main utility grid. The energy stored in the battery may also be used to provide more reliable and stable power when the micro-grid includes more unpredictable energy resources such as photovoltaic/solar panels and wind turbines”, Paragraph [0095] “Referring to FIG. 4 the controller may first determine that grid event occurs (step 400). The controller may determine that a grid even occurs by detecting a grid event using measurements taken by sensors 150. The grid event may, for example, be a power outage. The grid event may also be based on whether the grid voltage or frequency—which may be measured by sensors 150—falls outside of predetermined bounds”, Paragraph [0096], Paragraph [0015] “The at least one power source may be an energy storage unit, and the power system may operate in a discharge state, a charge state, and an idle state. Within the discharge and charge states, the controller controls the power converter to discharge and charge the energy storage unit. The controller may then determine that the power system should enter into the active standby mode when the power system is in an idle state”, and Paragraph [0070] “The power command may be a command received by the controller 300 from a master controller 400 or may be a command that is generated autonomously by controller 300 based, for example, on measurements taken from sensors. Furthermore, the power command may be a value calculated by the controller 300 based on measurements or values received from the master controller 400. The power command is preferably the amount of real power ‘P’ that the power converter 200 is commanded to supply or absorb, to/from the grid. However, it should be understood that the power command is not limited to real power, and the power command may be a real power command P or a reactive power command Q or even an apparent power command”, and Paragraph [0090-0091], wherein examiner interpreted controlling converter to charge or discharge energy storage system based on active mode, or active-standby mode, which is based on grid voltage or frequency being outside predetermined bounds as a control circuit to control an operation of the at least one power converter, thereby causing active power either to be output from the at least one energy storage device to the power line or to be input to the at least one energy storage device from the power line such that a variation in active power detected by the power detector is compensated).
SOMANI does not explicitly teach at least one power converter connected to the power line at an interconnection point on the power line, the interconnection point being a point on the power line between an upstream side of the power line and a downstream side of the power line, the at least one power converter being provided between the interconnection point on one power line among power lines of the power grid and the at least one energy storage device; the power detectors are directly connected to the power line at power detection points that are arranged on an upstream side of the interconnection point and a downstream side of the interconnection point; and wherein the control circuit of each of the plurality of energy storage systems calculates a target active power value by removing at least a part of a high- frequency component from a detected active power value acquired by the power detector, the high-frequency component being higher than a predetermined frequency value, and controls the at least one power converter so as to reduce an absolute value of a deviation between the target active power value and the detected active power value by performing input and output of active power between the energy storage system and the power grid in one of cases where the detected active power value exceeds an upper limit value obtained by adding an upper dead band width to the target active power value, and where the detected active power value falls below a lower limit value obtained by subtracting a lower dead band width from the target active power value.
However, PORTER teaches at least one power converter connected to the power line at an interconnection point on the power line (FIG. 1, and Paragraph [0018] “the power conversion module 124 is realized as a bidirectional three-phase full bridge inverter capable of rectifying three-phase alternating current (AC) electrical signals at the electrical grid interface 108 to a direct current (DC) signal provided to the battery 122 when the battery 122 is receiving electrical energy from the electrical grid interface 108 (or charging). Conversely, the inverter is also capable of converting DC input signals from the battery 122 into corresponding three-phase AC output signals at the electrical grid interface 108 when the battery 122 is providing electrical energy to the electrical grid interface 108 (or discharging)”, and Paragraph [0020] “Still referring to FIG. 1, the connection arrangement 106 generally represents one or more switching elements configured to electrically isolate the electrical grid 104 from the microgrid system 102 (e.g., the electrical grid interface 108 and/or the microgrid distribution arrangement 112) under control of the control module 120”, Paragraph [0014] “FIG. 1 depicts an exemplary embodiment of an electrical distribution system 100 that includes a microgrid electrical system 102 capable of being selectively connected to an external electrical grid 104 via a connection arrangement 106. The electrical grid 104 generally represents the distribution lines (or feeders), transformers, and other electrical components that provide an electrical interconnection between the microgrid system 102 and one or more external electrical power source(s) 105, which may be provided, for example, by a public utility”, Paragraph [0014] “Additionally, for purposes of explanation but without limitation, “upstream” or variants thereof may be used herein with reference to locations on or along the electrical grid 104 outside of the microgrid system 102 on a first side of the connection arrangement 106, while “downstream” or variants thereof may be used herein with reference to locations within the microgrid system 102 on the opposite side of the connection arrangement 106”, Paragraph [0016] “The illustrated microgrid system 102 includes an energy storage system 110 that is connected to the electrical grid 104 downstream of the connection arrangement 106 at an interface