DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-18 were originally filed June 7, 2023.
The preliminary amendment received June 7, 2023 amended claims 3-6, 11-14, 17, and 18.
Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Claims 1 and 6 are currently under consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on February 5, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that Groups I and II share a single general inventive concept and that Omura et al. do not teach polypeptide variants with increased water solubility and moesin binding relative to SEQ ID NO: 1. This is not found persuasive because the least common denominator may be utilized to break Unity of Invention. The present method does not even require the polypeptide of claim 1, but refers to a generic “polypeptide, fragment, or fusion polypeptide or fragment thereof” without any additional structure or any relationship to SEQ ID NO: 1. Therefore, Groups I and II are not linked by a general inventive concept. In addition, independent claim 1 is much broader in scope than applicants’ representative has characterized the polypeptide. Independent claim 1 comprises a variant of SEQ ID NO: 1 or a fragment thereof and potentially a fusion polypeptide. There is a disconnect between the preamble and the body of the claim (i.e. preamble - variant of SEQ ID NO: 1, fragment thereof, or fusion polypeptide; body of claim – variant of SEQ ID NO: 1, or a fragment thereof). Furthermore, it is unclear from present independent claim 1 if the fragment or fusion polypeptide are fragments or fusions of SEQ ID NO: 1 or fragments or fusions of a variant SEQ ID NO: 1. In addition, while functional limitations may be utilized in the claims, the structure required for the function should be clear.
Please note: elections are definitive and NOT conditional (see page 4, second paragraph of the response received February 5, 2026).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 5, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of variants of SEQ ID NO: 1 having increased water solubility and moesin binding activity and comprising an affinity tag in the reply filed on February 5, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the “alleged species differ only in routine and predictable modifications such as deletions, affinity tags, and orientation, which do not render them patentably distinct” and a “search of any one species would reasonably encompass the others, and no materially different patentability issues arise among the disclosed embodiments”. This is not found persuasive because applicants neglected to traverse the prior art of record utilized to break Unity of Invention. In addition, a search for one sequence or affinity tag may not be coextensive with a search for another seqeucne or affinity tag.
Please note: the examiner of record thanks the attorney of record for clearly stating on the record that the species are not patently distinct and have no materially different patentability issues (see page 3, last paragraph of the response received February 5, 2026). Thus, the species are all obvious variants of each other by applicants’ assertion.
Please note: elections are definitive and NOT conditional (see page 4, second paragraph of the response received February 5, 2026).
Please note: applicants’ representative elected subgenuses (i.e. variants of SEQ ID NO: 1 having increased water solubility and moesin binding activity and an affinity tag) instead of single, specific species, therefore, the subgenuses were searched.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 2-5 and 7-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 5, 2026.
Potential Rejoinder
Applicants elected claims directed to a product. If a product claim is subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that depend from or otherwise include all the limitations of the allowable product claim will be rejoined in accordance with the provisions of MPEP § 821.04. Process claims that depend from or otherwise include all the limitations of the patentable product will be entered as a matter of right if the amendment is presented prior to final rejection or allowance, whichever is earlier. Amendments submitted after final rejection are governed by 37 CFR 1.116; amendments submitted after allowance are governed by 37 CFR 1.312.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all the criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103, and 112. Until an elected product claim is found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowed product claim will not be rejoined. See “Guidance on Treatment of Product and Process Claims in light of In re Ochiai, In re Brouwer and 35 U.S.C. § 103(b),” 1184 O.G. 86 (March 26, 1996). Additionally, in order to retain the right to rejoinder in accordance with the above policy, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution either to maintain dependency on the product claims or to otherwise include the limitations of the product claims. Failure to do so may result in a loss of the right to a rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Priority
The present application is a 371 (National Stage) of PCT/US2021/062280 filed December 7, 2021 which claims the benefit of 63/281,132 filed November 19, 2021 and 63/122,451 filed December 7, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, “the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper.” Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). Sequence identifiers for sequences (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
See Figures 4, 9A, and 9B.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Amended drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the preamble should be clarified (e.g. A polypeptide comprising, A variant polypeptide, etc.). The claim language is unnecessarily convoluted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the commas in the claim should be reviewed in order to clarify the claim (e.g. a variant of SEQ ID NO: 1 or a fragment thereof; a variant of SEQ ID NO: 1, a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 1, or a fusion polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1). The claim language is unnecessarily convoluted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: articles are missing from the claim (e.g. a fragment thereof, a fusion polypeptide). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the following is suggested the “polypeptide of claim 1 comprising a sequence with more than 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1”. The claim language is unnecessarily convoluted. Appropriate correction is required.
Sequence Interpretation
The Office interprets claims comprising SEQ ID NOs: in the following manner: “comprising a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1” requires only a 2mer of SEQ ID NO: 1, “comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1” requires the full-length sequence with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 with any N-/C-terminal additions or any 5’/3’ additions, “consisting of SEQ ID NO: 1” requires the full-length sequence with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 and the same length as SEQ ID NO: 1, and “selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, and 3” requires the full-length sequence with 100% identity to SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, or 3 and the same length as SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, or 3. Any claim requiring a specific percent identity, necessarily requires at least the recited percent identity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection.
With regard to the written description requirement, the attention of the Applicant is directed to The Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit which held that a “written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, ‘requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula [or] chemical name,’ of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials.” University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1405 (1997), quoting Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (bracketed material in original) [The claims at issue in University of California v. Eli Lilly defined the invention by function of the claimed DNA (encoding insulin)] (the case is referred to herein as “Lilly”).
Additionally, it is noted that written description is legally distinct from enablement: “Although the two concepts are entwined, they are distinct and each is evaluated under separate legal criteria. The written description requirement, a question of fact, ensures that the inventor conveys to others that he or she had possession of the claimed invention; whereas, the enablement requirement, a question of law, ensures that the inventor conveys to others how to make and use the claimed invention.” See 1242 OG 169 (January 30, 2001) citing University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co.
Although directed to DNA compounds, this Eli Lilly holding would be deemed to be applicable to any compound or a generic of compounds; which requires a representative sample of compounds and/or a showing of sufficient identifying characteristics; to demonstrate possession of the compound or generic(s). In this regard, applicant is further referred to University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed. Cir. 1997); “Guidelines for Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 USC 112, first paragraph, ‘Written Description’ Requirement” published in 1242 OG 168-178 (January 30, 2001); and Univ. Of Rochester v G. D. Searle and Co. 249 F. Supp. 2d 216 (W.D.N.Y. 2003) affirmed by the CAFC on February 13, 2004 (03-1304) publication pending.
Additionally, Lilly sets forth a two part test for written description:
A description of a genus of cDNA’s may be achieved by means of a recitation of:
a representative number of cDNA’s, defined by nucleotide sequence, falling within the scope of the genus OR of a recitation of structural features common to the members of the genus.
See Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co. 119 F.3d 1559 (Fed. Cir. 1997) at 1569.
Finally, University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404, 1405 held that:
...To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966.
Additionally, Cf. University of Rochester v G.D. Searle & Co., Inc., Monsanto Company, Pharmacia Corporation, and Pfizer Inc., No. 03-1304, 2004 WL 260813 (Fed. Cir., Feb. 13, 2004) held that:
Regardless whether a compound is claimed per se or a method is claimed that entails the use of the compound, the inventor cannot lay claim to that subject matter unless he can provide a description of the compound sufficient to distinguish infringing compounds from non-infringing compounds, or infringing methods from non-infringing methods.
