DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s amendment of 05/13/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-5, 7-8, 12, and 14 are amended, and claims 6 and 9 are cancelled. Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 10-15 are currently pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/083803 filed on 12/01/2021 and claims foreign priority to PCT/CN2020/134952 filed on 12/09/2020 and EP21150458.4 filed on 01/07/2021 as reflected in the filing receipt dated on 10/23/2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Previous Rejections/Objections
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/13/2026 have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from the previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to the claims. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application. Applicant’s arguments insofar as they pertain to the present grounds of rejections and/or objections are addressed herein.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-3 recite the hyphenated limitation “C-13” while other recited hydrocarbons are unhyphenated. For example, “C14”. For consistency, all hydrocarbons should be recited in the same manner, either all hyphenated (e.g. “C-13”, “C-14”, etc.) or all unhyphenated (e.g. “C13”, “C14”, etc.).
Claim 1 previously recited the limitation “C-13 hydrocarbon based on a sum of the hydrocarbons” in lines 2-3 and now appears to be amended to recite “C-13 hydrocarbon based on a sum of a hydrocarbons”, which is grammatically incorrect, without proper indication of amendment by Applicant. In the interest of compact prosecution and because the remainder of claim 1 recites the limitation “based on the sum of all hydrocarbons in the mixture”, the Examiner is interpreting the term “a hydrocarbons” to be a typographical error intended to recite the term “all hydrocarbons”.
Claim 1 appears to be amended to recite “C14 to C17 hydrocarbons in an amount of” (newly added phrase underlined). However, there is an extraneous bracket between the term “hydrocarbons” and the term “in”, which appears to be a typographical error intended to remove the previously recited term “is” from the claim. The claim should be amended properly to ensure the term “hydrocarbons” is not also removed from the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “based on the sum of all hydrocarbons in the hydrocarbon mixture” in line 5. The limitation should be followed by a comma to properly separate the C11-C12 hydrocarbons component from the C14 to C17 hydrocarbons component.
Claims 2 and 3 each recite a “wherein” clause in line 4 that is not preceded by a comma. To properly separate limitations within the claims, the claims should read “The hydrocarbon mixture…based on the sum of the hydrocarbons, wherein the amount…”.
Response to Arguments
In the Remarks submitted on 05/13/2026, Applicant states that it is believed amendments to the claims are sufficient to obviate the previous objections to the claims. However, because claims 1-3 still recite a hyphenated “C-13” and contain “wherein” clauses that are not preceded by commas, the relevant grounds of objection are maintained.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
Regarding FIG. 1, arrows obstruct the text “2,3”, “1”, and “3” on the right side of the figure, making the text difficult to read.
Regarding FIG. 2, an arrow obstructs the text “1” on the right side of the figure, making the text difficult to read.
Response to Arguments
In the Remarks submitted on 05/13/2026, Applicant states that it is believed amendments to the claims are sufficient to obviate the previous objections to the drawings. However, arrows in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 are still obstructing text as discussed above. Therefore, the relevant grounds of objection are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 4-5, and 7-8 each recite at least one instance of the limitation “a sum”. The use of the article “a” or “an” when referring to, for example, the sum of the hydrocarbons in the hydrocarbon mixture makes it unclear whether (1) more than one sum of hydrocarbons is present within the mixture (e.g., “a” sum could be referring to the sum of C13 and C11/12 hydrocarbons only) or (2) only one sum of hydrocarbons is present within the mixture (e.g., the sum of all hydrocarbons present in the mixture). If the intended interpretation is the latter, which the Examiner is using for the purposes of compact prosecution in the prior art rejections below, the Examiner recommends amending the claims to recite, for example, “based on the sum of the hydrocarbons in the hydrocarbon mixture”. Claims 2-5, 7-8, and 10-15 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1, as they fail to resolve the ambiguity in question.
