DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/265,772. Responsive to the preliminary amendment filed 6/7/2023, Claims 15-28 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. PCT/EP2021/080774, filed on 11/5/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/7/2023 and 2/6/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 6, “conductive collection” should be changed to - -conductive connections- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 15, lines 8-9 and Claim 16, line 7). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3, “the storage capacity” should be changed to - -a storage capacity- - for claim consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4, “a functional unit” should be changed to - -the functional unit- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 15, line 7, “a functional unit”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4, “a functional unit” should be changed to - -the functional unit- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 15, line 7, “a functional unit”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3, “the take-up or delivery” should be changed to - -a take-up or delivery- - for claim consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 3-4, “an AC current source” should be changed to - -the AC current source- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 17, line 3, “an AC current source”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 5, “an AC current sink” should be changed to - -the AC current sink- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 17, line 3, “an AC current sink”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2, “the plane surface” should be changed to - -a plane surface- - for claim consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4, “the one or more electrical connections” should be changed to - -the one or more electrically conductive connections- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 15, lines 5-6). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 8, “the second mechanical interface element” should be changed to - -a second mechanical interface element- - for claim consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 11, “the first mechanical interface element” should be changed to - -a first mechanical interface element- - for claim consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3, “the one or more electrical connections” should be changed to - -the one or more electrically conductive connections- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 15, lines 5-6). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4, “the displacement” should be changed to - -a displacement- - for claim consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 4-5, “the electrical interface element” should be changed to - -an electrical interface element- - for claim consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 5-6, “the one or more electrical connections” should be changed to - -the one or more electrically conductive connections- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 15, lines 5-6). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2, “of the module interfaces” should be changed to - -of module interfaces- - for claim consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2, “an expansion module” should be changed to - -the expansion module- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 15, line 1, “expansion module”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3, “a module interface” should be changed to - -the module interface- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 15, line 4, “a module interface”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 8, “an expansion module” should be changed to - -the expansion module- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 15, line 1, “expansion module”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 22, the numerous instances of the phrase “and/or” (i.e., lines 3-5, 7 and 10) render the claim indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear how all possible combinations can occur as several appear to be mutually exclusive.
Claims 23-27 are indefinite due to their dependence from indefinite Claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 20 2018 005 107 U1. Note, although cited by Applicant in the IDS dated 2/6/2026 all references to DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 herein are made to the English language translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding Claim 15, DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 discloses an expansion module (Figs. 1-2) for a vehicle (1) comprising: an onboard electrical system (Fig. 1) having an electrical energy store (4) and a receiving area (generally indicated at 2) for the expansion module, wherein the expansion module comprises: a module interface (generally indicated at 11), which is configured to form a mechanical connection (via shapes of elements 14 and 15) to a receiving interface (portion of 2 which connects to 11) of identical design of the receiving area and one or more electrically conductive collections (13) between the expansion module and the receiving area; and a functional unit (6), which is configured to provide an expansion function for the onboard electrical system of the vehicle, via the one or more electrically conductive connections (Clam 1, “energy storage (6)”).
Regarding Claim 16, DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 discloses the expansion function comprises an auxiliary storage capacity (Clam 1, “energy storage (6)”) configured to increase the storage capacity of the electrical energy store of the vehicle; and/or the expansion module, by way of a functional unit, comprises a storage module which is designed to store electrical energy (Clam 1, “energy storage (6)”); and the expansion module is configured to transmit electrical energy via the one or more electrically conductive connections between the storage module and the onboard electrical system of the vehicle (Claim 1, “energy flow between…(4) and…6”).
Regarding Claim 17, DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 discloses the expansion function comprises an electrically conductive connection of the electrical energy store of the vehicle to an AC current source or to an AC current sink (paragraph [0005], “connected via an electrical connection (cable) with an energy source (charging station)”); and/or the expansion module, by way of a functional unit, comprises an AC current interface (paragraph [0005], “connected via an electrical connection (cable) with an energy source (charging station)”); and the expansion module comprises an AC/DC converter, which is configured to convert electrical energy between a DC voltage at the module interface and an AC voltage at the AC current interface (paragraph [0005], “connected via an electrical connection (cable) with an energy source (charging station)”).
Regarding Claim 18, DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 discloses the AC current interface comprises a domestic plug socket or a domestic plug (paragraph [0005], “connected via an electrical connection (cable) with an energy source (charging station)”); and/or the AC/DC converter is designed for the take-up or delivery of an AC voltage of 110 V or 230 V at the AC current interface (paragraph [0005], “connected via an electrical connection (cable) with an energy source (charging station)”).