In the present instance, the specification discloses only limited examples that are not representative of the claimed genus of a “polypeptide which is a variant of SEQ ID NO: 1, fragment thereof, or fusion polypeptide, comprising a variant of SEQ ID NO: 1, or a fragment thereof, having an increased water solubility compared to SEQ ID NO: 1 which binds to moesin, wherein the polypeptide comprises an affinity tag” (independent claim 1) and dependent claim 6 is drawn to a polypeptide with more than 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO: 2; nor do the claims recite sufficient structural features which are common to members of the genus sufficient to demonstrate possession of the genus. The instant claims define the polypeptide by the functional limitation of having an increased water solubility compared to SEQ ID NO: 1 which binds to moesin. The claimed variant or fragment is only defined by functional properties (e.g. having an increased water solubility compared to SEQ ID NO: 1 which binds to moesin). The CAFC held that a functional definition is insufficient to adequately describe a product, therefore, an adequate written description not based on a functional definition is necessary.
The Examiner further notes the present claims stated by Applicant are broader in scope that those that were held to be impermissible in Lilly because, unlike Lilly, Applicants’ claims encompass a vast number of variants, fragments, and fusion polypeptides. Here, the Applicant claims a variant, fragment, or fusion polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1 with no limit on the variants, location of where the variants may be to retain the function, and no limit on the fragments or a common core structure necessary for the function. The scope of these claims includes a vast number of sequences because the specification and claims do not place any limit on the number of components (e.g. which amino acids may be varied or deleted), the type of components (e.g. what common core or residues), or how the components are combined (e.g. which amino acids are necessary for the function). Furthermore, the specification and claims do not place any limit on the number of components, the types of components, or the manner in which the components might be connected to achieve a polypeptide having an increased water solubility compared to SEQ ID NO: 1 which binds to moesin. Therefore, Applicants are using an inadequately described function to inadequately describe the claimed polypeptide. In addition, the having an increased water solubility compared to SEQ ID NO: 1 which binds to moesin further exacerbates this problem because the conditions under which the polypeptide has an increased water solubility compared to SEQ ID NO: 1 which binds to moesin are not specified. Consequently, there is no teaching that would allow a person of skill in the art to determine a priori that the Applicant was in possession of the full scope of the claimed invention at the time of filing because there is no common structural attributes that can link together all of the claimed polypeptide variants, fragments, or fusion polypeptides.
While the general knowledge and level of skill in the art for making polypeptides is high, this knowledge and level of skill does not supplement the omitted description because specific, not general, guidance is needed for the polypeptides having an increased water solubility compared to SEQ ID NO: 1 which binds to moesin. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes or characteristics that identify all of the members of the genus or even a substantial portion thereof, and because the genus is vast and highly variant (e.g. any variant, and fragment, etc.), the limited examples in the specification (please refer to Figures 1-5 and 7; paragraphs 11, 25-30, 34, 79, and 111-145; SEQ ID NO: 2 – residues 79-197 of SEQ ID NO: 1) are insufficient to teach the entire genus.
The specification discloses only limited examples (i.e. SEQ ID NO: 2 – residues 79-197 of SEQ ID NO: 1) that are not representative of the claimed genus of a polypeptide variant, fragment or fusion of SEQ ID NO: 1 having an increased water solubility compared to SEQ ID NO: 1 which binds to moesin; nor do the claims recite sufficient structural features which are common to members of the genus sufficient to demonstrate possession of the genus. Therefore, the teachings in the specification are general teachings relating without guidance as to the individual components of the product. In addition, there are numerous polypeptides that could be employed in the invention with little direction or guidance for one of skill in the art to practice the claimed invention. The expedient statements in the specification do not relate to an adequate disclosure or how to make and use the claimed invention. Consequently, one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to adequately describe the vast genus. Thus, Applicant does not appear to be in possession of the claimed genus.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. One of skill in the art would not be able to determine the scope of the present claims. For example, it is unclear if the polypeptide is a variant of SEQ ID NO: 1, a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 1, or a fusion of SEQ ID NO: 1 (i.e. preamble) or if the polypeptide is a variant of SEQ ID NO: 1 or a fragment of the variant of SEQ ID NO: 1 (body of the claim). It would appear that that the variant and the fragment would necessarily be a fusion since the polypeptide requires an affinity tag. Therefore, it is unclear what the fusion polypeptide adds to the claim since every polypeptide would be a fusion polypeptide. If applicants are attempting to differentiate between polypeptide affinity tags and non-polypeptide affinity tags, this should be clearly stated in the claims.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. One of skill in the art would not be able to determine the scope of the present claims. For example, it is unclear what structure is required for the presently claimed function (i.e. increased water solubility compared to SEQ ID NO: 1 which binds moesin).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. One of skill in the art would not be able to determine the scope of the present claims. For example, it is unclear how a polypeptide with more than 99% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 can be a variant or fragment of SEQ ID NO: 1 (i.e. 100% identity). Please also refer to more than 90%, more than 95%, more than 96%, more than 97%, and more than 98% which also encompass 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 6 recites the broad recitation more than 90%, and the claim also recites more than 95%, more than 96%, more than 97%, more than 98%, or more than 99% which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "SEQ ID NO: 2" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 depends on independent claim 1. Independent claim 1 requires a variant of SEQ ID NO: 1. Dependent claim 6 requires a polypeptide with more than 99% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1. Therefore, claim 6 requires 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 which is not a variant (i.e. failure to further limit independent claim 1). The same is true for the ranges or more than 90%, more than 95%, more than 96%, more than 97%, and more than 98% which also encompass 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to haymaker/tom40 (SEQ ID NO: 1; 100% identity of present claim 6) or fragments of haymaker/tom40 (SEQ ID NO: 1) without significantly more. The claims recite the following structure a polypeptide which is a variant of SEQ ID NO: 1, fragment thereof, or fusion polypeptide, comprising a variant of SEQ ID NO: 1, or a fragment thereof wherein the polypeptide comprises an affinity tag. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the present claims are drawn to a product. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the affinity tag is not specified (i.e. potentially a domain of SEQ ID NO: 1, unclear how the affinity tag is associated with SEQ ID NO: 1, etc.).
SEQ ID NO: 1
RESULT 1
TOM40_HUMAN
ID TOM40_HUMAN Reviewed; 361 AA.
AC O96008; A0A024R0P9; Q86VW4; Q8WY09; Q8WY10; Q8WY11; Q9BR95;
DT 11-JAN-2001, integrated into UniProtKB/Swiss-Prot.
DT 01-MAY-1999, sequence version 1.
DT 18-JUN-2025, entry version 196.
DE RecName: Full=Mitochondrial import receptor subunit TOM40 homolog;
DE AltName: Full=Protein Haymaker;
DE AltName: Full=Translocase of outer membrane 40 kDa subunit homolog;
DE AltName: Full=p38.5;
GN Name=TOMM40; Synonyms=C19orf1, PEREC1, TOM40;
OS Homo sapiens (Human).
OC Eukaryota; Metazoa; Chordata; Craniata; Vertebrata; Euteleostomi; Mammalia;
OC Eutheria; Euarchontoglires; Primates; Haplorrhini; Catarrhini; Hominidae;
OC Homo.