node 108 (or interconnect point) where electrical signals on the electrical grid 104 interfaces with electrical signals on the microgrid distribution arrangement 112”, wherein examiner interpreted power conversion module converting AC electrical signals to DC signal or DC signals to AC signals at the electrical grid interface as at least one power converter connected to the power line at an interconnection point on the power line, wherein examiner interpreted the connection arrangement, and the electrical grid interface node connecting and disconnecting electrical grid to the microgrid as an interconnection point on the power line), the interconnection point being a point on the power line between an upstream side of the power line and a downstream side of the power line (Paragraph [0014] “FIG. 1 depicts an exemplary embodiment of an electrical distribution system 100 that includes a microgrid electrical system 102 capable of being selectively connected to an external electrical grid 104 via a connection arrangement 106. The electrical grid 104 generally represents the distribution lines (or feeders), transformers, and other electrical components that provide an electrical interconnection between the microgrid system 102 and one or more external electrical power source(s) 105, which may be provided, for example, by a public utility”, Paragraph [0014] “Additionally, for purposes of explanation but without limitation, “upstream” or variants thereof may be used herein with reference to locations on or along the electrical grid 104 outside of the microgrid system 102 on a first side of the connection arrangement 106, while “downstream” or variants thereof may be used herein with reference to locations within the microgrid system 102 on the opposite side of the connection arrangement 106”, Paragraph [0016] “The illustrated microgrid system 102 includes an energy storage system 110 that is connected to the electrical grid 104 downstream of the connection arrangement 106 at an interface node 108 (or interconnect point) where electrical signals on the electrical grid 104 interfaces with electrical signals on the microgrid distribution arrangement 112”, wherein examiner interpreted the connection arrangement, and the electrical grid interface node connecting and disconnecting electrical grid to the microgrid as an interconnection point on the power line that is between an upstream side of the power line and a downstream side of the power line), the at least one power converter being provided between the interconnection point on one power line among power lines of the power grid and the at least one energy storage device (FIG. 1, Paragraph [0018] “In exemplary embodiments, the power conversion module 124 is realized as a bidirectional three-phase full bridge inverter capable of rectifying three-phase alternating current (AC) electrical signals at the electrical grid interface 108 to a direct current (DC) signal provided to the battery 122 when the battery 122 is receiving electrical energy from the electrical grid interface 108 (or charging). Conversely, the inverter is also capable of converting DC input signals from the battery 122 into corresponding three-phase AC output signals at the electrical grid interface 108 when the battery 122 is providing electrical energy to the electrical grid interface 108 (or discharging)”, wherein examiner interpreted power conversion module converting electrical signals between the battery and grid interface, wherein FIG. 1 shows power conversion module is between the battery and grid interface, as the at least one power converter being provided between the interconnection point on the power line and the at least one energy storage device);
the power detectors are directly connected to the power line at power detection points that are arranged on an upstream side of the interconnection point and a downstream side of the interconnection point (Paragraph [0020] “The control module 120 is coupled to the electrical grid 104 via one or more sensing arrangements 115, 118 to detect or otherwise identify an electrical disturbance on the electrical grid 104 and automatically operate the connection arrangement 106 to disconnect the electrical grid interface 108 from the grid 104. In this regard, the sensing arrangements 115, 118 include one or more voltage sensors and/or current sensors configured to measure, sense, or otherwise quantify the respective electrical characteristic of a respective electrical phase and generate corresponding output signals provided to the control module 120”, wherein examiner interpreted sensors connected before the connection arrangement and after connection arrangements as the power detectors are directly connected to the power line at power detection points that are arranged on an upstream side of the interconnection point and a downstream side of the interconnection point, wherein SOMANI teaches detecting/calculating power, wherein examiner interpreted sensor locations as the power detection points); and
SOMANI, and PORTER are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to power systems.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above energy storage system, as taught by SOMANI, and incorporating power detectors arranged on upstream side and downstream side, as taught by PORTER.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve Paragraph [0020] “identifying electrical disturbance on the electrical grid”, as suggested by PORTER.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the control circuit of each of the plurality of energy storage systems calculates a target active power value by removing at least a part of a high- frequency component from a detected active power value acquired by the power detector, the high-frequency component being higher than a predetermined frequency value, and controls the at least one power converter so as to reduce an absolute value of a deviation between the target active power value and the detected active power value by performing input and output of active power between the energy storage system and the power grid in one of cases where the detected active power value exceeds an upper limit value obtained by adding an upper dead band width to the target active power value, and where the detected active power value falls below a lower limit value obtained by subtracting a lower dead band width from the target active power value.