Regarding Claim 19, DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 discloses the expansion module is configured: to charge the electrical energy store of the vehicle with electrical energy from an AC current source (paragraph [0005], “connected via an electrical connection (cable) with an energy source (charging station)”); and/or to supply an AC current sink with electrical energy from the electrical energy store of the vehicle (paragraph [0005], “connected via an electrical connection (cable) with an energy source (charging station)”).
Regarding Claim 20, DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 discloses the module interface comprises a plane surface (generally indicated at reference numeral 14), which is configured to be arranged parallel to the plane surface of the identically designed receiving interface (portion of 2 which connects to 11), in order to form the mechanical connection and the one or more electrical connections between the expansion module and the receiving area (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 21, DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 discloses on the surface of the module interface, a first mechanical interface element (mechanical connecting portion of first element of 12) and a second mechanical interface element (mechanical connecting portion of second element of 12) are arranged; the first mechanical interface element and the second mechanical interface element are configured such that, for the formation of the mechanical connection between the module interface and the identically designed receiving interface: the first mechanical interface element forms a mechanical connection with the second mechanical interface element of the identically designed receiving interface (Figs. 1-2); and the second mechanical interface element forms a mechanical connection with the first mechanical interface element of the identically designed receiving interface (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 22 as best understood, DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 discloses the first mechanical interface element and the second mechanical interface element respectively comprise a dovetail guide or are configured in the form of a dovetail guide; and/or the first mechanical interface element and/or the second mechanical interface element respectively comprise an undercut; and/or the first mechanical interface element and the second mechanical interface element are configured, in combination, to form a positive-locking tongue-and-groove joint; and/or the first mechanical interface element and/or the second mechanical interface element comprise a lead-in region, which permits the respective other mechanical interface element to be pushed onto the respective mechanical interface element; and/or the first mechanical interface element and the second mechanical interface element are configured to form a gapless mechanical connection (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 23 as best understood, DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 discloses the first mechanical interface element and the second mechanical interface element are configured such that the mechanical connection and the one or more electrical connections between the expansion module and the receiving area can be formed by the displacement of the parallel-oriented surfaces of the module interface and the identically designed receiving interface in relation to one another (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 24 as best understood, DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 discloses an electrical interface element (electrical connecting portion of element 12) having one or more electrical contacts is arranged on the surface of the module interface; and the electrical interface element is configured, in combination with the electrical interface element of the identically designed receiving interface, to form the one or more electrical connections between the expansion module and the receiving area (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 25 as best understood, DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 discloses the module interface is configured such that, by means of the module interfaces of two expansion modules, a mechanical and one or more electrically conductive connections can be formed between the two expansion modules (Figs. 1-2; Claims 4-5, “mechanical guide”).
Regarding Claim 26 as best understood, DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 discloses the expansion module comprises a locking mechanism, which is configured to lock the mechanical connection between the module interface and the identically designed receiving interface (paragraph [0017], “locking mechanism”).
Regarding Claim 27 as best understood, DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 discloses a system (Figs. 1-2), comprising: an expansion module according to claim 26 (see detailed rejection of Claim 26 above); wherein the expansion module comprises a module interface (generally indicated at 11); and a further module having a further interface, which is designed identically to the module interface of the expansion module (paragraph [0017], “modular”); wherein the module interface and the further interface are configured to form a mechanical connection and one or more electrically conductive connections between the expansion module and the further module (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 28, DE 20 2018 005 107 U1 discloses a vehicle (Figs. 1-2) comprising: an onboard electrical system having an electrical energy store (4); and a receiving area (generally indicated at 2) for an expansion module; wherein the receiving area comprises a receiving interface (portion of 2 which connects to 11) which is configured, in combination with an identically designed module interface (generally indicated at 11) of the expansion module to form a mechanical connection (via shapes of elements 14 and 15) and one or more electrically conductive connections (13) between the expansion module and the receiving area; wherein the receiving area is configured such that, by means of a functional unit (6) of an expansion module which is arranged in the receiving area (Fig. 1), via the one or more electrically conductive connections, an expansion function is providable for the onboard electrical system of the vehicle (Clam 1, “energy storage (6)”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CHEN et al. (US 2019/0023149 A1) discloses a power system for an electric vehicle (see paragraph [0040]).
DORNDORFER et al. (US 2018/0126861 A1) discloses a modular vehicle system (see ABSTRACT).
NEWMAN (US 2017/0225588 A1) discloses a modular battery assembly (see ABSTRACT).
THOMAS et al. (US 2011/0070475 A1) discloses a battery connection device for a motor vehicle (see ABSTRACT).
HUE (US 5,432,019) disclose a battery connection system (see ABSTRACT).
EDWIN YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655
/Edwin A Young/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655