OX NCBI_TaxID=9606;
RN [1]
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [GENOMIC DNA].
RX PubMed=10520737; DOI=10.3109/10425179809086433;
RA Freitas E.M., Zhang W.J., Lalonde J.P., Tay G.K., Gaudieri S.,
RA Ashworth L.K., Van Bockxmeer F.M., Dawkins R.L.;
RT "Sequencing of 42kb of the APO E-C2 gene cluster reveals a new gene:
RT PEREC1.";
RL DNA Seq. 9:89-100(1998).
RN [2]
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [GENOMIC DNA / MRNA] (ISOFORM 1).
RA Yoshiura K., Murray J.C.;
RT "A transcriptional map in the region of 19q13 derived using direct
RT sequencing and exon trapping.";
RL Submitted (JAN-1998) to the EMBL/GenBank/DDBJ databases.
RN [3]
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [MRNA] (ISOFORM 1).
RC TISSUE=Lymphocyte;
RX PubMed=11745481; DOI=10.1002/ijc.1555;
RA Das B., Tao S.-Z., Mushnitsky R., Norin A.J.;
RT "Genetic identity and differential expression of p38.5 (Haymaker) in human
RT malignant and non-malignant cells.";
RL Int. J. Cancer 94:800-806(2001).
RN [4]
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE GENOMIC DNA].
RA Mural R.J., Istrail S., Sutton G.G., Florea L., Halpern A.L., Mobarry C.M.,
RA Lippert R., Walenz B., Shatkay H., Dew I., Miller J.R., Flanigan M.J.,
RA Edwards N.J., Bolanos R., Fasulo D., Halldorsson B.V., Hannenhalli S.,
RA Turner R., Yooseph S., Lu F., Nusskern D.R., Shue B.C., Zheng X.H.,
RA Zhong F., Delcher A.L., Huson D.H., Kravitz S.A., Mouchard L., Reinert K.,
RA Remington K.A., Clark A.G., Waterman M.S., Eichler E.E., Adams M.D.,
RA Hunkapiller M.W., Myers E.W., Venter J.C.;
RL Submitted (JUL-2005) to the EMBL/GenBank/DDBJ databases.
RN [5]
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE MRNA] (ISOFORMS 1 AND 2).
RC TISSUE=Eye, Lung, Skin, Testis, and Uterus;
RX PubMed=15489334; DOI=10.1101/gr.2596504;
RG The MGC Project Team;
RT "The status, quality, and expansion of the NIH full-length cDNA project:
RT the Mammalian Gene Collection (MGC).";
RL Genome Res. 14:2121-2127(2004).
RN [6]
RP PROTEIN SEQUENCE OF 185-195 AND 332-348, AND IDENTIFICATION BY MASS
RP SPECTROMETRY.
RC TISSUE=Brain, and Cajal-Retzius cell;
RA Lubec G., Vishwanath V.;
RL Submitted (MAR-2007) to UniProtKB.
RN [7]
RP IDENTIFICATION IN THE TOM COMPLEX WITH TOMM7; TOMM20 AND TOMM22.
RX PubMed=12198123; DOI=10.1074/jbc.m205613200;
RA Johnston A.J., Hoogenraad J., Dougan D.A., Truscott K.N., Yano M., Mori M.,
RA Hoogenraad N.J., Ryan M.T.;
RT "Insertion and assembly of human tom7 into the preprotein translocase
RT complex of the outer mitochondrial membrane.";
RL J. Biol. Chem. 277:42197-42204(2002).
RN [8]
RP FUNCTION, SUBCELLULAR LOCATION, AND IDENTIFICATION IN THE TOM COMPLEX WITH
RP TOMM20; TOMM22 AND TOMM70.
RX PubMed=15644312; DOI=10.1074/jbc.m413816200;
RA Humphries A.D., Streimann I.C., Stojanovski D., Johnston A.J., Yano M.,
RA Hoogenraad N.J., Ryan M.T.;
RT "Dissection of the mitochondrial import and assembly pathway for human
RT Tom40.";
RL J. Biol. Chem. 280:11535-11543(2005).
RN [9]
RP IDENTIFICATION IN THE TOM COMPLEX.
RX PubMed=18331822; DOI=10.1016/j.bbrc.2008.02.150;
RA Kato H., Mihara K.;
RT "Identification of Tom5 and Tom6 in the preprotein translocase complex of
RT human mitochondrial outer membrane.";
RL Biochem. Biophys. Res. Commun. 369:958-963(2008).
RN [10]
RP IDENTIFICATION BY MASS SPECTROMETRY [LARGE SCALE ANALYSIS].
RX PubMed=21269460; DOI=10.1186/1752-0509-5-17;
RA Burkard T.R., Planyavsky M., Kaupe I., Breitwieser F.P., Buerckstuemmer T.,
RA Bennett K.L., Superti-Furga G., Colinge J.;
RT "Initial characterization of the human central proteome.";
RL BMC Syst. Biol. 5:17-17(2011).
RN [11]
RP IDENTIFICATION BY MASS SPECTROMETRY [LARGE SCALE ANALYSIS].
RC TISSUE=Liver;
RX PubMed=24275569; DOI=10.1016/j.jprot.2013.11.014;
RA Bian Y., Song C., Cheng K., Dong M., Wang F., Huang J., Sun D., Wang L.,
RA Ye M., Zou H.;
RT "An enzyme assisted RP-RPLC approach for in-depth analysis of human liver
RT phosphoproteome.";
RL J. Proteomics 96:253-262(2014).
RN [12]
RP IDENTIFICATION BY MASS SPECTROMETRY [LARGE SCALE ANALYSIS].
RX PubMed=25944712; DOI=10.1002/pmic.201400617;
RA Vaca Jacome A.S., Rabilloud T., Schaeffer-Reiss C., Rompais M., Ayoub D.,
RA Lane L., Bairoch A., Van Dorsselaer A., Carapito C.;
RT "N-terminome analysis of the human mitochondrial proteome.";
RL Proteomics 15:2519-2524(2015).
RN [13]
RP INTERACTION WITH TIMM29.
RX PubMed=27554484; DOI=10.7554/elife.17463;
RA Kang Y., Baker M.J., Liem M., Louber J., McKenzie M., Atukorala I.,
RA Ang C.S., Keerthikumar S., Mathivanan S., Stojanovski D.;
RT "Tim29 is a novel subunit of the human TIM22 translocase and is involved in
RT complex assembly and stability.";
RL Elife 5:0-0(2016).
RN [14]
RP FUNCTION, INTERACTION WITH BCAP31 AND NDUFS4, AND SUBCELLULAR LOCATION.
RX PubMed=31206022; DOI=10.1126/sciadv.aaw1386;
RA Namba T.;
RT "BAP31 regulates mitochondrial function via interaction with Tom40 within
RT ER-mitochondria contact sites.";
RL Sci. Adv. 5:eaaw1386-eaaw1386(2019).
CC -!- FUNCTION: Channel-forming protein essential for import of protein
CC precursors into mitochondria (PubMed:15644312, PubMed:31206022). Plays
CC a role in the assembly of the mitochondrial membrane respiratory chain
CC NADH dehydrogenase (Complex I) by forming a complex with BCAP31 and
CC mediating the translocation of Complex I components from the cytosol to
CC the mitochondria (PubMed:31206022). {ECO:0000269|PubMed:15644312,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:31206022}.
