DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/25 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Regarding the 101 rejection, the amendments are sufficient to resolve the 101 issues.
Regarding Gillberg, Applicant asserts Gillberg merely discloses placing electrodes around the chest, and that the rejection does not explain how Gillberg inherently meets the recited electrode axis placement. However, Gillberg discloses the plurality of sensors surrounds the heart (Paragraph 72). The plurality of sensors includes many sensors, as shown in Figures 5-6 (see also Paragraph 71: sensors could include at least 256 sensors). When these many sensors surround the heart, then at least one observation axis would pass through a cardiac apex part or ventricle anterior wall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gillberg (US 2015/0157225).
Regarding claims 1, 6-8, Gillberg discloses the same invention as claimed (Figures 5-6 shown above for example), including an electrode arrangement method for arranging a first-axis positive electrode and a first-axis negative electrode that is an electrode different from the first-axis positive electrode (abstract; Figures 5-6) comprising: arranging the first-axis positive electrode on a body surface of a wearer (e.g. Figure 1A: 20; Figure 6: 620; Paragraph 60: a reference electrode which can be on posterior of patient torso), and arranging the first-axis negative electrode on the body surface of the wearer (e.g. Figures 1A, 6: an anterior measurement electrode) so that a first observation axis, which is a straight line connecting the first-axis positive electrode and the first-axis negative electrode, passes through a cardiac apex part or a ventricle anterior wall of the wearer (Figures 5-6; Paragraph 72; plurality of sensors surrounds heart such that at least one observation axis would pass through a cardiac apex part or ventricle anterior wall).
Regarding claim 2, Gillberg discloses a plurality of non-parallel observation axes (Figure 6).
Further regarding claim 8, Gillberg discloses a garment as recited (Figures 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillberg (US 2015/0157225) in view of Masuda (US 2019/0282821).
Regarding claim 3, Gillberg does not disclose using a measurement vector parallel to the electromotive force vector of the heart. However, Masuda teaches arranging several orthogonal measurement vectors (Paragraphs 94-95; one would be substantially parallel to the electromotive force vector), in order to more easily derive the electromotive force of the heart. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gillberg as taught by Masuda to include a measurement vector as recited, in order to more easily derive the electromotive force of the heart.
Regarding claim 4, the orthogonal arrangement of Gillberg and Masuda appears to satisfy the recited condition since no particular threshold is required.
Regarding claim 5, Gillberg discloses the positive electrodes can be the same electrode (Figure 1A: 20; Figure 6: 620; Paragraph 72: unipolar measurements uses same reference electrode).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rowlandson (US 2008/0312522) shows a garment with arrays of electrodes.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796