However, MONAI teaches wherein the control circuit of each of the plurality of energy storage systems calculates a target active power value by removing at least a part of a high- frequency component from a detected active power value acquired by the power detector, the high-frequency component being higher than a predetermined frequency value ([FIG. 1 Description] “The fluctuation compensation target value calculation unit 62 is an active power fluctuation component removal filter 70 (low-pass filter) that passes only a low frequency component among fluctuation components of the active power measurement value Pt. Of the fluctuation components of the active power measurement value Pt, the low frequency component is output as the fluctuation compensation target value Pa”, wherein examiner interpreted calculating fluctuation compensation target value that is based on passing only low frequency component using low-pass filter as control circuit calculating a target active power value by removing at least a part of a high-frequency component from a detected active power value acquired by the power detector, the high-frequency component being higher than a predetermined frequency value), and
controls the at least one power converter so as to reduce an absolute value of a deviation between the target active power value and the detected active power value by performing input and output of active power between the energy storage system and the power grid in one of cases where the detected active power value exceeds an upper limit value obtained by adding an upper dead band width to the target active power value, and where the detected active power value falls below a lower limit value obtained by subtracting a lower dead band width from the target active power value ([FIG. 1 Description] “The power converter 31 (charge / discharge control device) is a device that discharges power from the storage battery 30 or charges the storage battery 30 according to the active power command value Pbc, and includes, for example, an inverter device. As a specific example, when the active power command value Pbc is “positive”, the power converter 31 discharges the storage battery 30 with power corresponding to the active power command value Pbc. On the other hand, when active power command value Pbc is “negative”, power converter 31 charges storage battery 30 with power corresponding to active power command value Pbc”, and [Fig. 4 Description] “when the generated power target value Pga is higher than the generated power measurement value Pg and the generated power difference value ΔPg is “positive” (for example, 20 kW), the active power command value Pbc is “15 kW” (20 kW−5 kW). It becomes. The power corresponding to the active power command value Pbc of “15 kW” is greater than the power corresponding to the power of the active power command value Pbc of “20 kW” by adding the power storage amount correction power command value Pc to the generated power difference value ΔPg. It becomes small and the discharge amount of the storage battery 30 is suppressed. Thus, in this embodiment, when the charged amount detection value Sb is lower than the charged amount target value Sba, the charged amount correction power command value Pc is corrected so that the storage battery 30 is not overdischarged”, “On the other hand, when the charged amount detection value Sb is higher than the charged amount target value Sba, the charged amount correction power command value Pc is corrected so that the storage battery 30 is not overcharged, contrary to the case described above. Thus, in the present embodiment, the difference between the storage amount detection value Sb and the storage amount target value Sba is suppressed by correcting the storage amount correction power command value Pc. Generation of charging is suppressed”, and [FIG. 6 Description] “ The reference generation power command value calculation unit 82 (reference command value output unit) includes a limiter 110, subtraction units 111, 123, and 130, a reference generation power lower limit limiter 112, a reference generation power upper limit limiter 113, a reference generation power smoothing filter 114, The solar radiation amount calculation unit 120, the weather coefficient calculation unit 121, the photovoltaic power generation system output calculation method 122, and the addition unit 124 are configured. The reference generated power lower limit limiter 112, the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113, and the reference generated power smoothing filter 114 correspond to an output unit”, and [FIG. 9 Description] “a command value Pc ′, which is a negative component of the storage amount correction power command value Pc, is generated, and the subtraction unit 111 calculates Pe−Pc ′. Then, Pe-Pc ′ that is the calculation result of the subtracting unit 111 is limited by the reference generated power minimum value LLGB that is the limiter value of the reference generated power lower limit limiter 112. Further, the output of the reference generated power lower limit limiter 112 is limited by the reference generated power maximum value HLGB of the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113. As a result, the reference generated power command value Po as shown by the solid line in FIG. 9 is output from the reference generated power upper limit limiter 113”, wherein examiner interpreted charged amount correction power command being corrected as controlling power converter to reduce a deviation between the target active power value and including the detected active power value exceeding a lower limit and upper limit, and wherein examiner interpreted target correction power being determined by using an upper limiter, a lower limiter, and subtraction unit as including adding an upper dead band width to the target active power value, and subtracting a lower dead band width from the target active power value).