CC -!- SUBUNIT: Forms part of the preprotein translocase complex of the outer
CC mitochondrial membrane (TOM complex) which consists of at least 7
CC different proteins (TOMM5, TOMM6, TOMM7, TOMM20, TOMM22, TOMM40 and
CC TOMM70). Interacts with mitochondrial targeting sequences
CC (PubMed:12198123, PubMed:15644312, PubMed:18331822). Interacts with
CC TIMM29; linking the TIM22 complex to the TOM complex (PubMed:27554484).
CC Forms a complex with BCAP31 (via C-terminus) which mediates the
CC translocation of components of the mitochondrial membrane respiratory
CC chain NADH dehydrogenase (Complex I) from the cytosol to the
CC mitochondria (PubMed:31206022). Interacts (via N-terminus) with CYP1A1
CC (via mitochondrial targeting signal); this interaction is required for
CC CYP1A1 translocation across the mitochondrial outer membrane (By
CC similarity). {ECO:0000250|UniProtKB:Q75Q40,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:12198123, ECO:0000269|PubMed:15644312,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:18331822, ECO:0000269|PubMed:27554484,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:31206022}.
CC -!- INTERACTION:
CC O96008; Q2TAZ0: ATG2A; NbExp=7; IntAct=EBI-1057581, EBI-2514077;
CC -!- SUBCELLULAR LOCATION: Mitochondrion outer membrane
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:15644312, ECO:0000269|PubMed:31206022}; Multi-pass
CC membrane protein {ECO:0000255}. Note=Associates with the mitochondria-
CC associated ER membrane via interaction with BCAP31.
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:31206022}.
CC -!- ALTERNATIVE PRODUCTS:
CC Event=Alternative splicing; Named isoforms=2;
CC Name=1;
CC IsoId=O96008-1; Sequence=Displayed;
CC Name=2;
CC IsoId=O96008-2; Sequence=VSP_008589, VSP_008590;
CC -!- SIMILARITY: Belongs to the Tom40 family. {ECO:0000305}.
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR EMBL; AF050154; AAD02504.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; AF043250; AAC82342.1; -; mRNA.
DR EMBL; AF043253; AAC82343.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; AF043251; AAC82343.1; JOINED; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; AF043252; AAC82343.1; JOINED; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; AF316398; AAL46624.1; -; mRNA.
DR EMBL; AF316399; AAL46625.1; -; mRNA.
DR EMBL; AF316401; AAL46626.1; -; mRNA.
DR EMBL; AF316402; AAL46627.1; -; mRNA.
DR EMBL; CH471126; EAW57302.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; CH471126; EAW57304.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; CH471126; EAW57305.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; BC001779; AAH01779.1; -; mRNA.
DR EMBL; BC006413; AAH06413.1; -; mRNA.
DR EMBL; BC012134; AAH12134.1; -; mRNA.
DR EMBL; BC017224; AAH17224.1; -; mRNA.
DR EMBL; BC047528; AAH47528.1; -; mRNA.
DR CCDS; CCDS12646.1; -. [O96008-1]
DR RefSeq; NP_001122388.1; NM_001128916.2. [O96008-1]
DR RefSeq; NP_001122389.1; NM_001128917.2. [O96008-1]
DR RefSeq; NP_006105.1; NM_006114.3. [O96008-1]
DR PDB; 7CK6; EM; 3.40 A; A/B=1-361.
DR PDB; 7CP9; EM; 3.00 A; I/J=1-361.
DR PDB; 7VBY; EM; 2.54 A; B/I=1-361.
DR PDB; 7VC4; EM; 3.74 A; B/I=1-361.
DR PDB; 7VD2; EM; 2.53 A; B/I=1-361.
DR PDB; 7VDD; EM; 3.74 A; B/I=1-361.
DR PDB; 8XVA; EM; 5.92 A; B/I=1-361.
DR PDB; 9EIH; EM; 3.10 A; G/H/I/J=1-361.
DR PDB; 9EII; EM; 2.75 A; I/J=1-361.
DR PDB; 9EIJ; EM; 3.30 A; I/J=1-361.
DR PDBsum; 7CK6; -.
DR PDBsum; 7CP9; -.
DR PDBsum; 7VBY; -.
DR PDBsum; 7VC4; -.
DR PDBsum; 7VD2; -.
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1907; Length 361;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 361; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGNVLAASSPPAGPPPPPAPALVGLPPPPPSPPGFTLPPLGGSLGAGTSTSRSSERTPGA 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MGNVLAASSPPAGPPPPPAPALVGLPPPPPSPPGFTLPPLGGSLGAGTSTSRSSERTPGA 60
Qy 61 ATASASGAAEDGACGCLPNPGTFEECHRKCKELFPIQMEGVKLTVNKGLSNHFQVNHTVA
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ATASASGAAEDGACGCLPNPGTFEECHRKCKELFPIQMEGVKLTVNKGLSNHFQVNHTVA
Qy 121 LSTIGESNYHFGVTYVGTKQLSPTEAFPVLVGDMDNSGSLNAQVIHQLGPGLRSKMAIQT
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 LSTIGESNYHFGVTYVGTKQLSPTEAFPVLVGDMDNSGSLNAQVIHQLGPGLRSKMAIQT
Qy 181 QQSKFVNWQVDGEYRGSDFTAAVTLGNPDVLVGSGILVAHYLQSITPCLALGGELVYHRR
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 QQSKFVNWQVDGEYRGSDFTAAVTLGNPDVLVGSGILVAHYLQSITPCLALGGELVYHRR
Qy 241 PGEEGTVMSLAGKYTLNNWLATVTLGQAGMHATYYHKASDQLQVGVEFEASTRMQDTSVS
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 PGEEGTVMSLAGKYTLNNWLATVTLGQAGMHATYYHKASDQLQVGVEFEASTRMQDTSVS
Qy 301 FGYQLDLPKANLLFKGSVDSNWIVGATLEKKLPPLPLTLALGAFLNHRKNKFQCGFGLTI
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 FGYQLDLPKANLLFKGSVDSNWIVGATLEKKLPPLPLTLALGAFLNHRKNKFQCGFGLTI
Qy 361 G 361
|
Db 361 G 361
SEQ ID NO: 2
RESULT 1
K7EJ57_HUMAN
ID K7EJ57_HUMAN Unreviewed; 214 AA.
AC K7EJ57;
DT 09-JAN-2013, integrated into UniProtKB/TrEMBL.
DT 05-OCT-2016, sequence version 8.
DT 08-OCT-2025, entry version 80.
DE SubName: Full=Translocase of outer mitochondrial membrane 40 {ECO:0000313|Ensembl:ENSP00000465032.1};
DE Flags: Fragment;
GN Name=TOMM40 {ECO:0000313|Ensembl:ENSP00000465032.1};
OS Homo sapiens (Human).
OC Eukaryota; Metazoa; Chordata; Craniata; Vertebrata; Euteleostomi; Mammalia;
OC Eutheria; Euarchontoglires; Primates; Haplorrhini; Catarrhini; Hominidae;
OC Homo.