Claims 12 and 13 each recite the terms “perfume(s)”, “perfume oil(s)”, and “fragrance(s)”. Because no limiting definition is provided for the terms in Applicant’s instant disclosure, the terms are interpreted according to the plain meaning given to the terms by those of ordinary skill in the art at the time. Note: MPEP 2173.01. It is art-recognized that perfumes comprise varying concentrations of perfume oils, which ultimately comprise fragrances, as evidenced by Burton (Beautylish, p. 2; published: 07/13/2014; PTO-892). Because the claims recite the broad recitation fragrance(s), along with the narrower recitations perfume(s) and perfume oil(s), which are specific embodiments of fragrances, the claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Following the same logic, the claims are further indefinite because perfumes are specific embodiments of perfume oils.
Response to Arguments
In the Remarks submitted on 05/13/2026, Applicant states that it is believed amendments to the claims are sufficient to obviate the previous rejections to the claims. However, because claims 1, 4-5, and 7-8 still recite “a sum” and claims 12-13 still recite the terms “perfume(s)”, “perfume oil(s)”, and “fragrance(s)”, and Applicant does not specifically point out how the rejections are improper, the relevant grounds of rejection are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dierker et al. (US20100189665A1; published: 07/29/2010; effectively filed: 06/12/2008; PTO-892) in view of Arnaud et al. (FR2965476A1; published: 04/06/2012; IDS of 06/07/2023).
The Examiner notes that the 103 rejection the Office action dated 02/17/2026 did not include claim 15 in the statement of rejection, which was clearly a typographical error as the claim was explicitly rejected within the body of the rejection. Accordingly, claim 15 has been added to the statement of rejection above with no change to the grounds of rejection as previously presented, except to address the limitations of cancelled claim 6 within the rejection of amended claim 1.
Dierker teaches cosmetic and/or pharmaceutical formulations comprising 0.1 to 80% by weight of at least one saturated linear hydrocarbon selected from the group consisting of C9, C11, C13, C15, C17, C19, C21 and C23 hydrocarbons (Claims 1-4). Dierker specifies that the formulation preferably contains more than 95% by weight of C9, C11, C13, C15, C17, C19, C21 and C23 hydrocarbons based on the sum of the hydrocarbons present in the formulation (Paragraph 0017).
Regarding the hydrocarbon mixture recited in claims 1-3: Dierker further teaches the preparation of pure and deodorized tridecane (Paragraphs 0173-0274), which is a saturated linear C13 hydrocarbon. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could at once envisage an embodiment wherein the sum of the hydrocarbons present in the formulation of Dierker comprises more than 95% by weight of tridecane, which lies within the range recited in instant claim 1 and substantially overlaps the ranges recited in instant claims 2 and 3, thus rendering the ranges obvious.
Dierker does not expressly teach an embodiment wherein the sum of the hydrocarbons further comprises the amount of C11/C12 and C14 to C17 hydrocarbons recited in instant claims 1-3. As such, the reference does not explicitly teach all limitations of claims 4-8 and 10-15, which ultimately depend from claim 1.
Arnaud teaches that volatile linear alkane mixtures comprising n-undecane (C11), n-dodecane (C12), n-tridecane (C13), and n-tetradecane (C14) are particularly useful in facilitating the manufacture of cosmetic products, as they allow simple mixing with other ingredients to obtain better dispersed raw materials, which leads to improved cosmetic performance, and they serve as an advantageous alternative to silicone solvents and petrochemical solvents (Pages 1-3, Description).
Regarding the amount of C11/C12 and C14 to C17 hydrocarbons recited in claims 1-3: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydrocarbons in the formulation of Dierker by further including undecane, dodecane, and tetradecane because the combination of these linear alkanes with tridecane is known in the art to facilitate the manufacture of cosmetic products by improving the dispersion of raw materials within the products. Because tridecane is already present in an amount of more than 95% by weight based on the sum of the hydrocarbons, the amount of undecane/dodecane and the amount of tetradecane is necessarily less than 5% by weight based on the sum of the hydrocarbons, which overlaps and thus renders obvious the claimed ranges.
It is generally noted that differences in concentrations do not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Given that Applicant did not point out the criticality of the specific hydrocarbon concentrations of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of ranges is the optimum concentration. Note: MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding the amount of tetradecanol: The tridecane of Dierker is synthesized and purified using an identical method to that disclosed in Applicant’s instant specification (Instant Specification, Page 41, Preparation example 1). Therefore, the hydrocarbon mixture taught by the combination of Dierker and Arnaud necessarily comprises tetradecanol within the instantly claimed range.