SOMANI, PORTER, and MONAI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to power systems.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above energy storage system, as taught by SOMANI, and PORTER, and incorporating target active power value, as taught by MONAI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve suppressing the influence resulting from fluctuations in the generated power of such a natural energy power generation facility, as suggested by MONAI (see [BACKGROUND-ART]).
Regarding claim 10, SOMANI, PORTER, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
SOMANI further teaches wherein the centralized control device determines, based on a state of charge of the at least one energy storage device included in each of the plurality of energy storage systems, whether or not input of active power is permitted and whether or not output of active power is permitted, and gives commands respectively to the plurality of energy storage systems, the commands each directing one of permission and prohibition of input and output of active power to and from corresponding one of the plurality of energy storage systems (Paragraph [0057] “When the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid, the battery connected to input 110 may store excess energy not needed to power the local loads from one or more other distributed energy sources of the micro-grid. The battery may also store energy from the main utility grid. Energy stored in the battery connected to the input 110 may be supplied to local loads in the event of an outage at the main utility grid. The energy stored in the battery may also be used to provide more reliable and stable power when the micro-grid includes more unpredictable energy resources such as photovoltaic/solar panels and wind turbines”, Paragraph [0083] “In the embodiment shown in FIG. 3, separate thresholds are provided for charge mode and discharge mode. The separate thresholds are the upper and lower bounds of the deadband”), and Paragraphs [0084-0086], Paragraphs [0089-0090], wherein examiner interpreted determining charge command and discharge command based on the thresholds as centralized control device determines, based on a state of charge of the at least one energy storage device included in each of the plurality of energy storage systems, whether or not input of active power is permitted and whether or not output of active power is permitted, and gives commands respectively to the plurality of energy storage systems, the commands each directing one of permission and prohibition of input and output of active power to and from corresponding one of the plurality of energy storage systems, wherein examiner interpreted being able to charge and discharge the energy storage devices as being based on the state of charge of energy storage device).
Regarding claim 11, SOMANI, PORTER, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
SOMANI further teaches wherein each of the plurality of energy storage systems determines, based on a state of charge of the at least one energy storage device included in the energy storage system, whether or not input of active power is permitted and whether or not output of active power is permitted, and notifies the centralized control device of information on whether or not input of active power is permitted and whether or not output of active power is permitted that have been determined (Paragraph [0057] “When the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid, the battery connected to input 110 may store excess energy not needed to power the local loads from one or more other distributed energy sources of the micro-grid. The battery may also store energy from the main utility grid. Energy stored in the battery connected to the input 110 may be supplied to local loads in the event of an outage at the main utility grid. The energy stored in the battery may also be used to provide more reliable and stable power when the micro-grid includes more unpredictable energy resources such as photovoltaic/solar panels and wind turbines”, Paragraph [0083] “In the embodiment shown in FIG. 3, separate thresholds are provided for charge mode and discharge mode. The separate thresholds are the upper and lower bounds of the deadband”), and Paragraphs [0084-0086], Paragraphs [0089-0090], and Paragraph [0060] “ In an embodiment, the controller 300 is responsible for the control, monitoring, and measurement of the power system 100 and may communicate with a master (or user) controller 400 in the event that the power system 100 is connected to a micro-grid that is coordinated by a master (or user) controller”, wherein examiner interpreted determining charge command and discharge command based on the thresholds as wherein each of the plurality of energy storage systems determines, based on a state of charge of the at least one energy storage device included in the energy storage system, whether or not input of active power is permitted and whether or not output of active power is permitted, and wherein examiner interpreted controller being able to control, monitor, measurement of power system, and communicating with a master controller as including notifying the centralized control device of information on whether or not input of active power is permitted and whether or not output of active power is permitted that have been determined).
