DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Resconi et al. (US 20080139762 A1) with Cecchin et al. (WO 9945043 A1) as incorporated by reference by Resconi.
Regarding claim 1, Resconi teaches a copolymer (B) of butene-1 with hexene-1 having a content of hexene-1 comonomer units of up to 20 mol% (Resconi, Abstract, Par. 0091, 0108-0114, and 0118-0120), which overlaps the claimed range of 2 to 4 % by weight and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03. Resconi teaches the copolymer has a Mw/Mn of greater than 4 (Resconi, Par. 0114), which overlaps the claimed range of higher than 4 to 9 and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I. Regarding the melt temperatures and flexural modulus of the copolymer, Resconi teaches a copolymer that is identical or substantially identical to the claimed copolymer. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), see MPEP 2112.01, I. Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2112.01, II. Resconi teaches a copolymer that comprises butene-1 and hexene-1 and does not state that other materials are required and thus teaches the copolymer consists of the butene-1 and hexene-1 (Resconi, Par. 0091, 0108-0114 and 0118-0120), which is the same materials as the instant invention per the instant specification Par. 0007. Resconi teaches the hexene-1 is comprised in an amount that renders obvious that of the instant invention as stated above. Resconi teaches the copolymer has a molecular weight distribution Mw/Mn of equal to or higher than 4 (Resconi, Par. 0114), which is the same as the instant invention per the instant specification Par. 0020. Resconi teaches the copolymerization is done using liquid butene-1 as a medium at a temperature of between 50-90°C (Resconi, Par. 0089-0090), which is the same medium and at the same temperature of the instant invention per the instant specification Par. 0035-0036.
Resconi further teaches the copolymerization is done using a catalyst such as those disclosed in Cecchin et al. (WO 9945043 A1) as incorporated by reference (Resconi, Par. 0112), which is the same as that of the instant invention per the instant specification Par. 0038. This is further shown as both Cecchin and the instant specification utilize a stereospecific catalyst that comprises a solid component made from TiCl4 and an internal electron-doner that is a diisobutyl phthalate that is supported on MgCl2, an alkyl aluminum compound that is triethylaluminum, and an external electron donor compound that is cyclohexyltrimethoxysilane (See the instant specification Par. 0027-0037; Cecchin, Pages 3-8). Furthermore, both Cecchin and the instant specification further teach the molar ratio of the internal electron donor compound to MgCl2 is from 0.01 to 1, and the ratio between the alkyl aluminum compound to the electron donor compound is from 0.1 to 500 (See the instant specification Par. 0027-0037; Cecchin, Pages 3-8). Furthermore, both the instant specification and Cecchin teach the catalyst is pre-polymerized in a liquid or gas phase at a temperature lower than 100°C (See the instant specification Par. 0027-0037; Cecchin, Pages 3-8).
Resconi therefore teaches a copolymer composition consisting of the same materials in the same quantities, with the same Mw/Mn, and is formed using the exact same catalyst, the same copolymerization medium, and at the same temperature as the instant invention. Furthermore, the instant specification does not state that any specific modifications are made to achieve the clamed properties. Therefore, absent objective evidence to the contrary, the copolymer of Resconi, which is identical to the instant invention, would have inherently exhibited the same properties of the claimed invention such as melt temperatures and flexural modulus, see MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claims 2-5 and 7-10, Regarding the properties of the copolymer such as MIE (claim 2), X-ray crystallinity (claim 3), crystallization temperature (claim 4), content fraction soluble in xylene (claim 5), Mz (Claim 7), Mz/Mw (claim 8), flexural modulus (claim 9), and Izod impact resistance (claim 10), Resconi teaches a copolymer that is identical or substantially identical to the claimed copolymer. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), see MPEP 2112.01, I. Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2112.01, II. Resconi teaches a copolymer that comprises butene-1 and hexene-1 and does not state that other materials are required and thus teaches the copolymer consists of the butene-1 and hexene-1 (Resconi, Par. 0091, 0108-0114 and 0118-0120), which is the same materials as the instant invention per the instant specification Par. 0007. Resconi teaches the hexene-1 is comprised in an amount that renders obvious that of the instant invention as stated above for claim 1. Resconi teaches the copolymer has a molecular weight distribution Mw/Mn of equal to or higher than 4 (Resconi, Par. 0114), which is the same as the instant invention per the instant specification Par. 0020. Resconi teaches the copolymerization is done using liquid butene-1 as a medium at a temperature of between 50-90°C (Resconi, Par. 0089-0090), which is the same medium and at the same temperature of the instant invention per the instant specification Par. 0035-0036.
Resconi further teaches the copolymerization is done using a catalyst such as those disclosed in Cecchin et al. (WO 9945043 A1) as incorporated by reference (Resconi, Par. 0112), which is the same as that of the instant invention per the instant specification Par. 0038. This is further shown as both Cecchin and the instant specification utilize a stereospecific catalyst that comprises a solid component made from TiCl4 and an internal electron-doner that is a diisobutyl phthalate that is supported on MgCl2, an alkyl aluminum compound that is triethylaluminum, and an external electron donor compound that is cyclohexyltrimethoxysilane (See the instant specification Par. 0027-0037; Cecchin, Pages 3-8). Furthermore, both Cecchin and the instant specification further teach the molar ratio of the internal electron donor compound to MgCl2 is from 0.01 to 1, and the ratio between the alkyl aluminum compound to the electron donor compound is from 0.1 to 500 (See the instant specification Par. 0027-0037; Cecchin, Pages 3-8). Furthermore, both the instant specification and Cecchin teach the catalyst is pre-polymerized in a liquid or gas phase at a temperature lower than 100°C (See the instant specification Par. 0027-0037; Cecchin, Pages 3-8).