OX NCBI_TaxID=9606 {ECO:0000313|Ensembl:ENSP00000465032.1, ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000005640};
RN [1] {ECO:0000313|Ensembl:ENSP00000465032.1}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE GENOMIC DNA].
RX PubMed=11237011; DOI=10.1038/35057062;
RG International Human Genome Sequencing Consortium;
RA Lander E.S., Linton L.M., Birren B., Nusbaum C., Zody M.C., Baldwin J.,
RA Devon K., Dewar K., Doyle M., FitzHugh W., Funke R., Gage D., Harris K.,
RA Heaford A., Howland J., Kann L., Lehoczky J., LeVine R., McEwan P.,
RA McKernan K., Meldrim J., Mesirov J.P., Miranda C., Morris W., Naylor J.,
RA Raymond C., Rosetti M., Santos R., Sheridan A., Sougnez C.,
RA Stange-Thomann N., Stojanovic N., Subramanian A., Wyman D., Rogers J.,
RA Sulston J., Ainscough R., Beck S., Bentley D., Burton J., Clee C.,
RA Carter N., Coulson A., Deadman R., Deloukas P., Dunham A., Dunham I.,
RA Durbin R., French L., Grafham D., Gregory S., Hubbard T., Humphray S.,
RA Hunt A., Jones M., Lloyd C., McMurray A., Matthews L., Mercer S., Milne S.,
RA Mullikin J.C., Mungall A., Plumb R., Ross M., Shownkeen R., Sims S.,
RA Waterston R.H., Wilson R.K., Hillier L.W., McPherson J.D., Marra M.A.,
RA Mardis E.R., Fulton L.A., Chinwalla A.T., Pepin K.H., Gish W.R.,
RA Chissoe S.L., Wendl M.C., Delehaunty K.D., Miner T.L., Delehaunty A.,
RA Kramer J.B., Cook L.L., Fulton R.S., Johnson D.L., Minx P.J., Clifton S.W.,
RA Hawkins T., Branscomb E., Predki P., Richardson P., Wenning S., Slezak T.,
RA Doggett N., Cheng J.F., Olsen A., Lucas S., Elkin C., Uberbacher E.,
RA Frazier M., Gibbs R.A., Muzny D.M., Scherer S.E., Bouck J.B.,
RA Sodergren E.J., Worley K.C., Rives C.M., Gorrell J.H., Metzker M.L.,
RA Naylor S.L., Kucherlapati R.S., Nelson D.L., Weinstock G.M., Sakaki Y.,
RA Fujiyama A., Hattori M., Yada T., Toyoda A., Itoh T., Kawagoe C.,
RA Watanabe H., Totoki Y., Taylor T., Weissenbach J., Heilig R., Saurin W.,
RA Artiguenave F., Brottier P., Bruls T., Pelletier E., Robert C., Wincker P.,
RA Smith D.R., Doucette-Stamm L., Rubenfield M., Weinstock K., Lee H.M.,
RA Dubois J., Rosenthal A., Platzer M., Nyakatura G., Taudien S., Rump A.,
RA Yang H., Yu J., Wang J., Huang G., Gu J., Hood L., Rowen L., Madan A.,
RA Qin S., Davis R.W., Federspiel N.A., Abola A.P., Proctor M.J., Myers R.M.,
RA Schmutz J., Dickson M., Grimwood J., Cox D.R., Olson M.V., Kaul R.,
RA Raymond C., Shimizu N., Kawasaki K., Minoshima S., Evans G.A.,
RA Athanasiou M., Schultz R., Roe B.A., Chen F., Pan H., Ramser J.,
RA Lehrach H., Reinhardt R., McCombie W.R., de la Bastide M., Dedhia N.,
RA Blocker H., Hornischer K., Nordsiek G., Agarwala R., Aravind L.,
RA Bailey J.A., Bateman A., Batzoglou S., Birney E., Bork P., Brown D.G.,
RA Burge C.B., Cerutti L., Chen H.C., Church D., Clamp M., Copley R.R.,
RA Doerks T., Eddy S.R., Eichler E.E., Furey T.S., Galagan J., Gilbert J.G.,
RA Harmon C., Hayashizaki Y., Haussler D., Hermjakob H., Hokamp K., Jang W.,
RA Johnson L.S., Jones T.A., Kasif S., Kaspryzk A., Kennedy S., Kent W.J.,
RA Kitts P., Koonin E.V., Korf I., Kulp D., Lancet D., Lowe T.M.,
RA McLysaght A., Mikkelsen T., Moran J.V., Mulder N., Pollara V.J.,
RA Ponting C.P., Schuler G., Schultz J., Slater G., Smit A.F., Stupka E.,
RA Szustakowski J., Thierry-Mieg D., Thierry-Mieg J., Wagner L., Wallis J.,
RA Wheeler R., Williams A., Wolf Y.I., Wolfe K.H., Yang S.P., Yeh R.F.,
RA Collins F., Guyer M.S., Peterson J., Felsenfeld A., Wetterstrand K.A.,
RA Patrinos A., Morgan M.J., de Jong P., Catanese J.J., Osoegawa K.,
RA Shizuya H., Choi S., Chen Y.J.;
RT "Initial sequencing and analysis of the human genome.";
RL Nature 409:860-921(2001).
RN [2] {ECO:0000313|Ensembl:ENSP00000465032.1, ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000005640}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE GENOMIC DNA].
RX PubMed=15057824; DOI=10.1038/nature02399;
RA Grimwood J., Gordon L.A., Olsen A., Terry A., Schmutz J., Lamerdin J.,
RA Hellsten U., Goodstein D., Couronne O., Tran-Gyamfi M., Aerts A.,
RA Altherr M., Ashworth L., Bajorek E., Black S., Branscomb E., Caenepeel S.,
RA Carrano A., Caoile C., Chan Y.M., Christensen M., Cleland C.A.,
RA Copeland A., Dalin E., Dehal P., Denys M., Detter J.C., Escobar J.,
RA Flowers D., Fotopulos D., Garcia C., Georgescu A.M., Glavina T., Gomez M.,
RA Gonzales E., Groza M., Hammon N., Hawkins T., Haydu L., Ho I., Huang W.,
RA Israni S., Jett J., Kadner K., Kimball H., Kobayashi A., Larionov V.,
RA Leem S.H., Lopez F., Lou Y., Lowry S., Malfatti S., Martinez D.,
RA McCready P., Medina C., Morgan J., Nelson K., Nolan M., Ovcharenko I.,
RA Pitluck S., Pollard M., Popkie A.P., Predki P., Quan G., Ramirez L.,
RA Rash S., Retterer J., Rodriguez A., Rogers S., Salamov A., Salazar A.,
RA She X., Smith D., Slezak T., Solovyev V., Thayer N., Tice H., Tsai M.,
RA Ustaszewska A., Vo N., Wagner M., Wheeler J., Wu K., Xie G., Yang J.,
RA Dubchak I., Furey T.S., DeJong P., Dickson M., Gordon D., Eichler E.E.,
RA Pennacchio L.A., Richardson P., Stubbs L., Rokhsar D.S., Myers R.M.,
RA Rubin E.M., Lucas S.M.;
RT "The DNA sequence and biology of human chromosome 19.";
RL Nature 428:529-535(2004).
RN [3] {ECO:0000313|Ensembl:ENSP00000465032.1}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE GENOMIC DNA].