Regarding claims 4-5: As discussed above, the tridecane of Dierker is synthesized and purified using an identical method to that disclosed in Applicant’s instant specification. Further, Arnaud explicitly teaches that its mixtures of alkanes contain less than 1% by weight of aromatic hydrocarbons and less than 0.1% by weight of unsaturated hydrocarbons (Page 3). Therefore, the hydrocarbon mixture taught by the combination of Dierker and Arnaud necessarily comprises aromatic hydrocarbons and unsaturated hydrocarbons within the instantly claimed ranges.
Regarding claims 7-8: The hydrocarbon mixture taught by the combination of Dierker and Arnaud does not comprise hydrocarbons having a carbon chain length greater than or equal to 17, or hydrocarbons having a carbon chain length less than or equal to 10, and therefore meets the limitations wherein the sum of said hydrocarbons is less than or equal to 0.5% by weight based on the sum of the hydrocarbons.
Regarding claims 10-11: While the Examiner notes that “decorative or sun care cosmetic” is merely an intended use of the instantly claimed composition, Dierker further teaches that its compositions may be used in cosmetic formulations for sun protection and in decorative cosmetic formulations (Paragraphs 0022-0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the hydrocarbon mixture taught by the combination of Dierker and Arnaud into a sun protection or decorative cosmetic formulation such that the total amount of undecane and tridecane comprises between 0.1% to 80% by weight of the formulation because Dierker teaches that this amount of C11 and C13 hydrocarbons is particularly useful for producing cosmetic formulations with improved sensory properties, better skin compatibility, and good dispersibility of pigments (Paragraphs 0003-0005). Thus, the total amount of hydrocarbon mixture—including undecane, dodecane, tridecane, and tetradecane—in the cosmetic formulation would substantially overlap and thus render obvious the instantly claimed range, given that undecane and tridecane comprise more than 95% by weight based on the sum of hydrocarbons in the hydrocarbon mixture.
Regarding claims 12-13: The formulation taught by the combination of Dierker and Arnaud does not comprise perfumes, perfume oils, and fragrances and, therefore, reads on claim 13. Alternatively, Dierker teaches embodiments wherein the formulation further comprises at least one biogenic active ingredient, insect repellent, tyrosinase inhibitor, preservative, perfume oil, stabilizer and/or hydrotropes (Paragraphs 0164). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the formulation taught by the combination of Dierker and Arnaud by further including at least one perfume oil to achieve a desired odor or fragrance (Paragraph 0170).
Regarding claim 14: Dierker teaches embodiments wherein the formulation further comprises at least one UV light protection filter and/or at least one pigment and/or dye (Claims 6 and 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the formulation taught by the combination of Dierker and Arnaud by further including at least one UV light protection filter and/or pigment and/or dye to absorb ultraviolet rays and/or achieve a desired formulation color (Paragraphs 0038-0065).
Regarding claim 15: Arnaud further teaches that linear volatile alkanes can be combined with a gelling agent such as a lipophilic clay in order to gel the oily phase of the cosmetic product and thus improve its stability (Page 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the formulation taught by the combination of Dierker and Arnaud by further including a gelling agent in order to improve the product’s stability.
An ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably expect success in modifying Dierker with the teachings of Arnaud as proposed because the combination of undecane, dodecane, tridecane, and tetradecane is known in the prior art to be useful in dispersing cosmetic ingredients. While Dierker prefers that more than 50% by weight of the sum of the hydrocarbons are selected from C9, C11, C13, C15, C17, C19, C21 and C23 hydrocarbons (Paragraph 0017), the reference does not exclude inclusion of other hydrocarbons, such as dodecane and tetradecane, especially in amounts of less than 5% by weight based on the sum of the hydrocarbons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted on 05/13/2026 with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but were not found to be persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 1 requires a very particular combination of relative hydrocarbon amounts that is not disclosed or suggested in the relied upon art, even with an overlapping range, and proports that the assertions relied upon by the Examiner are insufficient to support prima facie obviousness. This argument was not found to be persuasive.