Resconi therefore teaches a copolymer composition consisting of the same materials in the same quantities, with the same Mw/Mn, and is formed using the exact same catalyst, the same copolymerization medium, and at the same temperature as the instant invention. Furthermore, the instant specification does not state that any specific modifications are made to achieve the clamed properties. Therefore, absent objective evidence to the contrary, the copolymer of Resconi, which is identical to the instant invention, would have inherently exhibited the same properties of the claimed invention such as MIE (claim 2), X-ray crystallinity (claim 3), crystallization temperature (claim 4), content fraction soluble in xylene (claim 5), Mz (Claim 7), Mz/Mw (claim 8), flexural modulus (claim 9), and Izod impact resistance (claim 10), see MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 6, Resconi teaches the copolymer has a Mw/Mn of greater than 4 (Resconi, Par. 0114), which overlaps the claimed range of from 5 to 8 and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claims 11-12, Resconi teaches a pipe comprising the copolymer (Resconi, Par. 0002).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed 30 June 2026 have been fully considered.
On pages 4-5 of the remarks, Applicant argues that Resconi does not inherently exhibit the claimed flexural modulus as Resconi shows an example of component b with a flexural modulus outside the claimed range. This is not found persuasive for the following reasons:
Resconi teaches a copolymer that is identical or substantially identical to the claimed copolymer. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), see MPEP 2112.01, I. Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2112.01, II. Resconi teaches a copolymer that comprises butene-1 and hexene-1 and does not state that other materials are required and thus teaches the copolymer consists of the butene-1 and hexene-1 (Resconi, Par. 0091, 0108-0114 and 0118-0120), which is the same materials as the instant invention per the instant specification Par. 0007. Resconi teaches the hexene-1 is comprised in an amount that renders obvious that of the instant invention as stated above for claim 1. Resconi teaches the copolymer has a molecular weight distribution Mw/Mn of equal to or higher than 4 (Resconi, Par. 0114), which is the same as the instant invention per the instant specification Par. 0020. Resconi teaches the copolymerization is done using liquid butene-1 as a medium at a temperature of between 50-90°C (Resconi, Par. 0089-0090), which is the same medium and at the same temperature of the instant invention per the instant specification Par. 0035-0036. Resconi further teaches the copolymerization is done using a catalyst such as those disclosed in Cecchin et al. (WO 9945043 A1) as incorporated by reference (Resconi, Par. 0112), which is the same as that of the instant invention per the instant specification Par. 0038. This is further shown as both Cecchin and the instant specification utilize a stereospecific catalyst that comprises a solid component made from TiCl4 and an internal electron-doner that is a diisobutyl phthalate that is supported on MgCl2, an alkyl aluminum compound that is triethylaluminum, and an external electron donor compound that is cyclohexyltrimethoxysilane (See the instant specification Par. 0027-0037; Cecchin, Pages 3-8). Furthermore, both Cecchin and the instant specification further teach the molar ratio of the internal electron donor compound to MgCl2 is from 0.01 to 1, and the ratio between the alkyl aluminum compound to the electron donor compound is from 0.1 to 500 (See the instant specification Par. 0027-0037; Cecchin, Pages 3-8). Furthermore, both the instant specification and Cecchin teach the catalyst is pre-polymerized in a liquid or gas phase at a temperature lower than 100°C (see the instant specification Par. 0027-0037; Cecchin, Pages 3-8). Resconi therefore teaches a copolymer composition consisting of the same materials in the same quantities, with the same Mw/Mn, and is formed using the exact same catalyst, the same copolymerization medium, and at the same temperature as the instant invention. Furthermore, the instant specification does not state that any specific modifications are made to achieve the claimed flexural modulus. Therefore, absent objective evidence to the contrary, the copolymer of Resconi, which is identical to the instant invention, would have inherently exhibited the same flexural modulus see MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Applicant's argument that Table 3 of Resconi teaches a component b that does not exhibit the claimed flexural modulus, the component b referred to in Table 3 refers to a 1-butene homopolymer (Resconi, Par. 0150-0155). However, the grounds of rejection rely upon the embodiment of Resconi teaching a copolymer as described above. Resconi thus does not provide any objective evidence that the copolymer relied upon in the grounds of rejection would not inherently exhibit the claimed flexural modulus. c. For the reasons stated above, the copolymer of Resconi would have inherently exhibited the claimed flexural modulus and Applicant's argument is unpersuasive.
Secondly, on pages 5-6 of the remarks, Applicant argues that Cecchin teaches away from the flexural modulus as Cecchin teaches a copolymer with a ZN-based catalyst with a flexural modulus above the claimed range. This is not found persuasive for the following reason:
The copolymers of Cecchin are not utilized in the grounds of rejection above. Instead, Cecchin is incorporated by reference of Resconi to teach the specific catalyst used, which is the same catalyst as the instant invention as stated above. Cecchin is not utilized to modify the copolymer of Resconi. Furthermore, the copolymers discussed in Cecchin are not equivalent to the copolymers relied upon in Resconi. The teachings of flexural modulus in Cecchin thus do not teach away from the copolymer of Resconi inherently exhibiting the claimed flexural modulus. Therefore, Cecchin does not provide objective evidence that the copolymers of Resconi do not inherently exhibit the claimed flexural modulus and Applicant's argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782