RX PubMed=15496913; DOI=10.1038/nature03001;
RG International Human Genome Sequencing Consortium;
RT "Finishing the euchromatic sequence of the human genome.";
RL Nature 431:931-945(2004).
RN [4] {ECO:0007829|PubMed:21269460}
RP IDENTIFICATION BY MASS SPECTROMETRY [LARGE SCALE ANALYSIS].
RX PubMed=21269460; DOI=10.1186/1752-0509-5-17;
RA Burkard T.R., Planyavsky M., Kaupe I., Breitwieser F.P., Burckstummer T.,
RA Bennett K.L., Superti-Furga G., Colinge J.;
RT "Initial characterization of the human central proteome.";
RL BMC Syst. Biol. 5:17-17(2011).
RN [5] {ECO:0007829|PubMed:24275569}
RP IDENTIFICATION BY MASS SPECTROMETRY [LARGE SCALE ANALYSIS].
RX PubMed=24275569; DOI=10.1016/j.jprot.2013.11.014;
RA Bian Y., Song C., Cheng K., Dong M., Wang F., Huang J., Sun D., Wang L.,
RA Ye M., Zou H.;
RT "An enzyme assisted RP-RPLC approach for in-depth analysis of human liver
RT phosphoproteome.";
RL J. Proteomics 96:253-262(2014).
RN [6] {ECO:0007829|PubMed:25944712}
RP IDENTIFICATION BY MASS SPECTROMETRY [LARGE SCALE ANALYSIS].
RX PubMed=25944712;
RA Vaca Jacome A.S., Rabilloud T., Schaeffer-Reiss C., Rompais M., Ayoub D.,
RA Lane L., Bairoch A., Van Dorsselaer A., Carapito C.;
RT "N-terminome analysis of the human mitochondrial proteome.";
RL Proteomics 15:2519-2524(2015).
RN [7] {ECO:0000313|Ensembl:ENSP00000465032.1}
RP IDENTIFICATION.
RG Ensembl;
RL Submitted (MAY-2025) to UniProtKB.
CC -!- SUBCELLULAR LOCATION: Membrane {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00004141}; Multi-
CC pass membrane protein {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00004141}. Mitochondrion
CC outer membrane {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00004294}.
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR EMBL; AC011481; -; NOT_ANNOTATED_CDS; Genomic_DNA.
DR AlphaFoldDB; K7EJ57; -.
DR SMR; K7EJ57; -.
DR MassIVE; K7EJ57; -.
DR Antibodypedia; 3972; 177 antibodies from 35 providers.
DR Ensembl; ENST00000589649.1; ENSP00000465032.1; ENSG00000130204.13.
DR UCSC; uc060zuc.1; human.
DR HGNC; HGNC:18001; TOMM40.
DR OpenTargets; ENSG00000130204; -.
DR VEuPathDB; HostDB:ENSG00000130204; -.
DR GeneTree; ENSGT00390000003308; -.
DR HOGENOM; CLU_054399_1_0_1; -.
DR OMA; TRFNYRW; -.
DR OrthoDB; 19656at2759; -.
DR ChiTaRS; TOMM40; human.
DR Proteomes; UP000005640; Chromosome 19.
DR Bgee; ENSG00000130204; Expressed in olfactory bulb and 210 other cell types or tissues.
DR ExpressionAtlas; K7EJ57; baseline and differential.
DR GO; GO:0005829; C:cytosol; IDA:HPA.
DR GO; GO:0005741; C:mitochondrial outer membrane; IEA:UniProtKB-SubCell.
DR GO; GO:0005739; C:mitochondrion; IDA:HPA.
DR GO; GO:0008320; F:protein transmembrane transporter activity; IEA:InterPro.
DR GO; GO:0030150; P:protein import into mitochondrial matrix; IEA:InterPro.
DR InterPro; IPR027246; Porin_Euk/Tom40.
DR InterPro; IPR037930; Tom40.
DR PANTHER; PTHR10802; MITOCHONDRIAL IMPORT RECEPTOR SUBUNIT TOM40; 1.
DR Pfam; PF01459; Porin_3; 1.
PE 1: Evidence at protein level;
KW Membrane {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00023136};
KW Mitochondrion {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022787};
KW Mitochondrion outer membrane {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022787};
KW Proteomics identification {ECO:0007829|PeptideAtlas:K7EJ57,
KW ECO:0007829|ProteomicsDB:K7EJ57};
KW Reference proteome {ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000005640};
KW Transmembrane {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022692};
KW Transmembrane beta strand {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022452};
KW Transport {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022448}.
FT REGION 1..71
FT /note="Disordered"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:MobiDB-lite"
FT COMPBIAS 1..10
FT /note="Low complexity"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:MobiDB-lite"
FT COMPBIAS 11..36
FT /note="Pro residues"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:MobiDB-lite"
FT COMPBIAS 37..52
FT /note="Low complexity"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:MobiDB-lite"
FT COMPBIAS 59..71
FT /note="Low complexity"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:MobiDB-lite"
FT NON_TER 214
FT /evidence="ECO:0000313|Ensembl:ENSP00000465032.1"
SQ SEQUENCE 214 AA; 21915 MW; 7403E3F17827F592 CRC64;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 632; Length 214;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 119; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 NPGTFEECHRKCKELFPIQMEGVKLTVNKGLSNHFQVNHTVALSTIGESNYHFGVTYVGT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 79 NPGTFEECHRKCKELFPIQMEGVKLTVNKGLSNHFQVNHTVALSTIGESNYHFGVTYVGT
Qy 61 KQLSPTEAFPVLVGDMDNSGSLNAQVIHQLGPGLRSKMAIQTQQSKFVNWQVDGEYRGS 119
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 139 KQLSPTEAFPVLVGDMDNSGSLNAQVIHQLGPGLRSKMAIQTQQSKFVNWQVDGEYRGS 197
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. WO 2004/030615 published April 15, 2004 (please note: due to the large size of the application, only pages 1-9 and 230-301 are attached to the present Office Action).
For present claims 1 and 6, Wu et al. teach SEQ ID NO: 5514 which has 100% identity and the same length as present SEQ ID NO: 1, fragments, variants, fusion proteins, substitutions, and affinity tags (please refer to the entire specification particularly pages 1-9 and 230-301).
Therefore, the teachings of Wu et al. anticipate the presently claimed polypeptide.
RESULT 1
ABM82134
(NOTE: this sequence has 30 duplicates in the database searched.
See complete list at the end of this report)
ID ABM82134 standard; protein; 361 AA.
XX
AC ABM82134;
XX
DT 15-JUN-2007 (revised)
DT 18-NOV-2004 (first entry)
XX
DE Tumour-associated antigenic target (TAT) polypeptide PRO51565, SEQ:5514.
XX
KW Tumour-associated antigenic target; TAT; human; overexpression; cancer;
KW tumour; diagnosis; cell proliferative disorder; breast cancer;
KW colorectal cancer; lung cancer; ovarian cancer; liver cancer;
KW central nervous system cancer; bladder cancer; pancreatic cancer;
KW cervical cancer; melanoma; leukaemia; hybridisation probe;
KW chromosome identification; chromosome mapping; gene mapping;
KW gene therapy; cytostatic; BOND_PC;
KW mitochondrial outer membrane protein TOM40;
KW mitochondrial outer membrane protein;
KW mitochondrial outer membrane protein TOM40 [Homo sapiens]; TOMM40; TOM40;
KW PEREC1; C19orf1; PER-EC1; D19S1177E;
KW mitochondrial outer membrane protein [Homo sapiens]; TOMM40 protein;
KW TOMM40 protein [Homo sapiens];
KW translocase of outer mitochondrial membrane 40 homolog (yeast);
KW D19S1177E [Homo sapiens]; haymaker protein;
KW haymaker protein [Homo sapiens]; GO3674; GO5739; GO5741; GO6626; GO6820;
KW GO8308; GO15031; GO16020; GO16021; GO19867.
