Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are interpreted in view of the instant specification and include: driving device in claim 1 to include to include a at least gears, crank arms, a motor, or equivalents thereof, fixing member in claim 1, stop or equivalents thereof, interlocking mechanism in claim 1 interpreted to include a pin, plate, latch or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation wherein a diameter of the first hole and a diameter of the second hole have sizes that block contact of an operator from an inside of the column case via the first
hole and the second hole to the first pipe and the second pipe in the open state, this is unclear, is this blocking an operator with access to the inside of the column case from contacting the pipes, or blocking the operator from access to the inside of the column case through the areas around the first and second pipe. Claim 5 is rejected as dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lerner (US 12,422,777)
With respect to claim 1, Lerner teaches a clamp for chromatography columns (abstract, a separation column connection device), comprising seals 12 and 16 with openings 14 and 18, movable seal 16 arranged in tube 44, and the openings coupled to pipes 38 and 40 (C2/L34-C3/L52, C4/L53-C5/L4, a first pipe that moves) tube 44 which can fit around a chromatography column (C4/L53-C5/L5, supporting a column case arranged between the first pipe and the second pipe, the column case having a first hole with which the first pipe communicates and a second hole with which the second pipe communicates, supporting a first pipe along a first direction and moves the first pipe in the first direction), lever 36 actuates the movable seal between rest and work positions (C4/L25-55, a driving device), first seal 12 a non-movable seal, and controlled force can be exerted on the seal by a resilient force (C3/L31-52, C5/L5-35, a fixing member that fixes a second pipe so as to be opposed to the first pipe along the first direction), clamp 10 (Fig. 1, an interlocking mechanism that moves the column case in the first direction in conjunction with movement of the first pipe), the movable seal actuates between rest and work positions (C4/L25-55, Figures, the column case allows a column cartridge retaining a separation column to be connected and disconnected, and wherein the driving device moves the first pipe and the interlocking mechanism such that two states are reversibly taken, the two states including a closed state in which the separation column is pressurized and sandwiched between the first pipe and the second pipe and an open state in which the first pipe and the second pipe are positioned at an outer side of the column case).
With respect to claim 2, the separation column connection device according claim 1, is taught above. Lerner teaches the clamp (interlocking mechanism) presses the column between the seals, and the column is compressed against the seals, at minimum the compression of the seal would move the column farther than the tube (C8/L26-67, C/-C10, Figs., wherein the interlocking mechanism moves the column case such that a moving amount of the column case is less than a moving amount of the first pipe).
With respect to claim 3, the device of claim 1, is taught above. Lerner teaches seals 16 and 12 (connecting to first and second pipes as discussed above, and tube 44 see Figs. 2-6 (the open state is a state where an interval between the first pipe and the second pipe is larger than a width in the first direction of the column case).
With respect to claim 4, the device of claim 1, is taught above. See 112(b) rejection above, Lerner teaches a tube which may fit around the column case as discussed above, absent clarification which would prevent an operator from accessing the first or second pipe from inside the tube, a diameter of the first hole and a diameter of the second hole have sizes that block contact of an operator from an inside of the column case via the first hole and the second hole to the first pipe and the second pipe in the open state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerner in view of Muller (US 5,194,225).
With respect to claim 5, the device of claim 4 is taught above. Lerner teaches tube 44 which can fit around the column, but is silent as to the diameter of the first hole and the diameter of the second hole are 10 mm or less. Muller teaches chromatography cartridge systems and that customary columns have a diameter of 3-80 mm are usually employed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lerner’s taught device such the diameter of the first hole and the diameter of the second hole are 10 mm or less depending on the size of the column cartridge as according to Muller customary columns are 3-80 mm (see MPEP 2144.05 in the case of overlapping ranges a case of prima facie obviousness exists) and as when a primary reference is silent as to a certain detail, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to consult a secondary reference which satisfies the deficiencies of the primary reference.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerner in view of Nogami (US 2022/0155266), Ozbal (US 11,531,009), and Brann (US PG Pub 2013/0306653).
With respect to claim 12, the device of claim 1 is taught above. Lerner is silent as to the column cartridge includes an information recording unit allows recording of information of the column cartridge, wherein the separation column connection device further includes an information reader disposed at a position opposed to the information recording unit, the information reader allowing recording and writing of information of the information recording unit, and wherein the information reader has a readable range larger than a moving range of the information recording unit between the open state and the closed state, however the use and placement of a barcode and reader would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Nogami, Ozbal, and Brann, Nogami teaches a similar column change apparatus (abstract, Fig. 2), with an RFID tag and reader are employed (abstract, 0055, 0073), Ozbal teaches an automated column changer with a motorized stage and movable coupler (Fig. 9, C 13L17-50), where codes are reach by the system in various locations (C29-C30), Brann teaches a connector apparatus for a column (Figs. 4-6) and cartridge and system with barcodes and a reader (0044). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Learner’s taught device to include the column cartridge includes an information recording unit allows recording of information of the column cartridge, wherein the separation column connection device further includes an information reader disposed at a position opposed to the information recording unit, the information reader allowing recording and writing of information of the information recording unit, and wherein the information reader has a readable range larger than a moving range of the information recording unit between the open state and the closed state, as barcodes and readers are known in the art as shown by Nogami, Ozbal and Brann, and to optimize the placement to ensure proper reading of the barcodes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
While the use of a motor and heating means as required in claims 6 and 8 are known in the art, the full scope of the limitations of claims 6 and 8 are not taught or suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Van Pelt (US10,077859)’
/JEANNIE MCDERMOTT/ Examiner, Art Unit 1777
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777