DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, 12, and 13 in the reply filed on March 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 and 23-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 26, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings were received on June 7, 2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 7, the term “preferably” renders the clam indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed subject matter.
With respect to claim 12, the term “preferably” renders the clam indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hansen et al (US 2017/0145372 A1) (provided by applicant in IDS dated 6/7/2023).
With respect to claim 1 Hansen discloses a cell culture system controller (processing unit and memory, See Para. 0040; improved and programmable temperature control system described Paras. 0022 and 0029-0031) for controlling the environment of a cell culture system (incubator, See Fig. 5 and Paras. 0040-0043), the controller configured to receive intrauterine data and adjust one or more environmental parameters of a cell culture system environment over a period of time based on the intrauterine data (See Paras. 0028-0029 for discussion of how the incubator simulates the conditions in the uterus; a temperature control system is configured to provide the incubating chamber(s) with a predefined temperature profile, which optionally can be a profile with cyclic temperature variation, and where the cycle optionally can be repeated. In a further embodiment, the cyclic temperature profile can be set to simulate biological temperature variations, such as the daily variation known as the basal body temperature cycle).
With respect to claim 2, Hansen discloses that the intrauterine data comprises monitored uterine conditions (See Para. 0028 for discussion of basal body temperature cycles being simulated).
With respect to claim 3 Hansen discloses that the one or more environmental parameters are adjusted to replicate the environment of a single patient's uterus (See Para. 0031 for discussion of how the incubator comprises a plurality of incubating chambers that may be configured such that the temperature and cyclic temperature variation in each chamber can be controlled independently; the incorporation of separate chambers represents reducing the risk of cross contamination or mix up from patient to patient).
With respect to claim 4 Hansen discloses that the period of time is at least 24 hours (See Para. 0030 for discussion of how a 24 hour cycle can be utilized).
With respect to claim 5 Hansen discloses that the controller is configured to generate a time-dependent function based on the intrauterine data and wherein the one or more environmental parameters are adjusted according to the time-dependent function (See Para. 0030).
With respect to claim 6 Hansen discloses that the profile of the time-dependent function is shaped to adjust the one or more environmental parameters to a maximum value and/or minimum value at least twice over the period of time (See Para. 0030).
With respect to claim 7 Hansen discloses that the controller is configured to use the intrauterine data to adjust the temperature linearly between a first value at a first time and a second value at a second time, preferably wherein the first and second times are at least 12 hours apart, and more preferably at least 24 hours apart (See Para. 0030 for further discussion of how the temperature control system is configured to provide the incubating chamber(s) with a cyclic variation in temperature, controlled by a predefined maximum temperature (Tmax) and minimum temperature (Tmin), and a temperature ramp by piecewise linear changes defined by Tmax, Tmin, a start time and an end time for ramping, and with discrete incremental steps of 0.1°C; a temperature cycle is defined by 24 hours duration, Tmax, Tmin, and four predefined temperature change times, and wherein said cycle is repeated automatically).
With respect to claim 8 Hansen discloses that the intrauterine data comprises at least two measurements of an environmental parameter (See Para. 0030 for further discussion of how the temperature control system is configured to provide the incubating chamber(s) with a cyclic variation in temperature, controlled by a predefined maximum temperature (Tmax) and minimum temperature (Tmin), and a temperature ramp by piecewise linear changes defined by Tmax, Tmin, a start time and an end time for ramping, and with discrete incremental steps of 0.1°C; An example of such a 24 hours cycle is illustrated in FIG. 1, where t1, t2, t3 and t4 indicate the predefined times for temperature changes).
With respect to claim 9 Hansen discloses that the one or more environmental parameters are selected from: temperature, oxygen concentration, pH, pressure, light, humidity, a nutrient, a hormone, and a carbon dioxide concentration (See Para. 0030; also see Para. 0032 for discussion of the regulation of oxygen concentration inside an incubation chamber).
With respect to claim 12 Hansen discloses that the controller is configured to receive intrauterine data and adjust two or more environmental parameters of the cell culture system environment over a period of time based on the intrauterine data, and preferably three or more environmental parameters (See Paras. 0018-19 and 0030-0032 for discussion of how the system adjusts temperature and oxygen and/or CO2 concentration over a specified period of time).
With respect to claim 13 Hansen discloses that the cell culture system is configured to culture embryonic cells (See Para. 0016 for discussion of how the incubator is for incubating embryos). Applicant should note the italicized limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus. All the structural limitations of the claim have been disclosed by Hansen and the apparatus of Hansen is capable of the recitation of claim 13. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Hansen (see MPEP §2114).
Conclusion
/BRITTANY I FISHER/Examiner, Art Unit 1796 April 18, 2026