First, Applicant does not particularly point out how the prior art combination does not teach or suggest the relative amounts and appears to acknowledge that the cited references do teach overlapping ranges. As stated in the Office action dated 02/17/2026, Dierker teaches formulations comprising more than 95% by weight of tridecane based on the sum of the hydrocarbons in the formulation, wherein all other hydrocarbons in the formulation are necessarily present in an amount of less than 5% by weight of the hydrocarbons. Because Arnaud teaches that mixtures comprising n-undecane, n-dodecane, and n-tetradecane together with n-tridecane are known to facilitate better dispersion of raw materials leading to improved cosmetic performance, an ordinarily skilled artisan would be reasonably motivated to further include n-undecane, n-dodecane, and n-tetradecane in the formulation of Dierker, i.e., in an amount of less than 5% by weight of the sum of the hydrocarbons. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Given that Applicant did not point out the criticality of the concentrations of C11-C12 hydrocarbons or C14 to C17 hydrocarbons in the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of ranges is the optimum concentration. NOTE: MPEP 2144.05. Thus, the instant claims are appropriately rendered prima facie obvious in view of the prior art teachings.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that this specific combination brings about unexpected results, Applicant’s data do not demonstrate the criticality of the specific amounts of C11-C12 hydrocarbons or C14 to C17 hydrocarbons in the invention and only appears to demonstrate the importance of the C13 hydrocarbon concentration, which is taught by Dierker. While Applicant argues that only the instant hydrocarbon mixture can achieve an odor free composition, which is allegedly not expected, Dierker clearly teaches pure C13 hydrocarbon as a deodorized product [0173-0174; previously cited]. Thus, an ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably expect that a hydrocarbon mixture comprising more than 95% by weight of tridecane based on the sum of the hydrocarbons would also be odor free. This is further supported by Applicant’s instant specification wherein >99% tridecane from Aldrich gave a “close odor profile” to the inventive example Cetiol iSan [see pg. 41-42, Example 2a, and Figs. 1-2]. Therefore, the data provided to support allegedly unexpected results are insufficient to overcome the established case of prima facie obviousness.
In view of the foregoing, the prior art rejections of record are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 10-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 8,895,039 B2 in view of Arnaud et al. (FR2965476A1; published: 04/06/2012; IDS of 06/07/2023) and Dierker et al. (US20100189665A1; published: 07/29/2010; effectively filed: 06/12/2008; PTO-892).
US ‘039 claims 1 and 7 recite a cosmetic formulation and method of preparing said formulation comprising more than 85% by weight, based on the sum of the hydrocarbons present in the formulation, of an emollient, wherein the emollient is a linear saturated hydrocarbon selected from the group consisting of n-heptane, n-nonane, n-undecane, n-tridecane, n-pentadecane, n-heptadecane, n-nonadecane, n-heneicosane and n-tricosane and mixtures thereof. US ‘039 claims 3 and 5 recite that the formulation further comprises at least one UV light protection filter and at least one pigment and/or dye. US ‘039 claim 6 recites that the formulation further comprises at least one additional oil body.
An ordinarily skilled artisan could at once envisage an embodiment wherein the emollient comprises n-tridecane, wherein more than 85% by weight tridecane, based on the sum of the hydrocarbons present in the cosmetic formulation, overlaps and thus renders obvious the instantly claimed amount of unsaturated linear C13 hydrocarbon. While the Examiner notes that “decorative or sun care cosmetic” is an intended use of the instantly claimed composition, a formulation comprising a UV light protection filter would necessarily be a sun care cosmetic, and the formulation is necessarily free of perfumes, perfume oils, and fragrances.
The claims of US ‘039 differ from the instant claims in that the claims of US ‘039 do not explicitly recite the relative amounts of hydrocarbons as recited in instant claims 1-8; or that the formulation comprises: 0.1 to 80% by weight of the claimed hydrocarbon mixture as recited in claim 11; at least one perfume, perfume oil, or fragrance as recited in instant claim 12; or at least one gelling agent as recited in instant claim 15.
The teachings of Arnaud and Dierker are as set forth above and further incorporated herein.
