DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Claim Amendment filed 06/07/2023
2. New claim 16 was added, which is supported at paragraph [0044] of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2024/0059820.
Thus, no new matter is present at this time.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to Claim 1: The applicants are advised to add the phrase “of the alkyl (meth)acrylate monomer” after the phrases “wherein the alkyl” recited in lines 5 and 7 of claim 1.
As to Claim 14: The applicants are advised to replace the claimed phrase “A coated substrate coated” with the new phrase “A substrate coated”.
The applicants are also advised to delete the claimed “any of”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson et al. (WO 2015/1283611; utilized US 2016/0355626 as its Equivalent) in view of Deubel et al. (US 2014/0322786).
It is noted that Larson et al. (WO 2015/128361) is used for date purposes only, and all paragraph numbers cited below refer to its Equivalent, namely US 2016/0355626.
The broadest claims are directed to a thermosetting epoxy functional (meth)acrylate resin comprising, as copolymerized monomers: i) from about 10 wt. % to about 40 wt. % of an epoxy functional unsaturated monomer; ii) from about 10 wt. % to about 20 wt. % of an alkyl (meth)acrylate monomer, wherein the alkyl comprises a minimum of 6 carbon atoms, iii) from about 30 wt. % to about 70 wt. % of an alkyl (meth)acrylate monomer wherein the alkyl comprises 1 to 5 carbon atoms, iv) from about 0.5 wt. % to 40 wt. of a dialkyl vinylphosphonate monomer, v) from about 1 wt. % to about 50 wt. % of a vinyl aromatic monomer, and vi) from about 0 wt % to 0.4 wt % of a phosphonic acid monomer, wherein each monomer wt. % is based on the total weight of copolymerized monomers in the resin.
The claimed “0-0.4 wt% of a phosphonic acid monomer” is interpreted as including zero amount of phosphonic acid monomer. Thus, the claim does not require the presence of a phosphonic acid monomer.
As to Claims 1-16: Larson et al. disclose a thermosetting epoxy functional acrylic resin (Paragraph [0001]). According to Larsen et al., the term “(meth)acrylate” refers to either acrylate or methacrylate and the term “(meth)acrylic” refers to either acrylic or methacrylic (Paragraph [0126]). This resin taught by Larson et al. comprises, as copolymerized monomers, 10-40 wt.% of one or more epoxy functional unsaturated monomer, e.g., glycidyl (meth)acrylate, 10-20 wt% of one or more hydrophobic acrylic monomers including bicyclic cycloalkyl (meth)acrylates, such as isobornyl (meth)acrylates (which according to present claims 4 and 5 correspond to the claimed alkyl (meth)acrylate monomer wherein its alkyl comprises a minimum of 6 carbon atoms (ii)), 50-70 wt.% of at least one nonionic monomer selected from butyl methacrylate or methyl methacrylate (which corresponds to the claimed alkyl (methacrylate) monomer wherein the alkyl comprises 1-5 carbon atoms and also overlaps with the claimed 30-70 wt% of the alkyl (meth)acrylate monomer), and additionally 3-12 wt.% of a vinyl aromatic monomer, e.g., styrene (encompassed by the claimed 1-50 wt% of a vinyl aromatic monomer) (Paragraphs [0009], [0018], [0031]-[0032], and see also claim 7 of Larsen et al.). Larson et al. also disclose a powder coating composition comprising the above described thermosetting epoxy functional acrylic resin, including two different thermosetting epoxy functional acrylate resins, and a crosslinker capable of crosslinking the resin, wherein the crosslinker may include an organic dicarboxylic acid, anhydride, or an adduct thereof with a polyester or a polyisocyanate (Paragraphs [0011]-[0025] and [0046]). Larson et al. further disclose that the powder coating composition may additionally comprise one or more adjuvants chosen from a hydrophobic submicron particle, an adhesion promoter, a light stabilizer, and an ultraviolet (UV) absorber (Paragraphs [0012] and [0050]). Moreover, Larson et al. disclose a coated substrate coated with the powder coating composition, wherein the substrate is aluminum or a forged alloy (Paragraphs [0008] and [0010]).
