DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on application number 18/265,780 filed on 06/07/2023 with a foreign priority date of 12/28/2021. Claims 1-9, and 11-19 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the reference numbers are too blurry to understand the specific parts of the invention. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yongtong (CN206631413U)
Regarding Claim 1: Yongtong teaches an organic waste gas purifying equipment which is comprised of a gas inlet 1, and gas outlet 2 and a gas channel labeled as AB as shown in the annotated diagram below. Gas channel AB is a space within the purifying equipment. The first mounting unit and the second mounting units corresponds to a housing that is connected to an outlet and inlet, respectively where gas passes through and is shown in the annotated diagram. The annotated diagram also shows a second mounting unit is in communication with gas inlet and a first mounting unit is in communication with gas outlet. Multiple filtering units (42, 43, 44, 45) are shown as well and they are detachably connected with one other and located between the first mounting unit and the second mounting unit [para 017]. Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus and parts of claim 1 recite limitation, “an exhaust gas is adapted to be guided into the second mounting unit from the air inlet, then through the filtering unit from the first mounting side and to move towards the second mounting side, and finally, sequentially through the first mounting unit and the air outlet to leave the exhaust gas filtering apparatus” is directed to intended use, which depicts the function of the apparatus and thus not given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 2, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yongtong (CN206631413U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DE202020104163U1
Regarding Claim 2, 3 and 4: Yongtong teaches a purifying apparatus that is comprised of multiple filter units 42, 43, 44, 45 covered by shell 41 (claim 3). Filter inlet and filter outlet (claim 2, 3) is shown in the annotated diagram below. Yontong further teaches that the filtering unit and first mounting unit(as shown above in the annotated diagram in paragraph 1) are attached in manner where the filter outlet is aligned with the mounting opening so that when air flows through the filter and outlet, no air is hitting any barriers. Yongtong specifically does not teach limitations of the first mounting unit, mounting component, mounting part, and mounting accessory as described in claims 2, 3, and 4.
However, DE202020104163U1 teach an air filter device which is comprised of multiple filtering units that are detachably connected through fastening unit 50 which consists of fastening elements 51 (mounting accessory/permanent seat; claim 4), and 52 (mounting part/hook; claim 4) as shown in the annotated diagram below [fig 2]. A mounting opening, mounting component, mounting accessory is shown below in the annotated diagram. Fastening element 51 has a structure similar to the claimed mounting accessory [fig 2]. The fastening member 52 has a structure similar to a hook (claim 4). Fastening element 51 extends from the housing and is detachably hung over element 52 [fig. 1, 2, 3, 4].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the fastening unit into the invention of Yongtong because DE202020104163U1 teach that fastening unit provides connection between filters and between filter and air bubble box [para 20].
3. Claims 5, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yongtong (CN206631413U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kippel et al. (CN108979863B)
Regarding Claim 5, 6, and 7: Yongtong teaches an air purifying apparatus but does not teach a monitoring unit comprised of multiple modules.
However, Kippel et al. teach an intake system which is comprised of a strain gauge 23. The strain gauge (detecting module) is connected to a computer 26, display 39 (observation window) for visual indicators such as filter status and filter state logic 28 (indicating module) that shows the state of the filter meaning whether the filter is clean or needs replacement by receiving signals from strain gauge. [para 66-72]. The computer has processors 36 and/or 38 (processing module) which executes filter state logic 28. The overall combination corresponds to the monitoring unit. The gauge can be placed with the filter or near the filter (e.g., in the filter, before the filter, in the middle of the filter, and/or after the filter) [para 021-022; para 066].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the invention of Kippel et al. into the invention of Yantong because Kippel et al. teach that the gauge along with the components assists in knowing the filter status on whether the filters are working or in proper condition [para 68-71]. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to place the gauge behind a filtering unit because Kippel et al. teach that the gauge assist in reading pressure drop and assist in observing degradation of individual filters [para 0059].
4. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yongtong (CN206631413U) as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of DE202020104163U1 and further in view of Fumiyuki et al. (EP0815919A2)
Regarding Claim 8: Yongtong teach an air purifying apparatus but does not teach an outlet valve.
DE202020104163U1 teach an air filtering device that is vertically oriented where filter boxes are placed on top of each other. The “first mounting unit’” and “the second mounting unit” corresponds to a structure similar to a housing and the filtering apparatus from DE202020104163U1 shows housing component as shown in fig. 1, where a second mounting unit would be located below first mounting unit. When that happens, the air inlet can be placed at the bottom of the apparatus of DE202020104163U1 and it would be obvious and be a matter of design choice, which is not given patentable weight.
Fumiyuki teach a filter unit which is comprised of an outlet valve that can be opened or closed for liquid flow.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a valve because Fumiyuki et al. teach that the valve assists in flowing out hot solution [column 9, lines 1-17].
5. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yongtong (CN206631413U)
Regarding Claim 9: Yongtong teach an air purifying apparatus as described in claim 1 above but does not teach a sealing ring.
However, Yongtong teaches flanges 46, that are used to connect outer shells 41 of filtering units 42, 43, 44, and 45. Two adjacent shells 41 are connected by bolts 47 passing through the connecting flanges 46. A sealing gasket 48 (sealing ring) is also provided between the connecting flanges 46 of two adjacent outer shells 41. By setting the sealing gasket 48, the sealing between two adjacent housings 41 can be increased, which is safer and would reduce gas leakage [para28]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the flange and gasket combination between a mounting unit and filter unit for communication and seal-ability because Yongtong teach that having a gasket reduces exhaust gas leakage and improves safety of the equipment [para 028].
6. Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yongtong (CN206631413U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jian (CN110904429A)
Regarding Claim 11: Yongtong teach an air purifying apparatus as described in claim 1 above but does not teach a coating equipment.
However, Jian teaches a coating device with a coating body having a coating chamber (1110) as shown in figure 3 and 4.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a coating equipment with the filtering apparatus because Jian teaches that the coating device provides sealed coating space for a product to be coated, which avoids instability and enhances quality of the product to be coated [para 012-014].
Regarding Claim 19: Yongtong teach an air purifying apparatus as described in claim 1 above but does not teach a sealing ring.
However, Yongtong teaches flanges 46, that are used to connect outer shells 41 of filtering units 42, 43, 44, and 45. Two adjacent shells 41 are connected by bolts 47 passing through the connecting flanges 46. A sealing gasket 48 (sealing ring) is also provided between the connecting flanges 46 of two adjacent outer shells 41. By setting the sealing gasket 48, the sealing between two adjacent housings 41 can be increased, which is safer and would reduce gas leakage [para28]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the flange and gasket combination between a mounting unit and filter unit for communication and seal-ability because Yongtong teach that having a gasket reduces exhaust gas leakage and improves safety of the equipment [para 028].
7. Claims 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yongtong (CN206631413U) in view of Jian (CN110904429A) as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of (DE202020104163U1)
Regarding Claim 12, 13 and 14: Yongtong teaches a purifying apparatus that is comprised of multiple filter units 42, 43, 44, 45 covered by shell 41 (claim 3). Filter inlet and filter outlet (claim 2, 3) is shown in the annotated diagram below. Yontong further teaches that the filtering unit and first mounting unit(as shown above in the annotated diagram in paragraph 1) are attached in manner where the filter outlet is aligned with the mounting opening so that when air flows through the filter and outlet, no air is hitting any barriers. Yongtong specifically does not teach limitations of the first mounting unit, mounting component, mounting part, and mounting accessory as described in claims 2, 3, and 4.
However, DE202020104163U1 teach an air filter device which is comprised of multiple filtering units that are detachably connected through fastening unit 50 which consists of fastening elements 51 (mounting accessory/permanent seat; claim 4), and 52 (mounting part/hook; claim 4) as shown in the annotated diagram below [fig 2]. A mounting opening, mounting component, mounting accessory is shown below in the annotated diagram. Fastening element 51 has a structure similar to the claimed mounting accessory [fig 2]. The fastening member 52 has a structure similar to a hook (claim 4). Fastening element 51 extends from the housing and is detachably hung over element 52 [fig. 1, 2, 3, 4].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the fastening unit into the invention of Yongtong because DE202020104163U1 teach that fastening unit provides connection between filters and between filter and air bubble box [para 20].
8. Claims 15, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yongtong (CN206631413U) in view of Jian (CN110904429A) as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Kippel et al. (CN108979863B)
Regarding Claim 15, 16, and 17: Yongtong teaches an air purifying apparatus but does not teach a monitoring unit comprised of multiple modules.
However, Kippel et al. teach an intake system which is comprised of a strain gauge 23. The strain gauge (detecting module) is connected to a computer 26, display 39 (observation window) for visual indicators such as filter status and filter state logic 28 (indicating module) that shows the state of the filter meaning whether the filter is clean or needs replacement by receiving signals from strain gauge. [para 66-72]. The computer has processors 36 and/or 38 (processing module) which executes filter state logic 28. The overall combination corresponds to the monitoring unit. The gauge can be placed with the filter or near the filter (e.g., in the filter, before the filter, in the middle of the filter, and/or after the filter) [para 021-022; para 066].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the invention of Kippel et al. into the invention of Yantong because Kippel et al. teach that the gauge along with the components assists in knowing the filter status on whether the filters are working or in proper condition [para 68-71]. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to place the gauge behind a filtering unit because Kippel et al. teach that the gauge assist in reading pressure drop and assist in observing degradation of individual filters [para 0059].
9. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yongtong (CN206631413U) in view of Jian (CN110904429A) as applied to claim 11 above and in view of DE202020104163U1 and further in view of Fumiyuki et al. (EP0815919A2)
Regarding Claim 18: Yongtong teach an air purifying apparatus but does not teach a liquid outlet. DE202020104163U1 teach an air filtering device that is vertically oriented where filter boxes are placed on top of each other. The “first mounting unit’” and “the second mounting unit” corresponds to a structure similar to a housing and the filtering apparatus from DE202020104163U1 shows housing component as shown in fig. 1, where a second mounting unit would be located below first mounting unit and when this configuration happens, the air inlet can be placed at the bottom of the apparatus of DE202020104163U1 and it would be obvious and be a matter of design choice, which is not given patentable weight. DE202020104163U1 does not teach a liquid outlet.
However, Fumiyuki teach a filter unit which is comprised of an outlet valve (liquid outlet) that can be opened or closed for liquid flow. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a valve because Fumiyuki et al. teach that the valve assists in flowing out hot solution [column 9, lines 1-17].
Conclusion
/WASIQUL HAQ/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717