DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on August 8, 2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 32, 33, 35, 37, 41, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukasaku et al. (JP 2005254631 A), hereinafter “Fukasaku.” All paragraph numbers refer to the previously provided machine translation.
Regarding claim 32, Fukasaku teaches a modular production system for processing or finishing a print substrate, the modular production system comprising: modular units, wherein: the modular units include a modular fragrance unit; the modular fragrance unit is configured to apply a fragrance to the print substrate; the modular fragrance unit includes a tank device for storing the fragrance (fig. 1, carriage 123, head 124, aroma cartridge 125, paragraphs [0024]-[0028], [0030]-[0031], [0034]); the modular fragrance unit is a rewetting unit for the print substrate (see paragraph [0030]); and the modular fragrance unit includes a cleaning device (fig. 1, recovery device 147, capping means, cleaning means, paragraph [0028]).
It is noted that the recitation of “the modular fragrance unit is a rewetting unit for the print substrate” amounts to functional language describing the intended use of the apparatus of the claim. From the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure § 2114:
"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does."… A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
The apparatus of Fukasaku teaches all the structural limitations of the claim, and therefore would be capable of the intended use recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 33, Fukasaku teaches the modular production system of claim 32, wherein the modular fragrance unit is a separate modular unit (fig. 1, carriage 123, head 124, aroma cartridge 125, paragraphs [0024]-[0028], [0030]-[0031], [0034]).
Regarding claim 35, Fukasaku teaches the modular production system of claim 32, wherein the tank device includes a magazine of tank containers (fig. 1, carriage 123, head 124, aroma cartridge 125, paragraphs [0024]-[0028], [0030]-[0031], [0034]).
Regarding claim 37, Fukasaku teaches the modular production system of claim 32, wherein: the modular fragrance unit includes an applicator; and the cleaning device is configured to clean the applicator (fig. 1, carriage 123, head 124, aroma cartridge 125, recovery device 147, capping means, cleaning means, paragraphs [0024]-[0028], [0030]-[0031], [0034]).
Regarding claim 41, Fukasaku teaches a modular fragrance unit for processing or finishing a print substrate, the modular fragrance unit comprising: a tank device for storing a fragrance; and a cleaning device, wherein: the modular fragrance unit is configured to apply the fragrance to the print substrate; and the modular fragrance unit is a rewetting unit for the print substrate (fig. 1, carriage 123, head 124, aroma cartridge 125, recovery device 147, capping means, cleaning means, paragraphs [0024]-[0028], [0030]-[0031], [0034]).
Regarding claim 43, Fukasaku teaches the modular fragrance unit of claim 41, further comprising: an applicator, wherein the cleaning device is configured to clean the applicator (fig. 1, carriage 123, head 124, aroma cartridge 125, recovery device 147, capping means, cleaning means, paragraphs [0024]-[0028], [0030]-[0031], [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32-34 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (US 2007/0240593 A1), hereinafter “Schneider,” in view of Fukasaku (JP 2005254631 A). All paragraph numbers referring to Fukasaku are drawn from the previously attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 32, Schneider teaches a modular production system for processing or finishing a print substrate, the modular production system comprising: modular units, wherein: the modular units include a modular fragrance unit; the modular fragrance unit is configured to apply a fragrance to the print substrate; the modular fragrance unit is a rewetting unit for the print substrate (fig. 1, printing unit 10, substrate 11, printing devices 12-13, paragraphs [0015]-[0019]). It is noted that Schneider does not explicitly teach that the application of the fragrance acts as “rewetting,” however the Examiner argues that applying the fragrance after printing on the substrate as disclosed in paragraphs [0019] for example will inherently rewet the printed substrate.
However, Schneider fails to teach or fairly suggest the modular fragrance unit includes a tank device for storing the fragrance; and the modular fragrance unit includes a cleaning device.