Regarding instant claims 1-3: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the formulation recited in the claims of US ‘039 further including undecane, dodecane, and tetradecane, which would result in a formulation that is itself a hydrocarbon mixture, because the combination of these linear alkanes with tridecane is known in the art to facilitate the manufacture of cosmetic products by improving the dispersion of raw materials within the products. Because tridecane is already present in an amount of more than 85% by weight based on the sum of the hydrocarbons, the amount of undecane/dodecane and the amount of tetradecane is necessarily less than 15% by weight based on the sum of the hydrocarbons, which overlaps and thus renders obvious the claimed ranges.
It is generally noted that differences in concentrations do not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Given that Applicant did not point out the criticality of the specific hydrocarbon concentrations of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of ranges is the optimum concentration. Note: MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding the amount of tetradecanol: The claims of US ‘039 do not recite that the n-tridecane comprises additional components. Therefore, the hydrocarbon mixture taught by the combination of US ‘039 claims and Arnaud does not comprise tetradecanol, thus meeting the claim limitation.
Regarding claims 5-6: As discussed above the claims of US ‘039 do not recite that the n-tridecane comprises additional components, and Arnaud explicitly teaches that its mixtures of alkanes contain less than 1% by weight of aromatic hydrocarbons and less than 0.1% by weight of unsaturated hydrocarbons (Page 3). Therefore, the hydrocarbon mixture taught by the combination of US ‘039 claims and Arnaud necessarily comprises aromatic hydrocarbons and unsaturated hydrocarbons within the instantly claimed ranges.
Regarding claims 7-8: The formulation taught by the combination of US ‘039 claims and Arnaud does not comprise hydrocarbons having a carbon chain length greater than or equal to 17, or hydrocarbons having a carbon chain length less than or equal to 10, and therefore meets the limitations wherein the sum of said hydrocarbons is less than or equal to 0.5% by weight based on the sum of the hydrocarbons.
Regarding claim 11: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hydrocarbons within the formulation taught by the combination of US ‘039 claims Arnaud such that the total amount of undecane and tridecane comprises between 0.1% to 80% by weight of the formulation because Dierker teaches that this amount of C11 and C13 hydrocarbons is particularly useful for producing cosmetic formulations with improved sensory properties, better skin compatibility, and good dispersibility of pigments (Paragraphs 0003-0005). Thus, the total amount of hydrocarbons—including undecane, dodecane, tridecane, and tetradecane—in the cosmetic formulation would substantially overlap and thus render obvious the instantly claimed range, given that undecane and tridecane comprise more than 85% by weight based on the sum of hydrocarbons in the hydrocarbon mixture.
Regarding claim 12: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the formulation taught by the combination of US ‘039 claims, Arnaud, and Dierker by further including at least one perfume oil to achieve a desired odor or fragrance as taught by Dierker.
Regarding claim 15: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the formulation taught by the combination of US ‘039 claims, Arnaud, and Dierker by further including a gelling agent in order to improve the product’s stability as taught by Arnaud.
An ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably expect success in modifying the claims of US ‘039 with the teachings of Arnaud and Dierker as proposed because the claims of US ‘039 do not exclude the inclusion of hydrocarbons other than the claimed emollient, as supported by the limitation “based on the sum of the hydrocarbons present in the cosmetic formulation”, which indicates that other hydrocarbons may be present in the formulation, and the permittance of at least one additional oily body. Further, all ingredients and concentrations are well known in the art to be useful in formulating oily cosmetic compositions with improved dispersibility.
Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 10-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 9,839,797 B2 in view of Dierker et al. (US20100189665A1; published: 07/29/2010; effectively filed: 06/12/2008; PTO-892) and Arnaud et al. (FR2965476A1; published: 04/06/2012; IDS of 06/07/2023).
US ‘797 claims recite a process for production of linear saturated alkanes from one or more primary alcohols, and claim 17 recites that the primary alcohol is 1-tetradecanol and the linear saturated alkane is tridecane. US ‘797 claim 14 recites that the linear saturated alkane is incorporated into a cosmetic preparation.
The claims of US ‘797 do not expressly recite that the preparation further comprises the relative amounts of hydrocarbons as recited in instant claims 1-8, or the further limitations of instant claims 10-15.
