DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 4/25/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Group 1 shall include claims 1-5 and new claims 17-22. Upon further consideration, claims 1-5 and 17-22 are currently pending.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander (US Pub No. 2018/0024222) in view of Fitch (US Pub No. 2013/0008431)
Regarding Claim 1, Alexander et al. teaches a solar tracker arrangement [Fig. 1-2, 0078], comprising:
a framework defined by running rails [plurality of 160, Fig. 2, 0082] that extend in a first direction when in an operational configuration, the running rails arranged to be spaced apart and parallel to each other [Fig. 2];
a plurality of PV modules [110, fig. 2, 0082] mounted to the running rails to define a PV module array having a PV module cord length [Fig. 2];
a torsion tube [150, Fig. 2, 0081] extending in a second direction when in an operational configuration, the running rails [plurality of 160, Fig. 2, 0082] secured to the torsion tube such that rotation of the torsion tube tilts the PV modules in the first direction, where the first and second directions are substantially perpendicular [Fig. 2, 0082]; and
Alexander et al. is silent on a first wind break plate mounted to a proximate edge the PV module array along the second direction; and
and a second wind break plate mounted to a distal edge of the PV module array along the second direction.
Fitch et al. teaches a solar energy system [602, Fig. 6, 0050] which comprises multiple wind break plates [606, 608, 612, and 610, Fig. 6, 0050-0051], used to reduce or eliminate wind induced movements acting on the system [0056].
Since Alexander et al. teaches the use of PV modules in figure 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to apply the wind break plates of Fitch et al. on the sides of the PV modules of Alexander et al. in order to reduce or eliminate wind induced movements acting on the system [0056].
Regarding Claim 5, within the combination above, modified Alexander et al. is silent on wherein the wind break plate has a chord length equal to the PV module array chord length.
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of wind break plate, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of wind break plate are changed, the precise parameters of wind break plate would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “wherein the wind break plate has a chord length equal to the PV module array chord length.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of wind break plate in the apparatus of modified Alexander et al. to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander (US Pub No. 2018/0024222) in view of Fitch (US Pub No. 2013/0008431) as applied above in addressing claim 1, in further view of Daniels (US Pat No. 5502929)
Regarding Claim 2, within the combination above, modified Alexander et al. is silent on wherein the wind break plate comprises a perforated body section.
Daniels et al. teaches a wind break plate [Fig. 1, Abstract] which comprises perforation resulting in reduced wind [C3 ln 40-50].
Since modified Alexander et al. teaches the use of wind break plates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the wind break plates of modified Alexander et al. with the perforations as taught by Daniels et al. in order to provide reduced wind effects [C3 ln 40-50].
Regarding Claim 3, within the combination above, modified Alexander et al. teaches wherein the wind break plate further includes one or more reinforcing members extending across the body section [Daniels: Fig. 2, see 22 as the reinforcing members, C2 ln 18-26].
Regarding Claim 17, within the combination above, modified Alexander et al. teaches where the first wind break plate comprises: a perforated body section bordered by support members [16d, Fig. 2, C2 ln 18-35]; and at least one reinforcing member [22, Fig. 2, C2 ln 18-26] extending between a pair of the support members; wherein the perforated body section includes a plurality of perforations therethrough [Fig. 2].
Regarding Claim 18, within the combination above, modified Alexander et al. is silent on wherein the perforations are formed in the range of 30% to 80% of a surface area of the perforated body section.
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of wind break plate, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of wind break plate are changed, the precise parameters of wind break plate would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “wherein the perforations are formed in the range of 30% to 80% of a surface area of the perforated body section.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of wind break plate in the apparatus of modified Alexander et al. to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding Claim 19, within the combination above, modified Alexander et al. is silent on wherein adjacent perforations of the plurality of perforations are spaced equidistance from each other.
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of wind break plate, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of wind break plate are changed, the precise parameters of wind break plate would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “wherein adjacent perforations of the plurality of perforations are spaced equidistance from each other.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of wind break plate in the apparatus of modified Alexander et al. to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding Claim 20, within the combination above, modified Alexander et al. is silent on wherein the reinforcing members extend longitudinally between parallel side edges of the perforated body section.
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of wind break plate, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of wind break plate are changed, the precise parameters of wind break plate would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “wherein the reinforcing members extend longitudinally between parallel side edges of the perforated body section.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of wind break plate in the apparatus of modified Alexander et al. to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding Claim 21, within the combination above, modified Alexander et al. is silent on wherein the support members have a thickness that is greater than the thickness of the perforated body portion.
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of wind break plate, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of wind break plate are changed, the precise parameters of wind break plate would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “wherein the support members have a thickness that is greater than the thickness of the perforated body portion.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of wind break plate in the apparatus of modified Alexander et al. to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding Claim 22, within the combination above, modified Alexander et al. is silent on wherein the reinforcing members have a thickness greater than the support members.
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of wind break plate, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of wind break plate are changed, the precise parameters of wind break plate would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “wherein the reinforcing members have a thickness greater than the support members.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of wind break plate in the apparatus of modified Alexander et al. to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander (US Pub No. 2018/0024222) in view of Fitch (US Pub No. 2013/0008431) as applied above in addressing claim 1, in further view of Corio (US Pub No. 2017/0359017)
Regarding Claim 4, within the combination above, modified Alexander et al. is silent on wherein the PV module array is arranged in a 2 UP configuration.
Corio et al. teaches a PV module which is arranged in a 2 UP configuration [Fig. 11, 0038].
Since modified Alexander et al. teaches a PV modules around a torque tube, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the PV module of Alexander et al. to the 2UP configuration as taught by Corio et al. as it merely the selection of a conventional engineering design for PV modules in the art and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726