While Larson et al. disclose addition of a phosphorus acid functional monomer including phosphonate monomers in their resin (Paragraphs [0042] and [0043]), they do not specify these monomers as including the dialkyl vinylphosphonate monomer recited in claims 1-3.
Nevertheless, Deubel et al. disclose the addition of at least 10 wt.% of dialkyl vinylphosphonate monomers including those containing dimethylphosphonate monomer (which overlaps with the claimed 0.5-40 wt% of a dialkyl vinylphosphonate monomer) to prepare advantageous copolymers useful for coating substrates (Paragraphs [0023]-[0024], [0073] and [0095]). See also MPEP section 2144.95 (The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since it has been held that choosing the over lapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the claimed amount of the dialkyl vinylphosphonate monomer including those containing dimethylphosphonate monomer taught by Deubel et al. as one of the phosphorus acid functional monomers in the copolymerized monomers of the resin discussed in Larson et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully using the same for coating substrates.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1-8 and 10-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 9,834,634 (hereinafter referred to as “the patent”) in view of Deubel et al. (US 2014/0322786).
The claims of the patent and the present application are directed to an epoxy functional acrylic (methacrylate) resin. The claims of the patent also recite that its resin comprises as copolymerized monomers, i) from about 10 wt. % to about 40 wt. % of one or more epoxy functional unsaturated monomers (corresponding to presently claimed epoxy functional unsaturated monomer (i)); ii) from about 10 wt. % to about 20 wt. % of one or more hydrophobic acrylic monomers including bicycloalkyl (meth)acrylate such as isobornyl (meth)acrylate (corresponding to the presently claimed alkyl (meth)acrylate monomer wherein the alkyl comprises a minimum of 6 carbon atoms (ii)), and iii) from greater than 50 wt. % to about 75 wt. % of at least one nonionic comonomer that is different from the hydrophobic acrylic monomers ii) including butyl methacrylate or methyl methacrylate (corresponding to the presently claimed alkyl (meth)acrylate wherein the alkyl comprises 1-5 carbon atoms (iii) and overlaps with the presently claimed 30-70 wt.% of the same), and 0.5-12 wt.% of a vinyl aromatic monomer, such as styrene (encompassed by the presently claimed 1-50 wt.% of a vinyl aromatic monomer). The claims of the patent and the present application further recite a power coating composition comprising the epoxy functional acrylic (methacrylate) resin including different epoxy functional acrylic (methacrylate) resins, and a crosslinker capable of crosslinking the resin, wherein the crosslinker is an organic dicarboxylic acid or anhydride, or an adduct thereof with a polyester or a polyisocyanate. Moreover, the claims of the patent and the present application recite that their powder coating composition additionally comprises one or more adjuvants selected from the group consisting of a hydrophobic submicron particle, an adhesion promoter, a light stabilizer, an ultraviolet (UV) absorber and a combination thereof. Lastly, the claims of the present application and the present application recite a coated substrate coated with a powder coating composition, said powder coating composition comprising the thermosetting epoxy functional (meth)acrylate resin and a crosslinker for the resin, wherein the substrate is aluminum or a forged alloy.
However, the claims of the patent do not specifically mention the addition a dialkyl vinylphosphonate monomer including those comprising a dimethylphosphonate monomer and its particular amount as recited in claims 1-3 of the present application.
Nevertheless, Deubel et al. disclose the addition of at least 10 wt.% of dialkyl vinylphosphonate monomers including those containing dimethylphosphonate monomer (which overlaps with the presently claimed 0.5-40 wt% of a dialkyl vinylphosphonate monomer) to prepare advantageous copolymers useful for coating substrates (Paragraphs [0023]-[0024], [0073] and [0095]). See also MPEP section 2144.95 (The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since it has been held that choosing the over lapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the presently claimed amount of the dialkyl vinylphosphonate monomer including those containing dimethylphosphonate monomer taught by Deubel et al. in the copolymerized monomers of the resin recited in the claims of the patent, with a reasonable expectation of successfully using the same for coating substrates.
Correspondence
/HANNAH J PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764
1 Cited in the IDS submitted by applicants on 06/07/2023.