XX
OS Homo sapiens.
XX
CC PN WO2004030615-A2.
XX
CC PD 15-APR-2004.
XX
CC PF 29-SEP-2003; 2003WO-US028547.
XX
PR 02-OCT-2002; 2002US-0414971P.
XX
CC PA (GETH ) GENENTECH INC.
XX
CC PI Wu TD, Zhang Z, Zhou Y;
XX
DR WPI; 2004-347921/32.
DR N-PSDB; ACN40623.
DR PC:NCBI; gi5174723.
DR PC:SWISSPROT; O96008.
XX
CC PT New tumor-associated antigenic target polypeptides and nucleic acids,
CC PT useful in preparing a medicament for treating or detecting a
CC PT proliferative disorder, e.g. breast, lung, colorectal, ovarian or
CC PT prostate cancer or tumor.
XX
CC PS Claim 12; SEQ ID NO 5514; 7273pp; English.
XX
CC The invention relates to human tumour-associated antigenic target (TAT)
CC polypeptides, and their related nucleic acids. The TAT polypeptides are
CC overexpressed in cancer tissues compared to normal tissues, and may thus
CC serve as effective targets for the diagnosis and treatment of cancer in
CC mammals. The invention also relates to nucleic acid and polypeptide
CC sequences at least 80\% identical to the TAT nucleic acids and
CC polypeptides; expression vectors and host cells comprising a TAT nucleic
CC acid; an antibody specific for a TAT polypeptide; a peptide or organic
CC molecule which binds to a TAT polypeptide; fusion proteins comprising a
CC TAT polypeptide; and methods and compositions for the treatment or
CC diagnosis of cancer in mammals. TAT polypeptides, nucleic acids,
CC antibodies, antagonists, binding molecules and compositions are useful
CC for diagnosing or treating a cell proliferative disorder associated with
CC increased TAT expression, particularly cancers such as breast cancer,
CC colorectal cancer, lung cancer, ovarian cancer, liver cancer, bladder
CC cancer, pancreatic cancer, cervical cancer, cancers of the central
CC nervous system, melanoma and leukaemia. TAT nucleic acids may further be
CC used as hybridisation probes, in chromosome and gene mapping, in
CC chromosome identification and in gene therapy. The present sequence
CC represents a TAT polypeptide of the invention
CC
CC Revised record issued on 15-JUN-2007 : Enhanced with precomputed
CC information from BOND.
XX
SQ Sequence 361 AA;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1907; Length 361;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 361; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGNVLAASSPPAGPPPPPAPALVGLPPPPPSPPGFTLPPLGGSLGAGTSTSRSSERTPGA 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MGNVLAASSPPAGPPPPPAPALVGLPPPPPSPPGFTLPPLGGSLGAGTSTSRSSERTPGA 60
Qy 61 ATASASGAAEDGACGCLPNPGTFEECHRKCKELFPIQMEGVKLTVNKGLSNHFQVNHTVA
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ATASASGAAEDGACGCLPNPGTFEECHRKCKELFPIQMEGVKLTVNKGLSNHFQVNHTVA
Qy 121 LSTIGESNYHFGVTYVGTKQLSPTEAFPVLVGDMDNSGSLNAQVIHQLGPGLRSKMAIQT
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 LSTIGESNYHFGVTYVGTKQLSPTEAFPVLVGDMDNSGSLNAQVIHQLGPGLRSKMAIQT
Qy 181 QQSKFVNWQVDGEYRGSDFTAAVTLGNPDVLVGSGILVAHYLQSITPCLALGGELVYHRR
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 QQSKFVNWQVDGEYRGSDFTAAVTLGNPDVLVGSGILVAHYLQSITPCLALGGELVYHRR
Qy 241 PGEEGTVMSLAGKYTLNNWLATVTLGQAGMHATYYHKASDQLQVGVEFEASTRMQDTSVS
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 PGEEGTVMSLAGKYTLNNWLATVTLGQAGMHATYYHKASDQLQVGVEFEASTRMQDTSVS
Qy 301 FGYQLDLPKANLLFKGSVDSNWIVGATLEKKLPPLPLTLALGAFLNHRKNKFQCGFGLTI
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 FGYQLDLPKANLLFKGSVDSNWIVGATLEKKLPPLPLTLALGAFLNHRKNKFQCGFGLTI
Qy 361 G 361
|
Db 361 G 361
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mintz et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/0083334 published April 12, 2007.
For present claims 1 and 6, Mintz et al. teach SEQ ID NO: 904047 which has 100% identity and the same length as present SEQ ID NO: 1, fusion proteins, affinity tags, fragments, mutants, and variants (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraphs 291-293, 318-323, 340, 450, 451).
Therefore, the teachings of Mintz et al. anticipate the presently claimed polypeptide.
RESULT 1
US-11-443-428A-904047
(NOTE: this sequence has 22 duplicates in the database searched.
See complete list at the end of this report)
Sequence 904047, US/11443428A
Patent No. 7745391
2007/0083334
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: Mintz, Liat
APPLICANT: Xie, Hanqing
APPLICANT: Dahari, Dvir
APPLICANT: Levanon, Erez
APPLICANT: Freilich, Shiri
APPLICANT: Beck, Nili
APPLICANT: Zhu, Wei-Yong
APPLICANT: Wasserman, Alon
APPLICANT: Hermesh, Chen
APPLICANT: Azar, Idit
APPLICANT: Bernstein, Jeanne
TITLE OF INVENTION: METHODS AND SYSTEMS USEFUL FOR ANNOTATING BIOMOLECULAR SEQUENCES
FILE REFERENCE: 02/23929
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/11/443,428A
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2006-05-31
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 1034312
SEQ ID NO 904047
LENGTH: 361
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Homo sapiens
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1907; Length 361;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 361; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGNVLAASSPPAGPPPPPAPALVGLPPPPPSPPGFTLPPLGGSLGAGTSTSRSSERTPGA 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MGNVLAASSPPAGPPPPPAPALVGLPPPPPSPPGFTLPPLGGSLGAGTSTSRSSERTPGA 60
Qy 61 ATASASGAAEDGACGCLPNPGTFEECHRKCKELFPIQMEGVKLTVNKGLSNHFQVNHTVA
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ATASASGAAEDGACGCLPNPGTFEECHRKCKELFPIQMEGVKLTVNKGLSNHFQVNHTVA
Qy 121 LSTIGESNYHFGVTYVGTKQLSPTEAFPVLVGDMDNSGSLNAQVIHQLGPGLRSKMAIQT
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 LSTIGESNYHFGVTYVGTKQLSPTEAFPVLVGDMDNSGSLNAQVIHQLGPGLRSKMAIQT
Qy 181 QQSKFVNWQVDGEYRGSDFTAAVTLGNPDVLVGSGILVAHYLQSITPCLALGGELVYHRR
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 QQSKFVNWQVDGEYRGSDFTAAVTLGNPDVLVGSGILVAHYLQSITPCLALGGELVYHRR
Qy 241 PGEEGTVMSLAGKYTLNNWLATVTLGQAGMHATYYHKASDQLQVGVEFEASTRMQDTSVS
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 PGEEGTVMSLAGKYTLNNWLATVTLGQAGMHATYYHKASDQLQVGVEFEASTRMQDTSVS
Qy 301 FGYQLDLPKANLLFKGSVDSNWIVGATLEKKLPPLPLTLALGAFLNHRKNKFQCGFGLTI
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 FGYQLDLPKANLLFKGSVDSNWIVGATLEKKLPPLPLTLALGAFLNHRKNKFQCGFGLTI
Qy 361 G 361
|
Db 361 G 361
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clark et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0263774 published November 23, 2006.
