DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments were received on 6/22/26. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 4-6 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, on claims 5 and 6 are withdrawn because the Applicant has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Delnick, on claims 1, 2, 3, 20 are withdrawn because the Applicant amended the claims.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kucherovsky et al., on claims 1- 4, 20 are withdrawn because the Applicant amended the claims.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nitzan (WO2008/075348), on claims 1, 3, 4, 20 are maintained. The rejection is further modified in view of the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim(s) 1-3 , 20 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nitzan (WO2008/075348).
Regarding claim 1, the Nitzan reference discloses a method of printing a separator for an electrochemical cell, the method comprising providing an ink comprising particles of a separator-forming substance suspended therein, providing a medium, applying a layer of the ink to the medium in a printing process, and forming a separator from the separator-forming substance in the layer of ink (Page 6 ,Fig. 6 Example 1). The Nizan reference discloses the separator-forming substance is an ionic conductor material, the ionic conductor material is a porous (microns can be measured in nanometer, hence nanopores) material is a metal organic framework (polymer comprising an ionic, cross-linking functional group and a polyvalent metal ion).
Regarding claim 2, the Nitzan reference discloses the ink comprise an electrolyte and wherein the separator-forming substance forms a separator that hosts at least some electrolyte.
Regarding claim 3, the Nitzan reference discloses wherein the step of forming the separator comprises drying or curing the ink
Regarding claim 20, the Nitzan reference discloses a method of forming an electrochemical cell, the method comprising providing a first electrode, printing a separator on the first electrode in accordance with the method of claim 1 wherein the medium is the first electrode, and providing a second electrode, wherein the separator is located between the first and second electrodes in the so formed electrochemical cell. (method in figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable by Delnick (EP0814520) in view Hiroshi et al. (WO2012050152).
Regarding claim 1, the Delnick reference discloses a method of printing a separator for an electrochemical cell, the method comprising providing an ink comprising particles of a separator-forming substance suspended therein, providing a medium, applying a layer of the ink to the medium in a printing process, and forming a microporous (microporous can be measured in nanometers) separator from the separator-forming substance in the layer of ink ((5:5-10). The Delnick reference discloses the different applications for various types of electrochemical cell separator/electrolyte are known. The Delnick discloses separators ink can include solid particulate materials such as silica, alumina, kaolin can be included in the separator ink but is silent in specifying the ink further comprise ion conductor material that is a zeolite. However, the Hiroshi et al. reference discloses different particle materials for separators including silica, alumina, kaolin and zeolite are applicable as heat resistant materials for better stability in high temperature applications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide zeolite for teachings of using particulates silica, alumina, kaolin disclosed by the Hiroshi et al. for the separator using particulates such as silica, alumina, kaolin for the separator disclosed by the Delnick reference in order to provide a stable separator applicable in high temperature range.
In addition, the substitution of known equivalent structures involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Fout 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); In re Susi 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971); In re Siebentritt 152 USPQ 618 (CCPA 1967); In re Ruff 118 USPQ 343 (CCPA 1958). When a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result. KSR v. Teleflex
Regarding claim 2, the Delnick reference discloses wherein the ink comprises an electrolyte and wherein the separator-forming substance forms a separator that hosts at least some of the electrolyte (6:4-7).
Regarding claim 3, the Delnick reference discloses wherein the step of forming the separator comprises drying or curing the ink (6:9-12).
Regarding claim 20, the Delnick reference discloses a method of forming an electrochemical cell, the method comprising providing a first electrode, printing a separator on the first electrode in accordance with the method of claim 1 wherein the medium is the first electrode, and providing a second electrode, wherein the separator is located between the first and second electrodes in the so formed electrochemical cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752