Regarding claim 15, SOMANI, PORTER, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
SOMANI further teaches wherein the power detector in each of the plurality of energy storage systems detects active power on the power line at a power detection point on an upstream side of an interconnection point, the interconnection point being on the one power line between the at least one power converter and the power line (Paragraph [0021] “The power system may also comprise one or more sensors coupled between the power converter and the grid to measure real and reactive power, where the power command is determined based on the real and reactive power measured by the one or more sensors”, Paragraph [0051] “Referring to FIG. 1A, a power system 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention may include a power converter 200, an input 110, switches 120 and 130, sensors 140 and 150 and a controller 300. Input 110 is coupled to a power source (e.g., a power generator or energy storage unit) that supplies power to the power system 100”, and FIG. 1 wherein examiner interpreted sensors coupled between power converter and grid, which includes sensors for storage unit to measure real and reactive power as the power detector in each of the plurality of energy storage systems detects active power on the power line at a power detection point on an upstream side of an interconnection point, the interconnection point being on the one power line between the at least one power converter and the power line).
Regarding claim 16, SOMANI, PORTER, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
PORTER further teaches wherein the power detector in each of the plurality of energy storage systems detects active power on the power line at a power detection point on a downstream side of an interconnection point, the interconnection point being on the one power line between the at least one power converter and the power line (Paragraph [0020] “The control module 120 is coupled to the electrical grid 104 via one or more sensing arrangements 115, 118 to detect or otherwise identify an electrical disturbance on the electrical grid 104 and automatically operate the connection arrangement 106 to disconnect the electrical grid interface 108 from the grid 104. In this regard, the sensing arrangements 115, 118 include one or more voltage sensors and/or current sensors configured to measure, sense, or otherwise quantify the respective electrical characteristic of a respective electrical phase and generate corresponding output signals provided to the control module 120”, wherein examiner interpreted sensors connected after connection arrangement as the power detector in each of the plurality of energy storage systems detects active power on the power line at a power detection point on a downstream side of an interconnection point, the interconnection point being on the one power line between the at least one power converter and the power line, wherein SOMANI teaches plurality of energy storage systems, and detecting/calculating power).
Regarding claim 17, SOMANI, PORTER, and MONAI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
PORTER further teaches wherein the power detector in each of the plurality of energy storage systems detects active power on the power line at an upstream side and a downstream side of an interconnection point the interconnection point being on the one power line between the at least one power converter and the power line (Paragraph [0020] “The control module 120 is coupled to the electrical grid 104 via one or more sensing arrangements 115, 118 to detect or otherwise identify an electrical disturbance on the electrical grid 104 and automatically operate the connection arrangement 106 to disconnect the electrical grid interface 108 from the grid 104. In this regard, the sensing arrangements 115, 118 include one or more voltage sensors and/or current sensors configured to measure, sense, or otherwise quantify the respective electrical characteristic of a respective electrical phase and generate corresponding output signals provided to the control module 120”, wherein examiner interpreted sensors connected before the connection arrangement and after connection arrangements as the power detector in each of the plurality of energy storage systems detects active power on the power line at an upstream side and a downstream side of an interconnection point the interconnection point being on the one power line between the at least one power converter and the power line, wherein SOMANI teaches plurality of energy storage systems, and detecting/calculating power).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and on the attached PTO Form 892 but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JINTSUGAWA et al. [JP 2007/306670 A] teaches attaining output variation compensation effect surely through charge/discharge of a power storage unit by preventing the storage electric energy of the power storage unit from sticking to an upper limit or a lower limit for a long term.
Hansen et al. [USGPUB 2020/0259358] teaches a method for coordinated control of a renewable electrical energy source (RES) and an electrical energy storage (EES) device.
Ozaki [USPGPUB 2012/0310560] teaches power detection devices detecting power consumption.
Conclusion
/D.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/ZIAUL KARIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119