For present claims 1 and 6, Clark et al. teach SEQ ID NO: 474 which has 100% identity and the same length as present SEQ ID NO: 1, fusions, fragments, substitutions, variants, deletions, and polyhis (i.e. affinity tag) (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraphs 9, 16, 17, 47, 50-59, 72-76, 132-139, 320; claims).
Therefore, the teachings of Clark et al. anticipated the presently claimed polypeptide.
RESULT 1
US-10-533-519-474
(NOTE: this sequence has 78 duplicates in the database searched.
See complete list at the end of this report)
Sequence 474, US/10533519
Publication No. US20060263774A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: CLARK,HILARY
APPLICANT: SCHOENFELD,JILL
APPLICANT: VANLOOKEREN,MENNO
APPLICANT: WILLIAMS,P. MICKEY
APPLICANT: WOOD,WILLIAM I.
APPLICANT: WU,THOMAS D.
TITLE OF INVENTION: COMPOSITIONS AND METHODSF OR THE TREATMENT OF IMMUNE
TITLE OF INVENTION: RELATED DISEASES
FILE REFERENCE: P1984R1 US
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/10/533,519
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2005-04-28
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/US03/34312
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2003-10-30
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 60/423,394
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2002-11-01
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 2517
SEQ ID NO 474
LENGTH: 361
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Homo sapien
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1907; Length 361;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 361; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGNVLAASSPPAGPPPPPAPALVGLPPPPPSPPGFTLPPLGGSLGAGTSTSRSSERTPGA 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MGNVLAASSPPAGPPPPPAPALVGLPPPPPSPPGFTLPPLGGSLGAGTSTSRSSERTPGA 60
Qy 61 ATASASGAAEDGACGCLPNPGTFEECHRKCKELFPIQMEGVKLTVNKGLSNHFQVNHTVA
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ATASASGAAEDGACGCLPNPGTFEECHRKCKELFPIQMEGVKLTVNKGLSNHFQVNHTVA
Qy 121 LSTIGESNYHFGVTYVGTKQLSPTEAFPVLVGDMDNSGSLNAQVIHQLGPGLRSKMAIQT
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 LSTIGESNYHFGVTYVGTKQLSPTEAFPVLVGDMDNSGSLNAQVIHQLGPGLRSKMAIQT
Qy 181 QQSKFVNWQVDGEYRGSDFTAAVTLGNPDVLVGSGILVAHYLQSITPCLALGGELVYHRR
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 QQSKFVNWQVDGEYRGSDFTAAVTLGNPDVLVGSGILVAHYLQSITPCLALGGELVYHRR
Qy 241 PGEEGTVMSLAGKYTLNNWLATVTLGQAGMHATYYHKASDQLQVGVEFEASTRMQDTSVS
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 PGEEGTVMSLAGKYTLNNWLATVTLGQAGMHATYYHKASDQLQVGVEFEASTRMQDTSVS
Qy 301 FGYQLDLPKANLLFKGSVDSNWIVGATLEKKLPPLPLTLALGAFLNHRKNKFQCGFGLTI
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 FGYQLDLPKANLLFKGSVDSNWIVGATLEKKLPPLPLTLALGAFLNHRKNKFQCGFGLTI
Qy 361 G 361
|
Db 361 G 361
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barrett et al. WO 2017/180587 published October 19, 2017 (due to the large size of the documents only pages 1-917 have been provided).
For present claims 1 and 6, Barrett et al. teach SEQ ID NO: 90526 (214mer; 100% identity to present SEQ ID NO: 2 – residues 79-197 of present SEQ ID NO: 1), fusions, fragments, deletions, substitutions, variants, and biotin (i.e. affinity tag) (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraphs 9, 11, 13, 16, 30, 53, 54, 102, 104, and 107-122).
RESULT 1
US-16-092-829B-90526
Sequence 90526, US/16092829B
Patent No. 11446398
WO 2017/180587
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: BARRETT, PETER
APPLICANT: GLADSTONE, MICHAEL N.
APPLICANT: KASSUM, TARIQ A.
APPLICANT: SURI, VIPIN
APPLICANT: LI, DAN JUN
APPLICANT: SUN, DEXUE
APPLICANT: DOLINSKI, BRIAN
TITLE OF INVENTION: REGULATED BIOCIRCUIT SYSTEMS
FILE REFERENCE: 2095.1300US371
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/16/092,829B
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2018-10-11
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/US2017/026950
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-04-11
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/320,864
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2016-04-11
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/466,596
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-03-03
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 213456
SEQ ID NO 90526
LENGTH: 214
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Homo sapiens
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Payload ID: 18097
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Gene Name: translocase of outer mitochondrial membrane 40 homolog (yeast)
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: ENSP ID: ENSP00000465032
Query Match 100.0%; Score 632; Length 214;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 119; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 NPGTFEECHRKCKELFPIQMEGVKLTVNKGLSNHFQVNHTVALSTIGESNYHFGVTYVGT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 79 NPGTFEECHRKCKELFPIQMEGVKLTVNKGLSNHFQVNHTVALSTIGESNYHFGVTYVGT
Qy 61 KQLSPTEAFPVLVGDMDNSGSLNAQVIHQLGPGLRSKMAIQTQQSKFVNWQVDGEYRGS 119
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 139 KQLSPTEAFPVLVGDMDNSGSLNAQVIHQLGPGLRSKMAIQTQQSKFVNWQVDGEYRGS 197
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 8,771,971 in view of Barrett et al. WO 2017/180587 published October 19, 2017 (due to the large size of the documents only pages 1-917 have been provided).
U.S. Patent 8,771,971 claims haymaker (i.e. present SEQ ID NO: 1).
Clark et al. teach SEQ ID NO: 474 which has 100% identity and the same length as present SEQ ID NO: 1, fusions, fragments, substitutions, variants, deletions, and polyhis (i.e. affinity tag) (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraphs 9, 16, 17, 47, 50-59, 72-76, 132-139, 320; claims).
All the claimed elements (i.e. haymaker, polyhistidine affinity tags) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements (i.e. fusion polypeptides) as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions (i.e. individual components retain individual functions) and the combination would have yielded predictable results (i.e. utilizing an affinity tag to purify, capture, track, etc. polypeptide which the affinity tag is fused to) to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. making fusion polypeptides comprising affinity tags) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. The claims would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Future Communications
/AMBER D STEELE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658