Regarding instant claims 1-3: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the formulation recited in the claims of US ‘797 by including tridecane in an amount of greater than 95% by weight based on the sum of hydrocarbons in the formulation as taught by Dierker and then including undecane, dodecane, and tetradecane as taught by Arnaud because the combination of these linear alkanes with tridecane is known in the art to facilitate the manufacture of cosmetic products by improving the dispersion of raw materials within the products. Because tridecane is present in an amount of more than 95% by weight based on the sum of the hydrocarbons, the amount of undecane/dodecane and the amount of tetradecane is necessarily less than 5% by weight based on the sum of the hydrocarbons, which overlaps and thus renders obvious the claimed ranges.
It is generally noted that differences in concentrations do not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Given that Applicant did not point out the criticality of the specific hydrocarbon concentrations of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of ranges is the optimum concentration. Note: MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding the amount of tetradecanol: The tridecane of US ‘797 claims is synthesized and purified using a nearly identical method to that disclosed in Applicant’s instant specification (Instant Specification, Page 41, Preparation example 1). Therefore, the hydrocarbon mixture taught by the combination of US ‘797 claims and Arnaud necessarily comprises tetradecanol within the instantly claimed range.
Regarding claims 5-6: As discussed above, the tridecane of US ‘797 claims is synthesized and purified using a nearly identical method to that disclosed in Applicant’s instant specification. Further, Arnaud explicitly teaches that its mixtures of alkanes contain less than 1% by weight of aromatic hydrocarbons and less than 0.1% by weight of unsaturated hydrocarbons (Page 3). Therefore, the hydrocarbon mixture taught by the combination of US ‘797 claims and Arnaud necessarily comprises aromatic hydrocarbons and unsaturated hydrocarbons within the instantly claimed ranges.
Regarding claims 7-8: The formulation taught by the combination of US ‘797 claims, Dieker, and Arnaud does not comprise hydrocarbons having a carbon chain length greater than or equal to 17, or hydrocarbons having a carbon chain length less than or equal to 10, and therefore meets the limitations wherein the sum of said hydrocarbons is less than or equal to 0.5% by weight based on the sum of the hydrocarbons.
Regarding claims 10-11: While the Examiner notes that “decorative or sun care cosmetic” is an intended use of the instantly claimed composition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hydrocarbons within the formulation taught by the combination of US ‘797 claims, Dierker, and Arnaud such that the total amount of undecane and tridecane comprises between 0.1% to 80% by weight of the formulation because Dierker teaches that this amount of C11 and C13 hydrocarbons is particularly useful for producing cosmetic formulations with improved sensory properties, better skin compatibility, and good dispersibility of pigments (Paragraphs 0003-0005). Thus, the total amount of hydrocarbons—including undecane, dodecane, tridecane, and tetradecane—in the cosmetic formulation would substantially overlap and thus render obvious the instantly claimed range, given that undecane and tridecane comprise more than 95% by weight based on the sum of hydrocarbons in the hydrocarbon mixture.
Regarding claims 12-13: The formulation taught by the combination of US ‘797 claims, Dierker, and Arnaud does not comprise perfumes, perfume oils, and fragrances and, therefore, reads on claim 13. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the formulation taught by the combination of US ‘797 claims, Dierker, and Arnaud by further including at least one perfume oil to achieve a desired odor or fragrance as taught by Dierker.
Regarding claim 14: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the formulation taught by the combination of US ‘797 claims, Dierker, and Arnaud by further including at least one UV light protection filter and/or pigment and/or dye to absorb ultraviolet rays and/or achieve a desired formulation color (Paragraphs 0038-0065).
Regarding claim 15: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the formulation taught by the combination of US ‘797 claims, Dierker, and Arnaud by further including a gelling agent in order to improve the product’s stability as taught by Arnaud.
An ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably expect success in modifying the claims of US ‘797 with the teachings of Dierker and Arnaud as proposed because all ingredients and concentrations are well known in the art to be useful in formulating oily cosmetic compositions with improved dispersibility.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted on 05/13/2026 with respect to rejections on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting have been fully considered but were not found to be persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, the Examiner notes that the arguments are analogous to those made concerning the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 and were not found to be persuasive for the reasons discussed in detail above.
Therefore, the double patenting rejections of record are maintained.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH C WISTNER/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/Mina Haghighatian/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616