Fukasaku teaches a modular fragrance unit includes a tank device for storing the fragrance; and the modular fragrance unit includes a cleaning device (fig. 1, carriage 123, head 124, aroma cartridge 125, recovery device 147, capping means, cleaning means, paragraphs [0024]-[0028], [0030]-[0031], [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the modular fragrance unit of Fukasaku into the modular production system of Schneider in order to provide a fragrance-applying device capable of cleaning itself, thus improving the operability of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 33, Schneider further teaches the modular fragrance unit is a separate modular unit (fig. 1, printing unit 10, substrate 11, printing devices 12-13, paragraphs [0015]-[0019]).
Regarding claim 34, Schneider further teaches the modular units include a modular printing unit for printing the print substrate; and the modular fragrance unit is downstream of the modular printing unit (fig. 1, printing unit 10, substrate 11, printing devices 12-13, paragraphs [0015]-[0019]).
Regarding claim 38, Schneider as modified by Fukasaku teaches the modular production system of claim 34, and Schneider further teaches a method for processing or finishing a print substrate comprising: printing the print substrate using the modular printing unit; and applying the fragrance to the print substrate using the modular fragrance unit (fig. 1, printing unit 10, substrate 11, printing devices 12-13, paragraphs [0019]).
Claims 36 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukasaku in view of Wagner (EP 1839874 B1). All paragraph numbers refer to the newly attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 36, Fukasaku teaches the modular production system of claim 32, but fails to teach or fairly suggest the cleaning device is configured to pump out or rinse or fill the tank device.
However, Wagner teaches a cleaning device configured to pump out or rinse of fill a tank device (fig. 1, holder 18, applicator 50, see paragraphs [0011]-[0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cleaning device of Wagner into the modular production system of Fukasaku in order to improve the recycling of the tank device.
Regarding claim 42, Fukasaku teaches the modular fragrance unit of claim 41 as detailed in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, but fails to teach or fairly suggest the cleaning device is configured to pump out or rinse or fill the tank device.
However, Wagner teaches a cleaning device configured to pump out or rinse of fill a tank device (fig. 1, holder 18, applicator 50, see paragraphs [0011]-[0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cleaning device of Wagner into the modular production system of Fukasaku in order to improve the recycling of the tank device.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider as modified by Fukasaku as applied to claim 38 above, and further in view of Machielse et al. (WO 01/83218 A1), hereinafter “Machielse.”
Schneider as modified by Fukasaku teaches the method of claim 38, but fails to teach or fairly suggest the method further comprising mixing the fragrance into an ink; and printing the ink on the print substrate.
Machielse teaches a method comprising mixing a fragrance into an ink; and printing the ink on a print substrate (figs. 1-2, cartridges 5, fragrance/ink cartridge G, see page 1, line 24 to page 2, line 18, and page 4, lines 10-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Machielse into the method of Schneider as modified by Fukasaku in order to improve the speed of operation of the modular production system by providing the apparatus with the ability to print images and fragrances simultaneously.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider as modified by Fukasaku and Machielse as applied to claim 39 above, and further in view of Sato et al. (JP 2018012219 A) hereinafter “Sato.” All paragraph numbers refer to the newly attached machine translation.
Schneider as modified by Fukasaku and Machielse teaches the method of claim 39, but fails to teach or fairly suggest the ink being odor-free.
Sato teaches an odorless inkjet ink usable in inkjet printing devices (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ink of Sato into the method of Schneider as modified by Fukasaku and Machielse in order to reduce the presence of undesired odors of the ink.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 8, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-11 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Namai, Fukasaku, DeMoore, and Watson fail to teach “rewetting” the print substrate due to not including a drying step between sequential printing pages. However, as argued in the rejections under U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, the “rewetting unit” as claimed in claim 32 amounts to functional language such that the prior art must teach structure capable of producing “rewetting.” Fukasaku, in particular, teaches structure capable of printing fragrance on a previously printed image wherein the image may be previously dried, thus rewetting the substrate.
Further, Applicant argues that Fukasaku fails to teach a cleaning device, instead teaching a recovery device intended to handle defective ejections from the printhead. However, the Examiner maintains that the recovery device of Fukasaku, by clearing defective nozzles of debris or dried ink for example, embodies a cleaning device and thus reads on the language of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853